BBB Accredited Business since

Moretz Paving, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (828) 297-5048 Fax: (828) 297-7703 211 Moretz Hollow Road, Zionville, NC 28698 http://www.trustworthy-businesses.com/moretz_paving_inc


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Moretz Paving, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Moretz Paving, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Moretz Paving, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 07, 2002 Business started: 05/01/1995 in 0 Business started locally: 05/01/1995 Business incorporated 05/01/1995 in NC
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Rebecca Moretz, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Rebecca Moretz, President
Business Category

Paving Contractors Excavating Contractors


Additional Locations

  • 211 Moretz Hollow Road

    Zionville, NC 28698 (828) 297-5048

  • P.O. Box 270

    Zionville, NC 28698

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Moretz paving company paved a driveway shared by four homes in October 2010. A portion of the driveway was completely rebuilt; the remaining portion was recovered. In the rebuilt section, spiderweb cracks appeared after 3 months time. The company was called back and asked to repair that area. They did so acknowledging that it was their responsibility. In the fall of 2011, after the warranty had expired, more spiderweb cracks appeared. Now there are multiple areas where spiderweb cracks are appearing. My perspective is that the company did not lay an adequate stone base under the new rebuilt portion of the driveway. Spiderweb cracks do not appear in new asphalt unless the base is substandard. I asked the company to repair these new areas in good faith due to inadequate initial construction. They claimed they were not responsible since the driveway is beyond warranty. I do not question that the driveway is beyond warranty. But this type of problem can only be due to inadequate initial construction.

Desired Settlement: Please post this information questioning the quality of work of Moretz Paving for consumers to see.I am also willing to meet with Moretz Paving officials, dig through the spiderweb cracked portions of the driveway to determine if an adequate base of stone was layed. If so, I will repair the driveway. If not, then they, in good faith, should repair the faulty section of driveway.

Business Response: Yes we warranty all of our work for 1 year which is standard for paving company's in this area. In the fall of 2011 no complaint was made to us from *** ******** or we would have addressed the situation then. Now 3.5 years later we are hearing about this and he wants us to fix this at our expense? This road services 4 houses. Over the past 3 years who knows what the traffic load has been on this portion of the road. Has a wet weather spring appeared? The winter of 2013-2014 was a very cold one up here in the mountains with a heavy freeze and thaw cycle thus we know what happens to the ground when we have these extremely cold conditions. We will be glad to fix these areas for him, but not at our expense.
Thank you
***** ******
Superintendent

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

From my perspective, the issue is one of quality of product; it was not installed to specifications.  The driveway started to deteriorate within 3 months.  This could only be due to an inadequate stone base.  The deterioration of the driveway is continuing now because of that inadequate stone base, not the hard winter we had this past year (the additional spiderweb cracks in additional sections of driveway started appearing 2 years ago).  That is my conclusion.  I am writing now because I have to repair this section of driveway after only 3.5 years of use.  Hence, the reason why I am submitting the complaint now.

 
I don't believe there is any way to resolve the disagreement since the contractor is not willing to come and verify that the depth of the stone base is to standard specifications and I have no legal recourse since this complaint is outside the 1 year warranty.  My only other goal is to warn other consumers to be wary of this contractor.  This is my attempt to be a good member of my community.  Thank you for providing feedback to the community regarding this complaint against this contractor.

Regards,

**** *********