BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northwest Florida

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/25/2009

Bay Dental Center

Phone: (850) 785-5502Fax: (850) 785-551045 E Beach Dr, Panama CityFL 32401-3112 Send email to Bay Dental Center

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/25/2009

BBB has determined that Bay Dental Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bay Dental Center's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bay Dental Center

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
12/06/2012Billing / Collection Issues
06/02/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Service was paid in full on 06/09/2009. This collection was posted January 2014 of this year. There no explanation for the $1762 charge.
Dear Sir or Madam:
I am writing to dispute the $1,762 collection account with Fort Walton Collection Bureau *** ***** ******* *** **** ****** ***** *** XXXXX (XXX) XXX-XXXX. I visit Dr. ** ******* in 2009 for dental service at Bay Dental Clinic ** **** ***** ***** ****** **** ** XXXXX. Service was paid in full on 06/09/2009. This collection was posted January 2014 of this year. This affected my ability to purchase a home. I visit Bay Dental Center several times, and made a number of phone calls. I spoke with *** on my first visit and said she reported it to the Collection Bureau. I told her that the balance was paid in full anything after that Dr. ******* wrote it off. She said it showed a write off but a balance was forward and that there had been quite a few office workers and a mistake was made. And she would pass this information on to the office manager. We I return to the office, I spoke with the office manager because no one called me back she said she was too busy to look up anything she would give ***** ******* the message but ***** was leaving going vacation for a week. No one called me back in a week. I request documentation. Their reply was since it was 2009 they no longer have the records. I asked them how they came up with this amount. To sum it up I called back to speak with ***** she refuse to come to the phone and when I visit the office she was never available. The last thing *** told me was ***** ******* said she would remove it from collection but I still owe. According to Section 611 of the Fair Credit Reporting Act, I am requesting that you investigate this item indicated, and promptly delete any unverifiable, inaccurate, or outdated information from my credit report.
Sincerely,
****** ****** account number MA0124
**** ********* *** **** ***
****** **** ** XXXXX

Desired Settlement
The settlement I'm requesting is that the charge be removed from my 3 Credit Report and remove the account completely from their system followed up with a letter stating the correction made in this matter.

Business Response
Dear ****** ******** ******,
I have reveiwed your complaint. You do in fact have a balance on your account. Statments
were in fact sent to you over the years beginning
in 2010. The lag on billing was due to pending insurance. We waited many months for your insurance to send monies on your behalf. They did not cover all of your expenses. Thus, these expenses became your expenses. You have spoken with my employees. The request was made that you were to come in and
clear your account in full. I will make sure that you leave with a Paid In Full/ Account Closed Invoice and instruct my billing manager
to call the collections agency and notify them.
Please call our office at XXX-XXX-XXXX or stop by during business hours. Your account balance
is $1761.60. If you make your payment by the close of business day of 5/22, I will personally take 10% off of your bill. I would like you to remain a customer.

Sincerely,

Dr. **** *******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Dr. ******* thank you for the response to this issue. At the time of the procedure we entered into an agreement for the price of $2249.40 for the work to be performed of which I paid in full prior to said work being performed at which time I received a receipt for full payment with a forward balance of $0.00. My insurance was contacted prior to any work being performed and at this time you indicated that my insurance would cover any charges that where to be incurred and that my total would be no more than $2,249.40 so I agreed to move forward with the procedure. Had I known that you would increase your price after the initial contract had been agreed on then I would have declined your services. I have not received any contact from you prior to my discovering the false charges that where placed on my credit report which has caused damage. I have attempted to meet with you numerous times personally to dispute this alleged charge and have met with constant excuses as to why you were unable to talk to me or to discuss this matter even upon me visiting your office. I always pay my responsibility and I am disappointed at the way this was handled by your office staff. I have the receipt that states that I have no outstanding balance. You also stated that the reason for the billing lag was due to the slow response of the insurance company failing to pay you the money you requested yet the insurance papers I have in my possession state that you where paid your money a timely manner. I will provided BBB this information from the two dental insurances this was filed. Due to my privacy and the insurance carrier privacy, I have omitted personal information for the documents.

Final Business Response
Dear ******,
You did make your estimated portion payment
in full. This left $3125.60 for your insurance to pay. Intially they paid nothing. Then, they
started making payments on your behalf. They eventually made all of the payments that they were going to make. This left a balance of the amount in which you are concerned about. This becomes your balance at the point in which insurance ceases payments on your behalf. Please come in, as I have requested, and make your payment. I will still extend a discount of 10% to you. We will notify the collection's agency. I have notified ******* to speak with you and make sure your account is then in good standing. Again, you did your part initially.
Insurance is always an estimation. We waited a long time to receive final payments from them.
They paid all they would pay. In the end, this becomes your responsibility. We have been sending you statements since 2010. Perhaps, you
never received them. I am not here to judge you.
All I can say is come in and take care of the situation and everything will be fine in the end.

Sincerely,

Dr. *******

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

Your response clearly states I paid you in full the estimated portion. This means I have met my obligations and my debt does not exist. I am writing this response to have this removed from my report before I have to take legal action. I have in my possession the receipts and estimates that I paid in full plus your admission and statements from your office. If there was an issue with the insurances company it is your responsibility to take it up with them. You agreed to accept a maximum allowable charge for each service. 5 years later, you try to collect on a debt with no written or oral contract. At the time of the procedure we entered into an agreement for the price of $2249.40 for the work to be performed of which I paid in full prior to said work being performed at which time I received a receipt for full payment with a forward balance of $0. I contacted your office after attempting to qualify for a home loan in which your incorrect charges drew a red flag after which I discovered this recent claim by your office. You did not nor have you contacted me as you said. I'm not judging you or your practice for what you claim to have done but I received no such correspondence and I do not accept your false accusation. Upon visiting your office ******* ******* refuse to speak to me and all attempts to speak with you have been met with excuse after excuse. If I owed the money that would have been the appropriate time to resolve this matter with no hesitation from you or your wife to speak with me on this manner.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Dentists

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/20/2009Business started: 01/01/2003New Owner Date: 04/01/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Dept of Health
Division/Office Name - 4052 Bald Cypress
Tallahassee, FL32399
(850) 245-4111
http://www.doh.state.fl.us

BBB records show a license number of DN16143 for this company, issued by Dept of Health. Their web address is http://www.doh.state.fl.us. The expiration date of this license is 02/28/2016.

Type: Dentist

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 2009, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Dr. John Collias (President)
Business Category

Dentists

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bay Dental Center

45 E Beach Dr

Panama City, FL 32401-3112

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 45 E Beach Dr 

    Panama City, FL 32401-3112(850) 785-5502

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bay Dental Center is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 01/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Dentists

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.