BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/26/2003

Team Sandy Blanton Realty, Inc.

Phone: (850) 479-7653Fax: (850) 479-19964400 Bayou Blvd Ste 49B, PensacolaFL 32503-1909 Send email to Team Sandy Blanton Realty, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/26/2003

BBB has determined that Team Sandy Blanton Realty, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Team Sandy Blanton Realty, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Team Sandy Blanton Realty, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
10/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Horrible customer service from this company while I rented from them for a year.
I moved into 5405 East Shore Dr on Oct 22nd 2014. Was told the property was cleaned and ready. Immediately found only floors were done, bathroom was disgusting and counters had rat feces on it. I immediately called and requested someone to address that problem and the hole in the wall in the lower cabinet, which leads to outside. Never addressed. Water was turned off due to being behind, on their part. They tried to say it was because I paid it a day late. When I called the water company, the rep informed me the bill was way behind for months previous to my lease. I have the bills still that show there was an outstanding balance. We were without water overnight, even after **** said it would be right back on. Then they tried to charge me $35 for the disconnect fee. They had me pay a bill when I first moved in and it was before my lease started. I had to make them credit me on that amount. AC went out and they had no one fix it for almost 3 weeks. I had to stay with friends, because my 11 year has breathing issues at times, which requires an inhaler. After the third time the AC failed, I emailed *** ******* and the owner, ***** ******* May 2015, frustrated. I was paying rent for a house we couldn't live in. It was a HUGE inconvience for my sons and I. No one even answered back. Never addressed. I explained that the AC guy suggested having insulation checked, never addressed. I was told that the lawn would be mowed, yet they left it to grow till I called and complained. If I could have moved before and broken my lease, I would have packed and left immediately. My lease was up as of today. I had everything out, apartment cleaned top to bottom. It was cleaner than the day I moved in. I called *** on Monday 9/28/15 to ask about how keys can be turned in, he said I needed to spray for fleas cause I had a dog. Explained she was put down in February and he stated had I told him that I wouldn't need to spray but I need to now. In my frustration, I asked why would I know that if no one ever communicated that to me. There is no carpet in apartment, dog didn't have fleas in 11 years before being put down and how could they ask me to do that when they have made me live with a rat for over a year?! I had to buy rat packs and place them around the house. There is still a huge hole in the lower cabinet wall, when I moved I left the rat pack on the floor near the water heater, where it was nibbling on it. I trusted them to do what is right. Hoped they would make things right, bit my tongue for sake of my lease, but now they are telling me that the oven isn't cleaned, which was cleaned twice. Once by myself and once by my mother the next day. Also, **** said I have to have professional spray done in the apartment. I explained that *** didn't say it had to be done professionally. My mother and I bought spray and it was done Monday by her so I wouldn't have to miss work. They are threatening to keep my deposit, after all they have done to us. The apartment hasn't been cleaner. Bathroom scrubbed, floors swept and mopped, oven and stove cleaned, refrigerator completely wiped out and counters wiped down and everything disinfected. I am begging for someone to help. I'm a single parent, who trusted this company to be reliable and dependable. For my boys and I to live here and not have to deal with anything like this. I lived out of the apartment more than I lived in it, due to the issues there. I have never dealt with such unprofessional manner, unreliable leasing company and then to know that even the manager and the owner himself, never addressed one of the issues I dealt with. I am hoping that someone here can help get something done.

Desired Settlement
I want my full deposit back of $600 I've had to buy rat packs, pay over $150 per month on electricity, due to crappy insulation, was never reimbursed for the 3 weeks I couldn't live in the house while they drug their feet getting AC fixed. It was 80 degrees in the house. I sprayed, I cleaned, I paid my rent and water on time. I kept my part of the lease.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: SB
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: **@tsbrealestate.com
******/BBB

I met with my rental team and reviewed the file. The team had no recollection or notes on the move-in complaints of the unit being dirty. The team does remember having extraordinary hassles with the warranty company about the HVAC. We're advising landlords to avoid that company as a result of this. A property management firm's handling of these items is limited to the written directive we have from any particular property owner/landlord. Remember, we're not the owners and can't override a landlord's order or force them to spend on items.

Ms. ***** was a good tenant from what I've been told and we appreciate that. The only move out issues (as required by the lease) was the stove was left dirty and the unit wasn't treated for fleas (per the pet addendum). The invoices on these items was $160.00.

The water being turned off is just intolerable. This property's water account is the only one we have where it's in our name but the bills are paid by the tenants (vs. the landlord). Due to this hassle, our office is going to cover the $160.00 items mentioned above. We'll get your security deposit processed. Let me know if any questions. Thank you.

12/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My granddaughter and I rented a house at 1010 Alexandrea in Pensacola Fl. We paid $600 rent with $600 deposit. The first time it rained, the roof in the large room where the washer and dryer was located poured water where the roof was leaking. I called and you supposedly fixed it but every time it rained it would leak. The walls and ceiling molded and was a health hazard to my two children who were one and two years old. My clothes that were in this room were ruined with mildew, most of it was my children's clothes. My lease was not renewed so I moved out. I was not given my deposit back because you said I did not return the key. I brought it back the next day. You said I had the power turned off when I moved out, why should I leave it on for someone else to use? The day I moved I was there till after 1 in the morning cleaning that house and painting over marks where my children had wrote on the wall. The day before I moved we mowed the yards so that should not have been an issue. You said you had to clean the carpet in that one room, if you had fixed the roof where it leaked you would not have had to. My childrens' clothes were ruined and I want them replaced. I was in that room getting ready to start packing and my daughters' earrings were on the chest and when your man left they were gone and he took them. I want them replaced. We cleaned that house when we moved and it was clean. That house had only one room with carpet and you are keeping my deposit for cleaning the carpet(fix the roof and you wont have that problem)$600 for one room. I need to go in the carpet cleaning business. I want my deposit back with damages to my clothes and my daughters earrings replaced. They went way up on the rent on this house, that is the reason they would not renew my lease.

Desired Settlement
$600 deposit refund and $400 for clothes and earrings

Business Response
This message is a response from my rental department manager. Per the receipts, it looks like the roof was repaired/replaced at some point. Tenants are encouraged to purchase "renter's" insurance to protect any belongings. Thank you.


*** *******

Consumer Response
This is not satisfactory to me. The roof was not replaced until after I moved out, they made no effort to fix it while I was living there and the roof was falling in and not just in the middle but in the entire room. I want my daughters earrings replaced because their man took them. I had them in my hand before he came and when he left they were gone, I laid them on the chest to answer the door. There was nothing in the yard to edge as they call it. The paint I used to paint over the crayon marks was left by the maintenance crew that had painted the house before I moved in. It did match and even if it didn't, why did they have to paint the whole house for a few crayon marks? I am no professional but even I can tell when someone is trying to get one over on somebody. This is deceitful and dishonest and how can they expect to get away with it? In my first complaint, why would I leave the utilities on when I moved out? I don't know who they have been dealing with but they have been using some shady practices on somebody because they seem to think this is ok. I will say again, I want my deposit back and my daughters' earrings replaced and my childrens' clothes replaced. I want one thousand dollars from them and this will be to my satisfaction. Thank You. ****** ****** and **** ********

Final Business Response
I'm sorry for the delay in responding. I'm not involved personally in the day to day operations of the
rental department thus had to meet with my rental team to get more information.
Attached are pertinent highlighted items from the lease. Item A clearly states "Any default in the terms
of the lease constitutes grounds for the forfeiture of the entire security deposit." The tenant rented the
unit for a total of nine months; rent was late being paid four of those months. A ledger is attached
showing this. This alone is default.
This unit was rented in "As ls" condition; see Items B and C on the lease pages. This provision was due
to the unit being rented at a rate of at least 25% below market value.
Item D in the lease states "Agent not liable for work...contractor... TENANT SHOULD PURCHASE
PERSONAL PROPERTY INSURANCE." The issue with the missing jewelry is a criminal matter where local
law enforcement can be called to help. We will assume no responsibility for missing items. Renter's
insurance would cover such.
Attached is a current/open case in Landlord/Tenant Court where a prior landlord has filed for damages
for the tenant. This showed up in our system just days after we signed the lease with this tenant. The
Court action was led some days after she applied for the rental. Had we seen this prior to lease
signing, we would not have rented to this tenant.
ln the spirit of cooperation and to close this matter, l'm willing to return $177 as a courtesy, not a legal
or moral obligation. This represents payment of these invoices: utilities, paint/repair, cleaning, two late
payment postings (we could have posted two more due to the two additional late payments).
If this is acceptable by the tenants, I need the attached release/hold harmless signed, notarized and
originals mailed to my ofce address. Once received, I'll mail the check. Otherwise the tenant needs to
go to the Landlord/Tenant Court and file for a hearing in front of judge Kinsey. Our offer for the $177.00
will be withdrawn if not accepted by the tenant by December 28, 2014. IF we end up in court, we will
ask for the entire amount to be declared in default per terms of the lease. ln addition we'll ask the
Court for reimbursement from the Tenants for our costs incurred in the process.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I paid a $600 deposit that I want refunded because we cleaned that house when I moved out. The roof leaked the whole time we lived there and we complained several times and you finally fixed the roof when we moved out. I touched up the wall with paint ya'll left and I only did it in the living room and you are saying you had to paint the whole house because I touched up the living room. Give me a break! I will settle for my $600 back and I will forget the stolen earrings and damaged clothes because the roof leaked. I am going to write the editor of the Pensacola News Journal and let people know what kind of practices you try to pull on people. I want my $600 dollars back! ****** ******

Industry Comparison| Chart

Real Estate, Real Estate Rental Service, Property Management

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/02/2003Business started: 01/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DBPR (Tallahassee)
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr

BBB records show a license number of BK616197 for this company, issued by DBPR (Tallahassee). Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr. The expiration date of this license is 09/30/2016.

Type: Real Estate Broker or Sales

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 2003, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sandy Blanton (Owner / Manager)
Business Category

Real Estate, Real Estate Rental Service, Property Management

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Team Sandy Blanton Realty, Inc.

4400 Bayou Blvd Ste 49B

Pensacola, FL 32503-1909

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4400 Bayou Blvd Ste 49B 

    Pensacola, FL 32503-1909(850) 479-7653
    Fax: (850) 479-1996

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Team Sandy Blanton Realty, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 01/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Real Estate

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.