BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Plaza Motel

Find a Location

Phone: (850) 233-0028Fax: (850) 234-657212830 Front Beach Rd, Panama City BeachFL 32407-3399 Send email to Plaza Motelhttp://www.plazamotel.biz

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Plaza Motel is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Plaza Motel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.
  • One complaint filed against business that was not resolved.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Plaza Motel

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
06/05/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
made a reservation on 5/6/14 for 2 rooms. made a deposit of 220.00. Was not told that a cancellation fee would be withheld from deposit.
I made a reservation on 5/6/14 for 2 rooms. I made a deposit of 220.00. I called the next day to cancel the reservation (spoke with ******* @9:12). She stated that it could take up to 7 days for the refund. A few days later we were credited 85.00 in our account from motel. I called and spoke with Payton on 5/13/14 and he explained to me that I was charged a $25.00 cancellation fee per room. I disputed this charge as I was never informed that there would be a fee to cancel nor is it stated on the motel's web page. I also asked where the refund was for the second room. He didn't know and said he would leave a message for the manager. I called back twice on the 13th and left messages which were not returned. On the 13th at 3:01 ***** answered and said she would try to get to the bottom of the problem. She reassured me she would take it to the manager that afternoon. On 5/14/14 @ 9:19 I called and spoke with ***** again and she said she was still working on everything. At 2:40 on 5/14/14 ***** called and stated that she been authorized to refund $85.00 more dollars but not the remaining $50.00. She did not know the reason. She stated that while issuing the refund she inadvertently clicked debit and took out another $85.00 from our account but reassured me that she turned right around and returned $170.00 to our account. At this point the bank has not seen the credit only the debit that she did on 5/14/14. Perhaps it takes longer to process a credit. I am choosing to believe that she just made an error and the $170.00 will be put back in the account. I am choosing to file this complaint due to the $50.00 that we were not refunded nor told about when making the reservation.

Desired Settlement
Assuming that the error made on 5/14/14 is corrected in the next day or two, I am only seeking $50.00 to be refunded to me which would bring the total refund to $220.00 which is the amount I was charged by the hotel.

Final Consumer Response
The sales associate fixed the $170.00 debit as she promised she would do. We are still waiting on $50.00 to be credited back to our account. I was told that we were charged a $25.00 fee per room (we reserved 2 rooms) for a cancellation fee. This was not told to me when I made the reservation nor is it stated on the company's web page.

09/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were guests at the motel from 8/30/14 to 9/1/14. Upon check in we had to sign a piece of paper stating that after 15 minutes of check in we could not receive a refund on the room, also that if we were there for the intentions of writing reviews that we were not welcome. We went in to check out the room (room 115) and everything seemed fine. Later that night going to sleep, I noticed our bedding had quite a bit of dirt and staining on it. I brushed the sheets back and wiped them off. Upon waking up the next morning, my fiance and myself were covered in bites from head to toe which we later determined to be bed bugs due to the pattern of the bites and asking a local doctor friend. I contacted the motel and asked to speak with the owners (**** and ****** ****) and was told they were not available. I noticed when we were there that they, along with many employees actually lived at the motel. I then told the receptionist the issue we had encountered and she said that she would make note of it but it would be up to the maintenance man. Along with the uncaring sound of her voice and the way she dismissed any further questions, I felt like they were not going to take care of the problem for us nor for future guests. I have emailed the motel trying to resolve this issue with no response.

Desired Settlement
We are simply asking for a refund and assurance that this does not happen in the future.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Motels

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/10/2001Business started: 01/01/1959New Owner Date: 06/01/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John H. Peel (Owner)Ms Alison Peel (Manager)
Business Category

Motels

Alternate Business Names
Peel John Inc
Industry Tips
Hotel, Motel and Vacation Rentals

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Plaza Motel

12830 Front Beach Rd

Panama City Beach, FL 32407-3399

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 12830 Front Beach Rd 

    Panama City Beach, FL 32407-3399(850) 233-0028
    Fax: (850) 234-6572

  • PO Box 18874 

    Panama City Beach, FL 32417-8874

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Plaza Motel is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 01/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Motels

Hotel, Motel and Vacation Rentals
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.