BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/20/2002

James Auto Center, Inc.

Phone: (850) 763-0555Fax: (850) 784-63581301 E 11th St, Panama CityFL 32401-4116 Send email to James Auto Center, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Serving NW Fl automobile drivers with all of their car repair and service needs. In business since 1980. Master Technicians that have the training from the manufacture to take care of your vehicle.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/20/2002

BBB has determined that James Auto Center, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised James Auto Center, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on James Auto Center, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
09/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I was told the required repairs would solve my vehicle issues but $1652.06 later car still has the same issues as when taken into this repair shop.
I took my car to this shop on 8-5-15, i told the servce writer **** ********* that my check engine ligh stays on and an erratic fuel gauge (goes to full then back to empty) i told him that i had both the primary and secondary fuel pumps, fuel & instrument cluster replaced by Bay Ford & i also erpoaced the fuel rail sensor which did not solve the problem and i felt that it may possibly an electrical issue. I was given a loaner car and **** ********* contacted me on August 5th in the midafternoon and stated that the problem was most likey a fuel computer and that the steimated cost would be appr $400.00 which included the initiat diagnostics, part and labor and i agreed to the the repair. When i got home August 5th i noticed that i had a missed call from the repaisr ship and i called **** ********* bakc on August 6th ini the am and was told that both fuel pumps must be replaced and i was assured that if i consented to the repairs that this would solve my problems with my car. I told him i would get back with him and hung uop. I then called him back and i specifically told him that if he assured me that that by replacing the primary and secondary fuel pumps would solve the fuel gauge and check engine light issues then i would agree to the repairs which were estimated at $1600.00 and at that time he assured me that the repairs would take care of my issues othewise i would have never agreed to pay over $1600.00 out for reapisre that i benefits nothing from. This did not happen. I paid the bill of $1652.06 i had a bit of a heated discussion that i should not have to pay for reairs which did not fix my car but had no choice to pay in order to get my car. I evern inquired why the parts were not remvoed when it was determined that the reported issues were not solved and was not given an answer except that it did solve some other underlying issues which i stated were of no importance if the issues addressed were not repaired. When i cranked my car the fuel gauge issues and check engine light remain the same as when i took the car to the shop. I feel i was frauded into unnessary repairs and charges with the assurance that my car would be repaired.

Desired Settlement
I want my money back for the parts and repairs for the toal amount of $1652.06 - $199.34 plus $14.95 taxes for toal of $214.29 for the disgnostics charge= $1437.77is the amount i want back. I will bring the car down and they can remove the parts that they put on the car and reinstall the parts that they took off my car.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** Marie ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********************
I called Ms. ******* concerning her 2005 Ford Five Hundred. We are working with her to solve her issues. One of the fuel pumps that we installed is still giving her issues (check engine light). We will replace this at no charge under warranty. It is our goal to fix her car. I explained again to her that we will work with her to solve her car problems.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The business is working with me to repair my car.

09/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Business owner tells car owner next time you need to bring the decision maker I can't work with anyone that can't make the decisions. Violates logic.
See full complaint detail which will be transmitted to your office.

On 08/14/14, we took our Lexus in for diagnostics at James Auto Center, Incorporated of Panama City, FL.

Upon arrival, James, the owner, wanted to take us for a test drive even though we told both him and his office manager that we needed to leave for a medical appointment at the Mayo Clinic, which is over five hours away. We agreed to the test drive since he kept repeating himself.

Once we return they indicate a fee of nearly $110.00 would be needed just to evaluate the vehicle; using an example of how they are like doctors and cannot "diagnose" a vehicles for free. We agreed. We then remind both James and his office manager that we need to leave for our Mayo Clinic appointment, but they do not hasten whatsoever if anything James goes slower by trying to sell us on getting headlights cleaned for $75 bucks. We let him finish his poorly timed and poorly executed sales spiel then finally depart.

A few hours later they call and tell us the car battery keeps dying due to the alternator. He indicates he could replace the alternator with a rebuilt one with a "part" cost of roughly $450 bucks, two belts need to be replaced as they are causing the noise when the A/C is activated with "part" costs under $30 bucks, and the car would need to be reprogrammed to work correctly with the rebuilt, non-Lexus, alternator. The price he quoted was nearly $1100.00 dollars total. I tell them we will call back speak to the vehicle owner's father who says he will pay to fix it after inspection. I call the auto center back, speak to the office manager, and tell him we wouldn't be using their shop for the repairs given their cost is out of scope for the car owner due to his weekly exorbitant medical costs. He understood.

The following day, 08/15/14, we go to pick up the car after returning from the Mayo Clinic. We go in and wait for a few minutes at which time the office manager brings us to the back and begins the transaction. I then leave and get back in my vehicle while the very sick car owner stays to settle the debt. Then *****, the owner, walk in. ***** immediately talks down to his very sick patron, very rudely next time you need to bring the decision maker I can't work with anyone that can't make the decisions as an indication ***** viewed his sick patron as incompetent or indigent. The office manager said to his employer, defending the sick patron, that had it just been a couple belts the car owner would've been the decision maker. The car owner is stunned in disbelief and offended, does not respond, and instead takes his keys, begins to exit the tiny shop with the office manager about to follow to verify the vehicle would turn on. ***** stops his employee, raises his voice and tells his employee to go deal with another vehicle I got him. By this time the sick car owner was nearly at his vehicle when ***** comes up on him with a tech following shortly after. ***** arrives at the vehicle and states he "partly" charged the battery and doubted the car would even start, which it didn't given the bad alternator and the fact they didn't charge the battery as promised. The car owner responds he is just driving it to his parents house and prepares to call me to come jump the car. The tech then uses his battery jumper and the car starts. The car made noise immediately and ***** said oh that's your alternator. The car owner turned the A/C off, the noise stopped, and the shop owner, *****, shuts his mouth; his tech remained silent the entire time. We leave.

While following the car owner I notice something attached to the bottom of the vehicle kept bouncing off the road. I have him pull over. After examination, ***** Auto Center removed a bolt/screw that held the front underneath of the car together (between the front two tires) and did not put it back, which caused damages to the vehicle.

Desired Settlement
refund the diagnostic fee.

Business Response
Yes, I was rude to this person because I asked him if he was responsible for the repair decision on the test drive, he said he was. This is why we go for test drive to weed out shoppers from buyers. So when my service advisor ****, worked up all the estimates he requested for the work needed, The customer stated his father wanted him to take the car elsewhere. Since I have been in business for over 34 years I don't have time for people who want to use my knowledge and experience to have their "Cousin Bubba" to fix their car in the back yard. This is what my Saturday Morning live radio show on Talk Radio 101.1 is for. I help DIY'ers diagnose and repair their own cars since 1998.
We did what he asked, and he signed the repair order authorizing the diagnosis. His concern was to make sure this older car was safe to put on the highway. He reasoning for this specific request was to make it was safe and because it gets better fuel economy.
Yes, I did point out his headlights were yellow and should be "polished" so that people could see him and he could see the road. I think this customer would not be happy if I gave him back his money, killed myself and my entire staff. So to make it easier for my staff and myself, I will gladly give him back his money (minus state sales tax) if he will come to my shop to get the check from me personally. I don't like people who write malicious and slanderous statements. I like to be able to see my accuser face to face. If we go to arbitration through the BBB, he would have to meet with me. I hope this answers the BBB questions as well as what I plan on doing about this.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

We aren't going to play your games. If you refund the money without this foolishness our business will be concluded. No arbitration. No face-to-face. No nonsense. And your former patron, the very sick man, shall not meet with you ever again. Especially not after your initial conduct followed by your highly irregular response statements.

Now for your response.

Your "accuser": What a joke. So what you're saying is you are seeking a confrontation. A confrontation with a very sick person unless you interpret me as your "accuser" or perhaps you see us both as your accusers. Either way your statement leaves something to be said about the way you conduct yourself in business and in life. "Malicious and slanderous": Also a joke. By your own words you admit to doing what I said you did although you did ignore certain parts.

Finally, you ended with something very usual. You said, "I think this customer would not be happy if I gave him back his money, killed myself and my entire staff." I am not sure if you are saying should you give the customer back his money you would need to murder your employees and then commit suicide or what your intended meaning was. Your statement is completely illogical. I will pray that you simply miswrote your thoughts.

By the way. It wasn't the alternator like you said. "Cousin Bubba" took the vehicle to an actual repair shop to be safe since he couldn't find anything wrong with the alternator. The car shop determined the issue was a power drain from the rear window, and they were able to fix the problem for $175.00. The car runs fine now without a single issue. Headlamps also "polished". You further totally ignored the part about the damage your shop caused his vehicle, but that's okay; it further clarifies your position.

Your options are simple: 1) Refund his money via US Mail; or 2) Don't refund his money. There is no in-between here, or possible face-to-face, especially given what you said in your response.

Govern yourselves accordingly,

****** *****

Final Business Response
I stand by my last statement. No matter what I do, you will not be happy. So if you want your money, come and get it at my shop. Monday through Friday 7:00 am till 5:00. This is good through the month of September. After that I will have nothing more to do with you or whoever is harassing me by using the BBB.
No games, My phone number has not been cut off or changed. The 727 area code phone # you have given me has been cutoff and you don't answer your 850 area code number. I think you just have a case of butthurt from the truth. No matter what I say you will find an argument to prove me wrong. The ball in your court, I guess you are afraid to confront people, maybe this is why you are so brave behind a keyboard. In reality I don't have to do a anything. I have your signature authorizing our inspection work as required by the state of Florida. You are trying to be a bully and that shows me your true nature.

Final Consumer Response
Today, September 15, 2014, James Auto Center called my personal cell phone although the caller did not identify himself in the message. I authenticated the caller's identity by searching his provided numbers of 850-763-0555 (Google shows this is James Auto Center) while the number he called from XXX-XXX-XXXX reveals no data. I am surprised James Auto Center called me directly given the BBB dispute, and based on my latest complaint response so I wanted to provide a transcript of his voicemail. His words are demeaning per my view because he once again acts like he doesn't know who the decision-maker is. I find this behavior incredibly foolish and offensive because the decision-maker has been explained to this outfit several times.

James Auto Center Voicemail:

"I'd like to speak with the person that's in charge of making decisions in this household I think his name is **** ***** or his dad or somebody. Please call me XXX-XXX-XXXX. I still say the same. You'll get your money when you come down and get it. That's all I'm gonna tell ya'."

To which I respond to both *****' latest response and voicemail


It seems you are still playing games. I am not afraid to "confront" people. I've chosen not to "confront" you because there is no need to, but it is clear that is what you seek .. some type of confrontation or perhaps a physical battle given your earlier statement about killing yourself and your employees. It's all quite comical. Your statement of being "butthurt" is also unusual, but based on your latest statements it's really not at all unusual for you. You are actually making yourself out to be quite the "bully" given your "Cousin Bubba" remarks and complete dismissal of fact notwithstanding your latest comments and phone call. As for your latest word selection of "harassment" The BBB offers the consumer a medium in the event a business fails the consumer. You have failed. You like to levy words like harassment and accuser and bully and Cousin Bubba. In fact, you are doing and being the things you are spouting in this complaint. It really shows us all the kind of man you are.

I will say once again that there is no in between here. You can either refund the money via US Mail or you don't refund the money. That will resolve this situation so you see, there is a way for you to fix this and make amends, but not a way that pleases you: The wrongdoer.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 10/30/1993Business started: 09/01/1980
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Consumer Services/Dept of Agri (TAL)
Mayo Building, Room 110
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0800
(800) 435-7352

BBB records show a license number of MV233 for this company, issued by Consumer Services/Dept of Agri (TAL). Their web address is The expiration date of this license is 08/05/2017.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

Type of Entity


Incorporated: January 1984, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Morris (Owner)Ms. Anna Morris (Vice President)
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

To be a dealership alternative for those who need their cars repaired or serviced in the same day. Using manufacture specific equipment and training for your import or domestic vehicle.

Refund and Exchange Policy

12 month 12,000 miles nationwide warranty. Additional 24 month pro-rated warranty parts and labor if we inspect our work every 6 months at "no additional charge". This is a $75.00 value

Service Area

Northwest Florida

Industry Tips
Auto Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for James Auto Center, Inc.

1301 E 11th St

Panama City, FL 32401-4116

To | From


1 Locations

  • 1301 E 11th St 

    Panama City, FL 32401-4116(850) 763-0555
    Fax: (850) 784-6358

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*James Auto Center, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 01/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.


Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

Auto Repair

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.