BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/30/1998

Hampton Automotive Group, Inc.

Phone: (850) 244-8600Fax: (850) 244-4103View Additional Phone Numbers230 Hollywood Blvd SW, Fort Walton BeachFL 32548-4760 Send email to Hampton Automotive Group, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/30/1998

BBB has determined that Hampton Automotive Group, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hampton Automotive Group, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Hampton Automotive Group, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
05/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Hampton Hyundai would not repair the used car of 8 days. Car will not start.
I bought a used car from Hampton Hyundai on May 3, 2014 and on May 11, 2014 the car would not start. On May 12, 2014 I called Hampton Hyundai for assistance on repair of the car. The manager that answered the phone told me I purchased the car as is and there was nothing they could do for me. I ask are you sure? Referencing, on the same day we also purchased a new car. He replied the new car has a warranty, the used one don't. The car is a 2005 Hyundai Elantra KMHDN46D25UXXXXXX XX,000 miles. They told me it is in excellent condition.

Desired Settlement
Tow and repair the car.

Business Response
General Sales Manager, **** ********** called Mr. and Mrs. ******** on May 13th 2014. Customer stated to the GSM the car is now running. GSM offered to purchase the car back from the customer however they declined. Manager told customer to bring the car to our service dept and we will diag the car free of charge, he will also give the customer a free tank of fuel due to some fuel issues during the purchase. Mr ******** stated he would be fine with the arrangement.

02/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

i bought my car at the end of oct and my car stop working in january and the dealership wont do anything about it
i bought my car in the middle of october i was told the car was in great shape. well the first week of january i was on the way home from taking my kids home from school when i got into my neighborhood when my car died. i was able to get my car started and got it home then my car wouldnt start. my car is a 2007 suzuki reno and purchase date was oct 24,2013 salesman kristopher joyner i paid 5398.93 and i paid for it by my debit card. i know the head of my car is completely damage and the timing belt had to be replaced. i paid 140 for it at oreillies car place .

Desired Settlement
i would like for the dealership to either fix my car or trade out my car another

Business Response
parts and service manager spoke with ******** ****** concerning the 07 Reno purchased after speaking with G & J repair shop (customers repair facility of choice) found the timing belt jumped time allowing the interference engine to cause head/top end engine damage after meeting with ******** ****** customer feels it is fair to reimburse her in the amount of $800.00 to cover the cost of labor for repair customer is now satisfied and will be dropping the BBB case upon receiving the check in the amount of $800.00 from ******* Automotive Group customer concern resolved.

05/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

My name is Mrs. **** *******. I am a Hispanic American Air Force widow
mother of three. I am writing this letter to file a formal complaint against the
Hampton Automotive Group and Hampton Hyundai located in Ft Walton Beach,
On May 5, 2014 I purchased a new Hyundai Sonata from ******* Hyundai. As
a woman I was not confidant knowing whether I had gotten a fair deal but I
purchased the vehicle nonetheless. I called the dealer upon leaving because the
vehicle did not have a full tank of gas nor was it delivered clean in a proper
The manager at the dealership assured me it was an over site and to bring it
~back when it might be convenient and they would provide a full tank. Two weeks
later I was near the dealership and stopped in to get the gas. I asked if I could get
leather material installed in the car and the manager said yes I could. I asked for
the price and they quoted me $895.00 so I agreed to pay for this and made
arrangements to have the vehicle at the dealer ship the following week.
I dropped the vehicle off to have the leather installed. The next day I went back to
get my vehicle and was very disappointed in the workmanship. The sales
manager assured me that a professional company would install the leather and
they did good work. The leather was loose and looked terrible and did not have
the perforated holes in the Seats I had paid for. The sales manager said he was
sorry but the leather should tighten in time.
The sales manager (**** ********** apologized for the workmanship but
informed me that the service manager (******* **********) wanted to make
more profit so he had the detail department attempt to install the leather. They
ran into problems stretching the leather out and couldn't get it installed so at that
point they called the professional company to the dealership to do the installation.
The sales manager told the service manager to order a new leather kit but the
service manager refused due to cost and just put the stretched out leather in the
The Tpms (tire pressure monitor system light) came on several weeks later and I
again brought the vehicle to the dealership. The sales manager came out and put
the car in service for me. At this time I noticed another sonata on the lot with a
wheel and tire package on it. I asked the sales manager if I could swap my brand
new wheels and tires for the set on the lot. The sales manager said he would
check with the owner (Mr. **** *******) and would let me know.
The sales manager followed up a few weeks later and said I could swap them
even. I brought the car in to have the swap done. I later found out from the sales
manager the owner said "HeIl yea, those tires and wheels have been nothing but .
a problem since we got them, swap them even. The factory tires and wheels are
worth $2000 and they're brand new. Those tires got miles on them."
The sales manager told me the dealership would guarantee that they performed
like factory wheels and tires and they would perform an in depth analysis to make
sure they fit properly and would not cause me any concern with warranty. This
car was bought for my 16 year old to drive so safety was the most important
concern I had.
The sales manager called later in the day after the swap was done and said
everything was perfect, that they took several hours to get them aligned and
balanced and they were perfect. I picked up the car and thought all was well. This
was just the beginning.
Three days later I had what I thought was a flat tire and the sales manager again
apologized and said the dealership would make arrangements to get the car and
fix the problem. The car went to the dealership and the sen/ice manger said 'well
these tires have been on and off so many times ' But I'll try and re seed the tires.
I didn't know what that meant but he called and said all looks good come get your
I did and two weeks later the tires, now all 4, were not holding air and were
dangerously Low on tire pressure. Again I went back to the dealer and again they
said they would try and fix them. I asked at the time please get me new tires for
these wheels. I gave you my new tires and I didn't get mind getting tires with
miles on them but not tires that don't hold air. I gave my brand new tires for these
and was given a guarantee that they would be fine. I do not think it unreasonable
that I would expect these tires to hold air. They never said the tires don't hold air
and would any reasonable business sell tires that don't hold air. When I tell the
service manager this he just tell me I got them for free it's not his problem.
I got nothing for free. The dealership exchanged goods for goods. They got rid of
a problem wheels and tires for my brand new factory wheels and brand new
factory tires. I have brought this vehicle back to the dealership 7 times in the last
8 months because the tires do not hold air and my daughter will be driving by
herself soon and I do not want her unsafe. I have spent $175 on an inflatable tire
pump that I have carried on the trunk and have constantly been inconvenienced
to use it just to get home from work so I would be safe with a car with air in tires.

The dealership, after guaranteeing me that these tires and wheels would perform
as the factory tires and wheels perform, has told me to leave them alone it's my
problem. I asked them would they credit me $250 towards the purchase of new
tires so my daughter can be safe driving a car with tires that hold air. The cost of
new tires and installation is 987.56 and I was trying to be more then fair as I have
used these tires for 8 months. They offered to give me back my old tires and
wheels but would not guarantee that they would hold air as it has been 8 months.
My daughter and everyone she knows has seen her car as it is and she really
doesn't want to change her car. It is my intention to notify Eglin Air Base, as my
deceased husband was in the Air Force, and the treatment this dealership has
given to a widow and struggling mother of three. lf my husband was alive and
here this would not be happening to my family and me.
l feel at this point the dealership should reimburse me for the cost of new tires as
it originally guaranteed me l should expect no problems and if I did they would fix
the problem regardless of cost. The prior sales manager who helped me has
informed me if he needs to testify or you need a letter from him stating that the
dealership guaranteed me this he would be glad to provide it. Mr. ******* and
his dealership should be ashamed of hood winking an Air Force widow and not
standing behind his word. It's my understanding now that ******* Hyundai was
black bailed in the past from Eglin Air Base for the same type of goings on.
I will take this to the highest powers that be at the base so they know what kind of
company this is. They have a chance to make this right. Let's see if they do.

Business Response
Ms. Galligher, thank you very much for informing us about the dis-satisfaction of
i the customer associated with the above mentioned case number. l am very
thankful to have the opportunity to answer this complaint.
My name is **** ******** I am the New Car Sales Manager here at Hampton
Hyundai. ******* ********** our Service Director and I have been trying to help
5 our customer with her concerns for several months.

Our customer did in fact purchase a car from us on May 05, 2014. At the time of
purchase the customer in question began pursuing a personal relationship with
the manager referred to In the complaint. They entered into a personal
relationship in spite of his status as a married man. They began a program of
customizing the car she purchased with aftermarket products. The first
I installation was leather seat covers done at our dealership's wholesale cost of
$895.00 for the leather and $171.50 for the labor involved in the installation. This
installation did not happen in our detail department as claimed by our customer but t in our service department by our Platinum Certified Hyundai Master
Technician, (The highest distinction a Hyundai technician can receive). We did the
installation as a matter of company policy as opposed to out sourcing the labor.
My recollection was that our customer was completely satisfied at the time of
5 installation. The next customization was window tinting done at the dealership's
H expense. Again she was satised with the installation.
l Upon my and my former co-worker's arrival at Hampton Hyundai in January of
2014 we discovered a set of custom wheels and tires that had been installed on a
new Hyundai Sonata. The amount of investment that the dealership had made in
those wheels and tires was $2,600.00. These were larger custom wheels and low
profile tires. The sales manager referred to in the complaint offered the custom
wheels and tires to his friend in exchange for what are referred to as take off the
tires and wheels that came from the factory that were part of the original
equipment on the car she purchased. This transaction happened on August 1
2014. Her wheels and tires were no longer new at the time. They were nearly three months old. The swap was done at $0.00 expense for the upgraded wheels
and tires and a bill of $169.60 for the labor involved in mounting the wheels and
tires and making the necessary adjustments for the different size of these wheels
and tires.
About two months ago our customer came to the dealership complaining that her
custom tires were not holding air. We provided her with a loaner car and kept her
car here for eight days. The aforementioned Platinum Certified Master
Technician, ******* **********, and I checked the air pressure in her tires at a
minimum of two times per day and found that there was no change in the air
pressure in the tires. The weather at that time was still changing by about 30
degrees between night time lows and daytime highs. This type of temperature
4 swing is usually the time when tires gain or lose air pressure. Again in eight days
there was zero loss of air pressure in the tires.
When our customer came to pick her car up after the eight days we had it, she
pointed out curb damage on her rims and asked if we could get this damage
repaired I had our wheel repair contractor take a look at the wheels and was told
there was no way for him to repair the scuffs that were on the wheels. That was
the end of this visit with our customer. Again she left and seemed satisfied with
the service she had received.

Approximately three weeks ago our customer called and said she was coming in
again with the same problem of air leaking out of her custom tires. She informed
us that our former manager explained that we had moved those wheels and tires
from one car to another so many times that we must have damaged the bead that
seals the tire to the rim. The fact of the matter is once the tires were mounted on
the rims they were never broken down from the rims. The wheels were simply
removed from one car and mounted on another. There would have been no
reason to break them down from the rims for the process of moving them.
******* and I explained to the consumer that we would, at no cost to her, return
her original equipment tires and wheels, and again at no cost to her, remount
them on her car. She didn't pay anything for the custom wheels and tires and we
would gladly restore her to the condition she was in prior to receiving the gift of
custom tires from our former manager.
In spite of the scuff marks on the custom wheels that didn't exist when they were
installed on her car, that could certainly cause air pressure loss, we are offering
the best solution available to make her happy. Our former manager contacted
. me on the customer's behalf and threatened this very action if my company .
didn't pay for new tires for our customer. I don't see where I could justify paying
to replace something that first of all is not malfunctioning and secondly that the
customer didn't pay for.
l am very disappointed by the portrait that is being painted by the consumer in
this complaint. She is the widow of a United States Air Force officer who is
receiving very substantial benefits for herself and her one minor child. The other
two children are of majority age. Lt is very disingenuous for her to paint this
picture as if we are taking advantage of a poor defenseless widow. She owns
three homes and has a very comfortable lifestyle. Her other vehicle is a BMW X5.
l would be glad to answer any further questions.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is factual incorrect. Obviously the dealership is more interested in deceiving the public then in the facts.
Fact. I gave up brand new tires (213) miles Cost $465
Fact. I gave up brand new Oem wheels. Cost. $1695
Fact . I received used tires. (XXXX) miles.
Fact . I received used wheels (bent peeling)
Fact. I went back to dealer within 10 days leaking air
Fact. I went back to dealer. 12 times over 7 months
Fact. They never held air

They are a disreputable company that has implied mistruths and is not interested in customer concerns. Judge for yourself their response.

09/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Purchased a 2004 Pacifica on 2/08/2014. After three weeks the car run good, then the engine light came. A/C not working.
As stated we purchased the Pacifica, the engine light came on. We called Hampton and brought it in and that problem was fixed, until the following week. Then the A/C went out. We replaced the A/C and then two weeks later it went out again.
Today August 15th, I called the previous owner, and we talked about the Pacifica and he said that the A/C would go out every two weeks. He said that when he traded it in to Hampton Imports that he told them that the A/C was going out every two weeks. Not once did Hampton Imports every mention this to us. and we feel that because we bought it as as is.. no warranty and the car had only 75,000 at the time, that Hampton Import to advantage of the as is warranty, go it working for two weeks knowing that it would break and that the no warranty would take care of there responsibility. I have bought two cars from Hampton Import before and have never had problems under the old management that was there, I feel we were miss lead by Hampton not letting us be aware of the problem, and if I had known ,, I would not have bought the car.

Desired Settlement
I want Hampton Import to take the car back and replace it with something of the same size. We paid a pretty good down payment on the Pacifica and still owe 4,000.00

Business Response
Customer brought the vehicle to us on XX-XX-XX for diagnosis of the a/c system technician found an o ring leaking present at the a/c receiver drier we replaced the o ring and checked the operation of the a/c system at no charge to the customer a/c operation is now correct and operational customer is happy with resolution and will contact service manager if any issues come about.

05/03/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

I was told I would receive payment for my 2010 Nissan Titan from **** ******* a week after title was received. No calls were answered.
I sold my 2010 Nissan Titan to ****** Nissan. I was told by salesman **** ******* that I would receive payment 1 week after my title was received. They received the title on 3/20/13. I have called ******* and the finance department of ****** Nissan several times and have not been given an answer. I now do not have my vehicle or the money that is due. My vehicle has been sold and no payment has been received

Desired Settlement
Payment of money due immediately.

Business' Initial Response

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 08/01/1998Business started: 08/01/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Consumer Services/Dept of Agri (TAL)
Mayo Building, Room 110
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0800
(800) 435-7352

BBB records show a license number of MV36029 for this company, issued by Consumer Services/Dept of Agri (TAL). Their web address is The expiration date of this license is 09/29/2017.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

Type of Entity


Incorporated: May 1998, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Rachel Miller (Office Manager)Customer Contact: Mr. Mike Perry (Complaints)Mr. Mark Hampton (Owner)Mr. Cameron Harrington (Service Manager)Mr. Mel Rogers (Accounts Payable)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Hampton Hyundai, Hampton Imports, Hampton Mitsubishi, Hampton Nissan
Industry Tips
New Car Sales
Used Car Purchases

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hampton Automotive Group, Inc.

230 Hollywood Blvd SW

Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-4760

To | From


1 Locations

  • 230 Hollywood Blvd SW 

    Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-4760(850) 244-8600
    Fax: (850) 244-4103

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hampton Automotive Group, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (337) 984-5010

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 01/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

New Car Sales
Used Car Purchases

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.