BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/03/2005

Bowden Plumbing & Electrical, Inc.

Phone: (850) 265-4945Fax: (850) 271-2465

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
02/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Inferior and incomplete service, both plumbing and electrical.
We purchased a house in April 201. There were some plumbing and electrical issues, and our realtor had an estimate done. Mr. ****** was hired to fix these issues. He was to run a new water line to the street and replace/re-plumb the water lines in the home, install 4 electrical outlets, and correct other electrical and plumbing issues for approximately $4000. These were to be done before we moved into the home. He was given a key, and promised the work would be started promptly. He then swore many times work was being done, and more than once told us people were there currently, when we were in fact at the home, and no one else was present. Eventually, approximately May 1, 2014, a portion of the agreed upon work was completed. He was paid, and an agreed upon itemized invoice was never received.

However, the house interior plumbing was not done.

The electrical breakers were not fixed, and we continue to have electrical issues.

A toilet which he worked on has had to be replace, after flooding the bathroom and adjacent area multiple times.

A disposal he installed was plumbed incorrectly, causing flooding in the kitchen and dining room, and had to be fixed.

We had no more than a trickle of cold water to the kitchen faucet, and eventually had to have the re-plumb done by another contractor.

His line into the water heater was plumbed incorrectly, causing leakage there, and also had to be re-plumbed.

Virtually every service he attempted has had to be redone, costing us an additional $5000 plus.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of $3519, which would cover the cost of the work done by another contractor. Keep in mind, this is only a portion of what we have had to have done after his botched work.

Business Response
In response to this complaint: I installed the first ballcock in the mentioned toilet. I was called back because the toilet leaked and wet the rug. I sent another tech out to check it and found that the ballcock was stuck. The ballcock was replaced by the tech. Plumbing and electrical were tested out before closing out this job or collecting any money. Please note that I have received no other phone calls, letters, or emails concerning any of the other complaint items. When I left these customers, they were pleased with everything and were thanking me for all the extra work I did and didn't charge them for. I explained to them as well as all of my customers that I do not give just a year warranty, I will come back and correct anything that they are not happy with. In my opinion, I was not given the opportunity to correct anything that was wrong. I cannot make it right if I don't know about it. I would also like to say that I went above and beyond on this job, and added an outlet on the front porch, corrected brittle wiring that was found when hanging ceiling fans, traced electrical shorts.... all for $35. I did not even charge for the extra labor involved. I am shocked to get this complaint and not be notified by them personally. I have an emergency line if anything had arisen after hours as well. I do not feel that I should have to pay $3519 for repairs made by another competitor for items I was not given an opportunity to correct. Am I perfect? Absolutely not. Will I make it perfect? Yes, If I am given the opportunity.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr. ****** was well aware that he did not complete the job, and that no itemized invoice was provided. we asked him about finishing the interior plumbing per the inspection done prior to purchasing the home and the estimate provided by another plumber. Those documents were provided to him via email, and he acknowledged verbally that he had received them. He was to have done every item listed, and he did not. That is why we had to pay another, more reliable, company to complete his work. The disposal he installed was improperly trapped. The tie-in to the existing plumbing from the pipe he did run was leaking. The plumbers which I paid to fix these mistakes said this was pure incompetence, and when told who had originally done the work, recited various tales of other poor work done by Mr. ******. He will not be allowed back in this home again, as long as we own this home. We can make a settlement, or not. My next step will be to file a contactor complaint with the state licensing board if he doesn't care to do so.
***Document Attached***
Here are the estimates he was sent, and some of the repairs we had to have done after his work. I also have the emails where he was sent the estimates, on 04/21/2013

Final Business Response
To the best of my knowledge, the work was performed to the specifications given by Whitehead Plumbing and Blair Electric in the original provided quotes.
My invoice to the complainants was presented and paid on 5/20/14. At that time, they appeared to be happy and satisfied with the services we provided; including the additional electrical work that we did not even charge for. They thanked me for that.
My defense to this situation is that I was NEVER informed of any problem after 5/22/14 (the day we came for the toilet leak callback AND unstopped a shower for no charge). Again, I must stress there were no calls, emails, or letters to me or my company to let me know that there were any issues with the work. If there were problems, I would have taken care of them immediately.
At the bottom of Peaden's quotes, it reads "If you are satisfied with our service, tell a friend. If not,tell us!" This quote goes for my company as well. I do not give just a year's warranty... I stand behind what I do. I would be happy to have come back to repair anything from the job start time, and from that point forward.
If I am not allowed back on the jobsite, there is no way for me to tell what was or wasn't correct.
This is my final response to this situation.

09/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
****** is unreliable. And when they finally do come to our house they made damages to our house.
****** was called in to come do some electrical work on our well. They were supposed to be here one day, never came. We called they said "oh tomorrow" never came never came never came. This happened several times until finally they came weeks later. When they finally did come they left holes and marks on the out side of our house and did poor work. They came out and said they would fix it and have not come since.

Desired Settlement
Repairs

Business Response

7/31/2014
In reference to this complaint, please let me first say that it is by chance I saw the email referring to this complaint. This email address is no longer used by me. That is the reason for no response to the complaint. Please change my email address to ************@yahoo.com
In reference to the complaint issued by Ms. *******, I did perform work at the house, although it was not for her. It was for the prior owner, ****** ******* and ***** ***** as contractor/overseer of the job. I met her only once when she came to the house to let dogs out. Conversation was cordial.
Work performed for Mr. Schiek was: Installed electrical wire to outside well pump.
In reference to her complaints that ****** Plbg is unreliable and did not show up: I was in constant contact with the well company and the contractor concerning when the well would be ready for electrical. I was not under the impression that I had to be answering to Mrs *******, only the contractor.
The well was originally set to be located on the left corner of the house. When the well company installed it, they put it on the right hand corner of the house, which changed up things, entailing more work and materials to get it completed.
In reference to the "holes and marks on the outside of the house", this is the first I have heard of any such thing. The damage that her husband (or whomever is staying at the house) approached me about was sheetrock falling from the ceiling in the garage. We both agreed that it was old sheetrock which had been falling out for a while and was nothing we had done. He also showed me the soffit where we had taken it down to run wiring. There were areas of the soffit that appeared to be dented. Some areas showed rust which would have been prior to our installation. Some other areas of the soffit I could not say if it was something we had done or not. So, I told the gentleman that I would contact Mr. ***** ***** (contractor), to go and look at it, which I did. I told Mr. ***** that if it was something we had done, to fix it and bill me. I never heard anything else regarding the soffit from Mr. *****.
No conversation has occurred between myself and Mrs. *******.
I did speak to the gentleman of the house about 5:30 the afternoon the wiring was completed and asked him was he happy with everything. He had stated he was an electrician and had worked for an electrical contractor. I wanted to make sure he was happy and it met his standards. He told me everything looked fine.
In reference to poor work, all work was performed to code. The contractor and the gentleman of the house were both happy when the work was completed.
If these new owners were unhappy, I know that they had access to my office number, cell number, and emergency line. I have not heard anything of this problem until this complaint was filed
I would have been happy to met with the new owners (Ms. *******), even though I was not contracted through her or paid by her. The customer that paid me was ****** Shciek, the prior owner.
If any problems concerned her, all she had to do was pick up the phone and call... I would have been happy to discuss anything with her and resolve any problems that may have arose from the situation on my behalf.
Even though she did not hire me nor pay me if she would like to meet with me, please have her contact me at ************ (cell) to resolve whatever issues she feels should be taken care of.
I am shocked that I would get knowledge of this through a complaint filed with the BBB when all it took was a phone call if you weren't happy.
I don't conduct business like this, hence the fact that there are no other complaints filed with the BBB.
I have always taken care of business. Am I perfect? no. But if something is wrong, I will go out of my way to take care of it. But, first you need to know if there is a problem. Last conversations were Everything is fine.
Sincerely,
******* ******

Consumer Response
I apologize for not getting back to you sooner I have not had internet for several weeks.
However I am concerned about the reply I received from ******.
Several statements that were made were false and I feel that it is rude to argue with a customer.
We never heard from Mr. ***** he never once came to look at the house to see if anything was wrong and we never heard back from you. I feel that the business is supposed to look out and take care of their customers, we voiced our complaint to you personally and have not seen you since. That is until my significant other rand into you and asked what was up with the soffitt...you were very rude to how you replied to him and I still have not seen you or heard from your company.
I would like you to know we are not the only people that have a complaint with ******. The well company said they never want to hear the name ****** again because what they went threw was ridiculous. Don't believe me call for yourself.
Please contact me concerning this complaint XXX-XXX-XXXX


Business Response
To the best of my knowledge, the soffit issue had been resolved because I did not hear back from Mr.***** concerning it. I have no control over what Mr. ***** did or did not do in returning back to check it. If it was damaged by us, he was to repair it and bill ****** Plumbing/Electrical.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Electricians

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.