BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/08/2011

Ocean Reef Resorts, Inc.

Phone: (850) 837-3935Fax: (850) 654-4651

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service8
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints13

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (13)
08/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We rented an apartment,un and at our arrival the apartment was filthy there is mold in all the vents rooms are highly dusted and bathrooms poorly clea
We booked our vacation March 2015, and arrived to our rental place 8/15/15, unit 505 in Ariel dunes building 1. upon arrival, the unit was filthy, there is black mold growing in all the vents,dust everywhere, on the walls, furniture, the carpet is stained and smelly, we found hair in several locations. We found old dried mucus on the bunk bed ladder. We have 1 asthmatic child and we had to sleep with the patio doors open to air out the unit and not run the AC due to potentially spreading the spores. This was on Sat at 2pm. They did send someone to look at vent covers(which won't fix the problem of the moldy ducts) and we were told it would be Monday before they would be able to change the covers. I did ask to be moved to another unit, however none were available. Very diappointed in the practice. So in conclusion, we did decide to go back home due to no other availability and to keep our son from getting sick.

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund of our vacation purchase price

Business Response
Guest arrived to and was given access to the property at 2:29pm - a little over 1.5 hours before check in time. When guest called to report cleaning issues, Ocean Reef responded promptly by sending multiple housekeeping contractors to clean and dust - as well as accommodate this guest by addressing any other matters they found. When guest brought up the issue of mildew developing on ceiling vents a contractor was scheduled to visit the property as soon as possible to assess the situation and remediate.
While the contractor was there, he noted that there were no visible signs of mold inside the duct work, but rather attributed it as an accumulation of condensation which led to the development of surface mildew on the outside of the A/C register. Accordingly, this accumulation of moisture occurs when an A/C system is pushing cold air into a warm unit which causes the vents to "sweat". This condensation, when the situation is left unchanged, can lead to the development of mildew and a foul odor rather quickly. Even when housekeepers close all doors and windows and clean all hard/soft surfaces the mildew odor can remain. That is likely what happened here.
All mildew has been removed from A/C registers. All hard and soft surfaces have been cleaned. Had this guest not had an asthmatic family member, the resolution would have been effective and timely.
But, this guest did have an asthmatic son, they felt that they could not stay in the property, and they decided to go home. While I feel their description of the issues to be exaggerated, Ocean Reef sympathizes with their situation and understands the gravity of family.
Ocean Reef has been in the business of family vacations since 1982 and strives to be the purveyor of family vacations along the Emerald Coast. Furthermore, this experience is not typical of the Ocean Reef brand.
It's from this perspective that Ocean Reef is willing to meet the request of this guest and offer a complete refund of the purchase price. We, at Ocean Reef, feel quite confident in our inventory and in the prowess of our employees. As such we would enjoy the opportunity to assist this or any guest in securing vacation rentals along the Emerald Coast.




Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


08/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Approximately 30 days after receiving rental confirmation, we were called to say the pricing on Ocean Reef's website was incorrect.
Re: Reservation Confirmation #XXXXXX.
On May 29, 2014, I made online reservations with Ocean Reef Resorts for a rental of The White House for August 2 - 8. I received a confirmation, including pricing breakdown, on May 30 at 10:22am. Two additional emails were received that morning...one at 11:51am provided the keyless door code and directions to the property. The other one included a form to be signed and returned, indicating our desire to accept or decline CSA Travel Insurance. This form also showed that our deposit amount of $932.44 had been charged to our Visa card. I signed and returned this form via email. On May 31 at 9:00am, I received an email from Ocean Reef once again confirming our reservation. Also included was the amount paid to date, and amount due. On June 28 at 12:16am, I received an email as a reminder that our remaining balance and final payment of $1,593.30 would be charged on July 3.

Tuesday, July 1, I received a phone call from Ocean Reef stating the pricing on their website was incorrect. Rather than a total of $2,500, the new total would be $14,000. This was the first indication there was a problem with pricing. (We had also checked the dates of August 9 - 15 before we booked, and the pricing was the same as for August 2 - 8.) Even though I asked the agent for a compromise, he was adamant that was not possible and that we would receive a refund of our deposit. Several days later, I called Ocean Reef's office again. Considering the amount of communication that went back and forth between me and Ocean Reef, I felt our three families who had to cancel vacation plans, should not suffer the full consequences of Ocean Reef's gross negligence. (As a reminder, this pricing had been on their website for at least 30 days.) The agent asked if we were offered 50% off of the correct price for The White House. I responded that no, we were offered no compromise of any kind. And by that point, the three families had already cancelled their plans, including travel arrangements. (By the way, telling our grandchildren we would not be going to the beach this year to stay at the place we had shown them online, was not an insignficant consequence of this error.) I told the agent that as satisfed return clients of Ocean Reef, we would appreciate special pricing for another rental for the summer of 2015. He saw in their records the house we had previously rented and said he would speak with the "higher-ups" about a deal. He asked what time of summer we would prefer and I told him mid-June to end of July would be our preference.

Having not heard back from him, I made another phone call this week. I was told that special pricing for a future rental was not possible. He stated that another owner should not have to take a lesser amount for their house because of a pricing problem with another rental. I totally agree. This is not about the owner. It is about Ocean Reef. We would expect them to take the hit in their fee, rather than the owner taking a hit on their pricing. I am a reasonable person so therefore I am not attempting to insist the $2,500 rental for The White House is honored. I do, however, feel very strongly that due to the documented failure of Ocean Reef to be prudent in how they conduct business, we should definitely receive a discounted rate on a future rental.

Desired Settlement
As stated in the Complaint Summary, I am seeking a fair discounted rate for a rental that accomodates three families, in the summer of 2015 during the time period of mid-June to the end of July, as stated when the second agent asked about our preference.

Thank you for your consideration to this matter.

****** ******

Business Response
In regards to Mr. ********* complaint, we have looked into this matter. Mr. ******* was able to find a loop hole on our website that allowed him to block out one of our premier homes for six nights in August. Even though the property did not list a nightly rate, but only a weekly one. While reviewing the online reservations, we came across this block. Per the booking policies online when Mr. ******* blocked the property off, all booking or blocks are subject to review. We did reach out to Mr. ******* and offer options for him and his group. Unfortunately we were not able to agree on another option for them even though we have available properties. As for the request for a discount on a stay next year, we will offer a 10% discount to Mr. ******* for the same week in 2015.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We are quite disappointed in Ocean Reef's response, particularly concerning the inaccuracies. We were careful to provide factual information in our Complaint and had expected the same integrity from Ocean Reef. I have outlined below the reasons the response from this business is not acceptable.

1."Mr. ****** was able to find a loop hole on our website . . . ." This statement (accusation) is a bit insulting, as if we were looking for a way to cheat the system. It is a common and accepted practice to utilize an online calendar provided by the business to check availability, pricing, and to make reservations. Due to the schedules of the three families involved, we were looking for a place to stay for 6 nights. We checked a couple of different dates for a 6 night stay in August for The White House and the price was the same.

2."While reviewing the online reservations, we came across this block." This statement implies this discrepancy was discovered shortly after our reservations were made. As stated in our original Complaint, we received a phone call 30+ days after multiple confirmations were received from Ocean Reef. If this "block" was incorrect on their website, we know it had been incorrect for at least one month. The least Ocean Reef is guilty of is gross negligence - not only due to the length of time the pricing was incorrect, but also the number of times we received communication from them confirming pricing, confirming our initial payment had been processed through our credit card, and showing total balance due.

3."We did reach out to Mr. ****** and offered options for him and his group." As stated in our Complaint, no options were offered. There was no gulf front property available for that week for our size group. We would be interested in hearing what Ocean Reef claims we were offered and declined.

I would like to reiterate that when I placed a call to Ocean Reef several days after we were told our reservations had been cancelled, an agent asked if we had been offered 50% off of the correct pricing for The White House. This tells me that Ocean Reef has a policy in place that at their discretion, a compromise can be offered when they are responsible for an error. Again, we are not asking, and at no point have we asked, to receive the pricing for The White House for which we received confirmations. We are simply asking for a fair and equitable resolution. Vacation planning of three families - finding a time workable for everyone, getting time off from work approved, travel arrangements and other details - is not an insignificant process. It is also not insignificant to find out the process of vacation planning is not rewarded by a great vacation, but with a cancellation. We feel that a 25% discount for an Ocean Reef property during the summer of 2015, for any time available during the pricing period in which we had reservations this year, would be a reasonable offer.


Final Business Response
Ocean Reef does recognize that this is not an ideal situation for both parties. We also do not wish for this to continue, which is based mainly on conversations on which both parties have different views. Ocean Reef agrees to permit Mr. ****** a reservation for next year between the dates on August 1st till August 14th 2015 for a weekly stay at a discounted rate. This time frame matches up with Mr. ******'s initial reservation request for 2014. As for resolution, Ocean Reef will extend a 15% discount to Mr. ****** for that reservation. We do realize it is inevitably up to Mr. ****** to accept or decline this offer, but this is the last offer Ocean Reef will make on this matter.

Consumer Response
I appoligize for not responding back. I was on the second part of my vacation Ocean Reefs stay was only first part of our trip. We do accept the offer and look forward to Destin trip next year and dealing with Ocean Reef resorts in the future.

05/19/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was charged $511 for damage to a cook top that I did not cause in a beach rental.
We rented a property in Sea Crest Beach Florida from Ocean Reef. While we were there, the glass stove top cracked on Friday morning while we were boiling eggs. I contacted them to let them (via a voice message) know shortly after this occurred. They did not come to the property. When I checked out the next day, I again called and left a message informing them of the situation. 2 days later they contacted me and said they had the stove examined by an expert and had concluded it did not occur through normal use but by some type of damage. I asked that they send me the information they had on the stove and the cost of the repair. They sent me the work order and a picture of the stove. In the picture, the stove had a large hole in the cooktop and significant damage. This is not the condition that we left it. There was a small crack about 4-5" long. I did not take a photo of the stove as I did not expect this kind of outcome so I have very little proof. The work order that ocean reef forwarded to me also included the words "ORDER AND INSTALL COOKTOP- CRACKED AGAIN" implying this was not the first time they have had an issue with this cook top cracking. They were not willing to discuss any other outcome than charging me for repairing/replacing the cook-top. I filed a dispute with the credit card company that since it was not outside of what the contract allows, they could not dispute the charge. Ocean Reef has stated that my only option is to take them to court if I want resolution my dispute. It appears that someone associated with Ocean Reef or one of their contractors caused significant damage to the cooktop so that they could charge the renter and not incur the costs themselves or to ask the homeowner for the cost of repairing a stove top that cracked under normal use.

Desired Settlement
Since I believe the charges are invalid as renters should not be charged for what would be considered normal use and wear and tear associated with normal use, I am asking for a refund of the $511 that was charged.

Business Response
It's always an unfortunate event, when we as a management company are forced to act in a compensatory manner - especially when it results in an additional expense to one of our valued guests. Having been in the hospitality business for over thirty years, Ocean Reef understands that accidents happen. And, as a result, Ocean Reef always seeks to respond objectively and with discernment based on present factual information.
Upon receiving Mr. *********'s voice mail noting damage to the cook top, we sought to gather information; so that the following guest might be notified of damage, and to ensure the appliance availability to operate in a safe capacity. Initially, there was no plan to seek financial compensation for the cook top, because Mr. ********* stated that there was only a small crack, which had developed as a result of normal usage.
When an appropriate vendor could visit the property to inspect the crack, however, the situation appeared far different from Mr. *********'s account. After Ocean Reef received photographs showing significant damage, and an assessment by a third party vendor ascribing that damage to direct impact, Ocean Reef was compelled to contact Mr. ********* seeking recompense. At which time, Mr. ********* was charged the minimum cost to replace the cook top damaged during his group's habitation of the property.
Furthermore, lines of communication were opened to Mr. *********, and all gathered information was forwarded to his email address for his review. During the subsequent conversation, Mr. ********* noted that he had filed a claim through his credit card agency and pending their verdict would seek further action against Ocean Reef unless a refund was issued. Since he had already filed a claim with his credit agency, he was informed that any discussion of a refund would be suspended until his credit card company's verdict came down.
We understand that appliances have a limited life span, and Ocean Reef does not seek to punish its renters for damage that occurs because of normal and acceptable usage. But, with all available information (photos, professional assessments, and work orders) taken into consideration we had no alternative but to seek compensation for the damage caused during Mr. *********'s stay.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They are mis-representing the condition of the stone when I exited the unit. I reported the incident when it happened. They did not send anyone to the unit while I was there to review or discuss it. They waited until 3 days after I reported it to send me a picture that was far worse than how we left and the bill for $511. I do not fully understand their motivation but I would assume if they did not charge me, they would need to charge the owner of the home and they have a long standing benefit from maintaining that contract vs. over charging one tenant. They know there really is no recourse to take as any legal action costs more than what they have charged. We have rented at 15-20 homes over the last 2 decades through agencies similar to this and have never had any issues. Their lack of willingness to address the issue until after I returned to Indiana 12 hours away implies either very poor business practices or fraudulent activity.

Final Business Response
Mr. ********* has appropriately noted that Ocean Reef does have an obligation to protect the homeowner's investment. When items are broken or damaged by guests during their stay, that obligation (via the signed contract between Ocean Reef and homeowner, and contract between Ocean Reef and guest) falls on Ocean Reef to protect the investment of the owner by seeking compensation from the guest who damaged the property during their stay. To misconstrue this obligation as poor business practice or fraudulent activity would be a misrepresentation of the events as they transpired. When the guest witnessed the event, a message was left on a phone line dedicated to receiving messages only. Guest was provided all necessary phone numbers to reach a live agent, including a 24-hour emergency number should they deem it necessary to reach Ocean Reef. Yet the only phone number dialed was that which would not result in speaking with an agent directly - which, of course, slowed the response time.
As Mr. ********* noted too, he felt that this was a minor issue caused by normal usage of the appliance. As the appliance had cracked before under normal usage, Ocean Reef too considered this to be evidence of a faulty cook top. However, when the appropriate vendor inspected the cooktop it became clear that this type of damage was likely not caused by normal usage a portion of the cooking surface had broken away and fallen into itself.
A sober recounting of the events would summarize that the cooktop was admittedly damaged during Mr. *********'s stay in the property. Mr. ********* felt that it was not necessary to speak with an agent regarding the damage; so the only number called was an automated message line. When Ocean Reef responded to the message left, it was found that the damage did not match the description provided by guest on message. Therefore, Ocean Reef sought to speak with Mr. ********* and seek compensation. Per the contractual agreement between Ocean Reef and Mr. *********, this is an agreeable and approved course of action. Likewise, Mr. ********* sought to recapture his funds by disputing the charge via his credit card agency, and when they ruled in the favor of Ocean Reef he sought to discredit the reputation of Ocean Reef with the Better Business Bureau.
Regardless, Ocean Reef is sympathetic to Mr. *********'s situation. After seeing the length to which Mr. ********* is willing to go in order to recapture the $511.87, Ocean Reef has negotiated with the homeowner, and the owner has agreed to share the expense. If Mr. ********* is willing, the owner will pay $255.94 which is as close to exactly half as possible without taking the lesser share of the cost.

11/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
No disclosure of all rental fees when the transaction was discussed on 11/13 with ********
I was not told about their $60 administration fee or that the balance of the proposed rent would be due 30 days before we would see and occupy the property. I therefore cancelled the verbal agreement on the next day 11/14 and was told by **** that $60 would be held from my credit card deposit.

Desired Settlement
Refund of the total deposit

Business Response
In regards to Mr. ******'s complaint Ocean Reef does adveritse on our website in our Rental Policies section the following....

You may cancel up to seven (7) days after your original booking date and receive a full refund, less the sixty (60) dollar administration fee and applicable taxes. Ocean Reef does not issue any refunds for cancellations made more than seven (7) days from the booking date. If you should have to cancel your reservation, please notify us immediately, and if you purchased the Vacation Rental Insurance contact CSA to begin your claim. For questions concerning the travel insurance or to make a claim due to a cancellation, please call CSA directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. The insurance premium, six and one-half percent (6.5%) of the total, is non-refundable and non-transferable. No refunds will be made in the event of a mandatory evacuation if guest does not purchase CSA insurance.

Mr. ****** made his reservation and cancelled the next day. In accordance to our policies we refund the payment less the administration fee and applicable taxes. However in this instance we are refunding the fee and tax and apologize for the miscommunication.

04/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We asked for a refund of our money paid in advance for accommodations that were filthy and infested.
We were scheduled to rent Sea Cabin 1B at 1030 Scenic Gulf Drive from March 2 - 9, 2013. The unit was in deplorable condition; run down, dirty, with dust bunnies hanging from the sprayed ceilings, the carpet was old, dirty and worn. The king-size bed consisted of 2 twin mattresses slung on top of a king-size foundation with strips of foam wedged between the twin mattresses to fill out the space. The laundry facilities were filthy as well. Two mouse traps were in a kitchen drawer and Sunday morning, a cockroach scurried across the floor. That was enough for us. I called Ocean Reef Resorts and asked to be moved to different accommodations. Request denied. We left and spent the rest of our vacation at Holiday Inn Express.

Desired Settlement
Ocean Reef refunded one night's stay. We are seeking a refund of $656.49 representing the remaining amount we paid for these accommodations; or reimbursement of our stay at the Holiday Inn Express in the amount of $621.60.

Business' Initial Response
Sorry for the delay on this matter. I needed to look into the events as described by the ******'s. While we cannot confirm the conditions of the property at the time of the ******'s reservations, we did have guests staying the week before and just after their stay with no complaints. There are also conflicting accounts of how the phone conversations occurred during and after the ******'s stay. I did however have the door lock audited and confirmed the ******'s only occupied the property for one night and did not return the following afternoon. With this information, I have decided to refund all but the first night of the ******'s stay. This refund will be applied to the credit card provided by the ******'s for their reservation.

08/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
rented a luxury home for vaca which was filthy with mold and mildew everywhere not as advertised many many issues with how home was maintained and cle
mold and mildew in the bathrooms bad ceiling stain with mold and mildew in master bedroom dirty dishes in drawers trash strewn throughout back yard broken tile that was very sharp around splash pool old and worn furniture and comforters and bed wear

Desired Settlement
50% refund of total bill

Business Response
We received maintenance notifications from Mr. **** throughout the week in regards to the property. These were addressed as best as possible while Mr. **** and his guests were in the property. Compensation was agreed upon with Mr. **** while he was in town for those issues. We feel at this time no additional compensation is warranted.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The amount was not agreed upon it was all that was offered as their response was " that's as much as we can do or we won't make a profit" as there is email documentation of this if needed. No maintenance/cleaning issues were addressed while we were there other that they did send a cleaning person to try and get the mold and mildew scrubbed out of the bathrooms( which she was unsuccessful and stated all the caulking needed replaced and that was the best she could do. Nothing else was cleaned or addressed at all. At no time did we agree that 15% refund was satisfactory as we deem 50% would be fair. I do not accept this response.

Final Business Response
Guest called Sunday morning (8/9/15) saying that there were some cleaning issues inside the property: bathrooms needed to be cleaned, some beds were missing pillows & cases, and kitchen counters were sticky. Guest noted that there were children in the group, and the best time to address these issues would be the following morning (Monday) between 9-11. Work order was created immediately and housekeeping was directed to be ready to address any other concerns that guest may have once they arrived on Monday.
Housekeeper arrived to the property at 9:29AM on Monday and cleaned the items mentioned and then proceeded to further accommodate the guest by addressing any issues that the guest may find.
Did not hear from guest again, or hear of any other issues regarding the property until Thursday morning when ******* emailed our Contact email account threatening to file a complaint with the BBB regarding complaints of broken tiles and wood debris down by the beach access. She also included pictures taken of dusty from chair rail and ceiling fan blades, small amounts of mildew build-up in caulking in showers, and an exhaustive list of the issues that they called about on Sunday morning, which Ocean Reef had already responded to. In her email she decried the situation, stating that her family paid an amount of $7469.23 for a vacation property that she felt did not meet her expectations.
She was contacted immediately by phone and by email regarding her issues. During the communication between guest and Ocean Reef Resorts an apology was presented, contractors scheduled to address the issues ASAP, and an agreement was reached in which guest was refunded $1050.91.
Guest contacted Ocean Reef a few hours later further decrying the situation and demanding a refund of at least 50% with threats of logging a complaint with the BBB if their demand was not met. At which time, the agent whom had been in contact with guest responded by further apologizing and reminding guest that they had already agreed upon the refund amount but no other concessions could be made.
Guest offered no response to final communication from Ocean Reef other than to file complaint with Better Business Bureau 8/17/15. Since Ocean Reef did address the issues that the guest had and the guest utilized the property in its entirety, Ocean Reef will not be issuing a 50% refund. The agreed upon amount was credited back to the guest already.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No, the issues were not addressed and compensated for. I was offered a refund in the equivalent of one night's stay. I expressed dissatisfaction with that amount and asked if that was the best they could do. **** responded that he could not offer any additional refund because, and I quote, "We wouldn't be making a profit if we offered more." Any reputable business places customer satisfaction above profit and they shouldn't need a customer to tell them that.

After I presented Ocean Reef's small discount offer to the rest of the group, we agreed this was not commensurate with the inferior quality we received. That same day, I sent a follow-up email stating that we thought a 50% refund would be fair. They responded with a refusal.

So no, the discounted rate was not "agreed upon." It was presented as the only option. Not the same thing.

Also, the issues we encountered could not have possibly been addressed in a 2-hour cleaning. They were the result of long-term neglect and failure to maintain the property. The items listed in the rebuttal do not reflect all of the issues we encountered. I have a full list, with photos, that I would be happy to share.

Plus, it shouldn't be the customer's responsibility to bring these issues to the company's attention and have our vacation disturbed by maintenance crews and cleaning staff. We didn't pay $7500 to serve as Ocean Reef's quality control department.

To reiterate, we did NOT receive what we paid for. We feel this property was falsely advertised and that we were SCAMMED out of our hard-earned money. Our vacation was virtually ruined.

05/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Property not as described. Property not in suitable condition to be rented. Ocean Reef entered property in our absence.
Upon check in to property, we were very disappointed. The website states the Cabana room is on the first floor of the property. We came as a family with 6 kids that like to swim. The property was advertised as a room next to the pool on the first floor. The cabana room is actually outside the back door of the property, down a flight of stairs, through a fence and across a sidewalk. In the cabana room, the website boast a JennAir grill and granite counter tops. The granite countertop was broken and the grill was in operable. They're was a small grill that had been purchased on wheels in place. The wicker furniture they boast in the website had such bad stains on the fabric that it was too gross to sit on. Inside the home, at least 50% of the blinds did not open or close, the sink in the master bedroom was clogged, the refrigerator drawers were broken, the cooktop in the kitchen was broken, the cookware was warped and there was not a single lid to a pan. The DVD player in the living room was disconnected from the tv and shoved in the cabinet below, we tried to hook it up ourselves only to find it has some coins inside of it and it was inoperable. We then tried to take the DVD player from the quest room and use it but the batteries had been removed from the remote controls. The website boast an ocean view from every floor. The third floor had a broken door handle and the door was not able to open. The door to the cabana roof were falling off the hinges. Four lounge chairs were provided at the pool, three were busted. No other chairs were provided. The website falsely advertised twin bunk beds and a double bunk bed with a trundle when it was actually a bunk bed with a twin top, a double below and a trundle. the third floor is advertised as a mini twin when it is a 4 1/2' long mattress that is elevated so high you would never lay a small child that high up to sleep for safety reasons. We contacted the rental company and attempted to get issues resolved but they're were far too many things wrong that could not be fixed in the amount of time we were there. They sent a maintenance man over and my husband waited 3 hours for him to arrive while all the rest of us went out to enjoy ourselves. we did not want anyone in the home with our jewelry, credit cards, purses, wallets, i pads, phones etc in the home. Ocean reef forgot to bring the laundry baskets and delivered them into the home the next day without our permission to enter.

Desired Settlement
We will accept our money back and no further actions will be taken.

Business Response
Ocean Reef has conducted impeccable service along the Emerald Coast for over 33 years. It is Ocean Reef's aspiration that everyone is satisfied; and we do everything in our power to accommodate every guest's need.
In regards to Case # 19039185: **** *******, while it is unfortunate that Mrs. ******* checked into the property with some issues, Ocean Reef acted swiftly to any and all concerns she had during her stay. We do recognize that some guest needs may be greater than others, our staff does strive to make sure every Ocean Reef guest feels like they are getting the best service available. Ocean Reef did act within our policies agreed to by Mrs. ******* at the time of booking: http://www.oceanreefresorts.com/destin-rental-policies

Unit Access/Service Policy
Ocean Reef reserves the Right of Entry. Due to limited "turn-around" times through peak season, unit access may be required during your stay to maintain unit maintenance, real estate showings, and/or inspections. Ocean Reef will do our best to notify you of entry. Tenants are not required to be present.

While we know that the situation for Mrs. ******* and her family was not ideal, we did try to accommodate as best we could with little impact to their vacation. A credit has already been given to Mrs. ******* for their inconveniences; however since they did occupy the property the entire time, Ocean Reef will not offer a full refund as requested by Mrs. *******. If the property was indeed in an unrentable state as Mrs. ******* claims, we could have relocated her and her family or refunded her if they were to depart the property during their stay.




Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Ocean reef was asked by me to be relocated on saturday morning less than 24 hours after check in. I was told that it was they're busiest week and there was no other accomodation that was available. With that said we had no choice but to stay because it would have taken us a whole day to try to make other arrangements and it was unlikely we woulod have been able to find a place to accomodate us not to mention the stress it would have caused us packing all of our belongings up and moving. The credit mentioned that was given to us was in the amount of $172.72. After a more through review of the contract i am more concerned now than ever. I see that we were charged for a Pet Cleaning Fee, we did not have a pet with us. The amount of money collected and charged to my credit card was $3881.67 and an additional pool heat fee of $175.00 was collected to have heat suppled to the pool for a total amount of $4056.67. I have several pictures of the condition of the rental as well as the reservation Confirmation showing what was charged to my credit card. This was a very stressful vacation for us and did not leave happy memories like we normally have while we are on vacation. On top of all that I am spending more time simply asking to have Ocean Reef to do the right thing, they know the rental was in bad shape, please do the right thing and make this right by me and my family. We would greatly appreciate this being taken care of by crediting us back. It is the right thing to do and I hope you feel it in the best interest of your companty to have happy guest. We would very much like to move forward.

Final Business Response
We have spoken to Mrs. ******* since the BBB complaint. Unfortunately we were not able to come to a resolution on this matter, and Mrs. ******* had decided to settle this matter legally. At this point, we consider the matter closed in regards to the BBB complaint.

11/18/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Condominium Rental Contract violation related to required owner approval prior to unit maintenance expenditures exceeding $200.
Ocean Reef violated our property management contract for the rental management of Amalfi Coast Resort Unit 420B (778 Scenic Gulf Drive, Miramar Beach, FL). Paragraph 5 of the contract clearly requires the owner be contacted for approval of any Ocean Reef maintenance expenditure exceeding $200.00. In October 2013, I received two invoices exceeding $200.00 (Nature's Keepers Eco Solutions, LLC for $238 (charge - bed bug laundry) and Florida Pest Control for $770 (charge - treatment) that was not approved by the unit owner (me). The owner (me) did not personally receive notification from Ocean Reef prior to these items be contracted for by Ocean Reef, nor did I approve of these expenditures. Ocean Reef has collected the charges from Amalfi Coast 420B September 2013 rental income account in violation of the rental contract. Ocean Reef has refused to reverse these collections from my account, stating they made an executive decision to contract for the services without my approval to keep a guest reservation after a report of a beg bug problem in the unit by the guest.

Desired Settlement
I do not disagree the maintenance work may have been needed, however I do strongly disagree with the price Ocean Reef paid for the services and has passed on to me without my approval. I have obtained several estimates for similar extermination work for about one half the $770 extermination charges. The laundering service invoice from Nature Keepers has no accompanying description of services or rationale of needed service, nor does the Florida Pest Control invoice. Ocean Reef has not provided any additional invoice information after several requests.

Therefore, I request the following settlement: (a) Ocean Reef reverses the collection from my account for Florida Pest Control and Nature Keepers. (b) Ocean Reef provides a full written description from Florida Pest Control of services including extent of bed bug infestation and any associated warranty, and the same from Nature Keepers. (c) After my review of the services performed and associated charges, I will determine if they are reasonable and customary and either pay in full, or pay only the reasonable and customary charge associated with the service to Ocean Reef.

Business Response
Ocean Reef has been in business for over 31 years while maintaining a stellar reputation as a premier rental management company along the Emerald Coast. The relationship we endeavor to establish with our Owners is unparalleled with any other "like" organization. As sometimes that relationship enables liberties, however we feel it necessary to act within the integrity of our rental agreement in order to preserve and retain the trust bestowed upon us with past dealings. Sometimes this genre of business does not allow us the benefit of black and white situations - in these moments, we have the opportunity to prove the value and merit of our relationships.



We have represented Mr. *****'s unit (Amalfi Coast 420b) since 2006, and feel throughout those 7 years we have acted with reason while being sensitive to both the Owner and guest needs. This particular scenario was addressed systematically in accordance to our agreement as closely as possible. It should be known that our agreement with Mr. ***** lists "however, if any item, or repair, exceeds $200.00, the owner will first be contacted prior to expenditure for repair". The bed bug incident was reported to Ocean Reef on the 19th of August by the guest, at that time we sent a 3rd party pest control company (Florida Pest) to confirm claim. Once confirmation was established, We attempted to contact Mr. ***** via all 3 venues that were provided to us on the rental agreement; 2 phone numbers with messages left and an email with estimated repair cost all attempted/made/sent on the 19th of August.



Since physical contact could not be made, Ocean Reef acted in a capacity to preserve Owner's and Guest's best interest. It is easy to critique action out of the moment once the dust settles. What seems to be lost on Mr. ***** is our successes within this unfortunate circumstance. This particular guest travelled internationally to vacation close to their son staying in the same complex. First we looked to move the guest, but we were 100% full within Amalfi Coast and the guest while crying and distraught within our office was comfortable enough with Ocean Reef and our efforts/game plan moving forward to stay as we treated the unit. Ocean Reef was able to retain the guest (with primary revenue amount in tact) and facilitate the eradication of bugs in less than 24 hours. The company's we used to assist were expedient same day full service organizations moving with a detailed ethic and sincerity.



Mr. ***** may have preferred us to move the guest out of the unit with no place for them to stay while waiting for physical contact to be made. Since we had no timetable as to when we would hear from Mr. *****, it would have been customary to remove all future guests and quarantine the unit; crippling both Ocean Reef's reputation and Mr. *****'s supplemental income. Instead, Ocean Reef acted with prudence and responsibility. Mr. ***** is over-concerning himself with a technicality while removing himself the effect of situation had on an unsuspecting victim/guest that ultimately left satisfied and happy.



Furthermore, Ocean Reef was more than diligent in explaining this to Mr. ***** multiple times through multiple representatives. A detailed invoice from Nature's Keepers was forwarded and personal call from Florida Pest supervising technician was made to the *****'s lasting 30 to 45 minutes explaining the process/corrective action. If Ocean Reef was able to move the guest, Mr. ***** would have lost all associated revenue and still would have had to service the unit to preserve its rental integrity.



In hind sight, Ocean Reef should have acted without concern for the guest and limit the revenue potential for Mr. ***** citing our strict adherence to our policies. However it is the personality of our company to address items with a 360 point of view, which is appreciated by our other owners and guests.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Ocean Reef did not propose a resolution. They attached a generic description of bed bug treatment with no pricing and also a receipt for "(bed bugs) Laundry for 17 Pieces 8/20/13" priced at $168.

Final Business Response

11/11/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The Condo they rented us was filthy, Broken Furniture, Exposed Wires in bath light, Plumbing Issues in bathtub, Dryer Vent outside was full of lint
Having read the thirteen Better Business Bureau complaints filed against Ocean Reef Resorts and their retort to each, I will be happy to furnish pictures for your review to verify my complaint.

Ocean Reef Resorts rented us a condo that was filthy and had not been maintained. Issues included:

One: The Patio was filthy. There were cobwebs with human hair on the glass door and sea shells and crusted dirt on the patio floor.

Two: The Inside Door Sill was as bad as the patio with crusted dirt on the door sill and screen.

Three: The Plumbing in the bathtub had come away from the tub exposing the plumbing pipes, a possible health hazard.

Four: The Globe that is suppose to cover the bathroom light didn't because it wasn't there, leaving exposed wiring in the bathroom.

Five: Half of the light bulbs in the bath were burned out, another sigh no one had maintained this condo.

Six: The Coffee Pot was broken and came apart at the lid.

Seven: The Outside Laundry Vent had balls of lint hanging out of it, another sign of no maintenance and a possible fire hazard.

Eight: This is my all time favorite, one of the two Couch Backrest Cushions was Missing. You can't make that up.

Nine: The furniture pictured in Ocean Reef Resorts advertisement wasn't broken, the furniture inside the condo was. Imagine that.

Before Ocean Reef Resorts attempts to excuse our complaint by saying we did not communicate with them, I'll point out their communications skills leave a lot of room for improvement. Upon check in we were to call Ocean Reef Resorts office to notify them we were ready to check into our condo. After numerous phone calls, the number they gave us remained busy so we then communicated by text and email and let them know we had arrived.

When Ocean Reef Resorts called us back we informed them the condo was filthy and requested a cleaning crew to come clean it, which did not happen until the following day. The people cleaning did not speak fluent English and when they ask if there were other problems we responded, " yes, there were ". No one from Ocean Reef Resorts followed up on the cleaning or to see if their guests were happy, nor did they call to see what other problems existed.

Quite frankly, we are on vacation. It is not our job to do Ocean Reef Resorts job. The rental unit advertised should be the rental unit received, well maintained and clean. It is not our obligation to manage what they have not done, nor is it our job to be inconvenienced with cleaning crews, plumbing and electric problems or a dryer vent that had not been maintained.

Our request to Ocean Reef Resorts was simple and fair. Refund in full our cleaning fee and rebate a reasonable part of the rental to make up for the poorly maintained condo and our inconvenience. We gave them three working days to respond and told them the $ 64.00 they offered was insulting.

Guests should be treated as guests and not receive an inquisition because Ocean Reef Resorts did not do their jobs. Our job is to enjoy our vacation in a clean, as advertised rental unit that in this case was not provided.

Let me know where to send the pictures.















Desired Settlement
Full refund of the Cleaning Fee and a reasonable rebate of our paid rent.

Business Response
In response to the *********** reservation #XXXXXX we felt we responded appropriately in repairing the reported issues and compensating(not just 'offered') 10% of the rate. Ocean Reef's contact information is plainly made available in our email correspondence sent to all guests. Our maintenance records indicate differently from the guests statements as to the fact that the issues were corrected during the stay. However we do wish to extend a further discount in recognition of their inconvenience. The housekeeping fee will be credited to the guest today on Oct 24, 2013. Again Ocean Reef apologizes for any inconveniences and the resultant repairs and ancillary cleaning these guests experienced during their stay.


**** **********
Lodging Manager

Ocean Reef Resorts
XXXXX ******* ***** ****
Destin, FL XXXXX

800.782.8736 toll free
850.837.3935 office
850.654.4651 fax

www.oceanreefresorts.com
www.destinrealestatesales.com
www.destininformation.com
www.relentlesscharterfishing.com

10/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This rental house is not in the condition as represented on the rental website. It has many areas in need of repair and some that are likely unsafe.
We rented this property as it was represented on the Ocean Reef Rental Company website. "Huge French Doors w a fantastic View" The blinds in side the doors are broken and/or non functional. When we mentioned this to "****" at the mgt. company, his response was.."you rented this for the location, not the view", how rude and disrespectful.Several calls and no response at all. Only when we told them the light in the fridge was burning a hole in it!! We have young twins that cannot be out on the beach all day and the view was a very important factor to us. One glass door even has a crack in it! The dishwasher door does not seat properly for operation, the master bath whirlpool tub has a hole in the operating console/unsafe. The glass top stove has several cracks which make it unsafe, we have a 4 year old and 8 month old twins with us. We should be able to feel safe in our rental. We will not use the stove as we planned to. The clothes washer does not fill adequately to do laundry...we add water by bucket. There are numerous hole in walls on all levels. The shower in the Master Bath does not fully shut off and leaks hot water. This house is not in the condition as shown on the website, not at all. We spoke to several representatives at the company who were essentially unresponsive. One guy said "we plan to fix all that in a few weeks"...When we mentioned that the light bulb in the refrigerator was burnig a hole in the unit...that they came and fixed! I have pictures to support this complaint.

Desired Settlement
We should receive a minimum refund of 50%... This rental is totally misrepresented on the website. We have infant children here and we are afraid to use the cooktop, so we are eating out far more than we planned. We are hesitant to use the masterbath shower because it won't turn off..., and the view from the "Wall of French doors"...is made horrible by the broken blinds on the first floor and Master Bedroom. This house has safety issues that appear to be ignored. We never expected to find the house in this condition for the premium we paid for this rental...not at all. To me the advertising is clearly deceiving. The company should use the current pictures I have taken on the website!

Business Response
Ocean Reef values all guest comments and suggestions. It is our effort to expel every available resource within our ability and under our owner contractual obligations to assess any items detouring a guest's satisfaction. First contact with Mrs. ***** was on Sunday September 22nd, she reported the non functioning blinds and a patio door not opening. A representative from Ocean Reef assessed/addressed the items same day. Second contact was on the 25th, Mrs. ***** listed other items troubling her stay. Again an Ocean Reef representative was at the property to assess/address same day. Guest notes, " We spoke to several representatives at the company who were essentially unresponsive". However, this certainly not the case as after both conversations with Mrs. ***** Ocean Reef had representation there immediately.
It is the case with the blinds that there is a corrective plan of action in place as they are special sets within the door itself. New doors/inserts have been already been ordered, but this repair is not instant. It should be noted there are supplemental doors/windows that feature a direct view and the dysfunctional blinds are restricted to 2 door sets.
Mrs. ***** filed this complaint on Wednesday the 25th after contacting our office, and this notice of filing was reported/received by Ocean Reef while our representative was addressing the items listed. We are continuing to help Mrs. ***** through her issues to the best of our ability.




Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Ocean Reefs continues to misrepresent their response just as they did the description of the condition of this property. They were rude on the phone and as far as normal 'wear and tear', I believe if the owners of this home see the pictures we have and we will post if required...would trulybe sickened. I am sure they are paying this agency considerable dollars for required maintenance...that is not being done. The damaged and broken items in this house were clearly in this condition for some time. Ocean reefs made token attempts to pacify us up until the time the BBB was involved. After that call miracuously on day 5 of our stay,3 technicians showed up! They indict themselves by what it took to get a true response and real action.They are the renting agency for this property and they should be responsible and accountable for the condition it is in for each and every stay. The issues we mentioned are not minor, and the damage, not normal wear and tear, by any standard that I know. That stovetop has cracks in it, with the heating elements directly below it...that is more than unsightly...that is blatantly unsafe. A laundry should function as promised, doors should open, refridgerators should not have bulbs melting the inside of the unit, and no, holes in the walls really aren't normal wear and tear, not in a home that you rent for $3600. The responses we received from Ocean Reefs were token at best until the complaint was filed and their reaction the day after they were contacted by the BBB speaks for itself. An offer of 15% is not acceptable and frankly offensive given the time it took to get these issues addressed to the degree that they were. The company only took real steps after the complaint, 5 days into our stay. They could not fix the blinds on day one, but after the complaint , technicians came in, unscrewed the glass panels and removed the damaged , unsightly blinds. Could of, should of been handled that way on day one, except we were not the BBB. The same is true of the response to the other complaints regardless of what Ocean Reef claims. It is clear and obvious that had we not filed this complaint that all of these issues would still exist in this house, and subsequent renters would experience the same conditions we did. We were told by one of the technicians that they have so many units it is not possible to keep up with all of them...is that the renters problem?? We should not be penalized for Ocean Reefs lack of staffing or hiring practices. That is clearly a choice they are making and expecting renters to accept. I think what they represented and showed of this home on the website is a far cry from what we saw when we walked in late saturday and what my pictures will confirm. I even question whether this practice of misrepresentation to this extent is legal!? No, we do not accept their response. They know they are not telling the truth even now. They have not addressed the rude, inappropriate response of their representative 'Alex" who told us, "you are not paying for a view you are paying for a location"...Thank you Alex for telling us why we chose this property!! How rude and unprofessional.
It took 5 days of our vacation and a formal complaint to get an actual response from Ocean Reefs. That fact remains true and irrefutable. We should be compensated for those days, not just for enduring the conditions, but for the time, frustration and emotional aggravation of trying to deal with the management of this Agency. They use the term "guests", we certainly were not treated that way, andf I suspect we are not the first people to feel this way.

Final Business Response
In an effort to make this clearer - Ocean Reef was very responsive in our efforts to assist Mrs. ***** and her party. Furthermore, it is our desire for our guests to have a pleasant, trouble free stay. However Ocean Reef accepts that items cannot be addressed in a timely manner with a short stay in some cases, and we will discount accordingly based on the overall impact. In this case, Ocean Reef will refund 15% of Mrs. ***** reservation amount. Followed below is an accurate depiction of our action and the reality of circumstances.
Sunday the 22nd, Mrs. ***** called for a repair on the blinds in the door and the door not opening correctly. On the same day a Representative repaired the non working door, but was not able to repair the blinds. Yes, the blinds in the doors are scheduled to be repaired in the fall, it is the fall. They are ordered; it takes 6 to 8 weeks for the doors to arrive. In perspective the affected doors were only 3; there are 9 doors and more windows totaling the south facing wall of the rental.
Mrs. ***** again called on the 25th for other items; we did not know about her other troubles until this time. Once again, a representative was immediately dispatched to the unit. We responded out of sincerity to provide functional accommodations to our guest, not because the BBB complaint was filed. That was received after a Representative was already in the unit. We have been in business for over 31 years, and would not have the distinguished reputation if we were held accountable by a 3rd party mediator rather than our own credibility. It did not take 4 days for us to respond, representatives were dispatched immediately to rectify what was possible to correct. The stovetop, although unsightly, functioned appropriately. The washing machine needed a part that was ordered per the diagnoses by the tech on the same day as the call. The blinds in the door were not repaired; we had a handyman bust out the glass and install a shell. Again an effort to appease the guest concern, but this was certainly not preferred as it compromises the integrity of the door. The shower was repaired the same day as concern filed. The holes in the wall, again unsightly, are small and do not affect the functionality of the unit. It is a high volume rental home that experiences wear and tear throughout the rental season, minor issues are to be expected.
Ocean Reef is available 24/7 to assist all of our guests throughout their stay. And in Mrs. ***** case, Ocean Reef responded in the best way we could upon her notifications of her concerns within the same day. I do not believe 15% will be amenable for Mrs. *****. However if her concerns are viewed in accordance to the overall stay and property, it is fair.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Real Estate Rental Service, Vacation Rentals

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.