BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/18/1999

Emerald Sands Inn

Phone: (850) 623-3821Fax: (850) 623-46436436 Highway 90, MiltonFL 32570-4527 Send email to Emerald Sands Inn

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/18/1999

BBB has determined that Emerald Sands Inn meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Emerald Sands Inn's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Emerald Sands Inn

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
07/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Evening clerk indicated that the Property Manager would provide refund and that he was locked out of the system. ******** **** will not return calls.
My wife made a reservation for July 2-6.Upon arrival we had a choice of a smoking room downstairs or non smoking upstairs. Due to me having gout in my left foot and my wife having a broken toe on the left foot we looked at the first floor room. We rejected this room due to heavy smoke smell and not very clean. We then went to the up stairs room, which took a LONG time due to foot issues. When we arrived at the room we found the room was NOT clean. The comforter on one bed was thrown on a dresser and urine stains were on the toilet. We went back downstairs as quickly as we could and I got my wife back in our car then I limped back to the office. The time period had exceeded 15 minutes and the clerk said he was locked out of the system and could not refund for that night (7/2). He did refund for the other nights (7/3-7/6). I was given a copy of the receipt where I annotated the issues and wrote my phone number down. The clerk indicted that the property manager, ******** ****, would be able to refund for the night and I needed to call. I called 5 times and left messages and my number for ******** **** to call. She has yet to call as of this date (7/8/14).

Desired Settlement
Refund for first nights stay as indicated would happen by clerk through ******** ****.

Business Response
We are sorry that Mr. and Mrs. ****** was not satisfied with their room. Mr. ****** signed off on our refund policy upon checking into our hotel, the policy is also posted at the counter where he checked in. When Mr. ****** approached the clerk with his issues almost an hour later, our clerk attempted to correct any issues Mr. ****** had. Mr. ****** refused his service and was immediately refunded $284.28 for the remainder of his stay. The room was checked by our head housekeeper and another staff. Someone had laid the folded comforter from the bed onto the dresser and there was no urine on the toilet or anywhere else in the bathroom. This being a Holiday weekend, this room was rerented with no complaints within 20 minutes of Mr. ****** departure. Again, we are sorry for his disappointment and would love to try to satisfy him on his next visit.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The Property Manager for Emerald Sands Inn states that "our clerk attempted to correct any issues Mr. ****** had. Mr. ****** refused his service and was immediately refunded $284.28 for the remainder of his stay.". While the amount of refund was true it was NOT a full refund. It was short the amount for the first night plus taxes. Also she claims that their clerk attempted to correct any issues, this is totally false! In fact this was the second room rejected by us. Room 109 was first and room 204 was second. Room 109 was considered only because of our injuries. We preferred to not be on the second floor so we looked at a smoking room hoping it would not smell too bad. It was not acceptable so we tried 204 even though it was on the second floor. The manager states that they did find the comforter on the dresser but states there was no urine on the toilet. The later is totally false! They had to have seen it when they cleaned it! The manager stated that they rented the room within 20 minutes. If so then there only purpose to contest what we are claiming is in order to keep money for a room that was double rented. I do NOT consider this matter closed and will not until a full refund is made!

Final Business Response
I apologize for this customers dissatisfaction with their stay with us. Upon check in, our Refund Policy is posted at the front counter. It is also on the paperwork that they have to sign stating that they have 15 minutes to advise the front desk if they are not satisfird with their room. Our staff is trained to assist customers with any complaints. This customer was in the room for over half an hour and never called the front desk from the room or came back to the front desk within 15 minutes. Our staff is aware of our policy and has the authority to refund money if within this time limit. This customer was very rude in our lobby with our clerk and the clerk did immediately refund the remainder of his stay. Our clerk called in our on property housekeeper. They checked out the room for these complaints,changed the linen and prepared the room to be rented. The original comment said there was urine on the toilet, now he states that it had urine stains. Also stated, was that the comforter was laying on the dresser. After inspection of the room by both of our staff, no urine or urine stains was noted and they did advise that the comforter had been removed from the bed and was placed on the dresser, still folded. This room is rented daily and we have had no complaints on any stains or issues with this room. We will not be refunding the first nights stay due to the customer had the opportunity to follow the policy and check out prior to the 15 minutes or give our clerk a call and give them the opportunity to correct any problems they may have had.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do NOT accept this 'Proposed Solution' as it is no solution at all. They took advantage of us and are twisting words to suit their own desire to keep our hard earned money. The urine 'Stains' are from dried urine which was obviously wiped off. House keeping and management are not going to admit that the bathroom was not cleaned properly as this would be a violation of health department rules. They are not refunding the money as they are greedy. I was not rude with the front desk clerk, I was firm that I wanted my money back. The computer locks the clerk out so they could not refund the money if they wanted to. I will recommend thru other sites that all people avoid this rip off motel at all costs! I know the truth, the manager does not because she was not there at the time NOR did she ever bother to call me or answer my multiple calls.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hotels

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/02/1990Business started: 04/01/1985New Owner Date: 06/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DBPR (Tallahassee)
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr

BBB records show a license number of MOT6700027 for this company, issued by DBPR (Tallahassee). Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr. The expiration date of this license is 06/01/2015.

Type: Hotel / Motel License

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1995, FL

Business Management
Principal: Mrs. Charlene Ford (Property Manager)
Business Category

Hotels

Industry Tips
Hotel, Motel and Vacation Rentals

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Emerald Sands Inn

6436 Highway 90

Milton, FL 32570-4527

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6436 Highway 90 

    Milton, FL 32570-4527(850) 623-3821
    Fax: (850) 623-4643

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Emerald Sands Inn is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 01/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Hotels

Hotel, Motel and Vacation Rentals
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.