BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northwest North Carolina

BBB Accredited Business since

Bob King, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (336) 724-2861 Fax: (336) 631-3137 View Additional Phone Numbers 1601 Silas Creek Pkwy, Winston Salem, NC 27127 http://www.bobkingauto.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale of new & used cars.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bob King, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bob King, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 15

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1981 Business started: 08/30/1968 Business started locally: 08/30/1968 Business incorporated: 12/30/1974 in NC
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
Bob King Automotive Group Bob King Hyundai Bob King Kia Bob King Mazda Bob King Mitsubishi

Additional Locations

  • 1601 Silas Creek Pkwy

    Winston Salem, NC 27127

  • 1725 Link Rd

    Winston Salem, NC 27103

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (336) 397-2700(Phone)
  • (336) 724-3866(Phone)
  • (336) 397-2718 (Fax)
  • (336) 714-3350 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/30/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/28/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased 2006 Audi s4 in Sep 2011. At purchase we were given a car fax from Bob King that showed a clean carfax. On Nov 11, 2012 (today... a little over 12 mos after purchase and only after about 8k miles), we went to get an appraisal for trade in value for a 2012 New Beetle Turbo and were informed that the 2006 Audi s4 had a bad car fax. After being informed of this and pulling the car fax ourselves, we saw where it had an accident in June 2011 (3months before our purchase) but it was not reported to car fax until Sep 2012. We bought the car for $22k contingent on the car fax but now we are being told that the car is only worth $12k. Do we have any recourse to recoup at least some portion of our loss?

Desired Settlement: Reasonable buy back of the 2006 audi s4 to assist with recoup of our losses.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Bob King Kia in Winston Salem, NC 27103 on 10-27-2012 looking at a Kia Soul that they had advertised @ 12,988.00 but the Sales Clerk (****** *****)claimed they only had them in a 5 speed and I needed a straight drive. Since they didn't have any in stock in the color I wanted he claimed they were getting in some more at the beginning of the week.And he claim that I would need to put down a $200.00 deposit because at the time I did not have the Title with me;and they were being sold fast so I trusted him.But in the mean time he had the other salesman to look at my vehicle and he stated that my transmission was about to go; but I know how sometimes they like to try and scare you into buying that I told him that I would hold off until the first of the week before I decide. So since I was not in a rush about buying a car I had my vehicle looked at and the mechanic told me that there was nothing wrong with my vehicle. So I called ****** ***** back and I told him that I didn't feel right about the way I was treated and he stated that I could not get my money back. He stated that he never told me if I was not pleased that they would refund my money so I called to speak with the manager Ron Quake and he never called me back so I would really appreciate your help with this matter.

Desired Settlement: I feel like since I never signed anything stating that I would buy a vehicle from them I should get my money back; because he did not tell that would be the case.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/8/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/16/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/13/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1