BBB Accredited Business since

Performance Automotive Service, Inc.

Phone: (336) 760-9888 View Additional Phone Numbers 2411 Spaugh Industrial Dr, Winston Salem, NC 27103 http://www.performanceautomotive.cc View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We offer engine diagnostics, alignment, NC state inspections, engine rebuild/replace, transmission rebuild/replace, brakes, clutches, factory recommended service, oil service, tune-ups and repairs and service for all makes and models; foreign and domestic. We also offer towing service in the greater Winston-Salem area.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Performance Automotive Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Performance Automotive Service, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Performance Automotive Service, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 26, 1993 Business started: 03/01/1990 in NC Business incorporated 10/09/1990 in NC
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Zachary Hulcher Donna Shaw Hulcher, Vice-President Mr. Mark C. Hulcher, Owner & President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Zachary Hulcher
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Clutches Tire Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Inspection Stations

Products & Services

Performance Automotive Service, Inc. sells the following brand(s): AC Delco, Autotex Pink Wiper Blades, Beck Arnley, BF Goodrich, Borg Warner, Bosch, Cooper tires, Interstate Battery, Kelly, Michelin, Multimile, Petro Chemicals

Performance Automotive Service, Inc. offers the following product(s): Automotive Batteries, Tires, Wiper blades

Method(s) of Payment
Mastercard, Visa, Debit, Check, Cash

Additional Locations

  • 2411 Spaugh Industrial Dr

    Winston Salem, NC 27103

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to this business and asked to have the battery checked. It obviously needed to be replaced because we had to jump start it to get it into their bay. Without consent they ran diagnostic tests and told me it would be a $1,000 throttle issue to fix. We opted to just have the battery replaced which corrected the issue and when we went to pick up the car the bill was $425. We argued that we should only have to pay for the battery replacement. They took off $50 and one person was very rude. We should not have to pay that much to replace a battery in a car. At ******** the battery cost would have been $115. We feel we were taken advantage of and charged an unreasonable amount.

Desired Settlement: Refund the unreasonable amount. We should not have paid much more than $115.

Business Response: Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this complaint.

On 1/21/2015, Mr. ******** presented his 09 Mazda 6 for repair and spoke with *****.  He had several complaints as noted on the work order.  Those were that the the car had to be jump started, that it seemed to die.  He also stated that the idle was high and that there was no response from the throttle.  The check engine light was on and some random lights had been on.  He stated that there were blown fuses like the cigarette lighter/power port that he replaced. Mr. ******** wanted these problem checked.  He also asked that we check the alignment and tires and advise him as to their condition and if he needed an alignment.  Mr. ******** requested this specific work (diagnostic) be performed without requesting any sort of estimate. He simply stated that he wanted the problems checked.
 Mr. ******** brought his vehicle to our shop in a "limp mode" during which, the vehicle was not operating properly. He advised us that the battery had been jumped off and that after that, a few fuses blew (which he had replaced), and the vehicle began experiencing problems. Several lights were activated on the dash including the check engine light and the throttle was not functioning properly. We explained to him the steps that we took in diagnosing his vehicle's problem which was not related to a low running voltage problem as he seemed to believe. We explained the testing procedures that we took and why we believed that the battery was not the root cause of his problem. We also explained that we chose to reboot the computer in an effort to affect a system reset as a last line before replacing expensive parts like the throttle body or pcm because they were ruled as being suspect during our testing. The fact of the matter is, changing the battery alone did not repair his vehicle. We ran diagnostics with the battery fully charged as I explained to him when he picked up the vehicle, we load tested the battery on 2 occasions, the battery passed once, then failed the load test at a later time. In addition to this we also changed/replaced the battery prior to rebooting the computer with no effect on his problem. There were multiple check engine light related faults in the vehicle's computer which related to the EGR valve control circuit, oxygen sensor circuit, pcm communication, and throttle body actuator control. These faults are not caused by a battery but rather a pcm or related part issue which we explained to him when he picked up the car.  We also explained that this solution may not last and that his vehicle may need a throttle body should the condition return. We charged him for the time spent testing the vehicle and for performing the repair that ultimately got the vehicle running again. We also tried to get his existing battery replaced under warranty through our supplier even though he didnt purchase the battery from us. We checked his alignment/tires and front end noise as requested as well. Also, to be transparent, the battery we sold him cost us $100.11, we sold it to him, installed, for $130 which came with a 30 month free replacement warranty. A comparable battery purchased from an autoparts store retails for roughly the same unless you use a lower quality battery. The balance of the charge was for testing, diagnosis, and repair of the vehicles problem.
**** advised me that he had spoken with Mr. ******** on the phone and asked him how many times he jump started the vehicle, Mr. ******** advised at that time that his wife had jumped it off. Mr. ******** was unsure at that time if the cables were hooked up properly but Mr. ******** advised that his wife would not tell him if she had hooked it up incorrectly. When asked the age of the battery Mr. ******** advised it was 2 years old and still under warranty and asked us to locate a receipt inside of the vehicle which we searched for but could not locate. Mr. ******** was also notified by phone that we were conducting diagnostic tests on the vehicles drive by wire system to include the throttle pedal sensors, pcm, and throttle body actuators. He then spoke with Mr. ******** again by phone and explained some of our findings. Mr. ******** advised that he wanted to go ahead and replace the battery before replacing any other parts and advised us that the battery was no longer under warranty as he had found the receipt. We determined that the battery was in fact over 4 years old. The customer was told the cost to replace the battery prior to replacing it and the customer approved the purchase. At no time was Mr. ******** ever led to believe that checking all of his vehicle's problems and diagnosing them would be done at no charge. 
Mr. ******** came to the shop to pick up his vehicle at the close of business on 1/23/2015 and advised that he was not happy with the cost. We explained to him the procedures that we took at length in an effort to help him understand what we did, why we did it, and how much time we devoted to fixing his vehicle. We gave him $50 off in an attempt to satisfy him. He advised that this was not good enough and we attempted to continue to explain the charges. He also advised that if we did not take the charge off he would take his business elsewhere. 
Unfortunately, when a customer takes issue with what we have done and challenges us on our charges it does feel personal. We have to charge for the time that we spend working on their vehicles. This customer appeared to believe that all of our work was not worth his money and took a stance that he knew more than we did about the problem. He believed that the battery was the root cause of his problem when it clearly was not.  We could not give him an explanation that could satisfy him because I believe he thinks he knows more about the problem than we do. 
Again, Thank you for your time and allowing us to respond in this matter.
**** *******
Service Manager 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I was not informed prior to the diagnostic work being completed of the nearly $300 in charges this would incur.  This was particularly shocking given that I believed this was a battery related issue given the issues the car was presenting prior to the day I brought the car in.  I suggest as a matter of course that in the future any diagnostic time beyond a certain posted value be communicated to the customer and approved prior to spending more.  Performance automotive was in fact fair with the battery price, however the unapproved diagnostics for a battery replacement is unfair.  Also to tell us it needed a $1000 fix was untrue.  All it needed was the battery replaced as we suggested when bringing in the car.  The computer in the car is in fact reset by unhooking the battery. No diagnostics or extra work required.  We deserve a refund for the unnecessary and unapproved diagnostics. 

Regards,

**** ********




Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Performance Automotive Service, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)