BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northwest Florida

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/05/2009

Sandcastle Escapes, LLC

Phone: (850) 267-6940Fax: (850) 622-2005View Additional Phone Numbers24604 US Highway 331 S, Santa Rosa BeachFL 32459-5501 Send email to Sandcastle Escapes, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/05/2009

BBB has determined that Sandcastle Escapes, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Sandcastle Escapes, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sandcastle Escapes, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
03/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: I was told my refund check would be processed on 1/7/13, it is now 1/26/13 and I still do not have the refund check.
Sandcastle Escapes is a property mgmt company that I was forced to use when booking a property through VRBO. I mailed them a check to secure the reservation and it took them 4 weeks to deposit this. I called numerous times to ensure they received it because I wanted to confirm my reservation and I thought the check was lost in the mail. They told me on 3 separate occasions it had been deposited. At week 4 when it had still not cleared my bank I called again. This time I was informed they were holding my check, at the direction of their bank, because they were installing a new check cashing system and they needed to "hold a few big checks to test the system". This would have been fine had I known, but I was lied to 3 times. This is where my mistrust and dissatisfaction began. Due to an unexpected relocation for work I had to later cancel my reservation and they agreed to refund me $1095.75 of my original payment. This was on 1/7/13 confirmed by ****** (office manager) in e-mail. I specifically expressed concern to her that I was moving and I needed to receive this check before 1/23/13 because my address would no longer be valid due to the move. They assured me it was over 3 weeks away and there would be no issues. I called on 1/17/13 to find out why I had not received my check since it had been over 10 days and was informed the check had been processed and mailed on 1/14 (a week after they said it was). I was disappointed, but that was still fine since it should have arrived by 1/23/13. As of 1/26/13 I still do not have the check. I was contacted yesterday by the "owner" of the company that I will leave nameless because he was the most insincere and rude person I have ever dealt with. He accused me of "needing the money so bad" and that was why I was making such a big deal out receiving my check!I informed him that was not the case, I just wanted what they promised and $1095.75 is not a small lump of change to anyone. I asked him to issue a stop payment because if the check was mailed USPS on 1/15/2013 as they told me, it should have been to my address after 8 business days. He said "we have mailed it, I don't know what else you want. You will get your check when you get it". I asked him to fed ex and he said he would only do that at my expense, which I find highly irresponsible for any business owner to say, given the mistake is on their end. He said he is refusing to do this and spend his money since I threatened to file a complaint to the BBB. However, he has at this point, agreed to overnight my check on 1/29/13 if I have still not received this. We will see... This complaint is to inform property owners that are paying this company good money to represent them and handle their investment, of the type of people they are dealing with. I work for a large company and deal with customers every day and I was shocked with the unprofessionalism and lack of urgency of this company. I have also informed the property owner of how I was treated and suggested to take her business elsewhere. All I want is my money back and I want it overnighted with a tracking number so I can be done with this company once and for all!

Business' Initial Response
At this point the guest has received a full refund. We do apologize for the delay with the original deposit but can not be held liable for the mail system. The guest was overnighted her full refund just as she requested.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have received my check, however, the business failed to overnight as initially promised or provide an accurate tracking number. I had to personally call the local post office for this information. The check was sent the day after the business told me it would be, this is confirmed by postmark. The lack of follow through is disturbing.

07/05/2012Problems with Product / Service
02/13/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
02/13/2012Problems with Product / Service
03/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: The contract that we signed for our family vacation is not being honored. I was notified today of a ****** increase of $1,700.00
On 04/07/12, my husband and I booked a family vacation through Sandcastle Escapes at the Four Season beach rental property for 06/29/13 - 07/06/13. We paid $500.00 down. Our total ****** would be $5,754.75 including taxes and cleaning fees.

On July 12, 2012, I was notified by ***** ***** that there was going to be a ****** increase. I spoke with the owner of Sandcastle Escapes, ******, and questioned the ****** increase when we had already paid a deposit of $500.00. ******, the owner, sent a revised contract and agreed to make up the difference in cost. I signed the new agreement and faxed it in.

On December 27, 2012, I paid 50% of the rental rate. I charged $2,700.00

Today, February 11, 2013, I was notified by ****** at Sandcastle Escapes that the ****** of the Four Season's rental is now $7,516.05 instead of $5754.75. I asked to speak with the owner, ******, again. She would not allow me to speak with him. She said that she could switch me to a different condo. However, the pictures of the new condo are nothing like the Four Season's condo.
I do not think that you can legally increase a ****** once a contract is signed. I have copies of all email correspondences and of the contract.

To date, I have paid $3,200.00.

I would appreciate any help that I can get.

Business' Initial Response
I have copied from our policy page on the website our company policy that states our rates are subject to change without notice.
Rates: All published Destin rental rates are based on specific property location, size, and amenities. Rates are subject to change without notice. We reserve the right to correct rates that may have been misquoted during a telephone conversation while booking or due to computer error.
Though we try to discourage it sometimes the owner of the property decides to change the scheduled rate which they have full rights to do as per the policy above. When this happens we do everything in our power to make right by the guest and offer them comparable properties that are available at the original rate. With this guest we even offered an additional discount to another property that would accept it. We were unable to find a property that this guest would be willing to move to and ended up refunding the guest in full.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The policy above was not written on the signed contract. I also did not see it elsewhere.

I was offered another property. When comparing the size of the offered property and furnishings, it did not compare to the Four Seasons that I booked. I recommend that the BBB compare the size and furnishings of the booked property Four Seasons to the only other property offered, Beach Blessings. It would be like comparing the Ritz Carlton to a Hampton Inn.

Sandcastle Escapes has other nice properties that I would be interested in. However, they were all booked for our vacation week. When extended families plan vacation, many plan greater than 6 months before the scheduled date. I believe this is the reason that other properties that would have matched my interest were booked. I was not given enough notice to book another comparable property.

The week that we are vacationing is the 4th of July week. This is an increased time for tourism, and it is harder to find a property on short notice.

My family has been planning this vacation since April of 2012, when I placed my deposit with ***** ***** at Sandcastle Escapes. We had family coming from Georgia, Texas, North Alabama, and New Jersey. Plane flights were booked. Vacation requests were placed and approved at work. A family letter was sent out to all coming with assigned rooms for the property. 30A Studio Photography was booked for family pictures.

I did get refunded, but I had no other options. Plane cancellation fees were incurred, and the family vacation that was planned has been ruined.
After having this experience, I researched Sandcastle Escapes on the Internet, and I saw numerous complaints regarding the company. I also saw how the owner of Sandcastle Escapes responded to a customer by calling her "ignorant". This is not a company that cares about their customers.I would not recommend this company to anyone.

Business' Final Response
http://www.sandcastleescapes.com/ -- This is our company website and at the bottom of the page click on the "rental policies" tab and you will be directed to a page with all of our policies listed with an explanation for each policy. It is up to the consumer to read and agree to the company policies before signing the rental contract as by signing you are agreeing to the terms and conditions of our policies. You will see that on our policy page it clearly states that rates are subject to change without notice. As a company we understand the consumers frustration but if we were not a company cares about it's customers then we wouldn't have taken the time to offer other properties and work this situation out with the consumer. We have done everything in our power to accommodate the consumer. As stated before the policy is posted clearly on our policies webpage and the owner does reserve the right to change rates at any time. We are simply adhering to our policy.

10/01/2012Problems with Product / Service
01/04/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Vacation Rentals, Property Management

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/19/2008Business started: 03/01/2006
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DBPR (Tallahassee)
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr

BBB records show a license number of BK3040192 for this company, issued by DBPR (Tallahassee). Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr. The expiration date of this license is 03/31/2016.

Type: Real Estate Broker or Sales

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Taylor Williams (President)Customer Contact: Mr Audrey Price Mr. Wes Shelton
Business Category

Vacation Rentals, Property Management

Alternate Business Names
Beach Seekers Vaction Rentals
Industry Tips
BBB Warns of Deceptive Travel-Related Promotions
Home Fire Protection
Preparing to Sell Your Home
Storm Clean-up Schemes Cause Additional Heartache
Timeshare Scams Can Bilk the Unsuspecting
Vacation and Travel
You Need to Hold an Estate Sale... Where to Begin?

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sandcastle Escapes, LLC

24604 US Highway 331 S

Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459-5501

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 24604 US Highway 331 S 

    Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459-5501(866) 626-4208
    (888) 650-2753
    (866) 935-1206
    (850) 267-6940

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sandcastle Escapes, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 626-4208
  • (888) 650-2753
  • (866) 935-1206
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 01/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.