BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/11/2011

Mr. Rooter Plumbing of Northwest Florida

Find a Location

Phone: (850) 763-2001Fax: (850) 763-4426View Additional Phone Numbers920 N East Ave, Panama CityFL 32401-4533



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/11/2011

BBB has determined that Mr. Rooter Plumbing of Northwest Florida meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Mr. Rooter Plumbing of Northwest Florida's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Mr. Rooter Plumbing of Northwest Florida

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
02/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Incompletion of job, Service man created more water damage then before he came to the house and wanted to charge me again to fix their mistake.
We hired Mr Rooter to fix some leaks which were flooding the garage. When the service man came out he gave us an estimate of abt 6 hours of work which involved creating a 2x2 hole floor and wall, repair the leaks and then fill in the holes.
the next day when the service man arrived he shut off the main water,without priming the pipes and when he jack hammered the floor the water pressure he had created burst and damaged my roof and shelves. I believe he created the hole in the pipe he fixed due to the piece he gave me. he then repaired a leak in one pipe, filled in the hole and never touched the wall portion , which you could clearly see was leaking. I spoke to him concerning the wall and he stated it was just water build up, I disagreed and stated you can see it coming out. the service man turned back on the water, never coming into the house to check anything. The serviceman left less then 3 hours later, nowhere near the 6 hours he stated it would take him and which we paid him for.
a few hours later we turned on the water to no water pressure. I immediately called them back only to be told he would not be able to be back until 10 PM that night or 5 PM the next day. I told them that was not ok. The same service man then returned the next day at 11am. He looked at the flood in the garage again, went inside and removed sand particles from 2 of the faucets. he then went back out to the garage and stated he could not do it today because he didn't have the tools, when we asked him if he could get them he said he would see if they had the equipment on this side of town. He came back and said the equipment was in panama city and he would not he back until the following Thursday, when we said that was not acceptable , because he never completed his job , the garage was still floored, he stated he had completed his job and he would have to charge us again for another service to fix the wall leak. When we stated that was not correct, he went back to his supervisor to ask about what he could do. Again he came back and stated that his supervisor told him we would be charge another 800.00 for another service call. SO my floor is flooding and I had to call another plumber to fix the problems Mr Rooter cause. The new plumber were able to come out on Monday, 3 days earlier than what Mr Rooter stated he could do. Mr Rooter did not complete the job they stated they would, made it worst and charge us for an additional 3 hours they were not there.

Desired Settlement
We request a refund in the amount of $400.00, since they did not complete the job, they were not at the house for half the amount of time they charged us for and they made it worst then it had been prior to them getting there. I had to pay another plumber to fix the 2nd leak.

Business Response
We responded to *** ***** *** on 01/21/15. The homeowner directed us to a location on the garage floor where a leak was located by another company. We gave a price to fix one leak at that location. The price was not an hourly rate but a flat rate for the repair of one leak, concrete removal and repair of that same location. Our invoice shows that the customer signed agreeing to the price and service on 01/21/2015. The work was performed on 01/23/2015. The invoice also indicated that we could not warranty the home piping, due to the inferior original pipe. The technician also informed the homeowner that there is a possibility of more than one leak and that additional charges may apply. This was the reason for explaining the inferiority of the original piping. A leak was found at that location where the homeowner directed us. The leak was repaired and the concrete was replaced. The water was turned on before the technician left the home. We have pictures of the repair and a picture taken when the technician returned. This picture shows water running across the concrete patch. It is obvious the another leak started some time after the replaced concrete patch had dried, indicating that the 2nd leak began after the repair of the first leak. We offered to repair the second leak at an additional charge. The homeowner declined our service.

The agreement that the homeowner signed prior to work starting clearly states: I agree that that the initial price quoted prior to start of work does not include any additional or unforeseen tasks. Additionally, the homeowner signed the invoice that all work that was agreed to was performed in accordance with this agreement.

The homeowners frustration with having a second leak is understandable. We do not feel a refund is due for the work that we performed and completed. Picture of repair and copies of invoice with signatures are available upon request.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Septic Tanks & Systems Cleaning, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Leak Detection

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/21/1992Business started: 03/01/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DBPR (Tallahassee)
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr

BBB records show a license number of CFC1429192 for this company, issued by DBPR (Tallahassee). Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2016.

Type: Certified Plumbing Contractor

BBB records show a license number of ER0005497 for this company, issued by DBPR (Tallahassee). Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2016.

Type: Registered Electrical Contractor

BBB records show a license number of RR0034353 for this company, issued by DBPR (Tallahassee). Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2017.

Type: Registered Residential Contractor

BBB records show a license number of RM0034923 for this company, issued by DBPR (Tallahassee). Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2017.

Type: Registered Mechanical Contractors

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2001, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Hobbs (President)Ms. Pam Hobbs (Office Manager)
Business Category

Plumbers, Septic Tanks & Systems Cleaning, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Leak Detection

Alternate Business Names
Hobbs Services, Inc

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mr. Rooter Plumbing of Northwest Florida

920 N East Ave

Panama City, FL 32401-4533

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 185 Stahlman Ave 

    Destin, FL 32541-1532

  • 920 N East Ave 

    Panama City, FL 32401-4533(850) 235-8859
    (850) 265-2177
    (850) 763-2001
    Fax: (850) 763-4426

  • PO Box 35847 

    Panama City, FL 32412-5847(850) 871-3003
    (850) 650-7668

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mr. Rooter Plumbing of Northwest Florida is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (850) 235-8859
  • (850) 265-2177
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 01/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.