BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/25/2006

Kia AutoSport

Find a Location

Phone: (850) 457-7772Fax: (850) 457-30546637 Pensacola Blvd, PensacolaFL 32505-1705 Send email to Kia AutoSportView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/25/2006

BBB has determined that Kia AutoSport meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Kia AutoSport's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Kia AutoSport

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
09/30/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

This company has been continuously harassing me via phone and text message even after I told them to put me on their never contact again list.
I have received several phone calls between 9/27/15 and 9/29/15, from this company. After I received the first phone call I told the associate that I didn't know how he got my number, I purchased a Kia before and hated it, and never to contact me again. The associate said they would update my request in their system. This only brought on more calls and even text messages!!! I purchased a brand new 2000 Kia Sephia and I did not have the cell phone number I have now 15 years ago. Even if I did have the same number, I feel that me telling them not to contact me anymore should have been sufficient.

Desired Settlement
For them to leave me alone after they text me a formal apology for harassing me.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ***, GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****
There was a internet inquiry from Mr. ******** on 9.25. Someone must have put in the incorrect information. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and I have just instructed the manager to clear the phone number and email address to make sure that no one else calls. The call center is located in GA, so Mr. ******** might receive one more call if the deletion crossed paths, but hopefully not.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you for your attention regarding this matter, and I have no further complaints regarding this matter as long as the company does what they have stated above.

12/20/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Yesterday I took delivery on a new Kia Optima serial no. 5)O(GM4A72EGXXXXXX.
Today I was reviewing the papen/vork and reading the owner's manual and found
several questions I would appreciate your clarication on.
1. On the Vehicle Buyer's order I nd two charges that I do not understand.
Waste Tire Fee @ $5.00 and Lead Battery Fee @ $1.50. Since this was a
new car and you did not have to dispose of either item, what were these
charges for? If on the other hand I purchased these items unknowingly,
where are they?
2. On page 34 of your 2014 Warranty and Consumer Information Manual (copy
enclosed) I nd that the Pre-Delivery Inspection was not performed, as
evidenced by the form not being lled out. Also, it says "Alternatively, for
your convenience, you have been provided with a vehicle maintenance Log
booklet for your use in recording your Kia vehicle maintenance Nowhere in
my paperwork or in the glove compartment did I nd such a thing, but I
would like to have it.
3. In the 2014 Optima owners manual on page 7/6 (copy enclosed) I nd, "If
any slipping or changes in the operation of your transaxle occurs, check the
transaxle uid level." When I met **** ****** yesterday he mentioned that
2014's no longer had a transaxle dipstick. It seems rather strange that Kia
doesn't update their manuals to reect current production. On pages 7/11
(copy enclosed), 7/13, 7/19, and 7/22 the owner's manual lists "Normal
Maintenance Schedule" and mentions "Inspect brake (if equipped) uid. Kind
of hard to accept that Kia builds some models of its vehicles without brakes,
or else has found a substitute for brake uid. Very crafty, those Koreans.
4. After ***** ******* explained the "Tires For Life" program and I spoke to ****
****** trying to make some sense of how the "Maintenance Service
Package**" (copy enclosed) was tied to tires, it nally dawned on me that
sure enough, there are no free lunches and that this program is aimed at
those whose math skills died just south of the fourth grade. Having spent
almost fty years in the transportation industry I believe I can nagle some
discounted tires through my company and come a little closer to that free
Met three pretty nice people there but found all the paperwork to be a bit much
for a cash deal, and decided I've probably purchased my last new car since I
learned very late in the deal that I can't buy one from you unless I sign a binding
arbitration agreement, and I fullled my lifetime quota on that yesterday. My
question is this: Is this just a Kia Autosport of Pensacola rule, or do all your
competitors have the same requirement? I would appreciate your reply to be in
letter form since my hearing aids are not very phone compatible and I would not
want to misunderstand your answers.
'l"imeline of events:
1. November 1, 2013. Purchased 2014 Kia Optima serial number EGXXXXXX
2. November 2, 2013. Sent letter (copy enclosed) addressed to "General Manager,
Kia Autosport of Pensacola" via Certied Mail, Return Receipt Requested, asking
questions relating to purchase of the car. (Copy enclosed).
3. November 14, 2013. Having had no reply to my letter of November 2, I called
Kia Autosport of Pensacola and asked the phone responder for the name of the
General Manager since it appeared I would need a more personal title to reach
the proper person, and I was given the name ******* ***.
4. November 15, 2013. I took the the car to Kia Autosport for a service
appointment with *** ********* because it was not steering properly, requiring
constant corrections to keep it from wandering out of the chosen path.
5. November 19, 2013. In answer to my earlier message left on her cell phone,
Sunita Prahlad called to reply to my question of the name of the General
Manager so that I could address him/her properly and she gave me the name
***** *****. Therefore, having been given two names, I have addressed this
letter to two people, hoping that one may possibly be correct. So, to whomever
this letter applies, I direct the following message: I am sorry that my letter of
November 2 was not deemed worthy of a reply, but as a customer who just
spent over $22,000 dollars with you, I still feel that my questions are valid and
deserve answers. It has been one full month to the day since you received my
original letter as evidenced by the signed return receipt I have in my possession.
I believe most reasonable business establishments would agree that this
indicates either willful inattention to decent customer relations, or that the
questions asked cause you some discomfort. Or, perhaps both.
6. Also on November 19, 2013. I wrote *** ********* asking for a copy of the
work order and ndings from my service appointment of November 15. He
responded with the requested information on November 26 which I received on
November 28"'.
7. November 25, 2013. After 24 days I nally received my title from your ofce so
that I could proceed with the purchase of my Alabama license tag sticker some
four business days before the temporary permit expired. The wheels of
commerce grind somewhat slowly at Kia Autosport of Pensacola.
I have taken the liberty of copying this letter to your corporate ofce in Columbus,
GA, to Kia Motors America, Inc. and to other parties whom I feel would be interested in
the manner in which you handle customer relations.

Business Response
spoke with him on the phone and he wanted an email.This was my responses
Sorry that my response to your questions never made it to you.

#1 your question is what are the waste tire fee of $5.00 and the lead battery fee of $1.50 are fees which is collected by all new car dealers for the state of florida.$0 of that $6.50 went to any sort of profit to Kia AutoSport of Pensacola.
#2 Every new Kia that comes into our store is PDI'D (pre-delivery inspected) a form you signed in the process was a pre-delivery inspection form.We don't fill the other form you are speaking of out.We will be happy to fill it out for you when you come in for your records if you would like.
#3 We will be glad to foreward your concerns of typo's in the owner manual to kia.Any questions you may have on any of your visits we will be happy to address in our service department by our staff.
#4Tires for Life is a reward program we offer at our dealership if you choose not to participate that is your choice.We appreciate yours and every other customers business we have but we do run a business.

I personally came out to you and your wife when you purchased your car I even cut the price futher than was already negotiated we tried very hard to earn your business and want you to be happy. Sorry for any confusion if you have any futher questions please come in and set down with me as I will do my best to help you.

05/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Unauthorized credit inquiry.
I was in the market for a car and I stopped at the Kia dealership located in Pensacola. I was very clear to the salesperson that I did not want to have a credit inquiry go on my credit report because I hadn't made up my mind on whether to purchase a vehicle. The salesperson said no problem, your credit will not be pulled. I reviewed my credit report and it shows an inquiry from Kia.

I sent a letter to Kia but I have not received a response.

Desired Settlement
I would like all inquiries removed from all of the credit reporting agencies immediately.

Business Response
We have faxed the letter to have the inquiry taken off of Mr. ******'s credit report.

Thank you,
******* ***

07/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Still being contacted via phone, email and text after I have asked over and over to stop contacting me.
Over the past 8 weeks I have been contacted by Kia autosport of Pensacola on average 3-4 times a week. I have told them many times to not contact me anymore. I get emails, texts and phone calls at all hours of they night and day. Iv told them I do not appreciate this and to please stop with the harassment. Kia autosport continues to contact me completely disregarding my request to not be contacted. My time is very valuae to me and I would like to not be harrassed by car salesmen.

Desired Settlement
To not be contacted ever again.

Business' Initial Response
I have made sure that all contact with this customer has stopped. I need to make sure this customer does not contact and threaten us anymore.

03/26/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

The clutch plate shredded in the manual transmission. They say that it is a known failure part. This is part of the drive train of the vehicle.
The clutch plate shredded in the manual transmission. They say that it is a known failure part. This is part of the drive train of the vehicle. We purchased the car new 08/11/10. The 3 year drive train warranty has not run out. They want us to pay for the repair.

Desired Settlement
Take the car back and clear the loan or repair the car. I would prefer that they take the car back as it keeps having to go into the repair shop and clear the loan.

Business' Initial Response
We will not be able to warranty this repair. Warranty covers defective parts, this repair is a worn out clutch.

Besides normal maintenance on 12/10/12 we replaced the battery and on 12/21/12 we found clutch material in the starter. Other then those recent issues the car has not needed a repair since 07/29/11.

04/08/2013Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 03/12/2003Business started: 02/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles
1210 Capital Cir SE Ste G
Tallahassee, FL 32301-3800
(850) 488-4735

Consumer Services/Dept of Agri (TAL)
Mayo Building, Room 110
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0800
(800) 435-7352

BBB records show a license number of VF1000925 for this company, issued by Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles. Their web address is

Type: Motor Vehicle Dealer License

BBB records show a license number of MV36890 for this company, issued by Consumer Services/Dept of Agri (TAL). Their web address is The expiration date of this license is 03/05/2016.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

Type of Entity


Incorporated: January 1999, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jessica Lee (Vice President/GM)Mr. Monroe P. Lee (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Kia Autosport of Milton, Kia AutoSport of Pensacola, KIa AutoSport of Pensacola, Inc.
Industry Tips
New Car Sales
Used Car Purchases

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Kia AutoSport

6637 Pensacola Blvd

Pensacola, FL 32505-1705

To | From


2 Locations

  • 6370 Highway 90 

    Milton, FL 32570-4520(850) 981-1234
    Fax: (850) 981-1414

  • 6637 Pensacola Blvd 

    Pensacola, FL 32505-1705(850) 457-7772
    Fax: (850) 457-3054

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Kia AutoSport is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Web Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 01/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

New Car Sales
Used Car Purchases

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.