BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northwest North Carolina

BBB Accredited Business since

R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (336) 741-5000 View Additional Phone Numbers 401 N. Main Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101 http://www.rjrt.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 52 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

52 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 20 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 6
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 38
Total Closed Complaints 52

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 20, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1875 in 0 Business started locally: 01/01/1875 Business incorporated: 01/02/2004 in NC
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Susan Cameron, CEO Mr. Alan Caldwell, Director-Community & Civic Engagement
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Susan Cameron, CEO
Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers Cigar, Cigarette & Tobacco Manufacturers

Alternate Business Names
Reynolds American, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15720 John J Delaney Dr Ste 345

    Charlotte, NC 28277

  • 401 N. Main Street

    Winston Salem, NC 27101

  • P.O. BOX-2959

    Winston Salem, NC 27102

  • PO Box 2990

    Winston Salem, NC 27102

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (336) 741-0605(Phone)
  • (866) 365-0565(Phone)
  • (336) 741-7220 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
11/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: That have sweepstakes on their Camel website. I've won a few times, but when I try to claim the prizes I get a message accusing me of being some kind of criminal. I finally accepted the fact that their sweepstakes are scams and have no intention of ever dealing with their company in any way shape or form in the future, but they shouldn't be allowed to get away with scamming people.

Desired Settlement: I don't want anything to do with them.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to review *** *******’s complaint regarding our Camel website Instant Win program.

Our research found that *** ******* has two IDs.  She has redeemed two eCodes with one ID and eight on a second ID.  She has won a total of $350.00.   She currently has three eCodes that have expired. Our records indicate numerous attempts (40 to 60) were made to register each eCode with incorrect information.   

Our official website rules state that each consumer must use one ID to play.  Since *** ******* has two IDs and has won multiple times with each ID, we have placed her IDs in a restricted status.  This action restricts access to our website and redemption of eCodes.  For your information, I have copied the Official Rules below that apply to this situation:

The Official Rules for Camel's Instant Win state that:

"Entrants must use only one (1) PID and password and must only use the PID and password assigned to entrant by Sponsor. Should any entrant attempt to use more than one PID and/or password, or a PID and/or password that was not assigned to entrant, that entrant and their plays may be disqualified."

I hope this information explains the circumstances relating to *** ******’s complaint. 

*** *******

Manager, Consumer Relations

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: 9913069

I am rejecting this response because:
That other ID was an old one,. I don't even remember how old it was, probably about 5 years and I couldn't log on to the Camel website with it. I never entered a single sweepstakes with both IDs. I just remember not being able to remember my password  for the first account so I re-registered with the exact same information as I did the first time and I never used the first ID again after that. The only thing I did wrong was not enter information exactly like it was on my Camel account and still don't know what I didn't enter right because I copied and pasted from  camel to Up2 whatever.  My last response.

Regards,

******* *******



Business Response:

Thanks for the follow-up from *** *******.

We have reviewed our records again and confirmed that there were two different IDs used to play the Camel Instant Win contest, which is against the Official Rules for playing the game.  Each entrant is allowed to use only one ID.  *** ******* has redeemed two eCodes on one ID and eight on the second ID.  For this reason, we must decline reinstating the expired eCodes.

I hope she understands our reason for declining.

Sincerely,

*** *******

Manager, Consumer Relations

 

 

3/15/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Feb 21, 2014 I won a $50.00 Gift Card from playing an Instant Win Game on the Camel website. When I attempted to redeem the code, I entered my info & the code didn't go through. My wife and I called Camel C/S and was told to enter the info exactly as it appears on my "Dashboard" in the info section under my account. With C/S still on the phone, I attempted to do that and the code still couldn't be redeemed. C/S told me to try spelling out my state,(*******) instead of just abbreviating it. That didn't work. Then C/S told me to try using all upper case letters for my name and then keep the other info the same. Again, it didn't work. He then said to try adding the extra four digits to my zip code. Still, the code didn't go through. By now I have made several failed attempts to register this code and now I'm getting a message highlighted in yellow saying the code is suspended!! The Camel C/S guy said not to worry and just send an e-mail to **************************** with screen shots of all of my personal info from my Camel account and also the message about the code being suspended. I did that and then I get an e-mail back accusing me of suspicious registration patterns. This is FALSE. I was simply trying to redeem my code by entering my legitimate information, but in different ways so the code would finally go through. I was following directions from Camel C/S. This is not right. All of my info is legitimate & valid and I've been living at my address for over 20 years. I have one account with Camel as does my wife. I have not cheated when I played. I shouldn't be accused falsely for something I didn't do. This is the e-mail they sent - We are sorry but this eCode has been suspended due to suspicious registration patterns.We have reason to believe this activity has violated FinCEN (The Financial Crimes Enforcement Network of the United States Department of the Treasury), the USA Patriot Act and IRS reporting requirements. We intend to submit all of this information to each of those agencies

Desired Settlement: I simply would like the BBB and Camel to look into the fact that I didn't do anything wrong by trying to redeem my code. It's not my fault that the info wasn't being accepted and that I followed the advice of Camel C/S and tried to enter the same exact info, but in different ways so that the code would go through. I would like the code to be available to redeem and I would like a copy of exactly how I should enter the info on the redemption website so that I don't get accused of wrong doing.

Business Response:

Thank you for forwarding *** *********'s complaint regarding our Camel Instant Win offer.  We are sorry to learn of his disappointment.

We are processing a $50.00 refund check for *** *********.  An email has been sent to him (copy attached), along with our apology.  We ask that he allow 10 business days for the check to arrive.

As I understand it, the consumer's name, date of birth and zip code must be entered correctly into the Up2URewards system for verification.  If *** ********* tried to enter it diffrent ways, that may have triggered the decline.

Please let me know if you or your client have any additional questions.

Sincerely,

*** *******

Manager, Consumer Relations

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9963906, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *********

3/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RJR has a website named ********************************** that gives prizes and said I won $50 but made it impossible to collect blaming 3rd parties On 12/21/2013 I logged on to ********************************** and found I had won a $50 ecode on that same day. I tried to register that ecode and it stated "suspended" so I emailed Camel who put the blame on two different 3rd party sites that both have "F" ratings on the BBB and are no linger accepting complaints or are refusing to answer them. Camel told me by phone to email up2urewards daily until they fixed the problem, which I did for almost 2 months. Up2urewards just stalled until the 30 day registration period was over. Now ********************************** has removed the $50 win from my "swag". They have done this to many, many people and some have given up. All I want is the $50 they stated I won, but made impossible to redeem through their BBB "F" rated 3rd parties. Please check the "lounge" on ********************************** and You can read many others statements who could also never redeem or register their wins. Camel still states by phone and email to be patient, but I believe by them removing the win from my "swag" that they are done with me and never intend to make good on my $50 win. A check will do just fine. As will a working ecode that can actually be registered and redeemed. Also many who were able to register and redeem their wins could only spend $49 out of their $50 wins the way they have it set up. The 3rd party, or Camel apparently gets to keep the extra $1 as a hidden fee. Legal? Camel also tried to lock me out of my account at ********************************** but I was able to get back in. I think they are trying to hide evidence by locking people out. Thank You in advance for your help! BBB rocks!

Desired Settlement: Either a check for $50 or a working ecode that can be registered with no problem and redeemed in full.

Business Response:

Thanks for letting us know about *** *****'s complaint regarding the eCode he was unable to redeem through Camel's Instant Win offer.

We have sent an apology email to *** ***** and have requested a $50.00 refund check be issued to him.  We ask that he allow 10 business days for the check to arrive.

A copy of our response is attached.

We appreciate the opportunity to respond to his complaint.

Sincerely,

*** *******

Manager, Consumer Relations

 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *****

P.S. Thank You BBB! Without You the United States would be a disaster for consumers. I appreciate all your hard work big time! Thanks again!  : )

3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to correct issue of $25 prize being able to register an receive an e-code won over 2 months ago on next view services website. Not able to collect $25 e-card won along with no resolution for 2 months from next view services or camel tobacco on issuing my prize i won. I won a $25 prize from camel on 12/3/13. I was directed to click on register the prize to get an e-code for a $25 credit card. When i was unable to register the code due to the code being locked, i was directed to *************************** to contact. i contacted them and supplied the requested information from my camel log in, dashboard and registration information to next view services. i have emailed them and camel numerous times since 12/3/13 and keep getting the excuse of "we have a lot of customers experiencing the same problem and they are working on it. i have been waiting 8 weeks as of 2/3/13 for a resolution of the issue. Camel has failed to deliver the prize to me in a timely manner.This should of been resolved by now. I contacted rj reynolds by email and was sent the following """We are looking into the issue involving the ability of not being able to register and receive the E-Code. We value your business and we are genuinely sorry that you have been unable to retrieve your prize. The department that handles the promotions are working on it and are trying to keep caught up with all the responses from the promotions; it does not mean we do not care and are not going to assist you with the issue. Currently, at this time we are unable to provide you with a definite time frame regarding the issue; please just know that we are working on it as quickly and efficiently as we can to resolving this issue and we ask that you allow us some additional time" I feel 2 months is more than sufficient time given to wait for my issue to be resolved and the $25 prize given to me. I won a $50 prize and was able to register and claim the e-code for it with no problem at all so i know how to follow directions and register the code. I just would like camel to take care of my issue and to treat me as a valued customer by addressing the issue and responding quickly.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be able to get my $25 prize I won from Camel without waiting another month or so with the excuse "we have many people experiencing the problem and are working on it" excuse.

Business Response:

Thank you for forwarding *** *****'s complaint to our office regarding a $25.00 eCode he won from our Camel Instant Win program.  We are sorry to learn of his frustration over the delay in redeeming his eCode.

I have requested a $25.00 refund check be sent to *** ***** and sent an email notifying him that a check is on its way.  We advised him to allow 10 business days for the check to arrive.  A copy of the email is attached. 

Sincerely,

*** *******

Manager, Consumer Relations

 

Consumer Response: From: *** ***** ** [mailto:*********************] 
Sent: Thursday, February 20, 2014 3:15 PM
To: ***** ****
Subject: RE: Complaint #******* still not resolved by RJ Reynolds failing to meet their obligation and response 
Importance: High

I received the check from RJ Reynolds today.
Thank you for all your assistance,
*** *****

 


2/6/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Jan. 26th I won a $50.00 eCode in the Camel Crush contest. When I tried to redeem my eCode, the Up2u system would not recognize my password. After the 3rd attempt, it stated that my eCode had been "Suspended". I called Camel and they stated they noticed that the Up2u rewards system failed to recognize my password and would forward the information to have it corrected. I also emailed **************** but keep getting the same generic answer over and over, no matter what I put in the email. I've tried every other avenue I can think of to try to resolve this problem before filing this complaint. I am loyal to Camel and always have been but when a prize is won on your website, it should be delivered with out so many problems. Have you considered using an alternative third party instead of Up2u Rewards? Their reviews with the BBB are not very reassuring. I would appreciate your help and thanks!

Desired Settlement: Simple, delivery of the prize I won.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to research *** ******'s complaint regarding her $50.00 winnings in our Camel Instant Cash offer.

Our research indicated that *** ****** won and successfully redeemed three Instant Win ecodes, however, the eCode won on January 26, 2014, did not process.  We are sending a $50.00 check to *** ****** to replace the eCode.  I have sent an email to her letting her know that the check should arrive within 10 business days.  A copy of our email is attached. 

Sincerely,

*** *******

Manager, Consumer Relations

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ******

1/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/13/2013 Delivery Issues
12/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/5/2013 Delivery Issues
12/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/26/2013 Delivery Issues
11/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Never received $25 virtual Mastercard that I won in a Camel instant win game. Won $25 virtual mastercard on 6/9/13. It has been well over a month and I have contacted both Camel and Up2URewards multiple times. I have not heard back from Up2URewards in about 2 weeks - this was my 7th request - after sending in my screenshot of the issue of 'expired code'. I am not the only one having trouble. This business' practice are shady, at best!

Desired Settlement: $25 Mastercard either virtual or physical.

Business Response:

Thanks for letting us know about *** *****’s issue with redeeming the $25 virtual card he won on our website.  We apologize for any misunderstanding or confusion.

Our fulfillment house has reinstated his card, and it is now available for his use. 

Our research found that *** ***** attempted to redeem his card 22 times and entered incorrect information, including email address and zip code.  When this happens, an error message appears asking the consumer to verify their account information.  This procedure is in place to verify the actual winner is using the card, and the information must match our records.  It may be that he has moved or perhaps changed his email address since originally signing up on the website.

I hope this information is helpful and that *** ***** will be able to use his card without any problems.  If he does encounter an issue, he should call our Customer Service team at ###-###-####.  One of our representatives will be glad to assist him.

Sincerely,

*** *******

Manager, Consumer Relations

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9623997, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *****

7/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cash game for $25 on Camel attempt to steal personal information. On or around the 14th of April, I won $25 on my cigarette providers website. It took around twelve days to finally get a card number(544*********8165 07/22/2013 112)and to me this was just an expidition to receive personal information. This card was rejected by three different reputable internet sites. And to today they tell me not to worry about it. I contacted up2rewards.com around three times. I got only one response from them. That response was to keep trying. I've wasted a lot of hours trying to find this elusive $25. Now I think it is time for me not to worry so much about the prize that I won, but to worry about finding a new cigarette company that is honest and transparent. Totally professional. No gimmicks.

Desired Settlement: One $25 certified check from Camel cigarettes. And then I might continue to buy my carton of cigarettes that cost me $62.99. Thank you.

Business Response:

Thanks for forwarding Ms. *****' complaint to our office.  We apologize for any misunderstanding or confusion with her vCard winnings.

We researched the vCard, ending in 8165, issued to Ms. ***** and found that 8 transaction attempts were made at Amazon, 2 transaction attempts with Walmart and 2 transaction attemps were over the value of the virtual card.  Both of these merchants do not accept prepaid cards due to $1 Authorizations, the transaction above the card's value was declined.

As information, some Internet merchants (e.g. PayPal and Amazon.com) test your card with a $1 authorization.  This $1 authorization puts a hold on $1 of your card value for up to 3-7 business days.  As a result, if your card value was $25 and you then attempt to make a $25 purchase, the transaction will be declined every time since the card value now shows $24.  Repeated attempts at one of these merchants will have similar results.

Ms. *****'  funds have now been returned to her card.  We suggest that she visit https://www.up2urewards.com website to review FAQs - Common Card Misuses - $1Authorization.

We appreciate the opportunity to respond to Ms. Lile's concerns and hope this information is helpful.

 

 

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

 Complaint: 9528995

I am rejecting this response because:I UNDERSTAND THE $1.00 THING.......THE CAMEL SITE WAS AND IS NOT WORKING RIGHT(THE FILL-IN INFO PART) ,NO ONE TRYED TO HELP ME WITH THIS...(9 PHONE-CALLS) NO HELP. THE WEB-SITE WAS REALLY BAD...........

 I WILL NOT, PUT ANY MORE OF MY TIME INTO THIS MESS,I'M REALLY SORRY TO HAVE TO FIND A NEW BUSINESS,TO SPEND MONEY WITH...BUT THIS WAS  AND IS VERY BAD BUSINESS FOR CAMEL.

''MAIL ONLY'' CAMEL CAN SEND IT, IF THEY LIKE, BY MAIL........IF NOT, KEEP IT, GOOD LUCK IN BUSINESS.

P.S. CAMEL YOU NEED TO TAKE DOWN THE CASH GAME, BEFORE YOU LOSE ALL OF YOUR CIGARETTE SMOKERS.

Regards,

 

****** *****

 

 

Business Response:

We were disappointed to learn of Ms. *****’ rejection of our apology and explanation of her vCard transaction attempts.

At this time, her $25.00 vCard ending in 8165 has a zero balance.  She made the following approved purchases:

4/29/13     $20.00 at Amazon

4/29/13     $ 5.00 at Amazon

Prior to the above purchases, she attempted to make three purchases over the $25.00 card value and 10 purchases with vendors that practice $1 Authorizations and was declined each time.

Again, we are sorry to learn that one of our valued customers is unhappy in any way and apologize for her experience with our Instant Win contest.

I hope this additional information will be helpful.

Sincerely,

*** *******

******** ********* *******

5/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While playing a sweepstakes game on camel.com, I won a $50 eCode. There was a problem in redeeming the eCode. R.J. Reynolds refuses to honor this win. The fact that I won $50 shows up in my camel.com account under my "Activity Feed." I spoke to ****** at 1-800-341-5211. Nathan (employee number 38301) informs me he is the final decision maker for R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company and he has decided that the $25.00 gift card is the only thing they can give me in lieu of $50.00.

Desired Settlement: They can not explain why the $50 eCode did not go through. They say they have sent me a $25 gift card. This is not acceptable. The win was for $50.00, not $25.00.

6/29/2012 Delivery Issues
6/7/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/10/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service