BBB Accredited Business since

Hanesbrands Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (336) 519-8080 View Additional Phone Numbers 1000 E Hanes Mill Rd, Winston Salem, NC 27105 http://www.hanesbrands.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hanesbrands Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Hanesbrands Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 37 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

37 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 5
Problems with Product/Service 22
Total Closed Complaints 37

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Hanesbrands Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1986 Business started locally: 01/01/1986 Business under new ownership as of: 07/18/2006 Business incorporated 07/18/2006 in NC
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chris Fox
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Fox
Number of Employees

4,000

Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers Bras General Merchandise - Retail Mail Order & Catalog Shopping Product Sales - General Mens Clothing & Furnishings - Wholesale & Manufacturers Womens Apparel - Wholesale & Manufacturers

Alternate Business Names
Aire' brand apparel Bali barely there brand apparel Beefy T brand apparel C9 brand apparel Cacharel brand apparel Celebrity brand apparel Champion brand apparel Daisy Fresh brand apparel Duofold brand apparel Hanes Bali Playtex Factory Outlet Stores Hanes brand apparel J.E. Morgan brand apparel JMS brand apparel Just My Size brand apparel L'eggs brand apparel One Hanes Place brand apparel Outer Banks brand apparel Playtex brand apparel Rinbros brand apparel Ritmo brand apparel Sheer Energy brand apparel Silo Reflections brand apparel Sol brand apparel Sol y Oro brand apparel Stedman by Hanes brand apparel Tagless brand apparel Wonderbra brand apparel Zorba brand apparel

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hanesbrands Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1000 E Hanes Mill Rd

    Winston Salem, NC 27105

  • PO Box 748

    Rural Hall, NC 27045

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service
8/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/6/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
6/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/2/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Back at the end of August on a Sunday, I ordered some underwear as I was going to go on a 500 mile backpacking walk. After I made the order, I went and had my hair cut. Upon leaving the salon, I checked my emails and saw that Hanes had confirmed the order, but that it could take up to 10 business days for delivery. I would be gone by then so I called to cancel the order. They said I couldn't because I should have called within the hour of making the purchase. I called my credit card company and cancelled payment. Never received the items and never heard from Hanes until last Friday (Jan 29th) where I received a letter from M.A. B***** dated Dec 22 saying that I had month to pay what they thought I owed (58.63) or they would turn me over to a collection agency. I checked the postage date on the envelope and it said Jan 21st. I called today and M.A. B***** had stepped out of the office so they took my name and number and said she would call me back today. I never heard back.

Desired Settlement: I would like M.A. B***** to contact me and explain what is going on. If this person has sent my name to a collection agency to cancel it and also to confirm that my credit will not be affected.

Business Response:

Dear Ms.  Mace,

 

This Better Business Bureau complaint was sent to Hanes two times on 2/2/16 at 12:47PM and we attempted to respond to the first complaint received on 2/10/16.  It appears that our response was rejected by the Better Business Bureau which we were  not aware of  until receiving a second notice on 2/14/16.  We are not sure why it was rejected but we will respond to both complaints in hopes that it will be accepted this time. 

                           

This response is being sent as a follow-up to the two recent Better Business Bureau complaints with  ID#******* concerning the letter Ms. ***** received from M. A. B***** about the $58.63 order. The Hanes Credit departmrnt spoke directly to Ms. ***** by phone  on 2/2/16 informing her that this charge has been cleared off of her account and she will not get anymore letters concerning this matter. We have checked and verified that this has been done and sent a follow-up email on 2/10/16 apologizing for this inconvenience and Hanes attempted to respond directly on this Better Business Bureau complaint on that same day.  On 2/11/16 Hanes  received a follow-up email from Ms. ***** thanking Hanes for clearing up this complaint . Please let us know if we can be of further assistance on this complaint and let us know why our first response was not accepted..

  

Sincerely,

Julie J******

Hanesbrands Inc.

***********************

2/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am concerned about harmful chemicals being in my clothes, so I am only wearing clothing now that is GOTS or Oeko-tex certified. I own one ********, a Hanes brand, shirt. The shirt is not certified to be free of harmful chemicals. It's in like new condition. I contacted Hanesbrands a few times asking them to send me a return shipping label and a refund. They completely ignored me.

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response:

Dear Ms.Diaz,

In response to Better Business Bureau Complaint ID #********, we attempted to contact ******* ******** by phone without success and then sent him an email on 1/27/16 asking him to provide the total price of his purchase so that a refund could be processed immediately.   Mr. ******** responded to our email that he is on a do not call list and cannot be reached by phone. He said that if we send him a label to return then we can look up the retail price and then refund him.  On 1/28/16, we sent Mr. ********  an electronic return label and an email again requesting the style being returned so that we could refund Mr. ******** without waiting on the return .  We have not received the return or a response to that email. On 2/5/16, the Hanes Retail Consumer Service department advised that Mr. ******** had informed them that he is returning a Champion Polo Shirt that has a retail price of $19.99.  On Monday 2/8/16  we are sending out a refund check for $21.19 that will be sent out  through UPS for delivery on 2/9/16 so that he will not have to continue to wait for the return to arrive to receive the refund he requested as resolution to this complaint.  On 2/5/16, we sent an email to inform Mr. ******** that the refund is being sent and to apologize to Mr. ******** for the delay in response as we were waiting on his return.  

Please accept our apologies for this delay in response to the Better Business Bureau.  Unfortunately, we did not receive the style or price information needed to resolve this complaint until 2/5/16.  Please let us know if we can provide further assistance with this complaint.

Sincerely,

Julie *******

Hanes Brands Inc.

 ***********************                                               

   

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Number 1, I am on the do not call list and never gave Hanes my phone number, so they couldn't have called me. The only number I gave them was my fax machine. Number 2, Hanes kept playing games by email. They should have asked for style information up front instead of repeatedly asking the sane questions I had already provided answers to. I received the check, so this is resolved. 
Regards,

******* ********

12/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/26/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company actively spams. I made a single order on their website, now they will not stop sending me spam. I have unsubscribed atleast 4 times now. I'm still receiving emails.

Desired Settlement: Fix their broken spam system

Business Response:

Dear Ms. Diaz ,

 

Please accept our apologies for this delay in response to your Better Business Bureau complaint # ********.  Unfortunately we searched for the email address ************************  and the name ***** ***** and were unable to find his information on the Hanes.com file to unsubscribe. After running a search against the address :

 

***** **** ******* *** ***** ** *****

 

We were able to find one order placed by someone at that same address with the email address:  **************************. 

On 10/27/15 , Hanes.com unsubscribed **************************.  We show that the emails stopped completely on 10/31/15 and we have verified that there will not be any more emails sent to **************************.   We also have unsubscribed the email address ************************ .

 

We asked Mr. ***** to let us know if these are not the correct email addresses to unsubscribe, so that we can get the correct email address from him and unsubscribe immediately.  We are sorry for the delays caused by the problems with idetifying the correct email address to unsubscribe. Please let us know if there is anything further we can do to assist with this complaint. 

 

Sincerely,

***** *******

Hanes Brands Inc.

Office of the President

************ ********* ****

10/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently received a letter via mail about the need to pay back for Order #****** ***. I charged this item back because the items were NEVER delivered, and your customer service ignored me. I won this chargeback and do not owe you a penny. I ask that you do not contact me any further about this order, and cease all attempts to collect on a non-existent debt. The fact that you threaten to send a customer to collections over a legitimate chargeback is despicable, and you should be ashamed of your practices.

Desired Settlement: I want the business to cease threatening letters to me. I will leave any further action up to the business, but the fact that this has been such an ordeal leaves me with a terrible taste in my mouth about this company.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. Diaz,

 

Thank you for contacting Hanes about the Better Business Bureau Complaint ID #********  from Mr. ****** on the delivery and service problems with his Hanes order  #*********.   We have apologized for this mistake with this chargeback,corrected our records, cleared his account  and he will not receive any further communication from Hanes on this order or chargeback. We have also replaced the order for Mr. ******. He was pleased with our response and this replacement was  delivered on 8/7/15.   Please let us know if we can provide further assistance with this complaint.

Sincerely,

Julie *******

Hanes Brands Inc.

Office of the President

800-832-0594 ********* ****

***********************

v

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ******

8/5/2015 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/19/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased both a pack of Hanes white, medium X-TEMP V-neck and Crew. all shirts in both sets have a crease running down the center from neck to waist on both front and back. I've tried washing, drying, and even ironed one of the shirts for 15 minutes. I've never had this problem with any clothing in my life. and it's not only mine. the product picture on Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/Hanes-3-Pack-Ultimate-X-Temp-T-Shirt/dp/B00C57A25Y) shows the same crease! if Hanes is being honest, this is clearly a quality control issue; either a whole batch, factory, or otherwise is failing. if need be, I can send a picture of mine to verify.considering the quality control issues, 'store credit' would seem foolish. I don't have the time to be sending another request when the next sets have creases. and I certainly don't want to deal with hanes' lack of customer service. (I contacted hanes with this same description and received an automated response asking for my personal details. It's been 9 days since I've responded and I haven't even received an automated response back from them.)

Desired Settlement: $35 direct deposit or check. crew neck product is listed for a regular price of $17.50 on hanes.com, so $17.50 for each set.

Business Response:

 We have responded to the Mr. ***** ******'s complaint regarding Hanes Men's X-Temp shirts.   The letter copied below was sent to him Friday afternoon,  4/10/15 to his email address  jaroq@yandex.comjaroq@yandex.com.    A refund of $35.00 will be processed today, 4/13/15,  and mailed via US Mail on Tuesday,  4/14/15.

Thank you,

Beth S****

HBI Consumer Care

336-519-5450

********************

 

Dear Mr. ******,

Thank you for emailing us about our Hanes Underwear product. We're sorry you experienced a problem with our product.


Because nothing is more important to us than manufacturing a superior product, we are reporting your experience to our Quality Assurance Manager. Also, by US Mail we will be sending you a $35.00 refund check. The check will be from Hanesbrands Inc, our parent company. Please allow 7- 10 business days for this to arrive.

Should you continue to have problems with our product, we may ask you to return the product. We will gladly provide you with a postage paid label. This will enable us to analyze the problem as part of our continuing research for product improvement. Product returns become property of our company.

If you should have any questions or need further assistance, please call us at 1-800-994-4348, our hours of operation are Monday through Friday, 9:00 am to 4:30 pm (EST).

Sincerely,

Stephanie G*******
Consumer Care Specialist

4/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/18/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased 6 pairs of Hanes signature French terry pants (style 25420) and 4 Hanes signature soft ponte 3/4 sleeve shift dress (style 26467). I bought these in assorted colors and the price was $30 each for the French terry pants and $40 each for the soft ponte sleeve shift dress. I spent a total of $340.00 on these items and was very disappointed because within the first week the threads started coming out. I contacted Hanes and was told to send the items back to the following address for a refund:Satisfaction GuaranteeHanesP.O. Box 5000Rural Hall, NC 27098Being that it was a PO BOX I was forced to send via US Mail First Class mail I was not given a tracking number. I sent these items in October. I have called customer service several times only to be hung up on or transferred from department to department. Initially I was told that my items were received and a refund was being processed. Later I was told my record could not be found. Buying from such a reputable brand as Hanes I didn't expect any quality issues or issues with getting a refund. I am now out the 340.00 I spent on the clothing plus 12 dollars in mailing expenses.

Desired Settlement: A refund check in the amount of 352.00 (340 clothing plus 12 mailing)

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ******,

Thank you for allowing us to investigate your claim for returned merchandise. We have received through the Better Business Bureau your statement of complaint involving a return of:

6 Hanes Signature French Terry Pants (hanes.com style 25420) value of $30.00 each total amount $180.00.

4 Hanes Signature Soft Ponte 3/4 Sleeve Shift Dress (hanes.com style 26467) value of $40.00 each total amount $160.00 as per your statement.

The above styles 25420 and 26467 are sold exclusively through our website and catalog businesses of Hanesbrands. Therefore we checked with that area and they have no record of having sold this item thru any records from the website or catalog. This was checked out from this household address at PO Box 1713, Newport Beach, CA 92659. They investigated sales records to see if under any of these various spellings: ** ******* ** ****** ** *****. Unfortunately, we were unable to find any sales at this address.

If you will kindly check to see if any order was placed at our website Hanes.com or Onehanesplace catalog - perhaps with a different name or address. We will be happy to review the sales again, if another name where the styles 25420 and 26467 may have been purchased.

It is most unusual, to have not received a return, but when a claim is made we will gladly check the sales/returns records that may be under another name/address. As we are unable to compensate for items we have not received the return of.

 

Mr. ******, you may reach us at 1(800) 994-4348, Monday through Friday from 9:00 am to 4:30 pm (EST),if you have other names we may research so we may assist you in locating this return.

Sincerely,

Reba A********

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 

The items were received as gifts.  They were mailed back to the address provided by hanes consumer service.  Hanes admitted in several calls that they were in receipt of my merchandise.  This is not right that Hanes wants to keep my return money and my merchandise. I returned these items in good faith per the instructions given to me by hanes 


Regards,

* ******



Business Response:

Thank you for allowing us to investigate your claim of returned merchandise.  At this time we nor our catalog division has any record of return from your name and address.  We assumed this was ordered under your name as you stated in the first contact "I purchased 6 pairs of Hanes Signature French terry pants (style 25420).." Thank you for clearing up that this was a gift and not purchased from you.

The Hanes Signature product line is only available through our website and catalog.  We have checked at the website/catalog and our area no record exist for a return of Hanes Signature with the name and address you provided.  We will however be more than happy to check under the name and address of the person that gave you the gift. 

We hope you understand our position but we are unable to replace or refund for product we do not receive.

Sincerely,

Reba A********

 

 

 

12/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/12/2014 Delivery Issues
8/26/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a pair of Hanes brand pajamas at *****. The fabric fibers are shedding and falling apart. The defect is so bad that it is shedding fibers all over the house.

Desired Settlement: Refund .and removal of fibers from my house, additionally not sure about health hazard could be one too.

Business Response:

 

Attempted phone call to consumer on 2/5/14 with no response.  A refund for $29.99 was sent to the consumer on 2/7/14

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *****

2/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
1/15/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/22/2013 Delivery Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Hanesbrands Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart