BBB Accredited Business since

Labonte Plumbing, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (828) 295-0899 View Additional Phone Numbers 199 Countryside Ln, Blowing Rock, NC 28605 http://www.trustworthy-businesses.com/labonte_plumbing_inc


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Labonte Plumbing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Labonte Plumbing, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Labonte Plumbing, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 14, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1999 Business incorporated 04/10/2002 in NC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NC State Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors
1109 Dresser Court, Raleigh NC 27609
www.nclicensing.org
Phone Number: (919) 875-3612
Fax Number: (919) 875-3616
info@nclicensing.org

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ray Labonte, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ray Labonte, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning


Additional Locations

  • 199 Countryside Ln

    Blowing Rock, NC 28605

  • PO Box 1072

    Blowing Rock, NC 28605

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/23/2015 we discovered a burst water pipe in the kitchen of one of our church buildings. On the 24th early AM, I called *** Labonte who said someone would come by that afternoon or the next morning. No one showed up all week so I called him back on Friday morning 2/27. Labonte did send someone that afternoon. However, he looked under the sink and under the crawl space and said they could not reach the pipes and could not tell where the leak was. The plumber called *** Labonte who said they would probably have to remove part of the kitchen floor. He could call a carpenter contractor they had used before to remove and replace the wood kitchen floor. Plan was to call me and set up a time for the three of us to meet and determine exactly what had to be done. I Then called *** Labonte on Monday morning, 3/2/2015 and left a voice mail for him to call me and that I would make myself available any time during the week to meet with them at the church. No response or call all week. I called again on the next Monday morning, 3/9/2015, and left another voice mail specifically asking that he call me with and update. Church meetings and Sunday School classes had now been cancelled for two weeks. Still no response of any kind and yesterday, 3/16, was the third Sunday without use of the facility.In summary, *** Labonte promised action, but did nothing, and ignored followup phone messages seeking much needed plumbing assistance. As of today, 3/17, I have removed Labonte Plumbing from our Church Contractor List as well as my personal home list. I simply cannot subject the church operations to someone possessing little on no professional or business acumen.

Desired Settlement: Since Labonte will not return phone messages, please bring this complaint to his attention. The church will no longer use his as a plumber.

Business Response: From: ******* * ******* [mailto:*********************] 
Sent: Monday, April 20, 2015 4:50 PM
To: ***** ****
Subject: Fw: ****** ******


On Monday, April 20, 2015 3:46 PM, ******* * ******* <*********************> wrote:

REFERENCE # ********, ****** ****** , *********** NC 
 
I WANT TO EXPLAIN THAT THE WEATHER IN NW CAROLINA MOUNTAINS WERE SUB ZERO WHEN THIS CALL WAS RECIEVED BY US . WE WERE GETTING AN AVERAGE OF 45 TO 55 CALLS A DAY OF WHOLE HOUSES LEAKING , FLOODING , OR JUST OUT OF WATER .WE ONLY HAVE THE CAPABLITIES OF REPAIRING MAYBE 12 TO 14 CALLS A DAY . THESE HOMES WHERE OCCUPIED . I HAD TO MAKE A JUDGEMENT CALL ON PRIORITY.( NO ONE LIVES AT A CHURCH ). I ALSO EXPLAINED WE WERE BUSY AND THERE WAS A WAIT . WHEN TECH ARRIVED TO JOB, 2/27, THE LEAK APPEARED TO BE UN ACCESSABLE FOR REPAIR TO BE MADE ON SPOT . THE FLOORS OF CHURCH NEEDED TO BE CUT OPEN IN A FASHION THAT IT COULD BE PUT BACK . THIS IS BEYOND OUR CAPABILITIES . I ADVISED ****** THAT A CONTRACTOR IS NEEDED . I GAVE THEM THE PHONE NUMBER OF A CONTRACTOR THAT HAS WORKED FOR THEM BEFORE . I EXPLAINED THAT HE AND CONTRACTOR CAN GET TOGETHER AND TO CALL ME WHEN FLOOR WAS OPEN SO WE COULD REPAIR OR REPLACE POTABLE WATER LINES . I NEVER PROMICED ANY TIME OR DATE BECAUSE FLOOR NEEDED TO BE REMOVED FIRST, HENCE I HAD NO IDEA WHEN THAT TASK WOULD BE DONE . AGAIN WE WERE GETTING MORE CALLS THAN ANWSER MACHINE WAS CAPABLE OF HOLDING . IM SURE THERE WAS ALOT OF CALLS WE WERE NOT RECEIVING . I HAVE BEEN DOING ****** ****** WORK FOR MANY MANY YEARS . I FEEL LIKE THERE WAS HUGE MISUNDERSTANDING ON ALL PARTIES BEHALF . I DO WANT TO NOTE THAT ****** DOES HAVE MY CELL NUMBER AND HAS ALWAYS CALLED ME ON THIS . THIS WOULD HAVE BEEN A BETTER ONE ON ONE IN THE FIELD WAY TO CONTACT ME . I HAVE SPOKE TO SEVERAL MEMBERS OF THAS CHURCH AND THEY FEEL THAT  ***** IS WAY OUT OF LINE BY WRITING THIS CONCIDERING THE WEATHER AND CURCOMSTANCES . 

Consumer Response: From: ***** [mailto:******************] 
Sent: Monday, May 11, 2015 6:35 PM
To: ***** ****
Subject: RE: A new message is waiting from the BBB of Northwest North Carolina in regardsto your complaint #********. 

Unfortunately the complaint has not been resolved. However, I am not going back and forth with a contractor who is not truthful and still misses the point - communication, communication, communication!!!

*****