BBB Accredited Business since

R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (336) 741-5000 View Additional Phone Numbers 401 N. Main Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101 http://www.rjrt.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 61 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

61 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 6
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 46
Total Closed Complaints 61

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 20, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1875 Business started locally: 01/01/1875 Business incorporated 01/02/2004 in NC
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Susan Cameron, CEO Mr. Alan Caldwell, Director-Community & Civic Engagement
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Susan Cameron, CEO
Number of Employees

5,700

Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers Cigar, Cigarette & Tobacco Manufacturers

Alternate Business Names
Reynolds American, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15720 John J Delaney Dr Ste 345

    Charlotte, NC 28277

  • 401 N. Main Street

    Winston Salem, NC 27101

  • P.O. BOX-2959

    Winston Salem, NC 27102

  • PO Box 2990

    Winston Salem, NC 27102

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase camel cigarettes and use there website often. I have been unable to log onto there website. I contacted them and told them I have had an account online with them for years. they stated I was locked out and would never be able to get on there website again. I asked for the reason and they would not give me an answer. she was rude and would not give me an answer as of why I was not allowed on there website. if I purchase there product, I should be allowed onto there site. very angry with this company, i had been going on there website many times a day because i won 700 dollars on one of there contests and have not received payment yet. i want to receive payment of the contest win and be able to go onto there website. thanks for any help..****** ******

Desired Settlement: payment of my win and allowed access to there website..

Business Response:

We have researched Mr. ******'s inquiry and found that his account had been locked due to using multiple PIDs.  We have reset his account, and he should now be able to access the website.

As far as the $700.00 winnings, our fulfillment house advised that they are now in the process of issuing checks to the winners.  Mr. ******'s check may have already arrived or should arrive soon. 

I hope he will be pleased with our respose.

Sincerely,

Ann G******

Consumer Relations Manager

8/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a small grocery deli business. We had buy down promotion program with Lorillard company, which sells Newport brand cigarettes. Recently RJREYNOLDS Tobacco company purchased Lorillard. Telling us nothing has changed in doing business. Well my business and many other businesses has not gotten any promotional buy down payments from RJR. It is delayed with excuses after excuses. Small business like ours need every source of income to survive. Yet this big corporation RJR is not doing business as usual, while business like mine suffers.

Desired Settlement: My business like to get paid in full of promotional buy down Payments. Which we have entered in agreement with Lorillard and RJR.

Business Response:

We certainly apologize that you have not received any payments.  We have not generated a payment for your account due to the fact that no volume is reporting for your account.  After further investigation, your volume is reporting to a predecessor account.  We have linked this volume to your account and beginning with the July Newport buydown payment, you will receive payment for your volume.  This payment should be processed this week.  When we process the Q2 reconciliation payment later this month, we will correct this issue and you will be paid for all unpaid Q2 volume.  If you have any questions, please call our AIM Pay Hotline at 800-974-2227.

5/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have contacted 2 of the call centers that RJ Reynolds has hired on to file a complaint regarding not receiving my replacement items that I called in to report a bad product at the end of December . It has been 6 weeks and I have not received the replacement products that they stated they were going to mail to me ( vouchers for 2 free packs of Vuse cartridges and 1 free Vuse unit. I called again today with a complaint about the process that is set up for consumers to have to call in order to get replacements and how long they take . They stated that they were not going to go around and round with me and that it will be mailed out . Obviously the quality of customer service is poor but so is the time of replacing items . Its almost been 2 months actually . When I called the call center this time they stated they could not tell me the name of their company and also that they could not provide contact information to reach the actual RJ Reynolds company . The way it is set up , they seem to expect customers to wait forever to get the replacement items justifying horrible customer service on both the actual mailing out part and the call centers they have hired . I am still without product and still without the ability to contact the actual company as the manager I spoke with has stated that RJ Reynolds has refused to provide any contact information for their company for the call centers that they hire on as well as the manager also informing me that I am also not able to know what company she actually works for to report . Clearly this is set up in a shady way and I would like to have my replacement items but also see some accountability if at all possible that this company will not be able to refuse their information to the general public .

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the 2 packs of cartridges and the Vuse unit vouchers mailed to me AND in proper time . NOT 6 more weeks . I have already waited 6 weeks so obviously that is why I am on the BBB page to report shady customer service . I would also like to speak to someone that directly works for RJ Reynolds about the bad customer service I have been provided by the call centers that they have hired on to do the work and also hide information about both the call centers AND RJ Reynolds

Business Response:

We are sorry to learn that Mr. ** ***** experienced such a long delay with receiving the product replacement  coupons that were promised.

Our company found that there was a misunderstanding with the company that prints and mails our coupons.  Once the glitch was discovered, our supplier began mailing all coupons that had accumulated.  My understanding is that the coupons were mailed by February 20.  I trust that our consumer has now received his original coupons, plus a second shipment we requested when the first order was not delivered.

We have sent an apology email and explanation to him.

Sincerely,

Ann G******

Manager, Consmer Relations

3/14/2015 Delivery Issues
3/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
11/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: That have sweepstakes on their Camel website. I've won a few times, but when I try to claim the prizes I get a message accusing me of being some kind of criminal. I finally accepted the fact that their sweepstakes are scams and have no intention of ever dealing with their company in any way shape or form in the future, but they shouldn't be allowed to get away with scamming people.

Desired Settlement: I don't want anything to do with them.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to review *** *******’s complaint regarding our Camel website Instant Win program.

Our research found that *** ******* has two IDs.  She has redeemed two eCodes with one ID and eight on a second ID.  She has won a total of $350.00.   She currently has three eCodes that have expired. Our records indicate numerous attempts (40 to 60) were made to register each eCode with incorrect information.   

Our official website rules state that each consumer must use one ID to play.  Since *** ******* has two IDs and has won multiple times with each ID, we have placed her IDs in a restricted status.  This action restricts access to our website and redemption of eCodes.  For your information, I have copied the Official Rules below that apply to this situation:

The Official Rules for Camel's Instant Win state that:

"Entrants must use only one (1) PID and password and must only use the PID and password assigned to entrant by Sponsor. Should any entrant attempt to use more than one PID and/or password, or a PID and/or password that was not assigned to entrant, that entrant and their plays may be disqualified."

I hope this information explains the circumstances relating to *** ******’s complaint. 

*** *******

Manager, Consumer Relations

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: 9913069

I am rejecting this response because:
That other ID was an old one,. I don't even remember how old it was, probably about 5 years and I couldn't log on to the Camel website with it. I never entered a single sweepstakes with both IDs. I just remember not being able to remember my password  for the first account so I re-registered with the exact same information as I did the first time and I never used the first ID again after that. The only thing I did wrong was not enter information exactly like it was on my Camel account and still don't know what I didn't enter right because I copied and pasted from  camel to Up2 whatever.  My last response.

Regards,

******* *******



Business Response:

Thanks for the follow-up from *** *******.

We have reviewed our records again and confirmed that there were two different IDs used to play the Camel Instant Win contest, which is against the Official Rules for playing the game.  Each entrant is allowed to use only one ID.  *** ******* has redeemed two eCodes on one ID and eight on the second ID.  For this reason, we must decline reinstating the expired eCodes.

I hope she understands our reason for declining.

Sincerely,

*** *******

Manager, Consumer Relations

 

 

3/15/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Feb 21, 2014 I won a $50.00 Gift Card from playing an Instant Win Game on the Camel website. When I attempted to redeem the code, I entered my info & the code didn't go through. My wife and I called Camel C/S and was told to enter the info exactly as it appears on my "Dashboard" in the info section under my account. With C/S still on the phone, I attempted to do that and the code still couldn't be redeemed. C/S told me to try spelling out my state,(*******) instead of just abbreviating it. That didn't work. Then C/S told me to try using all upper case letters for my name and then keep the other info the same. Again, it didn't work. He then said to try adding the extra four digits to my zip code. Still, the code didn't go through. By now I have made several failed attempts to register this code and now I'm getting a message highlighted in yellow saying the code is suspended!! The Camel C/S guy said not to worry and just send an e-mail to **************************** with screen shots of all of my personal info from my Camel account and also the message about the code being suspended. I did that and then I get an e-mail back accusing me of suspicious registration patterns. This is FALSE. I was simply trying to redeem my code by entering my legitimate information, but in different ways so the code would finally go through. I was following directions from Camel C/S. This is not right. All of my info is legitimate & valid and I've been living at my address for over 20 years. I have one account with Camel as does my wife. I have not cheated when I played. I shouldn't be accused falsely for something I didn't do. This is the e-mail they sent - We are sorry but this eCode has been suspended due to suspicious registration patterns.We have reason to believe this activity has violated FinCEN (The Financial Crimes Enforcement Network of the United States Department of the Treasury), the USA Patriot Act and IRS reporting requirements. We intend to submit all of this information to each of those agencies

Desired Settlement: I simply would like the BBB and Camel to look into the fact that I didn't do anything wrong by trying to redeem my code. It's not my fault that the info wasn't being accepted and that I followed the advice of Camel C/S and tried to enter the same exact info, but in different ways so that the code would go through. I would like the code to be available to redeem and I would like a copy of exactly how I should enter the info on the redemption website so that I don't get accused of wrong doing.

Business Response:

Thank you for forwarding *** *********'s complaint regarding our Camel Instant Win offer.  We are sorry to learn of his disappointment.

We are processing a $50.00 refund check for *** *********.  An email has been sent to him (copy attached), along with our apology.  We ask that he allow 10 business days for the check to arrive.

As I understand it, the consumer's name, date of birth and zip code must be entered correctly into the Up2URewards system for verification.  If *** ********* tried to enter it diffrent ways, that may have triggered the decline.

Please let me know if you or your client have any additional questions.

Sincerely,

*** *******

Manager, Consumer Relations

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9963906, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *********

3/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RJR has a website named ********************************** that gives prizes and said I won $50 but made it impossible to collect blaming 3rd parties On 12/21/2013 I logged on to ********************************** and found I had won a $50 ecode on that same day. I tried to register that ecode and it stated "suspended" so I emailed Camel who put the blame on two different 3rd party sites that both have "F" ratings on the BBB and are no linger accepting complaints or are refusing to answer them. Camel told me by phone to email up2urewards daily until they fixed the problem, which I did for almost 2 months. Up2urewards just stalled until the 30 day registration period was over. Now ********************************** has removed the $50 win from my "swag". They have done this to many, many people and some have given up. All I want is the $50 they stated I won, but made impossible to redeem through their BBB "F" rated 3rd parties. Please check the "lounge" on ********************************** and You can read many others statements who could also never redeem or register their wins. Camel still states by phone and email to be patient, but I believe by them removing the win from my "swag" that they are done with me and never intend to make good on my $50 win. A check will do just fine. As will a working ecode that can actually be registered and redeemed. Also many who were able to register and redeem their wins could only spend $49 out of their $50 wins the way they have it set up. The 3rd party, or Camel apparently gets to keep the extra $1 as a hidden fee. Legal? Camel also tried to lock me out of my account at ********************************** but I was able to get back in. I think they are trying to hide evidence by locking people out. Thank You in advance for your help! BBB rocks!

Desired Settlement: Either a check for $50 or a working ecode that can be registered with no problem and redeemed in full.

Business Response:

Thanks for letting us know about *** *****'s complaint regarding the eCode he was unable to redeem through Camel's Instant Win offer.

We have sent an apology email to *** ***** and have requested a $50.00 refund check be issued to him.  We ask that he allow 10 business days for the check to arrive.

A copy of our response is attached.

We appreciate the opportunity to respond to his complaint.

Sincerely,

*** *******

Manager, Consumer Relations

 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *****

P.S. Thank You BBB! Without You the United States would be a disaster for consumers. I appreciate all your hard work big time! Thanks again!  : )

3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to correct issue of $25 prize being able to register an receive an e-code won over 2 months ago on next view services website. Not able to collect $25 e-card won along with no resolution for 2 months from next view services or camel tobacco on issuing my prize i won. I won a $25 prize from camel on 12/3/13. I was directed to click on register the prize to get an e-code for a $25 credit card. When i was unable to register the code due to the code being locked, i was directed to *************************** to contact. i contacted them and supplied the requested information from my camel log in, dashboard and registration information to next view services. i have emailed them and camel numerous times since 12/3/13 and keep getting the excuse of "we have a lot of customers experiencing the same problem and they are working on it. i have been waiting 8 weeks as of 2/3/13 for a resolution of the issue. Camel has failed to deliver the prize to me in a timely manner.This should of been resolved by now. I contacted rj reynolds by email and was sent the following """We are looking into the issue involving the ability of not being able to register and receive the E-Code. We value your business and we are genuinely sorry that you have been unable to retrieve your prize. The department that handles the promotions are working on it and are trying to keep caught up with all the responses from the promotions; it does not mean we do not care and are not going to assist you with the issue. Currently, at this time we are unable to provide you with a definite time frame regarding the issue; please just know that we are working on it as quickly and efficiently as we can to resolving this issue and we ask that you allow us some additional time" I feel 2 months is more than sufficient time given to wait for my issue to be resolved and the $25 prize given to me. I won a $50 prize and was able to register and claim the e-code for it with no problem at all so i know how to follow directions and register the code. I just would like camel to take care of my issue and to treat me as a valued customer by addressing the issue and responding quickly.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be able to get my $25 prize I won from Camel without waiting another month or so with the excuse "we have many people experiencing the problem and are working on it" excuse.

Business Response:

Thank you for forwarding *** *****'s complaint to our office regarding a $25.00 eCode he won from our Camel Instant Win program.  We are sorry to learn of his frustration over the delay in redeeming his eCode.

I have requested a $25.00 refund check be sent to *** ***** and sent an email notifying him that a check is on its way.  We advised him to allow 10 business days for the check to arrive.  A copy of the email is attached. 

Sincerely,

*** *******

Manager, Consumer Relations

 

Consumer Response: From: *** ***** ** [mailto:*********************] 
Sent: Thursday, February 20, 2014 3:15 PM
To: ***** ****
Subject: RE: Complaint #******* still not resolved by RJ Reynolds failing to meet their obligation and response 
Importance: High

I received the check from RJ Reynolds today.
Thank you for all your assistance,
*** *****

 


2/6/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Jan. 26th I won a $50.00 eCode in the Camel Crush contest. When I tried to redeem my eCode, the Up2u system would not recognize my password. After the 3rd attempt, it stated that my eCode had been "Suspended". I called Camel and they stated they noticed that the Up2u rewards system failed to recognize my password and would forward the information to have it corrected. I also emailed **************** but keep getting the same generic answer over and over, no matter what I put in the email. I've tried every other avenue I can think of to try to resolve this problem before filing this complaint. I am loyal to Camel and always have been but when a prize is won on your website, it should be delivered with out so many problems. Have you considered using an alternative third party instead of Up2u Rewards? Their reviews with the BBB are not very reassuring. I would appreciate your help and thanks!

Desired Settlement: Simple, delivery of the prize I won.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to research *** ******'s complaint regarding her $50.00 winnings in our Camel Instant Cash offer.

Our research indicated that *** ****** won and successfully redeemed three Instant Win ecodes, however, the eCode won on January 26, 2014, did not process.  We are sending a $50.00 check to *** ****** to replace the eCode.  I have sent an email to her letting her know that the check should arrive within 10 business days.  A copy of our email is attached. 

Sincerely,

*** *******

Manager, Consumer Relations

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ******

1/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/13/2013 Delivery Issues
12/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/5/2013 Delivery Issues
12/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/26/2013 Delivery Issues
11/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Never received $25 virtual Mastercard that I won in a Camel instant win game. Won $25 virtual mastercard on 6/9/13. It has been well over a month and I have contacted both Camel and Up2URewards multiple times. I have not heard back from Up2URewards in about 2 weeks - this was my 7th request - after sending in my screenshot of the issue of 'expired code'. I am not the only one having trouble. This business' practice are shady, at best!

Desired Settlement: $25 Mastercard either virtual or physical.

Business Response:

Thanks for letting us know about *** *****’s issue with redeeming the $25 virtual card he won on our website.  We apologize for any misunderstanding or confusion.

Our fulfillment house has reinstated his card, and it is now available for his use. 

Our research found that *** ***** attempted to redeem his card 22 times and entered incorrect information, including email address and zip code.  When this happens, an error message appears asking the consumer to verify their account information.  This procedure is in place to verify the actual winner is using the card, and the information must match our records.  It may be that he has moved or perhaps changed his email address since originally signing up on the website.

I hope this information is helpful and that *** ***** will be able to use his card without any problems.  If he does encounter an issue, he should call our Customer Service team at ###-###-####.  One of our representatives will be glad to assist him.

Sincerely,

*** *******

Manager, Consumer Relations

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9623997, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *****

7/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cash game for $25 on Camel attempt to steal personal information. On or around the 14th of April, I won $25 on my cigarette providers website. It took around twelve days to finally get a card number(544*********8165 07/22/2013 112)and to me this was just an expidition to receive personal information. This card was rejected by three different reputable internet sites. And to today they tell me not to worry about it. I contacted up2rewards.com around three times. I got only one response from them. That response was to keep trying. I've wasted a lot of hours trying to find this elusive $25. Now I think it is time for me not to worry so much about the prize that I won, but to worry about finding a new cigarette company that is honest and transparent. Totally professional. No gimmicks.

Desired Settlement: One $25 certified check from Camel cigarettes. And then I might continue to buy my carton of cigarettes that cost me $62.99. Thank you.

Business Response:

Thanks for forwarding Ms. *****' complaint to our office.  We apologize for any misunderstanding or confusion with her vCard winnings.

We researched the vCard, ending in 8165, issued to Ms. ***** and found that 8 transaction attempts were made at Amazon, 2 transaction attempts with Walmart and 2 transaction attemps were over the value of the virtual card.  Both of these merchants do not accept prepaid cards due to $1 Authorizations, the transaction above the card's value was declined.

As information, some Internet merchants (e.g. PayPal and Amazon.com) test your card with a $1 authorization.  This $1 authorization puts a hold on $1 of your card value for up to 3-7 business days.  As a result, if your card value was $25 and you then attempt to make a $25 purchase, the transaction will be declined every time since the card value now shows $24.  Repeated attempts at one of these merchants will have similar results.

Ms. *****'  funds have now been returned to her card.  We suggest that she visit https://www.up2urewards.com website to review FAQs - Common Card Misuses - $1Authorization.

We appreciate the opportunity to respond to Ms. Lile's concerns and hope this information is helpful.

 

 

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: 9528995

I am rejecting this response because:I UNDERSTAND THE $1.00 THING.......THE CAMEL SITE WAS AND IS NOT WORKING RIGHT(THE FILL-IN INFO PART) ,NO ONE TRYED TO HELP ME WITH THIS...(9 PHONE-CALLS) NO HELP. THE WEB-SITE WAS REALLY BAD...........

 I WILL NOT, PUT ANY MORE OF MY TIME INTO THIS MESS,I'M REALLY SORRY TO HAVE TO FIND A NEW BUSINESS,TO SPEND MONEY WITH...BUT THIS WAS  AND IS VERY BAD BUSINESS FOR CAMEL.

''MAIL ONLY'' CAMEL CAN SEND IT, IF THEY LIKE, BY MAIL........IF NOT, KEEP IT, GOOD LUCK IN BUSINESS.

P.S. CAMEL YOU NEED TO TAKE DOWN THE CASH GAME, BEFORE YOU LOSE ALL OF YOUR CIGARETTE SMOKERS.

Regards,

 

****** *****

 

 

Business Response:

We were disappointed to learn of Ms. *****’ rejection of our apology and explanation of her vCard transaction attempts.

At this time, her $25.00 vCard ending in 8165 has a zero balance.  She made the following approved purchases:

4/29/13     $20.00 at Amazon

4/29/13     $ 5.00 at Amazon

Prior to the above purchases, she attempted to make three purchases over the $25.00 card value and 10 purchases with vendors that practice $1 Authorizations and was declined each time.

Again, we are sorry to learn that one of our valued customers is unhappy in any way and apologize for her experience with our Instant Win contest.

I hope this additional information will be helpful.

Sincerely,

*** *******

******** ********* *******

5/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart