BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northwest Florida

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/1990

Cook-Whitehead Ford, Inc.

Phone: (850) 235-7000Fax: (850) 747-7487View Additional Phone Numbers730 W 15th St, Panama CityFL 32401-2243 Send email to Cook-Whitehead Ford, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/1990

BBB has determined that Cook-Whitehead Ford, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Cook-Whitehead Ford, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cook-Whitehead Ford, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
03/25/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Services resulted in additional damage (exp. Damaged product during shipping)

Complaint: SOMEONE FROM DEALERSHIP UNPLUGGED AIR BAG, UNPLUGGED SENSOR WARNING LIGHT FOR SUSPENSION SHOWING AIR PUMP ISSUES AND TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT IS ON NOW
PURCHASED 1/23/13 SALES REP - WILLIAM HARLOW. TRUCK WAS SHIPPED TO DEALERSHIP. DEALERSHIP STATED TRUCK HAD BEEN INSPECTED/CERTIFIED FOR PROBLEMS AND THAT WAS A LIE. IT WAS NEVER INSPECTED AT ******-WHITEHEAD FORD UNTIL 1/24/13 DUE TO ME TAKING IT IN DUE TO HEATER BLOWING COLD AIR, BOTH FOG LIGHTS WERE BROKEN, AND THE AIR BAG LIGHT FLASHING. THE TRUCK WAS TAKEN TO THE NISSAN DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIR. THE TRUCK WAS AT NISSAN FOR A WEEK, RECEIVED TRUCK BACK ON 2/01/13. NOW, THERE IS MORE ISSUES GOING ON---TIRE PRESSURE SENSOR IS ON AND SOMEONE FROM DEALERSHIP (FORD DEALERSHIP) UNPLUGGED THE SENSOR TO LET YOU KNOW OF PROBLEMS WITH SUSPENSION, ETC. I TOOK TRUCK TO MY PERSONAL MECHANIC ON 2/26/13, HE STATED THAT THE REAR AIR COMPRESSOR WAS GONE AND THE SENSOR FOR THE TIRE PRESSURE IS NOT READING PRESSURE OF TIRES. TODAY 2/27/13, I TOOK TRUCK TO NISSAN DEALERSHIP TO CONFIRM THAT THE AIR COMPRESSOR WAS GONE AND IT WAS. ******-WHITEHEAD FORD FROM THE START LIED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS CERTIFIED INSPECTED. THE VEHICLE WAS SHIPPED FROM MIAMI TO PANAMA CITY, AND NO REPAIRS WERE DONE. THEY SOLD ME THIS VEHICLE THIS WAY AND I WOULD THINK THEY WOULD BE HONEST TO ME AS I HAVE BEEN TO THEM. I WOULD LIKE FOR ******-WHITEHEAD FORD TO OWN UP TO ERRORS AND CORRECT THE ISSUE. I HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO FIND JOY IN THE PURCHASE OF THIS VEHICLE DUE TO REPAIR ISSUES. I HAVE NOT HAD THE TRUCK BUT ONE MONTH AND IT IS BACK TO THE NISSAN DEALERSHIP AGAIN. NOW THE AIR COMPRESSOR HAS TO BE FIXED ALONG WITH THE TIRE PRESSURE SENSOR. NOW I WILL BE RESPONSIBLE FOR REPAIRS AND THAT IS NOT RIGHT, I HAVE NOT EVEN MADE MY FIRST PAYMENT ON VEHICLE. I ONLY HAVE HAD VEHICLE FOR 3 WEEKS SINCE JUST GETTING OUT OF NISSAN SHOP ON 2/1/13. PLEASE FIX THE ISSUES THAT I AM SURE YOU WERE AWARE OF. BUT, I WILL NEVER SHOP AT ******-WHITEHEAD FORD OR I WILL NOT RECOMMEND THEM TO ANYONE THAT I KNOW, BAD BUSINESS, NOT GOOD....

Business' Initial Response
The vehicle was brought in for some issues and we carried it to Nissan to have it repaired. The Air ride sensor cannot be disconnected and this issue has been corrected. A replacement vehicle was provided for her use during repairs.

We are willing to address any issues with the vehicle. I do understand that Ms. ****** has been inconvenienced and am willing to address any concerns.

Consumer's Final Response
***additional information**** X-XX-XX
On March 26, 2013, returned truck to the Nissan dealership for the level sensor to be replaced due to other concerns after air compressor was replaced two weeks ago. The cost for this repair was $217.55 (part was $115.55 and labor was $102.00. I would like to be reimbursed for this due to this still falling into the complaint issue.


X-XX-XX March 22, 2013, returned vehicle to the Nissan Dealership again due to the truck rear suspension is still not operating correctly. Mechanic at Nissan, now is ordering leveling sensor. Repaired the air compressor which repairs were done on March 7th. I am reporting everything that is in order with the current complaint.

(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Like I stated in the original complaint, I have not fully enjoyed driving vehicle due to issues going on after purchasing vehicle. I took the truck back to the Nissan Service Department for the compressor motor to be fixed on February 8th 2013. I would like to be reimbursed for repairs done at the Nissan service department of $620.45. I can send a copy of this invoice for proof if you need this. Also on January 24, 2013, the ****** Whitehead Ford service department checked vehicle. On this day, my service adviser Chad Clark had the service department to install cabin air filter and upon them repairing this glove compartment was cracked and the AUX button to work the AUX is missing. I would have let Nissan service repair this issue, but I would be responsible for this repair also, and I know it was not like that when I purchased vehicle. I would like for ******-Whitehead Ford to cover fixing the AUX Button and to reimburse me for repairs on the air compressor motor that was replaced at the Nissan service center. I would like ******-Whitehead Ford to also provide me with an extended warranty if they have this for the vehicle. I would like to put this behind me, but I would like for this matter to be corrected properly.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturers, Auto Body Shop Equipment & Sup, Auto Services, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Consultants - Automobile Purchase

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/01/1990Business started: 01/30/1930Business started locally: 01/30/1965
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Consumer Services/Dept of Agri (TAL)
Mayo Building, Room 110
Tallahassee, FL32399-0800
(800) 435-7352
http://www.800helpfla.com

BBB records show a license number of MV15059 for this company, issued by Consumer Services/Dept of Agri (TAL). Their web address is http://www.800helpfla.com. The expiration date of this license is 03/18/2015.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

BBB records show a license number of MV50515 for this company, issued by Consumer Services/Dept of Agri (TAL). Their web address is http://www.800helpfla.com. The expiration date of this license is 11/18/2015.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 1965, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joey Hobson (General Manager/Executive)Mr. Cecil Dykes
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturers, Auto Body Shop Equipment & Sup, Auto Services, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Consultants - Automobile Purchase

Alternate Business Names
AutoNation Ford Panama City
Industry Tips
New Car Sales
Used Car Purchases
Contracts
Buying a New Car
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Know the Facts about Auto Service Contracts
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
The Hail Season is Here
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Cook-Whitehead Ford, Inc.

730 W 15th St

Panama City, FL 32401-2243

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 730 W 15th St 

    Panama City, FL 32401-2243(850) 784-0400
    (850) 747-7480
    (866) 299-3849
    (850) 235-7000

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Cook-Whitehead Ford, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (850) 784-0400
  • (850) 747-7480
  • (866) 299-3849
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 01/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.