BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/06/1989

Fact-O-Bake of Pensacola, Inc.

Phone: (850) 433-3111Fax: (850) 438-56955470 Pensacola Blvd, PensacolaFL 32505-2520 Send email to Fact-O-Bake of Pensacola, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/06/1989

BBB has determined that Fact-O-Bake of Pensacola, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Fact-O-Bake of Pensacola, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Fact-O-Bake of Pensacola, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
05/14/2012Billing / Collection Issues
05/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The quality work performed and willingness to correct the problem concerning the quality of the work done on my vehicle was not satisfactory.
First time I took my vehicle to the company I got an estimate of the cost of repair and scheduled a date to return the vehicle for body repair and to be painted. I dropped my vehicle off 3/18/2013 and picked up on or about 3/22/2013 (approximately a week later.) The total cost was $2,300 and was paid in cash. Upon picking up my vehicle after further inspection there was a lot of mistakes. I returned for have the mistakes corrected even after the mistake were allegedly correct there were still issue with the quality of "corrected" work. Since this is the only vehicle I have I just got disgusted with the quality of their work. Then on the first of March 2014 I returned my vehicle due to the severity of the problems and was not informed of the timeframe or his back log and left my vehicle. I then called three days later and was then informed that there was 20 vehicles ahead of my vehicle before any work would be completed on my truck. With me only having one vehicle that created a problem and I returned to pick up my truck with disgust that I was not informed of time need to complete the mistakes that this company initially made. The way the work is done and the way I was treated I don't wish to use their services to further create more problems. The company does not pride themselves in quality work rather focuses on quantity.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund on the services I received because I don't have faith in the quality of the work that was initially performed in the first place. If an inspector is need to come to my home to inspect the poor quality perform then I willingly and respectfully request that one comes to my home to witness the workmanship.

Business Response
Thank you for allowing me to dispute Mr. ***** complaint. First let me correct Mr ***** in that his invoice total was $1875.00 plus 140.63 sales tax for a total of $2015.63 not $2300.00. Second, the truck was payed for on 4-1-13 by check not cash. I can provide copies of the estimate, invoice and method of payment if necessary. Mr ***** did return in March of 2014 to show me the roof of his truck and how some old bondo was cracking I explained the only bondo work we did on his truck was on the right quarter panel and was probably done from a previous hail damage event. I offered to repair the top at our cost since he was a previous customer trying to help him out. I, also, explained it was the middle of tax refunds and we were very busy and already backed up. I told him to contact me next week to see if we were caught up. The next week he showed up and dropped off his truck without checking to see if we were caught up with our work load, but after been told we were still backlogged he decided to leave his truck. Three days later he called to see if it was ready and when we told him no he became upset and came and picked up his truck. All this time, you need to remember this is not warranty work, but what I thought was a favor to repair $500-$600 bondo damage to the top of his truck for $150 our cost. If we need to run a CarFax on his truck, the vin# is2GCEK19K5RXXXXXXX. In closing, what Mr ***** wanted done is not covered under warranty and no refund is due

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In response to Fact-O-Bake's reply after reviewing my bank records I discovered that the amount paid was in fact $2,015.63; however it was not paid for by a personal check, it was paid for by a cashiers check which holds the same value as cash. Secondly, I was not informed of any backlog when I called to state that I would be bringing the truck back for repair. If the business had a backlog it would have been common professional courtesy to recommend scheduling a set appointment. As a matter of fact when I actually dropped my vehicle off my daughter was present and there was no mention of a backlog or waiting period; being that this is my only vehicle I would have taken that into consideration and scheduled an future appointment instead of leaving the truck. The poor workmanship extends beyond the paintjob of the truck. I am willing to have someone come out or I can bring my vehicle to be inspected as the poor quality of work done by fact-o-bake is clearly visible. I would be willing to accept cost that he refers to less the $150.00 that I was going to pay as a settlement. I do not wish to have fact-o-bake do the work as it lacks quality.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/17/1988Business started: 07/01/1955
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Consumer Services/Dept of Agri (TAL)
Mayo Building, Room 110
Tallahassee, FL32399-0800
(800) 435-7352
http://www.800helpfla.com

BBB records show a license number of MV10845 for this company, issued by Consumer Services/Dept of Agri (TAL). Their web address is http://www.800helpfla.com. The expiration date of this license is 12/09/2016.

Type: Motor Vehicle Repair

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1971, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roger Hackney (Vice President)Ms. Anna Hackney (Office Manager)
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Industry Tips
Auto Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Fact-O-Bake of Pensacola, Inc.

5470 Pensacola Blvd

Pensacola, FL 32505-2520

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5470 Pensacola Blvd 

    Pensacola, FL 32505-2520(850) 433-3111

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Fact-O-Bake of Pensacola, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 01/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Body Repair & Painting

Auto Repair
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.