BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/27/2009

ERA Old South Properties, Inc.

Phone: (850) 478-6363Fax: (850) 474-05266218 N 9th Ave, PensacolaFL 32504-8248View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/27/2009

BBB has determined that ERA Old South Properties, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised ERA Old South Properties, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on ERA Old South Properties, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
02/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Old South approved a repair without contacting me and then billed me $220 for the "repair" of an appliance of mine that I did not ask them to repair.
Upon moving in, I installed a washing machine and dryer that I purchased myself. These units were not property of Old South. Upon installing the equipment I noticed a large spark and pop at the connection site of the washing machine and dryer. I immediately turned the machines off and contacting the office incase there was some sort of electrical problem at the outlet site. I never heard from the office as to whether or not someone had looked into the problem and approximately one month later received an invoice of $220 from an outside electrical company noting they worked for 3 hours installing a dryer cord. My dryer worked fine and needed no additional dryer cord installed. Furthermore, it takes 3 mintues to connect a dryer cord as I am capable of doing so myself and I am a single female. I called the office terribly upset that they would not contact me with this information BEFORE any work was performed. The next day they stating that they would "split" the cost with me. I want everyone to know just how this business operates with its clients. They should have contacted me and gotten my approval before any work was performed.

Desired Settlement
No charge for these "services" that were unrequested in the first place.

Business Response
The complainant contacted our office in writing and provided the maintenance request which I have labeled as Exhibit A and attached. In Summary, her request stated that she attempted to connect her washing machine and dryer; however, upon trying to connect "it sparked fire and made a loud popping noise......I am scared to continue to hook them up......if I had been touching it at that moment it would have shocked me pretty hard." She also gave permission for a vendor to use a key to enter the unit since she could not be there. (copy of work order request she submitted is attached).

Armstrong Electric, who is also an "A plus" rated company by the Better Business Bureau, was assigned the work order to respond to the tenant's request and complaint. Upon visiting the property, the problem was discovered to be an issue with the dryer cord and not the wall outlet. While there, the electrician did have to check the wiring since the tenant complained about it sparking "fire". In order for the Armstrong Electric, to be able to check the outlet and determine the problem, they had to pull the washer and dryer out to diagnose and repair. Their invoice for doing the work was $205. This invoice was charged back to the tenant and is something the tenant should be responsible for. It was her dryer that caused the problem and with the way the chord had been installed....we are all very thankful that she did not get shocked. As pure measure of goodwill, Armstrong Electric agreed to reduce the invoice from $210 to $105. I can supply a copy of the invoice if needed. For some reason, the complainant seems to think that licensed electricians will just come and diagnose problems and not charge for their time. Unfortunately, that is not the world that we live in. The electrician was only sent out at her request to look at the problem she felt so strongly about. If the electrician had determined that the problem was the electrical outlet in the wall, then the tenant would not have been charged; however, since the problem ended up being the fault of the tenant, she is responsible.

In closing, I truly regret that this situation has occurred. I am thankful that she did not get shocked, and I am thankful that Armstrong Electric agreed to reduce their fee to $105 (cost to diagnose problem). The tenant actually got her dryer repaired for free by licensed electrician. The tenant also signed a lease agreement before she moved into the property, and I will be happy to provide a copy of it if needed. One of the clauses in it is found on page 4 paragraph 13 C. It states the following: Reimbursement. For any loss, damage, fines, or cost of repairs that is not the fault of Owner/OSP and that is the fault of the Tenant, guest, invitee, or family of the Tenant, Tenant shall immediately reimburse any expenses incurred as a result. Said amount shall be "additional rent."

This matter will be resolved when the tenant provides payment in the amount of $105 for the invoice from Armstrong Electric.

Sincerely,

***** ******
Broker, ERA Old South Properties

Industry Comparison| Chart

Real Estate, Real Estate Rental Service, Property Management

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/01/1985Business started: 01/01/1974
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DBPR (Tallahassee)
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr

BBB records show a license number of BK70159 for this company, issued by DBPR (Tallahassee). Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr. The expiration date of this license is 03/31/2017.

Type: Real Estate Broker or Sales

BBB records show a license number of CQ133600 for this company, issued by DBPR (Tallahassee). Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr. The expiration date of this license is 03/31/2017.

Type: Real Estate License

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 1974, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Porter (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Mark Porter (Vice President)
Business Category

Real Estate, Real Estate Rental Service, Property Management

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for ERA Old South Properties, Inc.

6218 N 9th Ave

Pensacola, FL 32504-8248

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6218 N 9th Ave 

    Pensacola, FL 32504-8248(850) 478-6363
    Fax: (850) 474-0526

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*ERA Old South Properties, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 01/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Real Estate

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.