BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/31/2012

Vacation Home Manager, LLC

(850) 230-8680121 Gwyn Dr, Panama City BeachFL 32408-5882 Send email to Vacation Home Manager, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/31/2012

BBB has determined that Vacation Home Manager, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Vacation Home Manager, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Vacation Home Manager, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
04/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Miss communication. They failed to follow through with things they said they would do.
A few friends planned a trip to PCB. We got information on a house the information on the website, contract, and emails were all different. We were told we would be paying a 500 down payment. And they would call and email when we for sure had the house and they would email me when the money went through. I hadn't heard any thing for two months and no money had been pulled from the account assuming because I didn't hear anything back from them. I emailed them saying I had to cancel not sure if they were planning on taking the money out or what they were doing. Turns out they took 750 dollars out of the account. I called back they were very rude to me and I feel I was treated poorly due to my age. I would be talking and they would keep interrupting me saying ma'am you signed a contract. Well on their contract it said 750 for spring break meaning the months on march and april. Then said 500 for the other times which was when we were going. Long story short I was never even sure if we had the house and now we can't get our money back but yet they failed to tell me we had the house in the first place. I kept calling the place back trying to figure this out and they were extremely rude to me saying we signed a contract well their contract said 500. and we never had the house to begin with.

Desired Settlement
I just simply want my money back I feel in the end we should get more back due to the way I have been treated and what they have put me through and what they have said to me. We are asking for a full refund of 750 dollars.

Business Response
To the Better Business Bureau and Ms. ******,

We recently received your complaint that we have not communicated effectively in regards to your vacation rental. I would have to disagree.

On February 17th Ms. ****** sent an inquiry through our Home Away listing for 16 Palms requesting more information for this vacation rental. We promptly replied on February 18th with the rental amount and age restrictions. When Ms. ****** requested a rental agreement on Feb 18th, we responded with the appropriate documents and asked her to return it with the deposit amount. When we received the rental agreement back it was signed by Mr. Garza. Ms. ****** is not old enough to rent the unit, therefor her traveling companion Mr. Garza signed the rental agreement and took responsibility for the unit and the payment. In fact, we do not have any legal requirement towards Ms. ******, she is not the one that signed the rental agreement. The deposit was paid with Mr. Garza's credit card, not Ms. ******.

I would be happy to submit "evidence 1", the rental agreement from Mr. Garza. On this rental agreement there is a typo. In one location it says the deposit is $500 and in the other it says $750. However, Mr. Garza signed this agreement without contacting us and making us aware of the typo. We are not discounting the fact that we made an error. However, we did try to correct this issue as soon as it was brought to our attention, as you will see. During our reconciliation of credit card transactions, we noticed that while the credit card transaction initially returned as approved, the transaction in fact had been declined due to insufficient funds. (Please see evidence 5, submitted to the BBB) Since this contract had been signed, we simply reprocessed the transaction on April 17th, 2015. We did not charge anything that was not within our authority.

In paragraph one, under the Reservation/Damage Deposit section of the rental agreement is reads: "This deposit will become fully earned and nonrefundable sixty (60) days prior to the check-in date (see cancellation policy herein below)." Mr. Garza signed this rental agreement on February 23rd, 2015. (Please reference evidence 1, which will be submitted to BBB) On February 27th, 2015, our bookkeeper sent a confirmation to the email address on the rental agreement confirming the deposit of $750 was received and that their reservation was confirmed. (Please reference evidence 2, which will be submitted to BBB) We sent the email to Mr. Garza because he was the individual signing the agreement and the credit card belonged to him. We never received a response that the deposit should have only been $500. If we had received any response from Mr. Garza that this was the incorrect amount the mistake would have been caught and fixed. However, there was no response from Mr. Garza or Ms. ******. We did send confirmation that Mr. Garza's reservation was confirmed, so that accusation that Ms. ****** listed is false.

On April 13th, 2015 we received an email from Ms. ****** stating " ... All the people who were going besides a few and we would not be able to afford the house anymore so we have to cancel the reservation. I don't know if we get the 500 back. Most of it was mine so I got screwed over. I'm sorry it's such late notice." (Please reference evident 3 which will be submitted to the BBB) That same day, our bookkeeper processed their cancelation request. Our bookkeeper emailed Mr. Garza (as it is his credit card and he has signed the rental agreement) "We received your cancellation notice and yes you will lose your deposit as you are within sixty (60) days of arrival as per our rental agreement." (Please reference evidence 4 sent to the BBB).

At this point, Ms. ****** calls Vacation Home Manager to complain. She said that $750 had been taken out of Mr. Garza's bank account instead of $500. I called Ms. ****** back after speaking with my bookkeeper and we found the previously mentioned typo. I informed Ms. ****** that we will refund $250 due to the mistake. (Please see evidence 5, submitted to the BBB)

During this phone call, Ms. ****** because very upset that she would not be receiving the money back. She informed me that she had used the money her mother had given her for her college tuition towards the deposit and the other guests she was traveling with will not repay her. She did request the owner's information but I cannot give out that personal information. You can read through our email conversation in the submitted evidence. Ms. ****** has been very irate on the phone to my assistant, has hung up the phone on my assistant and has told us not to call her. I am sympathetic to the fact that she did not receive her money back. However, I am only holding her group to the contract which has been signed. We have heard nothing from Mr. Garza during this whole situation.

Vacation Home Manager does not believe that we have done anything to warrant a refund to Ms. ******. We have exercised our rights as dictated within the contract signed. We cannot get involved with the money dispute between Ms. ******, Mr. Garza and their traveling companions. Our contract is with Mr. Garza alone.

We hope this address the issue defined by Ms. ******.

Vacation Home Manager

11/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I rented a house X-XX-XX - X-XX-XX. X-XX-XX a lawn care worker broke a window in my van. The property manager, *** ******* has not returned my calls.
My wife and I rented a vacation home from Vacation Home Manager. It is located at **** ***** ****** XXXXX. On 9-24-13, while using a weed eater, a lawn care worker busted my van window. He thought he could replace it, but he could not or did not. I called the property manager and spoke with ***. *** told me on three occasions she had passed ** message on to her boss, ****** ******* I had asked that Mr. ****** call me. During my third conversation with *** she gave me Mr. ********* cell phone number. I left two messages for him on two separate days. He has never called me back. As a small business owner myself, I find that unacceptable. My wife was standing beside the van when the sea shell from the yard flew up from the weed eater and busted the window. She could have been injured. Mr. Lehman has not even had the courtesy to call me back. Needless to say, I have paid the $250.00 deductible to my insurance company to have the glass replaced. I also should mention the inconvenience of not having the use of my van for the last two days of our vacation. On the way home I stopped by the Panama City office of Safelite Auto Glass and they were kind enough to vacuum up the glass and tape some plastic over the window. Once I returned home to Georgia, it was several days later I realized Mr. ******* the home owner or the contractor were not going to call me back. I had the glass replaced on 10-8-13.
We attend a annual church convention in the FL panhandle. I have encouraged the coordinators of the convention to inform future attendees to avoid renting from Vacation Home Manager.

Desired Settlement
Mr. ****** owes me $250.00.

Business Response
The basic facts of Mr. ******'s complaint are not in dispute. The landscaping contractor who caused the damage to Mr. ******'r van is an independent third party contractor who was hired by the owner. We have never had any contact with the contractor and do not have any information about their company other than what Mr. ****** provided. We are in no way responsible for the actions of a third party contractor hired by the owner. Although the situation is unfortunate and Mr. ****** suffered economic damages, his claim is against the responsible party and not our rental management company.

I admit that as a courtesy, I should have personally called Mr. ******. However, my assistant communicated our position to him and my call would not have changed our position. We reported this situation to the owner of the home and asked her to attempt to pressure the landscaping contractor into paying for the damage he caused. That effort may be effective and, if so, we will pass the money on to Mr. ******. If the landscaping contractor refuses to pay, we have no leverage to compel him to do so.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I can accept the lawn maintenance worker is a third party contractor. What is not true is that the property manager's assistant "communicated our position to him." In each of my three calls to her she simply said he had given the messages to her supervisor. When I called the third time she indicated she was surprised he had not contacted me. Consequently, she gave me his cell phone number. As he indicates, he never called me.
Indicating contacting me would have been a courtesy is an understatement. It is the essence of customer service. I was willing to excuse the dead bugs in the home and the dirty pool upon our arrival. I did not ask for even a partial refund.

This morning, one month and one day later, the lawn maintenance man called me to tell me he had mailed $250 to me. Assuming this is true and I receive the money, I consider this unnecessarily stressful event resolved.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Vacation Rentals, Property Management

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 09/27/2012Business started: 02/05/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DBPR (Tallahassee)
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395

BBB records show a license number of SL3116951 for this company, issued by DBPR (Tallahassee). Their web address is The expiration date of this license is 03/31/2017.

Type: Real Estate Broker or Sales

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas Ledman
Business Category

Vacation Rentals, Property Management

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Vacation Home Manager, LLC

121 Gwyn Dr

Panama City Beach, FL 32408-5882

To | From


1 Locations

  • 121 Gwyn Dr 

    Panama City Beach, FL 32408-5882(850) 230-8680

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Vacation Home Manager, LLC is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 01/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.


Industry Tips for Vacation Rentals


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.