Kevin Powell's Foothill Ford

Additional Locations

Phone: (336) 368-2239 Fax: (336) 368-2587 View Additional Phone Numbers 3220 Cook School Rd, Pilot Mtn, NC 27041 http://www.foothillford.com ! BBB Business Review on Kevin Powell's Foothill Ford is being Updated by BBB !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sales and service of new & used automobiles.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.




Additional Locations

  • 3220 Cook School Rd

    Pilot Mtn, NC 27041

  • PO Box 1468

    Pilot Mtn, NC 27041

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/23/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/18/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/8/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a car from Kevin Powell's Foothill Ford in Pilot Mountain one year ago. This vehicle was certified to have no defects no damage when bought. Ever since I have had the vehicle, it has demonstrated several mechanical defects which should have either been repaired before sale or disclosed to the customer. I have made several attempts to find a solution with the dealer, but none have been seen-through. The sales manager said he would "make right" on the car and do anything he could to place me in a vehicle that is reliable. However, he says my credit is unsatisfactory to trade; the vehicle I bought last year was bought with sub-prime credit with a legitimate bank loan, which is still current and not in default. Last year, when I bought the car, I was told there was a warranty with the vehicle through the dealership. The dealership denies any warranty exists or that this was expressed. I am stuck with a faulty vehicle sold by this business and have no transportation. Also, their websites claims that if one is not happy with the bought vehicle, then it can be exchanged with no questions asked. This advertisement also does not have an expiration date on said promise. The people need to know about the deceptive business practices by this organization.

Desired Settlement: I would like for this dealership to either repair the vehicle based on expressed warranty at purchase or replace the vehicle.

Business Response:

We always hate to hear a customer is disappointed in any way and will always work diligently to resolve any customer concerns.

In revie**** Mr. *****’s complaint and looking at the information in our records he purchased his car 12 months ago and he has put approximately 29,000 miles on it in that time. It appears that his problem is related to maintenance that would be normally required of a car driving this many miles per year and now having 65,000 miles on it. Taking into consideration normal driving habits of approximately 15,000 miles, driving 29,000 miles in a year would speed up the intervals of routine maintenance and repairs necessary. As he stated in his complaint he had the car appraised and was not happy with the current value but driving that many miles would also make the car depreciate more rapidly.

All this being said we would be happy to work with Mr. ***** on reducing the parts and labor cost on whatever maintenance and repairs he has on his car. However, we do not feel it is our responsibility to pay for these items.

If Mr. ***** would like to contact Melanie S**** at ************** or at 336-448-5027, we would be happy to help him schedule an appointment with our service department and get these repairs done at a discounted cost.

We thank him for bringing this matter to our attention and certainly strive to make Mr. ***** as happy as we do all our other customers.

6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my mini cooper in Decemember, had bad antena and a wheel with a flat spot. was asked to return to change tire and receive detail, antenna was to be mailed ot me. Antenna never mailed, pay off on car not sent in timely received late payment charge from late payoff, had to call to get that fixed. Had to drive care to and from pilot mountain 3 times in 2 months sense purchase to pick up antenna never mailed and to fix the tire that was supposed to be replaced. they just swapped that front tire with a back tire instead of replacing it. never received detail done to car- asked for assitance from sales person ***** ******. he ignored my texts- still waiting for tire to be replaced and car deailed. now need an oil change. wasted gas and time back and forth 2 hour round trip drives 3 times.

Desired Settlement: i want the tire replaced as promised, car detailed as promised, and an oil change. OR if they cannot stand behind the products they sell and respond timely to customers and pay off their trade ins properly they can buy back this car and I will go to a different dealer.

Business Response:

We appreciate this issue being brought to our attention as management was unaware of any problem. The sales person who handled this transaction is new to our company.  He was not accustomed to how unlike other dealers we are, in that we always, always stand behind what we sell. We have now spoken to ****** ***** ?and are in the process of completing her requests. We also have spoken to the salesperson involved and made him aware this is not how we do business.  He will also receive training on how to properly handle customer issues including making management aware of any items promised or any issues after the sale. We certainly apologize for any inconveniences and are diligently  and efficiently in the process of taking care of everything.

Consumer Response: From: ******, ****** - ****** * [mailto:******.******************] 
Sent: Saturday, March 21, 2015 3:22 PM
To: ***** ****
Subject: ID ******** ****** ****** 

***** ****,

Thank you for your most recent letter (attached), I apologize I typed in the incorrect email when filing my complaint. 

I have a few issues with the letter you received from Kevin Powell’s Foothill Ford, those issues are highlighted in yellow on the attachment. 

1.       My top concern is that the first statement in the letter is false. The letter states that the salesperson is new to the store and is unaware of how their customer service is expected to deliver. 
a.       When I met ***** we were discussing where we were from, he mentioned he had just moved back from Virginia. He stated he had worked for Kevin Powell before in the same Pilot Mountain location and had recently moved back from Virginia to work there again. 
b.      There is no excuse that this representative new or not would choose to ignore a customer trying to reach him in order to have him follow through with the promises HE made. 
2.       Second, it is clear that whomever was responding to this complaint was not familiar with my situation at all. Had they been they would have spelled my name correctly and not included a question mark as if to state they were unsure as to who they were talking about. 
a.       How can I feel confident they are actually handling this issue if they aren’t even diligent enough to make sure they proof read a response to the BBB? Does not inspire confidence. 
3.       The final statement in this letter states they are working diligently to address my concerns.
a.       I have personally had to call the GM ****** multiple times in order to obtain a call back as has my mother who has been assisting me in this matter 
b.      ****** made a promise to PERSONALLY pick up my car from my mother’s home on Wednesday morning  3/11 
                                                               i.      ****** did not show up 
                                                             ii.      There was NO call to us stating there was a delay 
                                                            iii.      We had to call and inquire what was going on, we were placed on hold for 30 minutes waiting for ****** to pick up the phone 
                                                           iv.      We were then informed his driver was sick and would be there “shortly”
                                                             v.      When questioned as to what time “shortly” was ****** stated “it wouldn’t be too long”
                                                           vi.      After being asked a third time ****** committed to having a DRIVER pick up the car by 4 PM.
c.       I was promised in EMAIL form from ****** that my car would have the tire swapped, the car washed and detailed and that I would be reimbursed for the oil change I paid for because I was never responded to by ***** when requesting for them to take care of it for my many trips. 
                                                               i.      TO DATE I do NOT have my car returned. 
                                                             ii.      As of Wednesday 3/25 it will be two weeks since it was picked up 
                                                            iii.      I have received NO calls from ANYONE with updates. 
                                                           iv.      I have emailed ****** twice asking for updates, I was just informed that he will try to have it back to me by this Tuesday. 

In short, none of this is being handled diligently or with any type of care. This is the GM who has been running point, and myself, the customer is still chasing down information and receiving NO follow up and NO communication.  

Thank you for checking in,

****** ****** 
###-###-####




Business Response:

Thank you for forwarding Ms. ******s concerns.  As you know, we take customer satisfaction very seriously.  We certainly hate to hear of any customer being disappointed, but also recognize sometimes things go wrong or not as we would like or expect.   


Luckily, Ms ******’s concerns are nothing we can not fix.  Plus, hopefully we can learn from her experience and comments.  It's disappointing to hear we may not have performed to our expectations or the customers. 


In regards to the last response back to us...I would like to make a few comments on points of contention.  However, I am not taking anything away from the fact we did not properly wash/detail her car or swap out the tire in a timely manner.  We also agree we could and should have been able to do this better and more timely.

 

However, Ms ****** remarks concerning the integrity of our store and our employees are unmerited and off base...

 

Ms ****** stated our previous response about the sales person being new was false?  This is not false...This is 100% accurate.  The sales person did in fact work at Foothill many, many years ago….long before we purchased the store back in 2001. 

 

As I mentioned, we do feel like we should have handled Ms ******’s concerns more timely but in reviewing this matter with the sales person, the manager, and reading all email correspondence and calls we made to Ms ******, the follow up after the fact with her was not a total break down on our part. There were instances when we could not get up with Ms. ******.  This is fine, people are busy and I am sure she was frustrated that this matter was not handled more efficiently in the beginning.  To simply make the point that we did not want to communicate with her to get this matter resolved is not correct.  We were not trying to avoid cleaning her car or fixing her tire. These are easy, inexpensive, and honestly not uncommon things that sometimes have to be done post sale. 

 

Ms. ****** also mentioned something about us not being familiar with or caring about her situation because we misspelled her name?  I do not see or understand this comment/logic...Mistakes like this happen.  Ms. ****** herself mistyped an incorrect email address in trying to respond to you.  I'm sure the mistake she made did not mean she was not diligent in wanting to get this matter handled just as we meant no harm in misspelling her name...it was just simply a mistake.

 

In closing, we have cleaned Ms ******’s car, given her 2 free tires, and reimbursed her for an oil change along with her time and trouble. It is my understanding that Ms ****** is still not 100% satisfied.  However, we have done all we can do to meet her needs.  We certainly hate that she is not 100% satisfied, and I'm sure if all of this could have been done more timely.  Furthermore, we do appreciate Ms, ******'s business and if we can help her in the future with any other transportation needs we would be more than happy to assist.

 

Consumer Response: From: ******, ****** - ****** * [mailto:******.******************] 
Sent: Wednesday, April 29, 2015 6:21 AM
To: ***** ****
Subject: RE: ID ******** ****** ****** 

Mrs. ****,

In response to the most recent letter I received with the most recent response I would like to state that this response is a perfect example of the type of service that I have received and I am sure many other customers have as well. 

The letter did not deny they had poor service, from which they hope to learn from. I agree, I do hope they learn from this experience and do not treat other customers as I have been treated. In the 3rd paragraph stating they did not properly wash or detail the car that would be accurate. Not only was I promised a full detail at time of purchase, when I filed with the BBB originally I asked for this to be done a second time.  Again, this was not done. The interior was vacuumed and the windows cleaned, however as for a full detail I would say what I received was far from it, I have relayed that information to ******, he did offer to yet again correct the mistake as I pointed out to him by the time my car made yet another trip to him it would be due for another oil change and it is not worth all the miles that have been put on this car for a detail that should have happened 3 trips ago. 

The comments made stating I was off base, that would be the next point I would like to cover, I will not join in this companies wish to point fingers back and forth, I will sum it up with the fact that those statements and the unwillingness to take ownership are all the BBB and any other consumer needs to know about this company. 

My statement about the salesperson not being new was not “100 % incorrect” as the statement showed he had worked there prior, of course before Kevin Powell purchased the company but did work for the automobile industry and therefore has no reason to be unfamiliar with the level of quality service that should be provided.  A name on the building does not change the fact that this salesperson had 0 care for the quality of service he was providing, instead of having fingers pointed at my statements this company should be grateful for the feedback and take an opportunity to make ***** aware of how careless it is to send someone out with two bad tires with a promise to correct but no intentions of following through, this could have turned into a personal injury issue quickly. 

Also stated in the letter from this company it is shown they made efforts to contact me and were unable to, I can assure you that this company did not reach out to me or my mother who was assisting while I was at work. Any call that was made was made from us to this company for answers and updates, again, they did not follow up on initial promises, and once a member of senior leadership at their store was involved the lack of communication existed and the issues were still not corrected. 

I have received my car back, the replacement tires are on ( as the company lies to refer to as 2 “free” tires let’s not forget they were faulty tires to begin with and the car was sold that way, I do not consider that a favor), the car was washed on the exterior and the interior was cleaned t the expectation of what you would test drive for a used car but certainly not detailed, I was given a check for  $150 for the oil change and my trouble. I reply to BBB complaints daily in my line of work and I can assure you that I have never placed blame on my customer and I do not fall short on delivering what is expected of me. I am extremely disappointed with the entire situation, with the lack of care shown by this company  even after this issue was escalated, and by the finger pointing remarks and statements made. I hope through bringing light to these issues someone will decide to take control and provide quality service to the next customer who decides to walk through those doors.  I have certainly learned my lesson.

****** ******

11/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues

Customer Review(s)