BBB Accredited Business since

Carmine's Import Service

Phone: (336) 993-5506 Fax: (336) 464-2312 View Additional Phone Numbers 318 W Mountain St, Kernersville, NC 27284 http://www.carminesimport.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers car repair services; specializing in imports & foreign made automobiles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Carmine's Import Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Carmine's Import Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Carmine's Import Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 07, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2008 in 0 Business started locally: 01/01/2008 Business incorporated 10/10/2008 in NC
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Carmine Cupani, Managing Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Carmine Cupani, Managing Member
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Cupani Solutions, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 318 W Mountain St

    Kernersville, NC 27284 (336) 993-5506

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took my 2000 VW Jetta Turbo Diesel into his repair shop due to fuel leaking from the Injector Pump. The car was running as normal when I took it in except for the leaking Injector Pump. Was quoted a repair cost for the pump. After the leak was fixed 3 days later or so. I was called and said my car was not running correctly. Two days later they say it will not run faster than 40 MPH and they were not exactly sure of the whole issue. They said the Turbo charger was broken and needed replaced. I ask how much the cost would be. Not sure they said but they would need to pull the intake manifold and clean the carbon and purchase a Turbo charger. Rough estimate, roughly 5000 dollars. I told them to park the car and I would come and get it. I paid 920 dollars which I think is very high and still cannot drive the car. I have parked THE CAR AND GOING TO TURN THE TAG IN TILL I CAN FIGURE OUT MYSELF WHAT WENT WRONG AT THIS SHOP. I believe the car should have been turned back to me in the same running shape it went in. He did state that he was not charging for troubleshooting to further investigate. But after fixing the leak the car should have run the same as it did before he started working on it. There should have been no further trouble shooting required. OF the 920 he charge roughly 144 was to diagnose the heater problem. I have no complaint with that. But 776 dollars is out of range for this repair. I have purchased another Vehicle since then due to the need of dependable transportation.

Desired Settlement: I am not looking for all the money back, but after 5 days and the vehicle is not drivable the cost is excessive.I have to review the cost sheet and then figure what I think is a fair partial refund. I do not think I should have to pay for parts or service or trouble shooting after the leak was fixed.

Business Response:

Carmine’s Import Service

*** **** ******** ****** ************* ** *****

 

The Better Business Bureau

Complaint ID ********

 

To Whom It May Concern,

 

Customer brought in his 2001 Volkswagen Beetle with over 279k miles stating that the diesel injection pump on his vehicle was leaking. Customer stated that he replaced a hose on it. Customer asked for us to diagnose the leak. Our technician found that the vehicle had a major fuel leak from the fuel pump. We recommended re-sealing the leaking fuel pump with updated seal kit and retesting as the first step in resolving the problem. Also recommended replacing the fuel filter, bleeding the system, add fuel treatment and check run ability. Customer approved these steps. Vehicle was still having run ability issues so we asked the customer if he wanted us to continue troubleshooting. Customer approved additional troubleshooting and we did the following. Checked fuel injection pump timing, checked fuel pressure, checked fuel lines, checked solenoid valves, checked vacuum supply, checked air mass sensor, checked for excessive carbon build up. We also tested the turbo to find it had a broken waste gate and the bolts were loose for the mounting to the engine exhaust manifold. We recommended replacing the turbo. We informed the customer and he declined and instead he requested for us to tighten the turbo. We tightened the turbo to be tighter than it was but the waste gate was still broken which was causing the turbo to not create boost and the vehicle was returning boost control codes. We also found that the vehicle had existing glow system issues unrelated to this problem.

Customer also stated that the vehicle had no heat. Technician checked and found that the heater core was faulty. We recommended replacing the heater core and performing an A/C service. Due to the major fuel leaks we also recommended replacing the upper and lower cooling hoses, thermostat and perform coolant system service. The customer declined these repairs along with other repairs needed in order to operate this vehicle legally and safely on a North Carolina roadway such as faulty control arm bushings and ball joints. There was also other cooling system concerns which we halted work on after his approval so he could spend the money on the troubleshooting of the vehicle so no money was wasted on the leaky coolant until the engine concerns were addressed.  We were very upfront with this gentlemen. Customer advised us that he would be driving to Florida and we advised against it.  Our company is always willing to help the consumer and want everyone to be satisfied when they leave.  But we also want our customers to take responsibility for their vehicles and understand that a vehicle with 279k miles is going to require repairs and cannot hold another party responsible for their car repair bills.  It is simply not fair.  We need to know at this point what Mr. **** thinks is fair and how he will come up with a monetary figure to make him happy to resolve this issue.  All we did is simply charge for our time to troubleshoot his vehicle. Mr. **** is a nice man.  I simply think we just did not explain to him well enough and there was a miss-communication somewhere. We spent a lot more time than he was charged to him. The shop absorbed most of the labor involved. But we are not an ordinary repair shop.  We are very transparent and like to help our customers. We are also an ASE certified facility and a Bosch Authorized Service center and hold an A+ BBB rating. We will use this feedback from Mr. **** to improve our customer service and explanation procedures.

Consumer Response: From: ***** **** [mailto:**********************] 
Sent: Monday, April 20, 2015 1:31 PM
To: ***** ****
Subject: Complaint # ********

Please see attachment.


This is what I feel should be refunded.

213.42 for additional trouble shooting: After the leak was fixed and no further work done on the car, it should have run as it had come into the shop.

71.14 This should not have been needed for fixing the leak. As once again this should have run normal after the fix of the leak.

13.62 Filter seal
16.29  BG Diesel Fuel SYS Clean  this was done once before four line up on the attachment
28.06 Fuel filter Return V

There should have been no need to do all this additional trouble shooting for fixing the leak.


All of these Items should not have to been replaced for the issue at hand. Even the Fuel filter should not have been touched. But I will pay for that as it was coming due. I have changed this fuel filter 4 times myself and have never had to replace these items.


The car ran normal except for the fuel leak coming in. the car has a inspection that is current, no I cannot drive the car due to the way it came out of the repair shop.


***** ****




Business Response:

Dear Sir,
In order to resolve this issue we are willing to write you a check in the amount of $271.39. This is the sum of the items that you felt were not necessary to fix the problem your vehicle was brought in for. Again we are sorry you feel this way. We still believe that all of the work performed and the recommendations made were necessary in trying to fix your vehicle. We stand by our diagnosis, repairs made and further recommendations that were given to you. However, in order to put this issue to bed we will meet your monetary requirements.
If you accept these terms we can write a check and mail it to you as soon as possible.
Regards,
Carmine's Import Service

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


Regards,

***** ****

I do not find this acceptable as I was out of a vehicle for 5 days and the vehicle was returned unusable. Since then I have had to go out and borrow the money and purchase another vehicle. The main issue is the car was not returned in a usable condition. the fixing of the leak should not have manifested into all of the problems carmine has encountered. I was never offered a loaner vehicle and 5 days is an excessive time to work on a vehicle for the work necessary to fix the leak. additional troubleshooting should not have been necessary. The car should have been drivable after the leak was corrected. the fuel pumping timing was correct when the car was taken into the shop or I would have never gotten it there. I have had to cancel vacation and plans due to this in convince. I had to take off from work to go purchase another vehicle. This visit to Carmines has set me back a lot of time and money.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Carmine's Import Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)