BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/30/2012

Markham Auto Sales

Phone: (850) 435-2900Fax: (850) 435-29012719 N Pace Blvd, PensacolaFL 32505-5647 Send email to Markham Auto Sales

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/30/2012

BBB has determined that Markham Auto Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Markham Auto Sales' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Markham Auto Sales

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
05/03/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a car from Markham Automotive on January 27, 2013. The Salesperson told me I had to pay the taxes in 45 days but four days after I signed the contract they reposed the car. So I ended up paying $1000 to get the car back plus repo fees. Then in April I was in the hospital and the day I got out on the 12th they reposed the car again saying I owe them $2000 to get the car back. I know this is predatory lending practices and is not limited to this isolated incident.

Business' Initial Response
In response to the complaint filed by Anthony ******:
The vehicle in this case was financed by Worldco Financial Services, and ******* ****** failed to make his payments as he agreed to in his contract! However, we here at ****** Auto Sales and at Worldco Financial Services have filed a trespassing warrant on Anthony ****** and his female friend whose name was not known. He threatened employees here and we had him removed by Escambia County Sheriffs Office Deputy. We have a case # on file if necessary. The car has been repossessed.
Professionaly yours,
****** ******
******

11/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a vehicle and 3 weeks later it broke down.
I purchased a 1999 Ford Expedition from Markham Auto on October 11, 2013. On November 1st while I was driving white smoke started coming out of exhaust pipe. My husband then called the business and spoke with ED, he told my husband to take the vehicle in to the mechanic shop and have it looked at and that they would take care of me. Well knowing that this was a buy here pay here lot and that they did not have any warranties I figured that this would be a issue where I would have to fix it and I was fine with that except for the fact that I felt they could at least help me to pay for it and add it to my loan since the vehicle was so newly purchased. I had only made 1 payment.I took the vehicle in to be checked on 11/5 when the mechanic was able to look at it, he asked me to drop it off. It turned out being a leak in he intake and some other small problems cost of repair 500.00. Well my instincts were right and the Ed told the mechanic RED that they would not pay for any of it and that everything was on me. I accepted that and then made arrangements to have a vehicle and continue to make payments on my expedition until November 18th when I could have it fixed. On November 06 the mechanic called me again and told me that while they were testing it the pressure from the test caused the problem to worsen and now the vehicle would not crank and that there were now some other internal engine problems and it would be more to fix. I then called Markham again and explained the situation to see if they could assist me with the repairs and I was given a straight No from ED. At this point I decided that being as how I had not even had the vehicle a month and was having all these problems I was just going to turn it back into them and now they have to fix it either way. After talking more to the mechanic I learned that I was not the first customer that ED had sent to this mechanic and told that they would take care of the problem and then ended up sticking the customer with it. I am now down 800.00 and with out a vehicle. All of this could have been avoided if they practiced a little better customer service and helped out with major repairs so they didn't get stuck paying for them in the long run anyway!

Desired Settlement
I feel that I should receive some of my money back due to the length that I had the vehicle. The whole thing was very bad for business and while i know that no settlement will be reached in this because thats just how this works I hope that you atleast do something about your employee ED so that no other customers have to go through what I have.

Business Response
The vehicles are bought AS-IS NO WARRANTY and sold AS-IS NO WARRANTY. We here at ******* Auto Sales strive to help keep the customer happy yet that is not always possible. We always offer to have the customer pay for half of the repairs up front and then pay the other amount down the road with future payments. The customer did not want to do this and continued to drive the vehicle until the motor seized! We are not responsible for their neglect to the vehicle. We hate this has happened but we are not going to fix the vehicle. The loan with the finance company is still to be paid so they do not repossess.
Thanks,
***** *******
Owner

Final Consumer Response
In response to the remarks by ******* Auto, I did not drive my vehicle until the motor seized, it was in fact running when I took it to the mechanic shop that Ed sent me too. The vehicle did not stop running until after the mechanic shop preformed some tests on it. Get your facts straight before you say that I continued to run it until the motor seized. Also I would not have declined half of the payments being made up front and the others added to my loan except I was not offered that, I was told by Ed that it was my problem and only after I said something about payments being made towards the repair did he say anything and told me I had to pay for 90% of the repairs before I would be allowed to make any arrangements for anything else. The vehicle cant in fact be repossessed because I have already called your finance company and told them that it is sitting at the mechanic shop and that they could have it Due to the fact that the mechanic had no idea what was wrong with it. My point of this was not to get into a contest of who is right and who is wrong the point of this is that you need to do something with ED because not only is he extremely rude he also tells customers and your mechanic the wrong info. Per your mechanic I was not the first customer that Ed had sent to him and told them that y'all would take care of the repairs.

05/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
****** Auto Sales removed unknown GPS from my car. As a result all dashboard indicators stopped working. They refused to fix the problem.
On Friday April 12th, 2013, I went to pay my last car note at ****** Auto Sales in Pensacola, FL. My car was running fine, no problems. After I made the payment a man that I had never seen there before came to my car and removed an unknown GPS from under the dash. When he was finished I started to drive away and noticed that all my gauges, (Speedometer, temperature, RPM's, and fuel) were not working. I immediately turned around and returned to ****** Auto Sales. I noticed all the wires hanging from under the dash with a piece of electrical tape on the wire where the man removed the GPS. I told them what was going on and they told me that it wasn't there problem. I then called the police and got everything on record. (Case # XXXXXX with the Escambia County Sheriff's Dpt.) Then and only then did they tell me to bring it back on Monday, April 15th 2013, to have someone look at it. Monday, April 15th I called to see what time they wanted me to bring it back in and they said they weren't going to fix it. I also asked who was the man that removed the GPS they said his name was Spencer but didn't know his last name and they paid him cash. I ended the conversation but let them know this wasn't over. That us when I decided to file a complaint with the BBB.

Desired Settlement
I want ****** Auto Sales to repair the damage they caused from removing the GPS from my car. I would prefer to take my car to mechanic I trust to fix it. Because at this point I don't trust them any where near my car. But whom ever I choose they will pay for what ever damage was done and return my car to proper working order. It is not fair for them to get away with this especially since I was a very loyal customer.

Business' Initial Response
In response to the complaint by ****** ******,our technician at ****** Auto Sales that does all the installation and removals did in fact remove a GPS from ****** ******'s car. However when the vehicle left here, it was working fine. We have installed and removed over 1000 Units and have never had any problems. The connection does not link to the gauges in question at all. So, ****** Auto Sales is not in fault and will not help fix the vehicle in question.
Professionally yours,
****** ******

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not agree with this decision. However I do want to make it clear that I love my car. It has been good to me and it runs very good. Until the GPS was removed. Why would I make my last payment without bringing up the fact that my dash indicators were not working? I would have told you of any trouble I was having with my car. Since this incident I have had all my fuses checked, all are in proper working order. I do know that my car was working great until the GPS was removed. Also why did you tell me to bring it back in and then change your mind about at least looking at it? You went back on your word and that is not acceptable to me. I kept my word on making my payments and have done my best to be a loyal customer to you. The least you can do is check to see what's wrong. I believe I deserve to have that done. I held up my end of the bargain and so should you. Thank you.

09/26/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/22/1994Business started: 01/01/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles
1210 Capital Cir SE Ste G
Tallahassee, FL32301-3800
(850) 488-4735
http://www.flhsmv.gov/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 2006, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Markham (Owner)Mrs Ashley Markham (Co-Owner)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Used Car Purchases

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Markham Auto Sales

2719 N Pace Blvd

Pensacola, FL 32505-5647

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2719 N Pace Blvd 

    Pensacola, FL 32505-5647(850) 435-2900

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Markham Auto Sales is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 01/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Used Car Purchases
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.