BBB Accredited Business since

PF Plumbing Contractors, Inc.

Phone: (336) 778-2008 View Additional Phone Numbers 6221 Hacker Bend Ct, Winston Salem, NC 27103 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


PF Plumbing has multiple divisions to cover any plumbing need, whether it is a service/repair on existing fixtures and appliances, waterproofing, new residential installations, or remodels. Whatever the need may be, our team of professionals will go above and beyond to maintain the highest standard for you.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that PF Plumbing Contractors, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for PF Plumbing Contractors, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on PF Plumbing Contractors, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 27, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1985 in NC Business incorporated 10/01/1987 in NC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NC State Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors
1109 Dresser Court, Raleigh NC 27609
Phone Number: (919) 875-3612
Fax Number: (919) 875-3616
The number is 1262.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Paul Freer, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Freer, President
Business Category

Plumbers Waterproofing Contractors Excavating Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Piedmont Pressure Seal

Additional Locations

  • 6221 Hacker Bend Ct

    Winston Salem, NC 27103


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/25/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Begin, Our home is less than four years old, and PF Plumbing was responsible for installing the new water heater and supporting water lines. With that information in mind, let me begin my complaint.Last week, our water heater expansion tank began leaking water. We called PF Plumbing to diagnose the situation. They said it was under warranty and came out. At this point, no trouble. Once the technician arrived, he tested the water pressure and found it to be too high. He then attributed the expansion tank eruption to the excessive water pressure. After he diagnosed these two issues, they then said that these items were not covered under warranty and they gave me a quote for $632 ($218 for the expansion tank, $360 for the pressure regulator, and $50 for the diagnosis) for a new water pressure regulator and a new expansion tank.During this same weekend, we had delivered our second child and needed to get the issue corrected, so I made the mistake of trusting this contractor's price quote and expertise. Later, after the work was completed, I reviewed the cost of the parts and the difficulty to install these parts. The expansion tank screws in to the water heater like a reverse soda bottle (quite literally a five second installation!!) I then looked at the prices of these expansion tanks and they can be bought at Home Depot and Lowes for $50 for a high quality tank. PF Plumbing's markup is 300% over retail at Big Box Stores! I then checked the Pressure regulator- this part can be had for between $20-$99, depending on the quality. As the original failed at less than 4 years, I would guess the part installed was not the higher end... I also checked installation for this part. It has a male and female screw, just like a pipe fitting. This was a situation of 1) Take the old off by unscrewing the female then male, 2) replace. This vendor charged a $500 premium on faulty parts and 30 minutes of labor, when they installed these parts originally less than 4 years ago! Dispute filed!

Desired Settlement: I would like a more reasonable invoice submitted. After reviewing the parts costs and the labor involved, adding a service fee, a reasonable cost would be between $250 and $300, allowing PF Plumbing to make a substantial profit in this situation. They should stand behind their original workmanship as well, and if their parts cost $320 for a pressure regulator and $200 for the expansion tank, they need to explain why these parts are not outperforming their counterparts.

Business Response:

lets start here,

 pf plumbing was the original contractor for the installed plumbing work and provided a standard 1 year builder warranty to the homeowner and the builder, date of our final inspection was  09/26/2008.when this customer called in they were told that the water heater would be under / fall under a 6 year parts warranty due to the statement made by them { the water heater was leaking from the pressure relief valve} which is part of the water heater. The Pfplumbing csr called the customer back before our technician even went to the customers home to confirm the warranty , which is provided by the manufacturer, and reaffirmed with the customer that the water heater would be under this parts warranty and that there would be a service fee and labor charges.

This is terribly unfair to pfplumbing, as the Lyons family did not have to accept our charges other than our service fee of $49.00. they had all the right to decline our service and find another contractor. it is also terribly unfair for Mr. **** to attempt to determine what our charges should be to him as he is not in the plumbing business and has no idea what our costs are / were to make these repairs.  PFPlumbing sent a truck, with inventory, tools that cost well over $100,000.00 to this home, along with a technician that is drug tested, background checked, trained and recieves ungoing training monthly, who was curteous, professional , clean, inteligent and performed a professional repair, who also recieves health insurance, 401k, paid vacations, holidays and sick days. we provide good jobs for the community..... we provide potable water, sanitary sewer and comfort to the public , we believe in our trade and our pricing. please try to get a doctor or a lawyer to come to your home for $600.00 , how about a surgeon?!

my technician was dispatched at 1:03 pm and arived at the Lyons home at 1:43 , diagnosed and repaired the problem and started the truck at 2:45pm, with a total job cost time of 2hours and 42 minutes per the gps tracking in his truck. Mr. **** has implied of the simplicity of installation and the low cost of these parts along with the fact that the parts failed in +/- 4 1/2 years but, has not complained about any part of our service other than our price which he accepted at the time service was rendered, and signed our invoice stating he was satisfied.

now that we are here,,,,

I am sorry that Mr. **** feels my pricing is unfair, i always unquestionably guarantee my / pfplumbings service 100 % and if Mr. **** will call me directly i will do whatever i can to ensure he is 100 % happy, my direct line is ###-###-####

**** ***** 


Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: 9498238

I am rejecting this response because:

As a CPA (License Numbers: ** ****** ** *****), I fully understand the cost structures of businesses. I understand that you have to pay your employees, cover depreciation on your trucks, and cover your expenses. This is accomplished by volume of customers, not taking advantage of a single customer. The Diagnostic fee of $49 covers the time the service tech is deployed 1:08-1:45 as I recall. Assuming it took 10 minutes to diagnose (1:55) Total install time took less than an hour 2:45-1:55 (50 minutes). This supports that the labor piece was indeed simple. As you stated, and as it is understood, I could have (should have) called another company, and paid you $49. After making that payment, you would have spent a total time of 1.5 hours and received a payment of $49.

As to your comparison to your business as to a surgeon... You do not have 8 years of medical school with staff paid to compensate them for their stature. Further, you do not have the fixed assets or the capital overhead of that of a surgeon- nevertheless, when I visit the doctor for my annual check-up, they charge $150 for approximately 30 minutes of their time, plus admin time. So, you are justifying your charges of ~$482/hour for labor and $150 for parts. ($632 total bill remember) by comparing to a doctor's office. Surgeons have much greater overhead of liability insurance, VERY expensive surgical instruments, Anesthetics, and they carry substantial risks. Your employee was respectful, but that does not make you the equivalent to a Surgeon's office, nor to their fees.

I leave it to you to actually justify your fees, as of now, you just showed me that you charges me $49 for the diagnostic, which took about 1 hour, then charged me ~$215/hour, which covered your travel back to your office as well (not a true cost to the customer)- So let's call it $430 for the true installation labor time. Mechanics at dealerships charge $95/hour, General Practitioner's/Doctor's $150/hour, and PF Plumbing $430/labor Hr... Partners' at CPA firms making $1,000,000 annually charge a rate of $500/hr to corporate clients, perhaps this was your goal? How are you really defending your rates at this juncture?

Again, based on the widely accessible parts that you installed, you made significant profit on those at $150 as well.

Can you please provide me with some sort of documentation to your excessive rates?



******** ****