BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1989

Bill Cramer Chevrolet Cadillac Buick GMC, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (850) 785-5221Fax: (850) 747-7650View Additional Phone Numbers2251 W 23rd St, Panama CityFL 32405-2344

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1989

BBB has determined that Bill Cramer Chevrolet Cadillac Buick GMC, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bill Cramer Chevrolet Cadillac Buick GMC, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Bill Cramer Chevrolet Cadillac Buick GMC, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
03/29/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dissatisfaction in the repair and the time it took to do it and the expense that it has cost me to do business with this facility. Bad Business!
On or about the middle of December I took my car to the collision department to get it repaired. It had been rear ended at a high rate of speed and I didn't want just anybody working on it. I had two collision claims with Direct Insurance. There was body damage to the drivers side from the first accident where i backed into a trucks tail gait. the damage from the first incident was consistant with a tail gate running down the side of the car. All of the body parts on the drivers side had srtaight line scrapes caused by the tail gate. The second accident was more erratic due to the impact to the drivers rear bumber and the debris of the other vehicle hitting the car as it was scrapim
ng along the same side. to picture the closeness of the other car his rear bumper caught under the drivers wheel carriage.It flattened and ruined both tires on the drivers side. As a result there where erract dents not consistent with the damage caused by the tail gate. the fact being is that I thought with an impact that would break the bumper on both sides could actually cause unforeseen damage that a novice like myself could not identify. I was told that I needed to take my car over to the mechanic side so that they could evaluate any further damage. this is when I got my first taste of how money oriented the business has become over ones safety and well being, I was told that it would cost a hundred plus dollars for each mechanical area that i wanted them to check and then they could not verify any damage to the vehicle to eb as a result of that accident. Basically even though I was getting the body work done there they wouldn't check out the mechanic portion of the car unless i paid for each component to be looked at.my concern was the drive train, the transmission, wheel bearings and ball joints but i was told that each evaluation would cost more money and even if they found something wrong they could not identify it as being a result of the accident nor include it in my claim. In my opinion that is poor customer service and an expert could identify impact damage and to scare a customer off with the thought of an expensive bill without recourse to his insurance company doesnt seem like a fair business practice. Meanwhile i;m still waiting to hear from the collision department on a scheduled date for the repair.Mr. Lacy told me that it wasn't going to be an in an out appointment because he was so busy. He promised me that if he could schedule me a month out that when I brought it in he would take care of me and get me out the same week. my appointment was last Tuesday a week ago. It was suppose to be done on Friday, Friday i was put off to Monday and Monday I was put off till Tuesday then finally Wednesday Mr. Lacy calls and tells me that my car is finished and ready to pick up. then to make thing worst he told me that I was going to have to pay two deductibles and that if i had any problem with that i would have to take that up with the insurance department. I reminded him of the conversation i had with him stating i was only going to pay one five hundred dollar deductible and he said he didn.t recall that conversation but he was standing right there. Now I would expect that from an insurance company but not a reputable establishment.Never the less, I borrowed the extra money that i was not counting on paying thinking that i would argue that point with the insurance company even though it was against my better judgement i was tired of walking and doing without a car to bring this complaint to an end I take the day off from work to go pick my car up because Mr.Lacy said it was finished only to be disappointed again and then lied to. He told me that the existing dents that still existed wasn't authorized by the Insurance adjuster. I imediately called the adjuster and was told that what Mr. Lacy was saying was not true. I had to leave I was so mad to think he could take advantage of me like that. It's a Federal Law to hurt disabled people.

Desired Settlement
I want the job to be finished and a mechanicle inspection to be done at no charge and to be able to pick my car up in factory condition paying the five hundred dollar deductible that i stated i would pay when its finished. Mr. Lacy said he was going to address my complaint yesterday but its at the end of Thursdays business day band I still haven't heard from him. Very unprofessional

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@billcramergm.com
I am responding to the complaint made by Mr. ***** ******* to the Bureau concerning body repairs conducted on his vehicle. We have had an opportunity to talk with Mr. ******* about his issues and we both agreed that most of his concerns are between him and his insurance company. We do take responsibility for the lengthy time it took to repair his vehicle even though the reasons for the delays were due to circumstances that we had no control over.

As a goodwill gesture and to compensate Mr. ******* for some of his unplanned out-of-pocket expenses incurred while we had his vehicle in our shop we also reimbursed him $500.00 in the form of a check. Mr. ******* left our dealership yesterday with his repaired vehicle and stated he was satisfied with the resolution.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Their responce to the time it put me out of pocet with my automobile was completely their fault. The untimely mannor in which the repair was made cost me a lot more than five hundred dollars in agrivation and unwarrented espence. The results of this report was a good resolve and got me the responce I needed but justifing their mistakes is and can not be met are bought.I hopoe they will learn by their mistakes and support their customers in a truethful mannor instead of making excuses and trying to buy results.

Final Business Response
We are totally confused by Mr. ******'s rebuttal. When we met with Mr. ****** he never once mentioned that we were trying to buy results when we gave him the $500.00 check. He agreed that there were unforeseen circumstances that led to the delays and seemed genuinely appreciative that we were working with him on completing the repairs as fast as possible. If he wishes to return the check and work toward resolving his concerns in another way we are happy to listen to his proposal.

01/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After leaving my vehicle with specific service requests, this company was negligent in communicating and seeking corrective measures for repair.
While travelling for the holidays, I had some vehicular maintenance arise which would impede on my ability to safely complete my holiday travels so I sought proper maintenance guidance from Chevrolet, the company who manufactures my very vehicle. After researching the nearest service department to my real time location, I arrived as soon as the department opened the following day, as I knew the repairs would require a full days work.

Upon my arrival, I expressed my concerns with the vehicle, explained that I would not be waiting for the maintenance inspection and repair as I understood that it would take most of the day, and I even had to remind the gentleman taking custody of my keys/vehicle that he take my phone number down so that they could contact me once they had identified all outlying issues with the vehicle. The individual then told me that he would have an answer in "45 minutes, max."

Nearly five hours later, I was concerned that I had not been contacted for any approval on whatever work my vehicle would require so I called the dealership service department to check the status. I was told on the phone that my vehicle was complete and ready to be picked up. When I inquired about the work that I expected to receive a phone call on which I knew would require my approval, I was told that all that the department had completed was an oil change and tire rotation. At that point, I went to the dealership to investigate further in person.

Upon my arrival at the dealership, my vehicle was staged as if it had been sitting completed all day, with no attempt to contact me about the specific work that I brought it in and expressed concern for. After walking in to the service department, I was surprised that I did not see an overwhelmingly busy workload. Rather, there were 7 employees, 3 of whom were obviously service technicians sitting behind the counter top, not engaged in service work or customer relations but lounging. When I identified myself and asked about the work I requested to be done on my car, I was given the exact diagnoses of what was wrong and what I expected to have to repair, but they had never made any attempt, nor did they express any intent on contacting me to seek approval to do the very work for which I sought their expertise. I then asked why they had no interest in contacting me or servicing my vehicle for the issues in questions and received no response from any of the seven individuals still lounging behind the counter. Instead, I had one of the technicians tell me again what the identified issues were, when I reminded her that "I was aware, but are you not planning to fix it as I requested"?

At this point, I was concerned that the negligence involved in accepting the initial vehicle complaint, and the continued inability to communicate or rise from a chair to professionally engage me while we discussed the issues was more than enough reason to take my business elsewhere, where my time, money, and business are valued.

Desired Settlement
Refund, as I explained in the initial complaint, service is obviously not your concern and the professionalism, or lack thereof from your employees does not warrant any return business from this consumer or any consumer for which I know or could recommend your way.

Leaving a vehicle for extensive maintenance and making specific requests from your staff in regards to the vehicle itself, identifies to me that your employees are incapable of taking down a customer's concerns and taking them into consideration while they do "their job", and nothing more. If anything, the routine maintenance that was performed, simply as an added request from me since it was already being looked at is a favor if that because even after leaving your establishment and taking it to another specialist, I am delayed in my travel plans because your employees were to ignorant and lazy to pick up a phone and let me ask them to correct the problems.

I am responding to the complaint made by Mr. **** ******* to the Bureau concerning services conducted on his 2013 Chevrolet Equinox in December 2015. Mr. ******* left his vehicle at our Express Service Center for routine maintenance and also asked us to identify an issue he was having with his brakes. He also stated he did not want to wait for the vehicle to be serviced and left his phone number with instructions to call him once the brake issue was identified. Mr. ****** stated he was not contacted about the status of his vehicle and ended up calling 5 hours later to check on it. We cannot dispute any of these facts and we certainly appreciate the situation being brought to our attention.

However, it should be noted that many attempts were made to contact Mr. ******* using the phone number he left but each time we called there was a busy signal. With Mr. ******* being from out of town, not a regular customer and not having scheduled the work ahead of time we should have taken down his email address, alternate phone number and/or additional contact information. We certainly apologize for our inefficiencies and in the interest of customer satisfaction and as a goodwill gesture we would like to refund the $42.88 for the tire rotation and oil change as Mr. ******* requested.

As to the employees that did not show concern or treat Mr. ****** in a professional manner they will be dealt with promptly. Should they treat another customer in the same manner again, they will no longer be employed with us.

If the resolution is agreeable we will send the refund check out promptly.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/01/1989Business started: 06/01/1965
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Consumer Services/Dept of Agri (TAL)
Mayo Building, Room 110
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0800
(800) 435-7352
http://www.800helpfla.com

BBB records show a license number of MV283 for this company, issued by Consumer Services/Dept of Agri (TAL). Their web address is http://www.800helpfla.com. The expiration date of this license is 09/03/2016.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William C. Cramer (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Vince Scuglia (Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
New Car Sales
Used Car Purchases
Contracts

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bill Cramer Chevrolet Cadillac Buick GMC, Inc.

2251 W 23rd St

Panama City, FL 32405-2344

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 2251 W 23rd St 

    Panama City, FL 32405-2344(800) 342-7131
    (850) 785-5221
    Fax: (850) 747-7650

  • PO Box 490 

    Panama City, FL 32402-0490

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bill Cramer Chevrolet Cadillac Buick GMC, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 342-7131
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 01/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

New Car Sales
Used Car Purchases
Contracts
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.