BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/29/2003

First Choice Automotive, Inc.

Phone: (850) 437-9649Fax: (850) 437-9646

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
12/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid in FULL for the vehicle. However title lien was filed at the Tax Collectors Office.
Tags from other vehicle not transfered within 30 days.
10/04/12 bought 2012 Yellow Jeep Wrangler Stock#XXXXXA Contract#5377. Paid full 10/04/12 $23303.44 personal ck#304 & provided tag for xfer to new vehicle. Hwvr was given 30day temp tag. By 10/28 still no reg rcvd on xfer. Went to tax collector and was told dealer handles all matters. Dealer issued me 2nd 30 day temp. Later I cked tax coll info and saw second 30 temp had not been recorded and there was no record on the 2012 jeep having a valid tag. Then I looked at vehicles owned by me and there was title info BUT THERE WAS AN ELECTRONIC-LIEN placed on my vehicle. I PAID IN FULL ON DAY OF PURCHASE. Contacted dealer and was told reg would be mailed soon and thiongs were backed up. At the time I didnt realize there eas a lien on my PAID IN FULL purchase. As tax coll has no record of the second 30 day temp I am driving illegaly without licenses. It appears to me they sold a vehicle that they didnot own and did not have a clear/clean title on. The finance mgr infdormed me that sometimes it takes a while for title to be released when lien ios paid off. apparently they had that problem but passed ** on to me and placed and illegal lien on my fully paid for purchase.

Desired Settlement
I desire immedidate removal of the electronic-lien from this vehicle.

I desire immediate transfer of my tags from my old vehicle to this 2012 Jeep.

I desire refund of $235.00 from the Pre-Delivery Fee for "Failure to Perform". i.e., illegal lien placed on the vehicle, untimely transfer of tags.

Dealers Bill of Sale states pre-delivery consists of various items one being preparing documents. Dealer has failed in timely and proper document preparation

State of Fla apparently considers 30 days sufficient time to complete all documentation on sale of a vehicle hence a 30 day temporary vehicle tag.

Business Response
**** ******* called states he talked to the the consumer and consumer states he has sent 2 followups to us that this was an error.

09/26/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
**** at First Choice was dishonest about leaving the page of the extended warranty out that contained information as to how we can cancel it.
I purchased a 2011 Dodge Charger from him on July 2,2013. It has a 30 day warranty advertised on the car. I also later purchased an extended warranty which had a 30 day clause to cancel and a full refund. I got neither one of these promised by teh dealer and had to get the Dept. of Motor Vehicles involved to get a full refund on my extended warranty even though it was stated in the warranty paperwork. **** refused to give me my refund and also didn't pay for my warped rotors which were on teh car after having them only three weeks. I had to pay $350 at the dealer to get the rotors replaced.

Desired Settlement
I would like to get a refund for two debits made to my checking account on Aug. 22,2013 and Sept. 23,2013 for an extended warranty he was supposed to cancel and he never did. I also want to be reimbursed for my rotors being warped on my car after only having it less than 30 days from the date of purchased. I got them replaced at the dealer which is where the warranty requires me to do to kep my current 36mo./36K factory warranty in effect.

Business Response
Mr.and Mrs.****'s warranty was cancelled on 07/31/2013 the same day they signed the cancellation request. It has been confirmed that the payments taken out of there account where done in error by Paylink the finance company for the warranty. Paylink contacted us yesterday and assured me that the payments would be returned to the ****'s. Mrs. **** told me this morning that her bank was returning the money to her account and they would deal with Paylink directly. The warranty we offer is 90 days or 3000 miles on engine and transmission only. We offered to look at the brakes to determine if they needed to be replace but they declined stating they wanted to go to the dealer and purchase factory brake pads. The vehicle only has about 3000 miles of factory warranty left on it and does not include replacement of wear and tear items anyway like brake pads, tires and wiper blades.We have a due bill that can be provided that is signed by the ****'s that clearly states nothing owed or implied to customers. There will not be any refund for the brakes and the money for the warranty payments per the customer is being returned by there bank or Paylink.

11/09/2012Problems with Product / Service
05/07/2012Problems with Product / Service
03/19/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Car was advertised for 13900 i was charged 14900
My car was advertised for 13900 and also informed by sales person that price but was charged 14900 i have tried several times to get them to fix the problem and evertime i speak with them its excuse after excuse why the price was different i had spent the whole day there and then was told everything was on that paperwork that we had spoke about came home and the price was 1000 more plus i was charged taxes on the wrong price.

Desired Settlement
I would like my money back that i was over charged and new documents with the correct purchase price and taxes fixed

Business Response
On December 12th Miss ****** came to us and wanted to buy a car, she told us she had credit problems and asked if we could help her. After 7 or 8 hours we finally found
a lender that would do her loan. Then we had to find a vehicle that the lender would finance. We finally found a ****** ****** that worked and fit the approval we had. We delivered the vehicle that night for the asking price and the customer left happy. One month later the customer claims the vehicle was posted on line for less money. If the customer comes in with an advertisement in hand we honor it but there has never been anything provided to us from the customer showing that vehicle was advertised for less and if it was advertised the customer needs to bring the advertisement in when they buy the car not one month later. We want our customers to be happy so if Miss ****** can provide us with a copy of the advertisement I will try to work something out with her.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will answer the compliant after i speak with my civil lawyer tomorrow.
Federal laws says it is ! I do not owe them any money at all my bill of sale says what was paid and coastal credit says they paid him the money for the car. At every step of this it has been lie after lie including his sales person telling me if i bought in custmers they would double my finders fee. I am taking all of the paper work related to this to my lawyer today. And filling a offical complaint at the dmv. Since getting the car i have made ever payment early to coastal credit as i said i would. I purchased this car in december received my tags and a refund check from my tags from first choice auto. Now they are coming up with i owe them and florida law says they can just pretty much do whatever they want but federal law says other wise.

Final Business Response
After checking the Florida Law we do not have to honor this after the purchase has been made, however we would be willing to give Miss ****** $450 after
she pays us the $900 she owes us

03/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Desired Settlement
I bought a 2006 Honda Odyssey van from First Choice Auto of Pensacola, Fl. The van had 188,000 miles on it I was okay with that. I had a check for $8200 from Navy Federal Credit Union. I noticed that the air conditioner did not work also the passenger sliding door was having issues. I addressed these issues with the owner **** He said he was willing to repair the air conditioner. He had me take the van to his on sight mechanic ****. **** replaced the compressor and the air was blowing fine. On October 29th I went to pick up my mother in law from the airport. I turned on the air conditioner and noticed it was not working. I contacted First Choice and notified them they gave me the run around and told me to contact ****. **** was having some personal issues and could not look at the van at that time. Also my wife and I had a newborn baby at that time so we couldn't rectify the problem at that time. On January 21st we caught up with ****, **** had us drop vehicle off for diagnostic then **** told us come back on 1/23/14 and he fixed the van. **** never got permission to repair van although he was the mechanic who originally worked on van per ****. When my wife went to pick up van **** would not release the van. I went to First Choice and **** stuck me with the bill and was being rude, evasive and downright disrespectful. I have a contract which states First Choice was to repair the AC which was not done satisfactorily the first time. I had to pay **** $176 and my wife lost a days worth of wages dealing with this issue. I tried to resolve this issue with **** of First Choice he told me he fixed the problem and if the AC went out due to another problem that was not his fault. I beg to differ if you say you're gonna fix something and that does not fix the problem then you are still responsible. In fact **** told me **** would not let him do proper procedure the first time and basically told him to do a quick fix. I would like my money back for repairs and my wife's wages for having to miss work that day dealing with this issue

Business Response
On September 14th the customer took delivery of a 2006 Honda Van with 188000 miles and sold AS IS with no warranty. At the time of delivery the
A/C was not working so as part of the sale we agreed to fix it. We took it to an independent mechanic who diagnosed it and said the compressor
needed to be replace. We paid the mechanic for the work and the customer left with the A/C working. Four months later the customer came in and
said the A/C was not working so we agreed to look at the van. I let the customer know upfront that if the compressor was bad that the mechanic installed we
would take care of it and if it was something unrelated to the compressor it would be the customers responsibility to fix his vehicle. The mechanic informed us
that the compressor was working fine and the vehicle needed some other work totally unrelated to the work previously done by him. When it was time to pay the
bill the customer called the dealership repeatedly calling me a ***** and threatened me with violence. We fixed the A/C as promised as part of the condition of
the sale and 4 months later we are not going to pay for repairs for an unrelated mechanical failure on a 8 year old 188000 mile vehicle.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I still do not accept this response or position by 1st choice.I have in writing that the A/C was to be repaired and it was not repaired properly.It was done on the 16th of September and I noticed the problem on the 29th of October.I made **** aware of the situation and due to schedule conflicts on my behalf and the IN HOUSE mechanics behalf the Honda could not be looked at until date of issue.**** told me to take the van back to **** the mechanic whom origanally worked on Honda.**** moved his shop from 1st choices premises to down the road.My wife took the van there and he diagnosed and finally FIXED the problem as i have had no issues since.If someone fixes something on a car it should not then have the same issue 40 days later as was the case in my vehicle.Its not like they FIXED the A/C and then the starter went bad.Then I could maybe understand.But warm air was blowing upon purchase of this car and 40 days after the (so called) repair the A/C was blowing warm again.So obviously there was an oversight on the mechanics behalf either way 1st choice is responsible because it was a mechanic of THEIR choosing.I want to be reimbursed my $176 dollars i had to pay **** also $64 dollars of lost wages for my wife having to mis work that day because of having to deal with this issue.**** stated that **** would not allow him to follow normal procedures that he normally does when repairing an A/C on a vehicle.Also for the record I have not spoken to **** or anyone from first choice since the date of this incident.I dont know why he is commiting perjury and lying saying I keep calling cursing and issuing threats because that is not true.All one has to do is check my call records and see that is not true.And if he will lie about that he will lie about this issue as well.I want to be reimbursed for repairs I should not of had to pay for per contract.And that 1st choice has no record of also.I have records and the contract stating 1st choice was supposed to repair my vehicle and they did not do that.

Final Business Response
The customer keeps stating that this is our mechanic and it is not. The mechanic is an independent mechanic that we hired to fix his van and he is not an employee of our company. We fixed the customers A/C and something else broke 4 months later and we are not responsible for any more repairs. Also I will state this again the customer has called the dealership over and over making threats and using very bad language to our employees.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.