BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/03/2001

Action Restoration of The Panhandle, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (850) 622-9700Fax: (850) 267-1089122-2 Bishop Tolbert Rd, Santa Rosa BeachFL 32459-4010 Send email to Action Restoration of The Panhandle, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/03/2001

BBB has determined that Action Restoration of The Panhandle, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Action Restoration of The Panhandle, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Action Restoration of The Panhandle, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
12/02/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
horrible company would not recommend them to anyone !
Action Restoration came to my house due to mold being in the air ducts. My husband was deployed so i was doing this all. they came to my house and did "everything" they were suppose to do. They tried to file a claim through our insurance company this was all back in Aug 2014. Our insurance company we have been fighting with due to them not sending us their AC person report. I've have called them telling them we were fighting with the insurance company to pay them ( we have insurance for a reason). I received a letter in the mail stating they were going to do a small claims with okaloosa county due to my account being 90 days past due even though i told them about my insurance company. On top of all this we have noticed the mold has been back to be honest it never changed even though they"cleaned" it. I did call them to come back out and they did however no one is taking responsibility for it. They told me it would never come back and they said it could be my duct work and there might be a hole but they were suppose to look at it. They "supposedly" did but yet i'm still having problems. I also called to tell them i can pay about $50 a month for right now cause that is all i can do due to family matter's that have come up. They declined my payment the woman i spoke to said her manger exact quote ($50 dollars is not expectable). I am discussed with this company and the way they handle things.

Desired Settlement
I would like them one to take my payment that we can make until we get the money from our insurance company. Do not put any of it on my credit. I would also like them to come out and fix the problem at no coast. The also need to be educated on how to talk to someone in a letter with a date of 11/10/15 as the date i need to respond by. They should also learn not to try and "sue" people because things do not go their way as well as not act as if they work for insurance companies and every company works the same.

Business Response
We are shocked at the incorrect information given in this complaint. The complainant called our office and asked us to come out due to a possible mold issue. We responded immediately and assessed the home. We found that the issue was a very common issue in our area where the A/C register boots were not completely sealed off from the hot attic air and was coming in beside all of the registers mixing with the cold A/C air creating moisture which ultimately created growth around them and in the ducts. We did clearly explain all of this to the complainant along with cleaning the registers and fogging the A/C ducts. The technician clearly explained to them that if they do not get an A/C company to fix the problem it will probably come back, so we referred one to them to contact. We would never have guaranteed mold not to come back if we didn't correct the problem as we clearly explained. They say the insurance did not settle their claim yet so apparently they did not fix the issue because we made another trip back to the residence, at no cost, recently to meet and explain, again, their choices. We do work with our customers on helping them with their insurance claims by sending paperwork directly to them or meeting adjusters, but we never wait to be paid by insurance companies as the process is sometimes very lengthy. We understand problems and do work with our customers as much as we can. We called the complainant and requested payment and they did NOT offer a $50 a month payment like they said in the complaint, but they did smugly offer $20 a month payment that we could not except. The entire accusation about what was told to them by our technicians does not make any sense and doesn't follow any of our protocols. When it involves A/C components we refer an A/C company right away as we do not repair A/C systems. They work directly together with the customer so if their was a report from them the complainant would receive it not Action. Also if we don't fix the issue we definitely can't guarantee it will not come back. This complaint seems to be stemmed from not wanting to pay our bill for services given in turn making a false report to the BBB to try and present Action as a quote "Horrible Company" for trying to collect a debt. This complaint also seems to be an attempt to get out of paying the debt and have Action wait on the insurance claim to settle as they describe in the solution section of the complaint, even though the SIGNED work authorization contract clearly states that payment needs to be paid directly after services are given. The invoice isn't even enough to be over the typical deductible amount. Insurance would not take care of the debt in that case. As also stated in the solution section of their complaint that Action needs not "sue" people because quote "Action doesn't get their way" is uncomprehindable as its normal behavior to try and collect a debt that is this past due. Their invoice is over 90 days past due and our work authorization contract clearly states our terms. We would like to close and say that in business their will always be "THAT" customer who doesn't intend on paying a debt and gets upset when a company tries to collect that debt so they post false reports to everyone they can reach to justify to themselves not taking care of an obligation. Action is an emergency services company and we provide services to people in need "right away". We love that part of our jobs and helping people through a devastating situation is our main goal.

11/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The entire process of remediation and reconstruction has been disastrous. The 900 square foot project was started in April, when the first part of the payment was received by ****. It is still incomplete with no communication from the contractor. The work has been shoddy and is completely unacceptable. From the beginning the project was performed incorrectly. The containment was set up incorrectly which led to contamination of the entire home. They did not protect our hard wood floors during demolition and have ruined our entire upstairs floors as well as our dining area. The reconstruction of the upstairs after remediation is completely unacceptable and unprofessional. We have crooked walls, poorly painted walls, areas that are still not sealed, furniture and belongings that were destroyed, and baseboards that have gaps. There has been no communication by the contractor for over a week. They were supposed to have someone repair the floors but we have heard nothing and seen no one. The contractor also did not get a permit before he began the reconstruction phase of the project and it was not until we argued with him and threatened to fire him that he got one. There have been multiple deadlines that have not been met. His crews have broken things and not mentioned it. He has been made aware of all of our complaints and the work still has not been done to our satisfaction.
Product_Or_Service: Mold Remediation

Desired Settlement
We would like a general contractor of our choice to come to assess the work and estimate the repair as well as perform the repairs and we feel that Action Restoration should pay for that. The contractor acknowledged verbally that there would be no further payment to Action Restoration and he stated he felt he owed us money at this point due to the disastrous state of the project. We would like the work done correctly or a refund of the money already paid to Action Restoration.

Final Consumer Response
We would like this statement to be added to our complaint as an addendum:

After a cooling off period for both parties involved, and after discussion with Action Restoration, an amicable resolution has been reached. Action Restoration has agreed to ensure the project is completed to our satisfaction. Action Restoration has been very responsive to our complaint and is doing everything within their power to ensure that our home is taken care of as if it were their own. Going forward we would be happy to recommend Action Restoration to others for their mold remediation needs.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General, Mold & Mildew Inspection/Removal/Remediation, Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Duct Cleaning, Carpet & Rug Cleaners

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/01/2007Business started: 12/01/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DBPR (Tallahassee)
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr

BBB records show a license number of CGC1516084 for this company, issued by DBPR (Tallahassee). Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2016.

Type: Certified General Contractor

BBB records show a license number of MRSR90 for this company, issued by DBPR (Tallahassee). Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr. The expiration date of this license is 07/31/2016. Brandon Hobbs.

Type: Mold Remediator

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 2007, FL

Business Management
Principal: Mr John E Dalton (President)
Contact Information
Ms. Wendy Balzer (Office Manager)Mr. Brandon Hobbs (Vice President)
Business Category

Contractors - General, Mold & Mildew Inspection/Removal/Remediation, Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Duct Cleaning, Carpet & Rug Cleaners

Industry Tips
Contractors
Duct Cleaning

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Action Restoration of The Panhandle, Inc.

122-2 Bishop Tolbert Rd

Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459-4010

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 122-2 Bishop Tolbert Rd 

    Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459-4010

  • PO Box 1671 

    Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459-1671(850) 200-5814
    (800) 704-8579
    (850) 622-9700

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Action Restoration of The Panhandle, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 01/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Contractors - General

Contractors
Duct Cleaning
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.