BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/30/2011

Hasty Heating & Cooling

Phone: (850) 638-3611Fax: (850) 638-3489

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
10/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
water leaking from the ceiling after repair was completed.
Total bill was $835.00

Desired Settlement
Needed to repaint dining room walls and bedroom ceiling,cost was $250 out of pocket for negligence of technician who did the job,The company was informed and the sent another more experienced tech to repair the mistake that caused the leaking,that was the extent of what they did ,no offer of take care of the damaged caused by sending inexperienced technician to do the job.

Business Response
Customer states that the company was informed and sent another tech to repair the mistake and that is all we did. Unfortunately, subsequent research into the matter resulted in no notification to the company. Research was conducted via phone records and office manager (only person in the office during this time period) notes. Period researched was 4/9 - 5/30/2014. Our office was never contact by customer during that time. The company is just now on 9/14/2015 becoming aware of the issue. It has been a year and a half since the alleged incident occurred. It is our policy to repair any and all damage caused by our service techs in a timely manner. We have done this for all customers who have contacted the office in a timely manner after services have been rendered regarding damages that have incurred. Since the company never received contact from the customer, the company was not able to offer resolution to the customer at the time of incident. At this time, 9/15/2015, the company cannot be sure that if the customer contacted another similar company thinking that they were contacting ***** Heating and Cooling.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They were aware of the problem but did`t offer to take care of it,instead ,as I requested before ,they offered to bring the ac unit from the attic to the garage for an extra fee,due to the negligence during the first service order I did`t feel confident in their expertise to do anything else,but aware of the first leaking incident they were , as they themselves admitted they sent another technician when I called next day who did fix the leaking problem ,but not the damage that the leaking caused,I had to do it myself out of my own pocket

Final Business Response
Further investigation revealed that the customer did call in to our answering service on April 26, 2014, which was a Saturday. Our service tech responded to the weekend call and spoke with the customer via phone stating that this work would have been considered warranty work, however company policy clearly states that warranty work must be done during normal working hours. The customer was told that there would have to be a weekend service call or that we could come out on Monday to complete the work due to the warranty status. Customer did not want to pay the weekend rate and when service tech called on Monday to schedule the repair customer at that time said he already had it fixed. It has still been a year and a half since the initial contact.

09/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have a Goodman Package Heat Pump System that has had defective parts issues since it was installed. I requested it's removal and replacement.
Since this heat pump was installed we have had problems with defective components. Our electric bill has gone from around $225.00 monthly to over $600.00 monthly. I have requested that Hasty Heating and cooling replace the unit on numerous occasions. The manufacturing company, that makes the Goodman Heat Pump, sent a representative to my home in regards to my complaints. He stated that the company would warranty the system for 10 years parts and labor and would make the system work properly. The unit was installed in July 2008 and too this day Hasty heating and Cooling has been to repair the unit a minimum of 15 times and it still does not work properly. I have also had two other companies that are Goodman certified, check this unit and said it is not working properly and should be replaced. This unit runs continuously day and night, never reaching the desired temperature. Due to my severe health problems it is hard on me when the temperature rises, mostly because of my breathing.

Desired Settlement
I want the unit replaced with a compatible heat pump system,preferable a Courior compact heat pump system, and refund the cost of the electric bill over that which I was paying prior to the installation of this Goodman Heat Pump System.I am also seeking compensation for my suffering during the period which the unit has been inoperative.

Business Response
In response to the complaint filed by customer ***** *******, we have a very large file which started on 7/10/2008 where the Customer purchased a Goodman 15 SEER Heat Pump Package Unit-SN# XXXXXXXXXX.
As per Goodman Manufacturing Warranty statement: Goodman offers a 5 year compressor and 5 year parts and additional 5 years limited warranty coverage that is available for as long as the owner owns the home in which the unit was originally installed and the customer must complete registration with- in 60 days of the installation. Please note that this is a typical warranty coverage for all manufactures and products sold in the USA.
This reminder was on all documents that a 10 year warranty is available with the registration of the product. Again as in several products of all electrical or electronic nature with components there is a warranty compliment that has to be completed by the consumer in order to have the warranty honored.
However, the consumer said that they had a 10 year warranty, therefore even though Hasty Heating and Cooling did not manufacture this product we did honor over $4,914.00 at no cost to the consumer in labor and parts provided as good faith and customer appreciation. We were reimbursed for the parts which fell under the 5 yrs warranty plan but first we had to pay and be credited for those products however the amount listed above was purely out of pocket and written off as warranty and bad debt. Hasty Heating and Cooling offers a 1 year workman ship warranty for the products we sell, however Mr. ******* benefited from us over $4,914.00 and 8 years of free labor. We have asked Goodman on several occasions to provide some relief to Hasty Heating and Cooling for its labor but have only been reimbursed for Warranty Parts. This does not cover the numerous lbs of Freon or other small parts ie docs will be provided if requested to back all statements on repairs provided.
We also have tried to intervene for the customer with Goodman Manufacturing, the manufacturer of this product, to respond to the customer's needs and extended warranty. ****** ******* a representative from Goodman, performed a site visit and suggested that Mr. ******* ductwork needed to be replaced and if he did replace the duct Goodman Manufacturing would replace the Problem Unit.
Note: It was advised to Mr. ******* that his existing ductwork needed to be replaced when Hasty Heating and Cooling gave him the original quote for the 2008 Unit that was purchased and installed. Also that this unit was to be serviced and cleaned on an annual basis to keep the warranty in effect and non neglect, this unit was only serviced once on 4/11/2013 which the customer did pay $79.00, the only monies paid by the customer since the purchase of his unit 7-10-2008.
We feel at Hasty Heating and Cooling we have gone far and above for this consumer satisfaction, the Manufacture offered a replacement of the product with the stipulations the problem that caused the original failures would be corrected. In-adequate Duct will over work and cause burn up of motor parts and other failures. Also failure to properly service the mechanics of the product also causes irreversible damage, However they were willing to do so .

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Refrigeration Equipment - Commercial - Sales & Service, Air Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Electricians

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.