BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/25/2006

Kia AutoSport

Phone: (850) 457-7772Fax: (850) 457-3054

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
09/30/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

This company has been continuously harassing me via phone and text message even after I told them to put me on their never contact again list.
I have received several phone calls between 9/27/15 and 9/29/15, from this company. After I received the first phone call I told the associate that I didn't know how he got my number, I purchased a Kia before and hated it, and never to contact me again. The associate said they would update my request in their system. This only brought on more calls and even text messages!!! I purchased a brand new 2000 Kia Sephia and I did not have the cell phone number I have now 15 years ago. Even if I did have the same number, I feel that me telling them not to contact me anymore should have been sufficient.

Desired Settlement
For them to leave me alone after they text me a formal apology for harassing me.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ***, GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****
There was a internet inquiry from Mr. ******** on 9.25. Someone must have put in the incorrect information. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and I have just instructed the manager to clear the phone number and email address to make sure that no one else calls. The call center is located in GA, so Mr. ******** might receive one more call if the deletion crossed paths, but hopefully not.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you for your attention regarding this matter, and I have no further complaints regarding this matter as long as the company does what they have stated above.

12/20/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Yesterday I took delivery on a new Kia Optima serial no. 5)O(GM4A72EGXXXXXX.
Today I was reviewing the papen/vork and reading the owner's manual and found
several questions I would appreciate your clarication on.
1. On the Vehicle Buyer's order I nd two charges that I do not understand.
Waste Tire Fee @ $5.00 and Lead Battery Fee @ $1.50. Since this was a
new car and you did not have to dispose of either item, what were these
charges for? If on the other hand I purchased these items unknowingly,
where are they?
2. On page 34 of your 2014 Warranty and Consumer Information Manual (copy
enclosed) I nd that the Pre-Delivery Inspection was not performed, as
evidenced by the form not being lled out. Also, it says "Alternatively, for
your convenience, you have been provided with a vehicle maintenance Log
booklet for your use in recording your Kia vehicle maintenance Nowhere in
my paperwork or in the glove compartment did I nd such a thing, but I
would like to have it.
3. In the 2014 Optima owners manual on page 7/6 (copy enclosed) I nd, "If
any slipping or changes in the operation of your transaxle occurs, check the
transaxle uid level." When I met **** ****** yesterday he mentioned that
2014's no longer had a transaxle dipstick. It seems rather strange that Kia
doesn't update their manuals to reect current production. On pages 7/11
(copy enclosed), 7/13, 7/19, and 7/22 the owner's manual lists "Normal
Maintenance Schedule" and mentions "Inspect brake (if equipped) uid. Kind
of hard to accept that Kia builds some models of its vehicles without brakes,
or else has found a substitute for brake uid. Very crafty, those Koreans.
4. After ***** ******* explained the "Tires For Life" program and I spoke to ****
****** trying to make some sense of how the "Maintenance Service
Package**" (copy enclosed) was tied to tires, it nally dawned on me that
sure enough, there are no free lunches and that this program is aimed at
those whose math skills died just south of the fourth grade. Having spent
almost fty years in the transportation industry I believe I can nagle some
discounted tires through my company and come a little closer to that free
Met three pretty nice people there but found all the paperwork to be a bit much
for a cash deal, and decided I've probably purchased my last new car since I
learned very late in the deal that I can't buy one from you unless I sign a binding
arbitration agreement, and I fullled my lifetime quota on that yesterday. My
question is this: Is this just a Kia Autosport of Pensacola rule, or do all your
competitors have the same requirement? I would appreciate your reply to be in
letter form since my hearing aids are not very phone compatible and I would not
want to misunderstand your answers.
'l"imeline of events:
1. November 1, 2013. Purchased 2014 Kia Optima serial number EGXXXXXX
2. November 2, 2013. Sent letter (copy enclosed) addressed to "General Manager,
Kia Autosport of Pensacola" via Certied Mail, Return Receipt Requested, asking
questions relating to purchase of the car. (Copy enclosed).
3. November 14, 2013. Having had no reply to my letter of November 2, I called
Kia Autosport of Pensacola and asked the phone responder for the name of the
General Manager since it appeared I would need a more personal title to reach
the proper person, and I was given the name ******* ***.
4. November 15, 2013. I took the the car to Kia Autosport for a service
appointment with *** ********* because it was not steering properly, requiring
constant corrections to keep it from wandering out of the chosen path.
5. November 19, 2013. In answer to my earlier message left on her cell phone,
Sunita Prahlad called to reply to my question of the name of the General
Manager so that I could address him/her properly and she gave me the name
***** *****. Therefore, having been given two names, I have addressed this
letter to two people, hoping that one may possibly be correct. So, to whomever
this letter applies, I direct the following message: I am sorry that my letter of
November 2 was not deemed worthy of a reply, but as a customer who just
spent over $22,000 dollars with you, I still feel that my questions are valid and
deserve answers. It has been one full month to the day since you received my
original letter as evidenced by the signed return receipt I have in my possession.
I believe most reasonable business establishments would agree that this
indicates either willful inattention to decent customer relations, or that the
questions asked cause you some discomfort. Or, perhaps both.
6. Also on November 19, 2013. I wrote *** ********* asking for a copy of the
work order and ndings from my service appointment of November 15. He
responded with the requested information on November 26 which I received on
November 28"'.
7. November 25, 2013. After 24 days I nally received my title from your ofce so
that I could proceed with the purchase of my Alabama license tag sticker some
four business days before the temporary permit expired. The wheels of
commerce grind somewhat slowly at Kia Autosport of Pensacola.
I have taken the liberty of copying this letter to your corporate ofce in Columbus,
GA, to Kia Motors America, Inc. and to other parties whom I feel would be interested in
the manner in which you handle customer relations.

Business Response
spoke with him on the phone and he wanted an email.This was my responses
Sorry that my response to your questions never made it to you.

#1 your question is what are the waste tire fee of $5.00 and the lead battery fee of $1.50 are fees which is collected by all new car dealers for the state of florida.$0 of that $6.50 went to any sort of profit to Kia AutoSport of Pensacola.
#2 Every new Kia that comes into our store is PDI'D (pre-delivery inspected) a form you signed in the process was a pre-delivery inspection form.We don't fill the other form you are speaking of out.We will be happy to fill it out for you when you come in for your records if you would like.
#3 We will be glad to foreward your concerns of typo's in the owner manual to kia.Any questions you may have on any of your visits we will be happy to address in our service department by our staff.
#4Tires for Life is a reward program we offer at our dealership if you choose not to participate that is your choice.We appreciate yours and every other customers business we have but we do run a business.

I personally came out to you and your wife when you purchased your car I even cut the price futher than was already negotiated we tried very hard to earn your business and want you to be happy. Sorry for any confusion if you have any futher questions please come in and set down with me as I will do my best to help you.

07/15/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

May-At the car dealership, in their finance office, they pointed out the globe in the ceiling that was a video/audio recorder. His desktop was like an active computer under glass. Everything we discussed appeared there for us to sign, initial, etc. During the process, various after market items were suggested and their value to us. We accepted many of these at the time, but didn't really have the time to read or study to see what we were actually purchasing.

After returning home, I read the contract and realized we got a $0 for our trade-in and my military service discount. Within 5 days, I went back to the dealership and cancelled all the after market contracts. At that time I made the first month payment and requested a payoff amount.

Dealership paid #3731.00 to Kia Financial for the cancelled aftermarket contracts not including taxes charged (see hi-lighted area on attached contract) for a total of $4269.00.

Referring to copies attached and hi-lited on the different examples:

Sticker price on the car shows 18,645.00
Example 1 - purchase price 22,886.00
Financed Price - 24,288.00

Example 2 - sales price 23,581.00
trade in allow - 5540.66

Example 3 - cash price 24,488.57
trade in - 5540.66

Example 1 - Down Payment 2,150.00
" " 1 - " " N/A
" " 1 - Bal due on delivery 20,569.11
" " 4 - gross selling price 24,229.45

My question is how did we get from sticker price of - 18,645.00
Gross selling price of - 24,229.00
to finance price of - 24,288.00
Sales price of - 23,581.00
Cash price of - 24,288.00
to amount financed - 20,641.00

Sticker price - 18,645.00
minus trade in - -5540.00
minus KMF506 ($2150) down payment - -2,150.00

I called sales desk and they confirmed yes there is a $5,000 trade in. At least this would have been 13,645.00

All figures do not include taxes

Desired Settlement
My question is how did we get from sticker price of - 18,645.00
Gross selling price of - 24,229.00
to finance price of - 24,288.00
Sales price of - 23,581.00
Cash price of - 24,288.00
to amount financed - 20,641.00

Business Response
Mr. ********,

The following is the correct numbers:

Total price with added dealer services was 22,886 so the following is correct:

22886.00 Purchase Price
-5540.66 Trade
-2150.00 Rebates
15195.34 Total

You added: The roadside Kit, Spare tire Kit, Maintenance, Extended warranty, Gap protection, Road Hazard, and Key replacement 4269.00

15195.34 Total
4269.00 Products mentioned above
499.95 Predelivery Service charge
6.50 Battery Fee and Tire Fee
598.32 Taxes and Title Fees
20569.11 Total

You did cancel the warranty, gap, and key for a total of 3731.00 sent to the finance company Kia Motors Finance.

The amount financed was 20641.56 the diff of 72.45 is the document stamps that is required when filing a contract.

I would be more than happy to discuss this in person if you would like to come in and sit down to see if there is something else we can do. I know that we have not spoken as of yet. I will be holding on to the paperwork if you would like to meet.

******* ***

Consumer Response
Sticker price XXXXX.00 trade 5540.66 rebate 2150.00 equals XXXXX.34 after market 4269.00 service charge 499.95 battery 6.50 tax/title 598.11 of which only $3731.00 was credited to the account. Total XXXXX.90 should have been loan pay off minus 3731.00 I sent a check to Kia financial for $16,743.44 where did Kia ever come up with a purchase price of $22886.00 Kia Auto Sports owes me $5540.66 Plus $698.00 for US Warranty which was cancelled.

05/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Unauthorized credit inquiry.
I was in the market for a car and I stopped at the Kia dealership located in Pensacola. I was very clear to the salesperson that I did not want to have a credit inquiry go on my credit report because I hadn't made up my mind on whether to purchase a vehicle. The salesperson said no problem, your credit will not be pulled. I reviewed my credit report and it shows an inquiry from Kia.

I sent a letter to Kia but I have not received a response.

Desired Settlement
I would like all inquiries removed from all of the credit reporting agencies immediately.

Business Response
We have faxed the letter to have the inquiry taken off of Mr. ******'s credit report.

Thank you,
******* ***

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.