BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/14/1991

West Florida Paint & Body Shop

Phone: (850) 434-1029Fax: (850) 434-9068View Additional Phone Numbers2018 N W St, PensacolaFL 32505-5437 Send email to West Florida Paint & Body Shop

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/14/1991

BBB has determined that West Florida Paint & Body Shop meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised West Florida Paint & Body Shop's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on West Florida Paint & Body Shop

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
West Fl. Body told everyone when my car would be finished except me. He told them it would be ready on 9/13/13 he only told me he would call. I had not heard from him so I went to check on Tuesday 9/17/13. He told me he had called on 9/13/13. He did not speak to me, I was a t the doctors. He said he called only that one time. When I came in that Tuesday he told me to go rush and turn the car in. I rushed home and emptied the car while I was there the renter people called. I guess he called them to let them know he told me to get car in. I told them I was coming I was just cleaning up the car. I turned the car in they said I owed $80 at that time. The company tried to get someone in insurance office to ok and failed. I went back to West Fl ask him to make correction necessary on this closing out the account without my being there and him handing over my car to me. He did nothing. He acted as if it was my fault. How could it be I know nothing about the completion? What he had done everyone knew about Friday 13th completion but me.
Yesterday September 19th the renter company called and game me 24 hours to get this straight. Some this mess I did not do.
I went left a note at your policy holder door. Went by their house she said you said call you.
The company has that bill at $263.81 now. I don't have any money. I live off of SS check and compounded with raising my great grand child at age 83.

Business Response
We have reviewed our notes on ***** ******' vehicle repair and the facts are as follows:
The vehicle was dropped off on Sept. 9th, 2013 for repairs. Miss ****** was informed at the time
of drop-off that her vehicle would be ready by Friday, the 13th of September. The vehicle was ready
on Friday the 13th and our representative called Miss ****** at 2pm to let her know her vehicle was ready. Upon no response two hours later, we called her again
at 4pm, with no answer or response. We use the same process of notifying customers every day and
every week. Miss ****** had every reason to expect a call on the 13th as she had been told that's
when it would be ready. Miss ****** never contacted the shop again until Sept 17th, four days
after the vehicle was ready. The additional four days of rental was $96.00, charged to Miss ******.
The additional 167.92 she is claiming is not her responsibility was an additional insurance charge Miss
****** voluntarily purchased. Hertz has confirmed that she requested the insurance. There is no
validity to Miss ******' claims. Her vehicle was not picked up in a timely fashion. West Florida Paint
and Body bears no responsibility for her rental charges.


Final Consumer Response
Sorry, He did not straighten the wrong he did. However, the lesson I learned was don't trust anyone to do your business/paperwork for you.

Final Business Response
REITERATING OUR POSITION IN OUR PREVIOUS RESPONSE, WE CALLED MISS ****** AS SOON AS HER VEHICLE WAS READY AND CALLED HER AGAIN THE SAME DAY WHEN WE DID NOT RECEIVE A CALL BACK.WE CALLED HER ON THE ONLY NUMBER WE WERE PROVIDED.MISS ****** HAD BEEN TOLD HER VEHICLE WOULD LIKELY BE READY THAT DAY. WE DO NOT CALL THE INSURANCE COMPANIES OR RENTAL COMPANIES REGARDING STATUS OF REPAIRS.WE LET OUR CUSTOMERS DEAL WITH THE RENTAL COMPANIES DIRECTLY. WE HAVE NO RESPONSIBILITY IN THIS MATTER.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/01/1986Business started: 03/01/1967
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Consumer Services/Dept of Agri (TAL)
Mayo Building, Room 110
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0800
(800) 435-7352
http://www.800helpfla.com

BBB records show a license number of MV14428 for this company, issued by Consumer Services/Dept of Agri (TAL). Their web address is http://www.800helpfla.com. The expiration date of this license is 03/11/2018.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1979, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank Whitfield (Owner) Accounts Payable
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Industry Tips
Auto Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for West Florida Paint & Body Shop

2018 N W St

Pensacola, FL 32505-5437

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2018 N W St 

    Pensacola, FL 32505-5437(850) 434-1029
    (850) 434-1020
    (850) 433-5477
    Fax: (850) 434-9068

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*West Florida Paint & Body Shop is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (850) 434-1020
  • (850) 433-5477
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 01/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Body Repair & Painting

Auto Repair
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.