BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/08/2011

Ocean Reef Resorts, Inc.

Phone: (850) 837-3935Fax: (850) 654-4651View Additional Phone Numbers10221 Emerald Coast Pkwy W Ste 2, DestinFL 32550-4966 Send email to Ocean Reef Resorts, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/08/2011

BBB has determined that Ocean Reef Resorts, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Ocean Reef Resorts, Inc.'s rating include:

  • 14 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Ocean Reef Resorts, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service9
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Ocean Reef Resorts, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (14)BBB Closure Definitions
08/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Approximately 30 days after receiving rental confirmation, we were called to say the pricing on Ocean Reef's website was incorrect.
Re: Reservation Confirmation #XXXXXX.
On May 29, 2014, I made online reservations with Ocean Reef Resorts for a rental of The White House for August 2 - 8. I received a confirmation, including pricing breakdown, on May 30 at 10:22am. Two additional emails were received that morning...one at 11:51am provided the keyless door code and directions to the property. The other one included a form to be signed and returned, indicating our desire to accept or decline CSA Travel Insurance. This form also showed that our deposit amount of $932.44 had been charged to our Visa card. I signed and returned this form via email. On May 31 at 9:00am, I received an email from Ocean Reef once again confirming our reservation. Also included was the amount paid to date, and amount due. On June 28 at 12:16am, I received an email as a reminder that our remaining balance and final payment of $1,593.30 would be charged on July 3.

Tuesday, July 1, I received a phone call from Ocean Reef stating the pricing on their website was incorrect. Rather than a total of $2,500, the new total would be $14,000. This was the first indication there was a problem with pricing. (We had also checked the dates of August 9 - 15 before we booked, and the pricing was the same as for August 2 - 8.) Even though I asked the agent for a compromise, he was adamant that was not possible and that we would receive a refund of our deposit. Several days later, I called Ocean Reef's office again. Considering the amount of communication that went back and forth between me and Ocean Reef, I felt our three families who had to cancel vacation plans, should not suffer the full consequences of Ocean Reef's gross negligence. (As a reminder, this pricing had been on their website for at least 30 days.) The agent asked if we were offered 50% off of the correct price for The White House. I responded that no, we were offered no compromise of any kind. And by that point, the three families had already cancelled their plans, including travel arrangements. (By the way, telling our grandchildren we would not be going to the beach this year to stay at the place we had shown them online, was not an insignficant consequence of this error.) I told the agent that as satisfed return clients of Ocean Reef, we would appreciate special pricing for another rental for the summer of 2015. He saw in their records the house we had previously rented and said he would speak with the "higher-ups" about a deal. He asked what time of summer we would prefer and I told him mid-June to end of July would be our preference.

Having not heard back from him, I made another phone call this week. I was told that special pricing for a future rental was not possible. He stated that another owner should not have to take a lesser amount for their house because of a pricing problem with another rental. I totally agree. This is not about the owner. It is about Ocean Reef. We would expect them to take the hit in their fee, rather than the owner taking a hit on their pricing. I am a reasonable person so therefore I am not attempting to insist the $2,500 rental for The White House is honored. I do, however, feel very strongly that due to the documented failure of Ocean Reef to be prudent in how they conduct business, we should definitely receive a discounted rate on a future rental.

Desired Settlement
As stated in the Complaint Summary, I am seeking a fair discounted rate for a rental that accomodates three families, in the summer of 2015 during the time period of mid-June to the end of July, as stated when the second agent asked about our preference.

Thank you for your consideration to this matter.

****** ******

Business Response
In regards to Mr. ********* complaint, we have looked into this matter. Mr. ******* was able to find a loop hole on our website that allowed him to block out one of our premier homes for six nights in August. Even though the property did not list a nightly rate, but only a weekly one. While reviewing the online reservations, we came across this block. Per the booking policies online when Mr. ******* blocked the property off, all booking or blocks are subject to review. We did reach out to Mr. ******* and offer options for him and his group. Unfortunately we were not able to agree on another option for them even though we have available properties. As for the request for a discount on a stay next year, we will offer a 10% discount to Mr. ******* for the same week in 2015.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We are quite disappointed in Ocean Reef's response, particularly concerning the inaccuracies. We were careful to provide factual information in our Complaint and had expected the same integrity from Ocean Reef. I have outlined below the reasons the response from this business is not acceptable.

1."Mr. ****** was able to find a loop hole on our website . . . ." This statement (accusation) is a bit insulting, as if we were looking for a way to cheat the system. It is a common and accepted practice to utilize an online calendar provided by the business to check availability, pricing, and to make reservations. Due to the schedules of the three families involved, we were looking for a place to stay for 6 nights. We checked a couple of different dates for a 6 night stay in August for The White House and the price was the same.

2."While reviewing the online reservations, we came across this block." This statement implies this discrepancy was discovered shortly after our reservations were made. As stated in our original Complaint, we received a phone call 30+ days after multiple confirmations were received from Ocean Reef. If this "block" was incorrect on their website, we know it had been incorrect for at least one month. The least Ocean Reef is guilty of is gross negligence - not only due to the length of time the pricing was incorrect, but also the number of times we received communication from them confirming pricing, confirming our initial payment had been processed through our credit card, and showing total balance due.

3."We did reach out to Mr. ****** and offered options for him and his group." As stated in our Complaint, no options were offered. There was no gulf front property available for that week for our size group. We would be interested in hearing what Ocean Reef claims we were offered and declined.

I would like to reiterate that when I placed a call to Ocean Reef several days after we were told our reservations had been cancelled, an agent asked if we had been offered 50% off of the correct pricing for The White House. This tells me that Ocean Reef has a policy in place that at their discretion, a compromise can be offered when they are responsible for an error. Again, we are not asking, and at no point have we asked, to receive the pricing for The White House for which we received confirmations. We are simply asking for a fair and equitable resolution. Vacation planning of three families - finding a time workable for everyone, getting time off from work approved, travel arrangements and other details - is not an insignificant process. It is also not insignificant to find out the process of vacation planning is not rewarded by a great vacation, but with a cancellation. We feel that a 25% discount for an Ocean Reef property during the summer of 2015, for any time available during the pricing period in which we had reservations this year, would be a reasonable offer.


Final Business Response
Ocean Reef does recognize that this is not an ideal situation for both parties. We also do not wish for this to continue, which is based mainly on conversations on which both parties have different views. Ocean Reef agrees to permit Mr. ****** a reservation for next year between the dates on August 1st till August 14th 2015 for a weekly stay at a discounted rate. This time frame matches up with Mr. ******'s initial reservation request for 2014. As for resolution, Ocean Reef will extend a 15% discount to Mr. ****** for that reservation. We do realize it is inevitably up to Mr. ****** to accept or decline this offer, but this is the last offer Ocean Reef will make on this matter.

Consumer Response
I appoligize for not responding back. I was on the second part of my vacation Ocean Reefs stay was only first part of our trip. We do accept the offer and look forward to Destin trip next year and dealing with Ocean Reef resorts in the future.

05/19/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was charged $511 for damage to a cook top that I did not cause in a beach rental.
We rented a property in Sea Crest Beach Florida from Ocean Reef. While we were there, the glass stove top cracked on Friday morning while we were boiling eggs. I contacted them to let them (via a voice message) know shortly after this occurred. They did not come to the property. When I checked out the next day, I again called and left a message informing them of the situation. 2 days later they contacted me and said they had the stove examined by an expert and had concluded it did not occur through normal use but by some type of damage. I asked that they send me the information they had on the stove and the cost of the repair. They sent me the work order and a picture of the stove. In the picture, the stove had a large hole in the cooktop and significant damage. This is not the condition that we left it. There was a small crack about 4-5" long. I did not take a photo of the stove as I did not expect this kind of outcome so I have very little proof. The work order that ocean reef forwarded to me also included the words "ORDER AND INSTALL COOKTOP- CRACKED AGAIN" implying this was not the first time they have had an issue with this cook top cracking. They were not willing to discuss any other outcome than charging me for repairing/replacing the cook-top. I filed a dispute with the credit card company that since it was not outside of what the contract allows, they could not dispute the charge. Ocean Reef has stated that my only option is to take them to court if I want resolution my dispute. It appears that someone associated with Ocean Reef or one of their contractors caused significant damage to the cooktop so that they could charge the renter and not incur the costs themselves or to ask the homeowner for the cost of repairing a stove top that cracked under normal use.

Desired Settlement
Since I believe the charges are invalid as renters should not be charged for what would be considered normal use and wear and tear associated with normal use, I am asking for a refund of the $511 that was charged.

Business Response
It's always an unfortunate event, when we as a management company are forced to act in a compensatory manner - especially when it results in an additional expense to one of our valued guests. Having been in the hospitality business for over thirty years, Ocean Reef understands that accidents happen. And, as a result, Ocean Reef always seeks to respond objectively and with discernment based on present factual information.
Upon receiving Mr. *********'s voice mail noting damage to the cook top, we sought to gather information; so that the following guest might be notified of damage, and to ensure the appliance availability to operate in a safe capacity. Initially, there was no plan to seek financial compensation for the cook top, because Mr. ********* stated that there was only a small crack, which had developed as a result of normal usage.
When an appropriate vendor could visit the property to inspect the crack, however, the situation appeared far different from Mr. *********'s account. After Ocean Reef received photographs showing significant damage, and an assessment by a third party vendor ascribing that damage to direct impact, Ocean Reef was compelled to contact Mr. ********* seeking recompense. At which time, Mr. ********* was charged the minimum cost to replace the cook top damaged during his group's habitation of the property.
Furthermore, lines of communication were opened to Mr. *********, and all gathered information was forwarded to his email address for his review. During the subsequent conversation, Mr. ********* noted that he had filed a claim through his credit card agency and pending their verdict would seek further action against Ocean Reef unless a refund was issued. Since he had already filed a claim with his credit agency, he was informed that any discussion of a refund would be suspended until his credit card company's verdict came down.
We understand that appliances have a limited life span, and Ocean Reef does not seek to punish its renters for damage that occurs because of normal and acceptable usage. But, with all available information (photos, professional assessments, and work orders) taken into consideration we had no alternative but to seek compensation for the damage caused during Mr. *********'s stay.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They are mis-representing the condition of the stone when I exited the unit. I reported the incident when it happened. They did not send anyone to the unit while I was there to review or discuss it. They waited until 3 days after I reported it to send me a picture that was far worse than how we left and the bill for $511. I do not fully understand their motivation but I would assume if they did not charge me, they would need to charge the owner of the home and they have a long standing benefit from maintaining that contract vs. over charging one tenant. They know there really is no recourse to take as any legal action costs more than what they have charged. We have rented at 15-20 homes over the last 2 decades through agencies similar to this and have never had any issues. Their lack of willingness to address the issue until after I returned to Indiana 12 hours away implies either very poor business practices or fraudulent activity.

Final Business Response
Mr. ********* has appropriately noted that Ocean Reef does have an obligation to protect the homeowner's investment. When items are broken or damaged by guests during their stay, that obligation (via the signed contract between Ocean Reef and homeowner, and contract between Ocean Reef and guest) falls on Ocean Reef to protect the investment of the owner by seeking compensation from the guest who damaged the property during their stay. To misconstrue this obligation as poor business practice or fraudulent activity would be a misrepresentation of the events as they transpired. When the guest witnessed the event, a message was left on a phone line dedicated to receiving messages only. Guest was provided all necessary phone numbers to reach a live agent, including a 24-hour emergency number should they deem it necessary to reach Ocean Reef. Yet the only phone number dialed was that which would not result in speaking with an agent directly - which, of course, slowed the response time.
As Mr. ********* noted too, he felt that this was a minor issue caused by normal usage of the appliance. As the appliance had cracked before under normal usage, Ocean Reef too considered this to be evidence of a faulty cook top. However, when the appropriate vendor inspected the cooktop it became clear that this type of damage was likely not caused by normal usage a portion of the cooking surface had broken away and fallen into itself.
A sober recounting of the events would summarize that the cooktop was admittedly damaged during Mr. *********'s stay in the property. Mr. ********* felt that it was not necessary to speak with an agent regarding the damage; so the only number called was an automated message line. When Ocean Reef responded to the message left, it was found that the damage did not match the description provided by guest on message. Therefore, Ocean Reef sought to speak with Mr. ********* and seek compensation. Per the contractual agreement between Ocean Reef and Mr. *********, this is an agreeable and approved course of action. Likewise, Mr. ********* sought to recapture his funds by disputing the charge via his credit card agency, and when they ruled in the favor of Ocean Reef he sought to discredit the reputation of Ocean Reef with the Better Business Bureau.
Regardless, Ocean Reef is sympathetic to Mr. *********'s situation. After seeing the length to which Mr. ********* is willing to go in order to recapture the $511.87, Ocean Reef has negotiated with the homeowner, and the owner has agreed to share the expense. If Mr. ********* is willing, the owner will pay $255.94 which is as close to exactly half as possible without taking the lesser share of the cost.

11/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
No disclosure of all rental fees when the transaction was discussed on 11/13 with ********
I was not told about their $60 administration fee or that the balance of the proposed rent would be due 30 days before we would see and occupy the property. I therefore cancelled the verbal agreement on the next day 11/14 and was told by **** that $60 would be held from my credit card deposit.

Desired Settlement
Refund of the total deposit

Business Response
In regards to Mr. ******'s complaint Ocean Reef does adveritse on our website in our Rental Policies section the following....

You may cancel up to seven (7) days after your original booking date and receive a full refund, less the sixty (60) dollar administration fee and applicable taxes. Ocean Reef does not issue any refunds for cancellations made more than seven (7) days from the booking date. If you should have to cancel your reservation, please notify us immediately, and if you purchased the Vacation Rental Insurance contact CSA to begin your claim. For questions concerning the travel insurance or to make a claim due to a cancellation, please call CSA directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. The insurance premium, six and one-half percent (6.5%) of the total, is non-refundable and non-transferable. No refunds will be made in the event of a mandatory evacuation if guest does not purchase CSA insurance.

Mr. ****** made his reservation and cancelled the next day. In accordance to our policies we refund the payment less the administration fee and applicable taxes. However in this instance we are refunding the fee and tax and apologize for the miscommunication.

11/11/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The Condo they rented us was filthy, Broken Furniture, Exposed Wires in bath light, Plumbing Issues in bathtub, Dryer Vent outside was full of lint
Having read the thirteen Better Business Bureau complaints filed against Ocean Reef Resorts and their retort to each, I will be happy to furnish pictures for your review to verify my complaint.

Ocean Reef Resorts rented us a condo that was filthy and had not been maintained. Issues included:

One: The Patio was filthy. There were cobwebs with human hair on the glass door and sea shells and crusted dirt on the patio floor.

Two: The Inside Door Sill was as bad as the patio with crusted dirt on the door sill and screen.

Three: The Plumbing in the bathtub had come away from the tub exposing the plumbing pipes, a possible health hazard.

Four: The Globe that is suppose to cover the bathroom light didn't because it wasn't there, leaving exposed wiring in the bathroom.

Five: Half of the light bulbs in the bath were burned out, another sigh no one had maintained this condo.

Six: The Coffee Pot was broken and came apart at the lid.

Seven: The Outside Laundry Vent had balls of lint hanging out of it, another sign of no maintenance and a possible fire hazard.

Eight: This is my all time favorite, one of the two Couch Backrest Cushions was Missing. You can't make that up.

Nine: The furniture pictured in Ocean Reef Resorts advertisement wasn't broken, the furniture inside the condo was. Imagine that.

Before Ocean Reef Resorts attempts to excuse our complaint by saying we did not communicate with them, I'll point out their communications skills leave a lot of room for improvement. Upon check in we were to call Ocean Reef Resorts office to notify them we were ready to check into our condo. After numerous phone calls, the number they gave us remained busy so we then communicated by text and email and let them know we had arrived.

When Ocean Reef Resorts called us back we informed them the condo was filthy and requested a cleaning crew to come clean it, which did not happen until the following day. The people cleaning did not speak fluent English and when they ask if there were other problems we responded, " yes, there were ". No one from Ocean Reef Resorts followed up on the cleaning or to see if their guests were happy, nor did they call to see what other problems existed.

Quite frankly, we are on vacation. It is not our job to do Ocean Reef Resorts job. The rental unit advertised should be the rental unit received, well maintained and clean. It is not our obligation to manage what they have not done, nor is it our job to be inconvenienced with cleaning crews, plumbing and electric problems or a dryer vent that had not been maintained.

Our request to Ocean Reef Resorts was simple and fair. Refund in full our cleaning fee and rebate a reasonable part of the rental to make up for the poorly maintained condo and our inconvenience. We gave them three working days to respond and told them the $ 64.00 they offered was insulting.

Guests should be treated as guests and not receive an inquisition because Ocean Reef Resorts did not do their jobs. Our job is to enjoy our vacation in a clean, as advertised rental unit that in this case was not provided.

Let me know where to send the pictures.















Desired Settlement
Full refund of the Cleaning Fee and a reasonable rebate of our paid rent.

Business Response
In response to the *********** reservation #XXXXXX we felt we responded appropriately in repairing the reported issues and compensating(not just 'offered') 10% of the rate. Ocean Reef's contact information is plainly made available in our email correspondence sent to all guests. Our maintenance records indicate differently from the guests statements as to the fact that the issues were corrected during the stay. However we do wish to extend a further discount in recognition of their inconvenience. The housekeeping fee will be credited to the guest today on Oct 24, 2013. Again Ocean Reef apologizes for any inconveniences and the resultant repairs and ancillary cleaning these guests experienced during their stay.


**** **********
Lodging Manager

Ocean Reef Resorts
XXXXX ******* ***** ****
Destin, FL XXXXX

800.782.8736 toll free
850.837.3935 office
850.654.4651 fax

www.oceanreefresorts.com
www.destinrealestatesales.com
www.destininformation.com
www.relentlesscharterfishing.com

04/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We asked for a refund of our money paid in advance for accommodations that were filthy and infested.
We were scheduled to rent Sea Cabin 1B at 1030 Scenic Gulf Drive from March 2 - 9, 2013. The unit was in deplorable condition; run down, dirty, with dust bunnies hanging from the sprayed ceilings, the carpet was old, dirty and worn. The king-size bed consisted of 2 twin mattresses slung on top of a king-size foundation with strips of foam wedged between the twin mattresses to fill out the space. The laundry facilities were filthy as well. Two mouse traps were in a kitchen drawer and Sunday morning, a cockroach scurried across the floor. That was enough for us. I called Ocean Reef Resorts and asked to be moved to different accommodations. Request denied. We left and spent the rest of our vacation at Holiday Inn Express.

Desired Settlement
Ocean Reef refunded one night's stay. We are seeking a refund of $656.49 representing the remaining amount we paid for these accommodations; or reimbursement of our stay at the Holiday Inn Express in the amount of $621.60.

Business' Initial Response
Sorry for the delay on this matter. I needed to look into the events as described by the ******'s. While we cannot confirm the conditions of the property at the time of the ******'s reservations, we did have guests staying the week before and just after their stay with no complaints. There are also conflicting accounts of how the phone conversations occurred during and after the ******'s stay. I did however have the door lock audited and confirmed the ******'s only occupied the property for one night and did not return the following afternoon. With this information, I have decided to refund all but the first night of the ******'s stay. This refund will be applied to the credit card provided by the ******'s for their reservation.

Page 1 of 2
11/18/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Condominium Rental Contract violation related to required owner approval prior to unit maintenance expenditures exceeding $200.
Ocean Reef violated our property management contract for the rental management of Amalfi Coast Resort Unit 420B (778 Scenic Gulf Drive, Miramar Beach, FL). Paragraph 5 of the contract clearly requires the owner be contacted for approval of any Ocean Reef maintenance expenditure exceeding $200.00. In October 2013, I received two invoices exceeding $200.00 (Nature's Keepers Eco Solutions, LLC for $238 (charge - bed bug laundry) and Florida Pest Control for $770 (charge - treatment) that was not approved by the unit owner (me). The owner (me) did not personally receive notification from Ocean Reef prior to these items be contracted for by Ocean Reef, nor did I approve of these expenditures. Ocean Reef has collected the charges from Amalfi Coast 420B September 2013 rental income account in violation of the rental contract. Ocean Reef has refused to reverse these collections from my account, stating they made an executive decision to contract for the services without my approval to keep a guest reservation after a report of a beg bug problem in the unit by the guest.

Desired Settlement
I do not disagree the maintenance work may have been needed, however I do strongly disagree with the price Ocean Reef paid for the services and has passed on to me without my approval. I have obtained several estimates for similar extermination work for about one half the $770 extermination charges. The laundering service invoice from Nature Keepers has no accompanying description of services or rationale of needed service, nor does the Florida Pest Control invoice. Ocean Reef has not provided any additional invoice information after several requests.

Therefore, I request the following settlement: (a) Ocean Reef reverses the collection from my account for Florida Pest Control and Nature Keepers. (b) Ocean Reef provides a full written description from Florida Pest Control of services including extent of bed bug infestation and any associated warranty, and the same from Nature Keepers. (c) After my review of the services performed and associated charges, I will determine if they are reasonable and customary and either pay in full, or pay only the reasonable and customary charge associated with the service to Ocean Reef.

Business Response
Ocean Reef has been in business for over 31 years while maintaining a stellar reputation as a premier rental management company along the Emerald Coast. The relationship we endeavor to establish with our Owners is unparalleled with any other "like" organization. As sometimes that relationship enables liberties, however we feel it necessary to act within the integrity of our rental agreement in order to preserve and retain the trust bestowed upon us with past dealings. Sometimes this genre of business does not allow us the benefit of black and white situations - in these moments, we have the opportunity to prove the value and merit of our relationships.



We have represented Mr. *****'s unit (Amalfi Coast 420b) since 2006, and feel throughout those 7 years we have acted with reason while being sensitive to both the Owner and guest needs. This particular scenario was addressed systematically in accordance to our agreement as closely as possible. It should be known that our agreement with Mr. ***** lists "however, if any item, or repair, exceeds $200.00, the owner will first be contacted prior to expenditure for repair". The bed bug incident was reported to Ocean Reef on the 19th of August by the guest, at that time we sent a 3rd party pest control company (Florida Pest) to confirm claim. Once confirmation was established, We attempted to contact Mr. ***** via all 3 venues that were provided to us on the rental agreement; 2 phone numbers with messages left and an email with estimated repair cost all attempted/made/sent on the 19th of August.



Since physical contact could not be made, Ocean Reef acted in a capacity to preserve Owner's and Guest's best interest. It is easy to critique action out of the moment once the dust settles. What seems to be lost on Mr. ***** is our successes within this unfortunate circumstance. This particular guest travelled internationally to vacation close to their son staying in the same complex. First we looked to move the guest, but we were 100% full within Amalfi Coast and the guest while crying and distraught within our office was comfortable enough with Ocean Reef and our efforts/game plan moving forward to stay as we treated the unit. Ocean Reef was able to retain the guest (with primary revenue amount in tact) and facilitate the eradication of bugs in less than 24 hours. The company's we used to assist were expedient same day full service organizations moving with a detailed ethic and sincerity.



Mr. ***** may have preferred us to move the guest out of the unit with no place for them to stay while waiting for physical contact to be made. Since we had no timetable as to when we would hear from Mr. *****, it would have been customary to remove all future guests and quarantine the unit; crippling both Ocean Reef's reputation and Mr. *****'s supplemental income. Instead, Ocean Reef acted with prudence and responsibility. Mr. ***** is over-concerning himself with a technicality while removing himself the effect of situation had on an unsuspecting victim/guest that ultimately left satisfied and happy.



Furthermore, Ocean Reef was more than diligent in explaining this to Mr. ***** multiple times through multiple representatives. A detailed invoice from Nature's Keepers was forwarded and personal call from Florida Pest supervising technician was made to the *****'s lasting 30 to 45 minutes explaining the process/corrective action. If Ocean Reef was able to move the guest, Mr. ***** would have lost all associated revenue and still would have had to service the unit to preserve its rental integrity.



In hind sight, Ocean Reef should have acted without concern for the guest and limit the revenue potential for Mr. ***** citing our strict adherence to our policies. However it is the personality of our company to address items with a 360 point of view, which is appreciated by our other owners and guests.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Ocean Reef did not propose a resolution. They attached a generic description of bed bug treatment with no pricing and also a receipt for "(bed bugs) Laundry for 17 Pieces 8/20/13" priced at $168.

Final Business Response

10/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This rental house is not in the condition as represented on the rental website. It has many areas in need of repair and some that are likely unsafe.
We rented this property as it was represented on the Ocean Reef Rental Company website. "Huge French Doors w a fantastic View" The blinds in side the doors are broken and/or non functional. When we mentioned this to "****" at the mgt. company, his response was.."you rented this for the location, not the view", how rude and disrespectful.Several calls and no response at all. Only when we told them the light in the fridge was burning a hole in it!! We have young twins that cannot be out on the beach all day and the view was a very important factor to us. One glass door even has a crack in it! The dishwasher door does not seat properly for operation, the master bath whirlpool tub has a hole in the operating console/unsafe. The glass top stove has several cracks which make it unsafe, we have a 4 year old and 8 month old twins with us. We should be able to feel safe in our rental. We will not use the stove as we planned to. The clothes washer does not fill adequately to do laundry...we add water by bucket. There are numerous hole in walls on all levels. The shower in the Master Bath does not fully shut off and leaks hot water. This house is not in the condition as shown on the website, not at all. We spoke to several representatives at the company who were essentially unresponsive. One guy said "we plan to fix all that in a few weeks"...When we mentioned that the light bulb in the refrigerator was burnig a hole in the unit...that they came and fixed! I have pictures to support this complaint.

Desired Settlement
We should receive a minimum refund of 50%... This rental is totally misrepresented on the website. We have infant children here and we are afraid to use the cooktop, so we are eating out far more than we planned. We are hesitant to use the masterbath shower because it won't turn off..., and the view from the "Wall of French doors"...is made horrible by the broken blinds on the first floor and Master Bedroom. This house has safety issues that appear to be ignored. We never expected to find the house in this condition for the premium we paid for this rental...not at all. To me the advertising is clearly deceiving. The company should use the current pictures I have taken on the website!

Business Response
Ocean Reef values all guest comments and suggestions. It is our effort to expel every available resource within our ability and under our owner contractual obligations to assess any items detouring a guest's satisfaction. First contact with Mrs. ***** was on Sunday September 22nd, she reported the non functioning blinds and a patio door not opening. A representative from Ocean Reef assessed/addressed the items same day. Second contact was on the 25th, Mrs. ***** listed other items troubling her stay. Again an Ocean Reef representative was at the property to assess/address same day. Guest notes, " We spoke to several representatives at the company who were essentially unresponsive". However, this certainly not the case as after both conversations with Mrs. ***** Ocean Reef had representation there immediately.
It is the case with the blinds that there is a corrective plan of action in place as they are special sets within the door itself. New doors/inserts have been already been ordered, but this repair is not instant. It should be noted there are supplemental doors/windows that feature a direct view and the dysfunctional blinds are restricted to 2 door sets.
Mrs. ***** filed this complaint on Wednesday the 25th after contacting our office, and this notice of filing was reported/received by Ocean Reef while our representative was addressing the items listed. We are continuing to help Mrs. ***** through her issues to the best of our ability.




Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Ocean Reefs continues to misrepresent their response just as they did the description of the condition of this property. They were rude on the phone and as far as normal 'wear and tear', I believe if the owners of this home see the pictures we have and we will post if required...would trulybe sickened. I am sure they are paying this agency considerable dollars for required maintenance...that is not being done. The damaged and broken items in this house were clearly in this condition for some time. Ocean reefs made token attempts to pacify us up until the time the BBB was involved. After that call miracuously on day 5 of our stay,3 technicians showed up! They indict themselves by what it took to get a true response and real action.They are the renting agency for this property and they should be responsible and accountable for the condition it is in for each and every stay. The issues we mentioned are not minor, and the damage, not normal wear and tear, by any standard that I know. That stovetop has cracks in it, with the heating elements directly below it...that is more than unsightly...that is blatantly unsafe. A laundry should function as promised, doors should open, refridgerators should not have bulbs melting the inside of the unit, and no, holes in the walls really aren't normal wear and tear, not in a home that you rent for $3600. The responses we received from Ocean Reefs were token at best until the complaint was filed and their reaction the day after they were contacted by the BBB speaks for itself. An offer of 15% is not acceptable and frankly offensive given the time it took to get these issues addressed to the degree that they were. The company only took real steps after the complaint, 5 days into our stay. They could not fix the blinds on day one, but after the complaint , technicians came in, unscrewed the glass panels and removed the damaged , unsightly blinds. Could of, should of been handled that way on day one, except we were not the BBB. The same is true of the response to the other complaints regardless of what Ocean Reef claims. It is clear and obvious that had we not filed this complaint that all of these issues would still exist in this house, and subsequent renters would experience the same conditions we did. We were told by one of the technicians that they have so many units it is not possible to keep up with all of them...is that the renters problem?? We should not be penalized for Ocean Reefs lack of staffing or hiring practices. That is clearly a choice they are making and expecting renters to accept. I think what they represented and showed of this home on the website is a far cry from what we saw when we walked in late saturday and what my pictures will confirm. I even question whether this practice of misrepresentation to this extent is legal!? No, we do not accept their response. They know they are not telling the truth even now. They have not addressed the rude, inappropriate response of their representative 'Alex" who told us, "you are not paying for a view you are paying for a location"...Thank you Alex for telling us why we chose this property!! How rude and unprofessional.
It took 5 days of our vacation and a formal complaint to get an actual response from Ocean Reefs. That fact remains true and irrefutable. We should be compensated for those days, not just for enduring the conditions, but for the time, frustration and emotional aggravation of trying to deal with the management of this Agency. They use the term "guests", we certainly were not treated that way, andf I suspect we are not the first people to feel this way.

Final Business Response
In an effort to make this clearer - Ocean Reef was very responsive in our efforts to assist Mrs. ***** and her party. Furthermore, it is our desire for our guests to have a pleasant, trouble free stay. However Ocean Reef accepts that items cannot be addressed in a timely manner with a short stay in some cases, and we will discount accordingly based on the overall impact. In this case, Ocean Reef will refund 15% of Mrs. ***** reservation amount. Followed below is an accurate depiction of our action and the reality of circumstances.
Sunday the 22nd, Mrs. ***** called for a repair on the blinds in the door and the door not opening correctly. On the same day a Representative repaired the non working door, but was not able to repair the blinds. Yes, the blinds in the doors are scheduled to be repaired in the fall, it is the fall. They are ordered; it takes 6 to 8 weeks for the doors to arrive. In perspective the affected doors were only 3; there are 9 doors and more windows totaling the south facing wall of the rental.
Mrs. ***** again called on the 25th for other items; we did not know about her other troubles until this time. Once again, a representative was immediately dispatched to the unit. We responded out of sincerity to provide functional accommodations to our guest, not because the BBB complaint was filed. That was received after a Representative was already in the unit. We have been in business for over 31 years, and would not have the distinguished reputation if we were held accountable by a 3rd party mediator rather than our own credibility. It did not take 4 days for us to respond, representatives were dispatched immediately to rectify what was possible to correct. The stovetop, although unsightly, functioned appropriately. The washing machine needed a part that was ordered per the diagnoses by the tech on the same day as the call. The blinds in the door were not repaired; we had a handyman bust out the glass and install a shell. Again an effort to appease the guest concern, but this was certainly not preferred as it compromises the integrity of the door. The shower was repaired the same day as concern filed. The holes in the wall, again unsightly, are small and do not affect the functionality of the unit. It is a high volume rental home that experiences wear and tear throughout the rental season, minor issues are to be expected.
Ocean Reef is available 24/7 to assist all of our guests throughout their stay. And in Mrs. ***** case, Ocean Reef responded in the best way we could upon her notifications of her concerns within the same day. I do not believe 15% will be amenable for Mrs. *****. However if her concerns are viewed in accordance to the overall stay and property, it is fair.

09/20/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This property was advertised as having a hot tub however during our stay from Aug 31 - Sept 7 the hot tub was not working.
Our group selected to stay a Mingo Manner (Reservation #XXXXXX) for three reasons, one proximity to the beach, two the hot tub, and three the pool. When we arrived we found the hot tub was not working. The control panel had been removed from near the basement door and the unit was in service mode. It was advertised that the hot tub would have heat and jets from 6 p.m. - 12 p.m. however these did not work. We called Ocean Reef 10 times in the following 4 days trying to get the issue resolved. Twice we had to wait at the property for the pool guy. Sunday he never came and at that point we started talking to Clint when we phoned the emergency line. Monday the pool guy came and told us he could get the jets working if he got authorization from the owner, however Clint informed us on Tuesday the hot tub would not be fixed and offered us about $450 (15% discount) in compensation. Other properties such as Linger Longer on the same beach without a hot tub rent for $1000 less so that is the discount we are looking for. Tuesday I asked to speak with a manager and eventually ***** called me back and offered $600 (20% discount). I told him this was not sufficient and that I would be asking the BBB for help coming to a fair resolution. I am now requesting $1250 since a similar property rents for $1000 less (about 33%) without a hot tub and we had to contact Ocean Reef over 10 times trying to get this issue resolved. Based on the control panel being disconnected we believe that Ocean Reef was aware the hot tub was not working as advertised. The hot tub was not our only issue with the property, one of the ceiling fans in the living room didn't work and Ocean Reef sent someone out who took a picture of it and left. We also reported many other repairs that were needed for this property. Since we did not get the hot tub that was advertised to us we would like to be compensated for the market value of a hot tub and to be compensated for having to deal with problems while on vacation that no vacationer wants to deal with.

Desired Settlement
$1250

Business' Initial Response
In regards to reservation #XXXXXX Ocean Reef Resorts feels we responded appropriately with the amount refunded for the ******'s stay. The pool and hot tub at Mingo Manor are managed by a seperate pool company and we were not aware of the problem until checkin. We sympathize with the group and were apologetic to their issues but the repair involved ordering parts which regrettably required several days for delivery. It was over the course of these few days that many of the calls were made from the guests. Additionaly the guests were not required to "wait at the property for the pool guy" as guests are free to go about their day and are not required to be present for repairs at the homes. The Linger Longer home Ms. ****** mentioned actually rents for $2800 weekly in the fall(Mingo Manor rents for $2619). We feel the 20% is satisfactory due to comparable properties in the area with no hot tub even though the hot tub was repaired during the stay.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Once again the information provided by Ocean Reef is inaccurate. After speaking with *****, he offered a 20% refund which I told him was inadequate. He told me he was going to go ahead and issue the credit card refund. We received a refund of $586.67. We feel this is completely inadequate as we could have rented a comparable property without a hot tub for $1000 less than Mingo Manor. Also I placed several phone calls to Ocean Reef trying to resolve this issue and we had to have members of our party wait at the house for repairmen on Sunday (when the pool guy never came) and Monday. Therefore I think a refund of $1250 is warranted.

Business' Final Response
Again Ocean Reef apologizes for the difficulty with the hot tub repairs. The challenge the repair required was the amount of days shipping time for the parts necessary for the repair. As a result the repairs were delayed. We feel the $650 amount is adequate compensation for the inconvenience.

07/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I filed a claim with CSA at the request of Ocean Reef. CSA denied my claim and Ocean Reef cancelled our reservation without refund. I never cancelled.
I made an initial payment approx $350. A few months later I took a demotion at work and was worried I would not be able to pay the $550 remaining balance. I called Ocean Reef to ask them what my options were and they told me to call CSA the travel insurance company. After a week, CSA had denied my claim. I made a $150 payment toward the $550 remaining balance and then received a call from Ocean Reef informing me that my reservation had been cancelled. I never cancelled my reservation, I simply filed a claim to get my money back. I did not get my money back so I assumed I still had the condo reserved. What it comes down to is I paid them $350 and will get nothing now. I never told anyone to cancel the reservation.

Desired Settlement
I would either like my money back or my reservation back.

Business' Initial Response
Ocean Reef has been in touch with Mrs. ****** over this matter. We are still working with CSA Travels Insurance on her cancellation and claim that was denied with them. We are currently waiting on them to relook at Mrs. ****** claim and will be in touch with her as soon as that process is completed. Ocean Reef has also credited back the $150 payment made by Mrs. ****** on June 24th. This was done on June 25th and again was conveyed to her the same day. We will be in touch with here as soon as we know something.

Consumer's Final Response
We have reached out to Mrs. ****** and have left 2 voice mails for her to contact us to discuss this matter but have not received a return phone call.

06/20/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ocean Reef Resorts illegally debited my checking account for 2k which caused multiple overdraft charges
We rented a property for a week and checked out yesterday. Ocean Reef accused us of damage to the property and debited 2k from our checking account, leaving us in the red and causing multiple overdract charges. My wife and I are meticulous and did not cause any damage to the property. We noticed previous damage when we checked in but it was minimal. Josh Weddngton, the operations manager, admitted to authorizing the debit to our account. He refused to give me his superior's name, was extremely rude, condescening, and full of accusations that the pullout couch was full of vomit (we found it that way) a chair was broken (we found it that way), and a hole in the wall (we called it in when the stair rail gave way because it was improperly installed). Additionaly we were accused by Mr. Weddington of breaking a bed. I personally slept in bed most evenings, and noticed it was loose and moving, but comfortable.
Ocean Reef Resorts had prior damage issues with this property which they clearly projected onto our week's stay.
We are very disapointed to be falsely accused. We cleaned house every single day, and were very responsible for the property.
It is Easter weekend, and we have no money at all.
We trust the BBB with this, but we are out a lot of money and we have no reserves.
People everywhere need to know what can happen when they rent from Ocean Reef Resorts, and how bad they will be treated.
We will follow will legal action Monday.

Desired Settlement
2k refund

Business' Initial Response
Ocean Reef is handling this matter. Ocean Reef rented the property to Mr. ****** in good faith. All rental polices were presented to and signed off by Mr. ****** prior to renting the property. Two excerpt of this are:
Property Damage
In order to provide our guests with the best vacation possible, we ask that all damages and/or maintenance items within the property be reported upon arrival to Ocean Reef. Every effort will be made to correct items in a noninvasive, efficient manner. An active credit card is required to maintain the reservation and the integrity of the unit. By signing this agreement you waive your right to dispute any charges that are made to your credit card regarding this policy. Non-billing stipulations include:
*No damage to the property or theft.
* No violations of rental or association policies.
* Rental is left in a neat and orderly condition.
* All garbage is removed from the house and pool areas.
Age Requirement
Parents must accompany their children under the age of twenty-five at all times. Non-compliance of these rules and regulations will result in immediate eviction with no return of any and all funds paid. In accordance with Florida State Statute 509.141, reservations made under false pretense are null and void and check-in will not be allowed. Please contact a representative with any questions regarding this policy.
We are still working up the list of items damaged at the property. Unfortunately the new guests are the ones suffering for Mr. ****** disregard to following rules. They were unable to check into the property at the check in time and are still calling with broken items. We have documented all damages and overall condition of the property left by Mr. ******. All Ocean Reef is asking is that Mr. ****** pay for damages to the property and any compensation for this week's guest. It is a shame that Mr. ****** put Ocean Reef and the current guest in this situation. We hope that Mr. ****** will handle this in a professional manner and take responsibility for his and his guest's actions.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We would be willing to forfeit $200 of the $1300 we are owed, in a spirit of compromise, to end the mattter short of legal action. We expect the BBB to fulfill their role in actively facilitating a resolution to this dispute, otherwise, we've wasted our time and efforts to date. Litigation involves time and money, but we have been robbed and wrongly accused, so we have no choice. We don't have much in terms of financial means, but we'd pursue this even if we were wealthy. Truth and justice matter.

Business' Final Response
Mr. Goodall is currently disputing his credit card charge for the damages. We will be more than compliant to take the legal approach to this matter if Mr. Goodall insists.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Real Estate Rental Service, Vacation Rentals

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/24/1997Business started: 01/01/1982
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DBPR (Tallahassee)
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr

BBB records show a license number of CQ224832 for this company, issued by DBPR (Tallahassee). Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr. The expiration date of this license is 03/31/2017.

Type: Real Estate Corporation

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1996, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Timothy Taylor (President)Mr. Todd Kleppinger (Lodging Manager)Mr Michael Taylor (Vice President) Rebecca Taylor (Billing)
Business Category

Real Estate Rental Service, Vacation Rentals

Alternate Business Names
Ocean Reef Realty, Inc., Ocean Reef Resort Properties, Inc., Ocean Reef Vacation Rentals & Real Estate

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Ocean Reef Resorts, Inc.

10221 Emerald Coast Pkwy W Ste 2

Destin, FL 32550-4966

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 10221 Emerald Coast Pkwy W Ste 2 

    Destin, FL 32550-4966(850) 837-3935
    (800) 782-8736

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Ocean Reef Resorts, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 782-8736
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 01/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Real Estate Rental Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.