BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northwest North Carolina

BBB Accredited Business since

Hanesbrands Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (336) 519-8080 View Additional Phone Numbers 1000 E Hanes Mill Rd, Winston Salem, NC 27105 http://www.hanesbrands.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hanesbrands Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hanesbrands Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 32 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

32 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 6
Problems with Product/Service 17
Total Closed Complaints 32

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 01, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1986 Business started locally: 01/01/1986 Business under new ownership as of: 07/18/2006 Business incorporated: 07/18/2006 in NC
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chris Fox
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Fox
Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers Bras General Merchandise - Retail Mail Order & Catalog Shopping Product Sales - General Mens Clothing & Furnishings - Wholesale & Manufacturers Womens Apparel - Wholesale & Manufacturers

Alternate Business Names
Aire' brand apparel Bali barely there brand apparel Beefy T brand apparel C9 brand apparel Cacharel brand apparel Celebrity brand apparel Champion brand apparel Daisy Fresh brand apparel Duofold brand apparel Hanes Bali Playtex Factory Outlet Stores Hanes brand apparel J.E. Morgan brand apparel JMS brand apparel Just My Size brand apparel L'eggs brand apparel One Hanes Place brand apparel Outer Banks brand apparel Playtex brand apparel Rinbros brand apparel Ritmo brand apparel Sheer Energy brand apparel Silo Reflections brand apparel Sol brand apparel Sol y Oro brand apparel Stedman by Hanes brand apparel Tagless brand apparel Wonderbra brand apparel Zorba brand apparel

Additional Locations

  • 1000 E Hanes Mill Rd

    Winston Salem, NC 27105

  • PO Box 748

    Rural Hall, NC 27045

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (336) 519-4400(Phone)
  • (336) 519-8731(Phone)
  • (336) 519-8746 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/12/2014 Delivery Issues
8/26/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a pair of Hanes brand pajamas at *****. The fabric fibers are shedding and falling apart. The defect is so bad that it is shedding fibers all over the house.

Desired Settlement: Refund .and removal of fibers from my house, additionally not sure about health hazard could be one too.

Business Response:

 

Attempted phone call to consumer on 2/5/14 with no response.  A refund for $29.99 was sent to the consumer on 2/7/14

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
1/15/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/22/2013 Delivery Issues
10/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Men's t-shirt package contains 6 t-shirts. Additional sticker on the top of the package says "+1 One more for the same price". Since 6 + 1 = 7, I assumed that there would be 7 shirts in the package. There were only 6 and it was not a packaging error the package was designed to only have 6 shirts and the label indicating there is 1 more shirt for the same price is misleading at best.

Desired Settlement: Change their advertising, basically don't put a sticker on the product that says there is an extra t-shirt in the package.

Business Response:

Dear **. *******,

Thank you for allowing me to speak to you regarding your recent purchase of Hanes underwear from Sam’s Club.  We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.  As promised I have reported your concern to the appropriate area.  You will be pleased to know our Marketing team had already instructed our distribution center to cease placing the sticker on the package.  Please be assured that feedback like yours is most important to us.  It is only through such contacts that we become aware of our consumers’ concerns and can make an effort to resolve them.

   

**. *******, I know you stated you do not wish to have complementary product sent to you.  However, if you have a change of heart after reading this email and you choose to accept the product, please give me a call at ###-###-####, Monday through Friday from 9:00am to 4:30pm (EST), or on the Web at www.hanes.com.

Sincerely,

**** *********
******** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/5/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing regarding the return of five(5) Hanes Signature Men's Cotton Waffle Knit V-Notch Sweaters that I purchased and were unhappy with due to numerous problems with lose threads and piling. I called Hanes customer and was told to send the sweaters back to Hanes Satisfaction GuaranteeP.O. Box 5000Rural Hall, NC 27098I sent the 5 sweaters back via US MAIL Priority since this is a po box and there is no other way to send it. I had to spend 15.00 to mail these back. I sent these defective sweaters back in June of 2012. It is now almost october and I have yet to receive my refund. I paid $200 for the 5 sweaters and 15.00 for the postage. I called customer service 2 to 3 weeks after i mailed them in. They assured me that they had received them and that they were processing my return. Ive called numerous times after that to be given a runaround, sometimes agents going as far to say that they never received my return! A different story each time.

Desired Settlement: A full refund of $200 for the sweaters (5x$40 per sweater) and 15.00 for the postage. A total refund of $215.00

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/23/2012 Delivery Issues
5/23/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
5/16/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/28/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/9/2012 Delivery Issues
2/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/27/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/17/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/2/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service