BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/29/2008

Cox Building Corporation

Find a Location

Phone: (850) 235-7957Fax: (850) 234-784812216 Panama City Beach Pkwy, Panama City BeachFL 32407-2727 Send email to Cox Building Corporation

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Cox Pools is a family owned and operated business that has been serving Northwest Florida for over 50 years.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/29/2008

BBB has determined that Cox Building Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Cox Building Corporation's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Cox Building Corporation

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
03/12/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cox pools promised to finish my pool repair work in one week. Pool drained and work started 2/12. They promised work on 2/15. Didn't show.
When Cox rep came out to give us a quote on our pool repairs, I had two requirements above the normal requirement that the work be done properly:
1: That the work be done by the end of February because we have renters that paid for pool access and the pool must be totally ready for them.
2. That the work be done in one week. I explain, more than once, that I am in a wheelchair and suffer with Lymphedema throughout my entire body. I cannot walk and need the pool for my daily hour of exercise to keep the effects of the Lymphedema at bay.

My partner, ***, was also in attendance for this meeting. During the meeting, *** stated that there would be no problem with these requirements but they could not do the work until February. I restated my requirements to insure that you understood how important the timetable is to my business and my health. Again *** stated that there would be no problem finishing within a week since the pool is enclosed and not affected by the weather.
On Wednesday, February 12, a crew came to the house, drained the pool and began the work. They have not shown up again since that time. On Friday, February 14, I called Eddie, the *** rep we had been dealing with, in a terrible state because my legs were swelling and no progress had been made on the pool. I asked for a definite schedule of when to expect the work to begin again and dates for the various stages to be complete. Eddie stated that he had no control over the schedule, that he had three crews working on other people's pools. He said that it would take about two to three more days for the first stage of plaster removal to be complete. Then the plasterer would be scheduled. Once the did his work, they would begin to fill the pool. The plasterer had not yet been scheduled to do this work. Eddie could not supply any dates for when this work would commence and finish. I would not accept that answer. I wanted those dates. Eddie said that he would talk with the owner to see what could be done. Later that night, Eddie called back and spoke to my partner, ***, saying that the crew would be out on Saturday morning. Today is Sunday and no one has been here from Cox pools.

Here's the first problem, if Cox pools couldn't schedule and complete the work within the week, they should not have drained my pool leaving me without a means of exercise for my health problem. The second problem is that Cox will not give me an expected completion date. The third problem is that Eddie did not keep his promise - there is always an excuse. I chose Cox Pools because of their BBB rating.

Desired Settlement
My pool was working properly before they drained it on February 12 and started removing the plaster. I want *** pools to begin working on my now defunct pool immediately and complete the work within the promised week.

Final Consumer Response
Cox pools did respond to my problem and finished the pool work in short order. I would like to withdraw my original complaint if possible. The work they did was excellent and I will work with them in the future. I appreciate the BBB's commitment to providing a place for consumers to go to get results.

09/10/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs, Swimming Pool Manufacturers & Distributors, Swimming Pools - Private, Swimming Pools - Public

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/01/1990Business started: 01/01/1958Business started locally: 01/01/1963
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DBPR (Tallahassee)
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr

BBB records show a license number of CPC056661 for this company, issued by DBPR (Tallahassee). Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2016.

Type: Certified Pool Contractor

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 2003, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Cox (President/CEO)Customer Contact: Ms. Barbara Gudgel (Marketing)Ms. Paige Cox (Exec Asst.)
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs, Swimming Pool Manufacturers & Distributors, Swimming Pools - Private, Swimming Pools - Public

Products & Services

Construction & Renovation of Commercial & Residential Swimming Pools. Spa and Grill Store. Pool Maintenance.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 04:30 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 04:30 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 04:30 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 04:30 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 04:30 PMSat: 09:00 AM to 02:00 PMSun: Closed
Service Area

Northwest Florida

Alternate Business Names
Cox Pools
Industry Tips
Buying a Pool

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

9 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Cox Building Corporation

12216 Panama City Beach Pkwy

Panama City Beach, FL 32407-2727

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 36074 Emerald Coast Pkwy 

    Destin, FL 32541-5719(850) 234-7800

  • PO Box 9088 

    Panama City, FL 32417-9088

  • 12216 Panama City Beach Pkwy 

    Panama City Beach, FL 32407-2727(850) 235-7957

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Cox Building Corporation is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 01/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Buying a Pool
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.