BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/15/1990

Hill-Kelly Dodge, Inc.

Phone: (850) 476-9078Fax: (850) 478-2235

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service11
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints12

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (12)BBB Closure Definitions
12/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
l am requesting your assistance. Today l had a service appointment for (a coolant leak) at Hill Kelly
Dodge Chrysler Jeep located at **** ********* ***** ********** ******** XXXXX, Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX. I
arrived at 0800AM and sit until l:30PM, when l was told they couldn't repair my vehicle until Tuesday. l
was told l could call someone to pick me up or they could give me a ride home. I asked about a car rental,
and was told the car rental place was closed due to Holidays.
I arrived home, l called Enterprise car rental at Pensacola Regional Airport (XXX) XXX-X l0. l was told l
could have rented a car from them, and they are open 7 days a week from 6/KM to l IPM. She further stated
l would have to pay for the rental, then request reimbursement through the dealership. But she couldn't
guarantee they will reimburse me
This information only rubbed salt in the wound. The dealership basically left me walking. My husband is
recently out of the hospital and my daughter has to be taken over a mile to the bus stop for school on
Monday. The Dealership has left me without means of transportation until Tuesday or whenever my car is repaired.
The dealership was shown upon my arrival my service contract. They knew l was authorized a rental.
They knew they wouldn't be able to repair my vehicle. They are supposed to be professionals. This was
undignified and wrong.
l was the last customer to leave. that arrived this morning, they all left with their vehicles and I left in a
shuttle to walk until Tuesday or until my vehicle is repaired. I have a warranty service contract that states l
am authorized a rental. l feel cheated and rip oft".
I am requesting vehicle rental reimbursement for S l 59.04 dollars. Rental receipt attached.
This whole ordeal left me dazed, confused and feeling less then the other customers today. Your
assistance is greatly appreciated.

Business Response
We are in receipt of Ms. *****'s BBB complaint. Our goal is complete customer satisfaction for all of our customers, and her feedback is extremely important in assisting us with achieving that goal.

We spoke to the service advisor that assisted Ms. ***** on Saturday. He stated that he tried to contact Enterprise for a rental, but that no one answered their phone and he thought they were closed. We apologize for this miscommunication and for the inconvenience this caused Ms. *****.

Our Service Manager, ***** ******, has tried to contact Ms. ***** to arrange for reimbursement. He left a message for her to contact him as soon as possible. We would like Ms. ***** to contact us at XXX-XXX-XXXX for prompt resolution. Ms. ***** should ask for ***** ******.

Thank you for the opportunity to resolve this matter.



Consumer Response
Today I read your letter with Dealer response. I am very satised that you have brought us to a point
of negotiation.
Before I received your response. I also faxed a copy of the letter I sent to you, directly to Hill Kelly
Dodge on the same day.
My conversation with the service advisor indicated a solution was achievable. However I am
requesting that the dealership put in writing all that they verbally stated they were going to do, in a
letter through you to me. This way verbal communication that sounds good, but never achieved has
been avoided.
Dealership verbal response to me was an apology, they said my service repair bill $140.77 dollars was
absorbed, and they would get back to me on the car rental bill of $159.04. I did not request taxi cab fee
reimbursement for $43.00 dollars.



Final Business Response
Hill Kelly will pay for Mrs. *****'s rental in the amount of $159.04. In addition, we have agreed to absorb the cost of her vehicle service and deductible in the amount of $140.77. We regret the inconvenience that was caused due to the miscommunication of Enterprise's rental hours and the receipt of a mispacked warranty part. Please contact ***** ****** at Hill-Kelly Dodge, Inc. for reimbursement.

11/17/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am a disabled Vietnam vet on April X XXXX I purchased a 2007 Dodge and was told by sales person it was a one owner and had never been in an accident
vehicle # 1D7HA16K17JXXXXXX, Dodge Ram 1500, 2007. A couple months ago I went to trade it in at the same place I bought it and had a deal going. Then I went to my credit union Members First, and they told me I could not use this vehicle to purchase another because it had a head-on collision, hit a barrack and the air bags were deployed. At the purchase event of this vehicle I was told it was an one owner truck without any accidents or damage done to it.
This sounds like they knew it had been damaged and failed to inform me of this during the sales negotiations.If I had known this upfront I would have never purchased this truck. I think Hill-Kelly should make this good by taking the truck back or giving me $3000. The credit union said if the truck had not been wrecked it's trade in value would have been $10,000 versus $7000 based on information from CarFax.Or give me a $3000 trade in on another truck.

Desired Settlement
I want to be given credit for the difference between the true face value and the false face value($10000 - $7000)so I can get the truck I need. Hill-Kelly needs to reimburse me that $3000 or give me a different truck, or some method that **** eat up that $3000 deficiency caused by their deception.

Business Response
We are in receipt of Mr. ****' complaint. Our goal is complete customer satisfaction for all of our customers, and we appreciate the opportunity to address Mr. ****' concerns.

On April 7, 2013, Mr. **** purchased a used 2007 Dodge Ram truck from Hill-Kelly Dodge. Hill Kelly's policy on used cars is to furnish an Auto Check or Car Fax upon request. We also allow for our customers the opportunity to request an inspection. Our investigation into this incident does not reflect that Mr. **** requested either an inspection or Auto Check or Car Fax.

Our general manager, Miles Bentley, has tried to contact Mr. **** and has left messages for him. We are awaiting a response. We **** continue to attempt contact with Mr. **** and **** strive to resolve this matter with him as desire him to be satisfied.

09/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Leaky AC was never properly diagnosed and a temporary solution was always given. I was treated like a cash cow.
First, I was treated like a cash cow. I had a leaky AC and was repeatedly told that a leak couldn't be found (over a course of a year) and I just needed to replace the freon and do an evac and recharge. I did this multiple times only to have my AC blow ho air again.

I spoke with a Service representative by the name of ***** and he told me that my radiator is the problem for the AC blowing hot air (no the leak) I later found out that this is not true just fauly information. I paid to have the radiator fixed and hot air began to blow again from the AC. I asked why is his the case if you assured me that the radiator is the problem. They mentioned they didn't test for AC problems (Isn't that what I asked you all to fix...and you said the radiator is the cause of the issue?) I took it to a local mom and pop store and they mentioned that when they did do an Evac and recharge no dye was left in the system to test for leakage in the cooling system...(Essentially, the service I requested didn't get performed.) Furthermore, the local mom and pop auto shop was able to successfully identify the issue and their evac and recharge cost at least 3x less than Hill Kelley and they offered not to do charge the evac and recharge because of their desire to help.

Interaction with Hill Kelley was in June 2014 for the AC repair (mind you problems persisted over a year and they kept saying something else was the cause but they could never get to the root of the issue).

Mom and pop store in July and in August they successfully identified the problem and told me how to fix it.

Desired Settlement
Requesting a refund for the radiator as I was told the radiator had nothing to do with why MY AC was blowing hot air. I didn't request to have the radiator fixed. I requested to have my AC looked at and fixed. They failed to fix the AC even when it was diagnosed by their "service experts" that the radiator was the actual cause/root of the hot air.

Business Response
We are in receipt of Mr. ****'s BBB complaint (case# XXXXXXXX) . Our goal is complete customer satisfaction for all of our customers and we appreciate the opportunity to address Mr. ****'s concerns.

On September 19, 2012, we diagnosed Mr. ****'s vehicle and he was informed that his vehicle needed a new cooling fan motor to address an a/c vibration concern. At that time, he was notified that the cooling fan motor tested with an internal open circuit and needed replacing. This repair was declined by Mr. ****. On September 16, 2013, we diagnosed the A/C and found a low system charge. Our technician checked the system with a leak detector and a black light and no sources of leaks were found. He topped off the A/C system with Freon.

Mr. **** returned on March 15, 2014 stating the AC was only blowing hot air, Mr. **** was informed the radiator fan is inoperable (this is the same "cooling fan motor" the customer declined on Sept. 19, 2012) and needed to be replaced before pressurizing the A/C system to check for leaks again. Customer was given an estimate for the repairs: $782.80 (which includes tax, parts & labor). Customer declined repairs again. On March 17, 2014, Mr. **** approved replacing the radiator fan. Our service manager gave the customer a $205.74 discount as a good will gesture for customer satisfaction. The total cost of repair was $577.06. Please note that the repair we performed was not on the actual radiator itself. The radiator/cooling fan sits in front of the radiator.

Mr. **** in his letter states that his A/C was successfully repaired by another shop in August of this year. We are unclear as to how a March 17, 2014 repair was not reported to be unsuccessful until July/August of 2014. Mr. **** referenced our repair as a June repair but our paper work signed by Mr. **** indicates March 17, 2014. Since the repair in March, Hill-Kelly has not heard from Mr. **** until we received this complaint. Hill-Kelly did not perform any work that was not necessary and approved by Mr. ****.
Due to the above circumstances, we feel no responsibility to reimburse.

07/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a brand new vehicle from this dealership on June 14, 2014. While fulfilling the contractual obligations to install accessories the dealershi
I purchased a brand new RAM 1500 from this dealership on 14 June 2014. The dealership took possession of the vehicle on 25 June in order to complete contractual obligations by installing add on accessories. While on the dealership's premises their sales agent wrecked the vehicle on 27 June. Now Hill Kelly expects me and my family to eat the depreciation on a brand new vehicle for which I paid full market value, and they are refusing to offer me a new truck exactly like the one they wrecked. After numerous attempts over the weekend to get the matter resolved, my wife and I met with the General Manger, Miles Bentley, at approximately 11:20 on 30 June, and Mr. Bentley would not agree to meet our conditions. In fact, he was rather advisory and bullish in his approach. Moreover, he did not seem to comprehend the fact that we had NOTHING to do with his dealership damaging our brand new vehicle, which we purchased from them and for which we should not have to incur the diminished value caused by the dealership's negligence regarding said vehicle. Mr. Bentley did request that we give him until the end of the day to make a decision, but I'm not holding out any hope that he or the dealership will do the right thing, considering what we've already been through with wasted time, anxiety, currently having no vehicle to drive, etc. There should be no question as to what Hill Kelly's course of action is, but sadly, there's been no resolution. I'm VERY dissatisfied by the entire experience (nightmare).

Desired Settlement
The acceptable remedy for this would be either a new truck exactly like the one that was damaged by the dealership on their premises with all the agreed upon accessories, or the dealership agrees to pay off the lean to the bank in the amount owed AND give me back our trade in vehicle, signing back over the title to the 2005 Grand Caravan.

Final Consumer Response
Thank you for your follow-up concerning this unfortunate matter. I was contacted by Hill Kelly's General Manager, Miles Bentley, yesterday afternoon, and the bottom line is the dealership is agreeing to replace the truck in full. Assuming the dealership follows-through on this agreement the matter can be considered closed. However, I will keep you posted on the outcome, as my faith in Hill Kelly is irreparably damaged. Thanks again for your assistance.

04/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unauthorized credit inquiry
I was in the market for a car and I stopped at the Hill Kelly Dogde dealership located in Pensacola. I made it very clear to the salesperson that I did not want to have a credit inquiry go on my credit report because I hadn't made up my mind on whether to purchase a vehicle. The salesperson said no problem, your credit will not be pulled. I reviewed my credit report and it shows an inquiry from Hill Kelly Dogde.

I sent a letter to Hill Kelly but I have not received a response.

Desired Settlement
I would like all unauthorized inquiries removed from all credit reporting agencies.

Business Response
Dear Mr. ******:

Thank you for this inquiry. We do not have record of receiving your letter, and therefore we appreciate this opportunity to resolve your concerns. Our goal is complete customer satisfaction and your feedback is extremely important in assisting us with achieving that goal.

We have researched our files and have found a signed credit application allowing us to inquire on your credit. It was signed on November 9, 2012 by **** ******. We have this credit application on file should you wish to view it. We have evidence to believe this is an authorized inquiry. Should you still feel it is not, please let us know why and we will contact the credit reporting agency and request removal.

Page 1 of 2
10/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
damage done to my 2014 vehicle while in for 1st service and dealer wont accept responsibility
I went in for my 1st oil change, upon driving in the service bay I was greeted they checked in my 2014 jeep wrangler, I had no dash warning lights on at this point, they took my vehicle back for a oil change, and 45 minutes later, it was brought around to me, I sat inside and noticed a low tire light flashing.
I advised the service person he stated oh I forgot to check the tire pressure, so the vehicle went back to the service center he returned and said its ok your ready I sat inside again the light was still on he said it will reset and go off, so being a woman I said ok he knows better then I, so the gauge said 31 lbs of air in that tire at that actual time, I drove away pulled out of the dealers lot and made a u turn to head home and got to the light and now the gauge in the dash said 17 lbs so at the stop light in the turn lane I made another u turn and headed right back to the dealer and said to them this tire is getting low really quick, the dealer said let me check it again. he came back and said you have a piece of metal in your tire (ok why not tell me this before) I said fix it wasn't that way before he claimed that I must have picked it up before I came in (ok the tire is not repairable) I told him if I picked it up before and drove here approx. 20 minutes the tire would have been low or flat when I came in since it just lost 14 lbs air in the last 10 minutes !.
4i asked for a manager they stated he went home ok a general manager they said he was fired thrusday, so there was no one there that could help me he said not till Tuesday.
so the last 2 days I been getting the run around to get another tire everyone insists its my fault, all I asked is use common sense when i left it had 31 lbs air and a low tires light flashing on, and was told it was ok, so it lost 14 lbs air per my dash gauge in 10 minutes (each tires shows a pressure monitor on my dash) don't you think if I picked up the metal before I came in and when I did come in no dash lights were on (the dealer got my miles off the dash )! what they did for the 45 minutes to change my oil I don't know. most places change your oil in 20 minutes maybe even 30. but again if i came in with the metal piece in the tire already as the dealer claims and it was back there 45 minutes the tire should have been FLAT already, not having 31 lbs air in it when I got it back, and since it lost allot air really fast 14 lbs in 10 minutes after just drove out made a u turn and stopped at the light and then returned having just 17lbs in it when i returned it tells me it happened there that MAKES SENSE

Desired Settlement
a new tire

Business Response

We are in receipt of Mrs. *******'s BBB complaint (Case# XXXXXXXX). Our goal is complete customer satisfaction for all of our customers, and we appreciate the opportunity to address Mrs. *******'s concerns.

On August 29, 2014, the customer arrived at the dealership stating she wanted an oil change and that her right rear tire pressure sensor was reading low air pressure. The customer's vehicle was dispatched to the lube department at which time our technician found that the right rear tire had 26 psi of air pressure. He inflated the tire to the proper air pressure specification. The oil change was performed and the vehicle was parked for customer pick up. Upon picking up her vehicle in the service drive, the customer stated her tire pressure light was still on. She was advised that the vehicle will need to be driven a few miles for the tire pressure sensor to reset and the light to go off.

Shortly after leaving the dealership, the customer returned and stated her right rear tire sensor was showing low pressure again. Her vehicle was returned to the lube rack, at which time the technician checked the right rear tire again, found it low again, and performed a more thorough inspection. This time the thin piece of metal was found in the tire. The customer was advised that the tire could not be repaired due to the size of the object imbedded in the tire, and was given an estimate to replace the tire. She stated she had purchased a road hazard policy to cover tires when she bought the vehicle; however, no policy was found in our system. We mounted her spare tire to the vehicle for her. She insisted the foreign object was picked up in our parking lot or during a test drive by the lube technicians on a "joy ride out back". The repair order, signed by the customer, states both the vehicle's mileage in and mileage out to be 5,566 miles, which supports the fact that we only drove the vehicle to the lube rack and back to the customer pickup area.

On September 1, 2014, the customer contacted *** ******** shop foreman, about the above mentioned issues. She insisted she had a road hazard warranty and that she wanted resolution for her tire. We researched the contract purchased and was advised by the contract company that her contract covered roadside assistance, but did not cover road hazard or tire replacement. Due to the fact that the tire had a low pressure issue when it was originally brought to us, we feel certain that the sliver of metal was in the tire prior to arriving to Hill-Kelly. We do understand the customer's concerns, but feel the cost of the tire in this case is the customer's responsibility.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Here is what happened. I came in for the first oil change on my new 2014 Jeep Wrangler, appointment scheduled for 3:00 pm on 08/29/2014. I received three oil changes when I bought the Jeep. When I arrived, I talked to ******* ******* service representative, advising him that I was there for my first oil change in my brand new Jeep. He took my information and directed me to the waiting area. (AT NO TIME DID I EVER MENTION A LOW TIRE OR THAT MY INDICATORS WERE ON BECAUSE PRIOR TO MY ARRIVING AT THEIR SHOP, NO INDICATORS WERE LIT.)
I sat in the waiting area for approximately 30 min. After 30 mins, I went to the bathroom and then went outside to have a cigarette. My Jeep was sitting on the side of the building. I waited for someone to come to me at the doors, outside of the building. I finally went up to a service rep who was sitting in the back on the computer and asked if my vehicle was ready. A few moments later, ******* and another service rep arrived, stating that they had been looking for me. We then went in to review the service paperwork. From the time of my arrival, the servicing took about 45 min.
When I got into my Jeep and started the engine that was when I noticed that my tire light on and that my tire was showing 31 pounds. I have two indicators for the tires. When I asked ******* about it, he was unable to answer why they were on and asked another service rep to come to the Jeep and assist. The service rep brought my Jeep back to the service area, and as I watched, the one service rep talked to the service rep who worked on my Jeep and waived him off, at which time the service rep brought my Jeep back to me. He told him to tell me that it was okay and the sensor would reset after I drove a few miles. Never, at any time, did he look at my Jeep or my tire; he only waived it off (as I watched from the first area which did upset me). I advised ******* that the lights were NOT on when I arrived and asked why they were on now? Again, I was told that everything was okay and that the light would reset after a few miles
I left the dealership and started to go home, but noticed that the more I drove, the faster the tire indicator showed that I was losing pressure fast. I called the service desk and advised them that I was bringing my Jeep back since I was now down to 26 pounds of air. When I arrived, I was told to drive the Jeep back to the service area where they looked at my tire and told me to drive forward very slowly. That is when he found the metal in my tire.
As we were standing there talking, I asked them what happened and informed them that I did not have this problem when I arrived at their shop, and yes, I repeated it several times. I was told by the service rep that when he changed by oil he forgot to check the tires and had to drive back to the back service area to check them. I asked how a piece of metal got into my tire when everything was fine when I arrived. They told me I must have picked it up before I arrived. I stated, if that was true, then why were my tire indicators not on before they took it back to change the oil and when they brought it to the front for delivery. If I had the metal in my tires when I arrived then they would have noticed it then. The air was leaking so fast after I received my Jeep back, that I could only drive a few miles (approximately 1 to 3 miles) before having to turn back to the dealership.
I asked for a manager, but was advised that NO MANAGERS were there. (Probably left early or off due to the holiday weekend.) I was asked if I had road hazard insurance (which I thought I had, so did my husband, but we did only have road-side service, but now we do have hazard insurance). At no time did they give me an estimate for a replacement tire. They said that they would look into my insurance and I would get a call Monday from the manager, since I was complaining and they would have an answer about the insurance.
I could not believe, and told them, that they let me leave the first time when I repeatedly asked them about the low tire indicator and the tire pressure indicating 31 pounds. (Normal tire pressure is 32 pounds.) After a long discussion I was able to convince them to please change my tire by putting on the spare. I also talked to another service rep that was inside and voiced my objections to how I was treated and all he would say was that I would have to wait until Monday to talk to a manager and that they would then look into the insurance.
Then, when I go back into my Jeep again, after they changed my tire, my Jeep still showed that there was a low tire indicating the tire pressure at 19 pounds. Since I was afraid to leave, again mentioning that the indicators were still lit, they advised that it would take a few miles for the lights to reset. (This did not reset until Saturday)
Again, I asked how they let me leave the first time with this same situation, but they assured me that it was okay. On Monday, 9/1/14, I did receive two calls, one from **** about the tire and another from Manager *** ******* about my complaint. After several conversations with *** about my complaint, he advised me that I had picked up the piece of metal before arriving to their shop and that he was going to talk to the service rep about not indicating that there was an issue with my tire before I left. Again, I asked him how I could have had the metal in my tire before I arrived when the tire was leaking so fast after I received my Jeep back from the service area. He kept repeating that I picked it up prior and that the service area was not the problem. I got so upset. It was as if they were calling me a liar, s if it was a made up story. I told him that I thought I was dealing with a reputable dealership that had good business practices. It was at that point that he asked if I would like an estimate on a replacement tire. I was so upset at that time, since I was not getting any answers as to how I could have had a flat tire prior to arriving when it was leaking so fast and being blamed for the situation, again, as if I had made up a story. I have the service reports from that day and they DO NOT indicate anything wrong with my tires. A few days later I received another (changed) service report in the mail, which was mailed by them on 9/3/14. While reading the response it amazes me how things are written that I NEVER stated.

01/08/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.