BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/28/2004

Continental Condominiums

Phone: (850) 234-3720Fax: (850) 235-985915413 Front Beach Rd, Panama City BeachFL 32413-2501 Send email to Continental Condominiums

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/28/2004

BBB has determined that Continental Condominiums meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Continental Condominiums' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Continental Condominiums

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
08/10/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Will not honor the rates listed on the website.
Said would only honor the book online page rates which were higher.
Called 6-29-15,to book room because the online booking rates didn't match the rates page. When I called the first person I spoke with was very rude, and wouldn't even let me explain where the difference was. So I called back and spoke to someone else, they let me explain and seen the difference,put me on hold. When she came back, she said the rates page was wrong and they would not honor. I asked for the manager, when she picked phone up she just stared talking, didn't even acknowledge me. She said the page has been wrong, but they didn't have to honor it. When I questioned why they would not honor it, she said she would not discount it to honor, if I wanted to stay with them I would just have to pay the difference no matter what. Her name was ******. Very rude. She also said that the rates page was only wrong for two days, which I know was wrong, because I have been looking at this place off an on for the last few months because my friend stayed there in May and the page was wrong then, but the honored the price for her.

Desired Settlement
I would like to get the room for the advertised price.

Business Response
I need more details in order to answer this . I need dates requested, unit # requested and what price is listed and where the listing is located that is supposedly wrong.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Room # is 313 it is listed as a type B economy efficiency. The rates page says $474, which should be around $583.73 with taxes and fees, But when you try to book online, it charges $651.28. that's a difference of $67.55! I explained all this when I called. The manager told me that they were aware of a problem with the rates listed on the site and said they were working on fixing it. I thought that they should have to honor what the website says. However, I checked the site again today and the pricing is still wrong. This is almost a month later. The dates were for Aug. 13 for 7 nights.

Final Business Response
I have reviewed the complaint and have made reservations for Ms ******* in unit 313 for 7 days beginning Aug 13, 2015 based on the $474 rate. Her res#XXXXX is made. Please advise her to call the reservation desk @ X-XXX-XXX-XXXX to make reservation deposit of $108.95.

10/07/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Accused of damaging property that I did not. Not being notified on the charge that they put on my card for it.

We arrived around 1547 hours to the Continental Condominiums on Front Beach Rd. When I got back to Nashville I decided to check my credit card statement about 1500 hours on September 6, 2013 and noticed a charge for $250.00 from Continental Condominiums. I immediately called the hotel. I asked about the charges and I was put on hold. The gentleman came back and told me that there was some notes but he didn't know why that was charged and he would have to call me back. He called back about 5 minutes later and informed me that the charge was for damage to a table because there was a name carved in it. I told him that I noticed it and the name was ****. I told him that I had noticed it and did not think anything of it. The name of the parties staying the room were *******, *******, and Donya and we don't even know anyone named ****. I also informed him that I worked for police department, my friend worked for the police department, and my fiancé was a retired police officer of 34 years. We were not the type of people to damage property or carve names into tables especially names of people that we don't know. He informed me that the room was inspected before we went in. My memory fails me after that. I just remember that he said they were going to have to investigate and call me back. Anyone could obviously see that the damage made there has been there for quite sometime. I wish that someone would take this seriously because I wonder how many times someone has been charged for the "****" in the table. In closing I would like for the BBB to investigate this matter. I would really like apology from this establishment. I don't know how far the investigation would go, I would really like for someone else other than the hotel people to see this damage. If it has not been tampered with you could clearly see that this damage was done long before we even thought about going to Florida. I would like the outcome of this to include an apology for the accusations that have been made against us. I would like my money back. If I can't get that then I should get the table delivered to my home since I paid $250.00 for it.

Desired Settlement
I would like the outcome of this to include an apology for the accusations that have been made against us. I would like my money back. If I can't get that then I should get the table delivered to my home since I paid $250.00 for it.

I would also like for the Florida Department of Tourism to look into this also. If I was accused of something like this, anyone could be. I am sure that is not good for tourism in Florida. Also, to think that this place is charging me for damage that is clearly older than a few days, this particular establishment might be charging other people for the same thing.
I appreciate everyone taking the time to read this letter and I certainly hope that each person knows that it is more than the $250.00 here. It is my character, pride, morals, values, and good name that is on the line here. I am dealing with the charge through the credit card company and I can only have faith that the system works. I sincerely hope that this matter is resolved.

Business Response
This matter has already been resolved and credit for the charge has been given.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Condominiums

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/01/1990Business started: 01/01/1972
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DBPR (Tallahassee)
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr

BBB records show a license number of CND1300137 for this company, issued by DBPR (Tallahassee). Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr. The expiration date of this license is 06/01/2017.

Type: Resort Condominium

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1976, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mrs Debbie McCormick (General Manager)
Business Category

Condominiums

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Continental Condominiums

15413 Front Beach Rd

Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2501

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 15413 Front Beach Rd 

    Panama City Beach, FL 32413-2501(850) 234-3720
    Fax: (850) 235-9859

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Continental Condominiums is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 01/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Condominiums

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.