BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/27/2006

Jamestown Estates

Phone: (850) 432-7689Fax: (850) 432-40003331 Summit Blvd, PensacolaFL 32503-8300 Send email to Jamestown Estates

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/27/2006

BBB has determined that Jamestown Estates meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Jamestown Estates' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Jamestown Estates

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
05/27/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Jamestown failed to notify all tenants of balance owed.Then turned in to collection agency.
On August X XXXX rented an apt. from Jamestown Estates. My daughter (19 yo), sister & myself were on the lease. My daughter gave the office her forwarding address but my sister's address and my address never changed. I paid the rent on time every month to no avail. Well known to the site mgr & asst. We vacated premisis on October 1,2014. We (3) never rec'd notice that there was a balance due until 6 mos later when a collection agency called trying to collect balance. I called apt complex & spoke with **** ******* (who is well known to me)who told me that they sent a certified letter to all three of us. I asked her who signed the for the letters. She stated that someone at **** ******* **** signed for the letter but she couldn't make out the signature. It was Friday so she said she would call back on Monday with the information as I requested a copy of the said letter. I called **** on Monday April 27th and **** then told me they did not send out a certified letter they just mailed a letter to the **** ******* **** address. Never mailed a notice to my sister & I (Who were also on the lease). Now I have a collection agency calling for the funds & have reported us to the credit bureau. I have contacted the collection agency and have asked them to remove us from the credit bureau and they have declined stating that Jamestown Estates would have to do that. I then contacted Jamestown Estates (****) and she stated that she couldn't do that. I spoke with ******** at the collection agency and am in the process of making arrangements to clear this account up. I am very upset as I pay my bills in a timely fashion as the payment history with Jamestown Estates will show. I worked hard after a messy divorce to bring my credit rating back up and now without warning I have been hit again.

Desired Settlement
I will pay the balance due however I want this taken back from the collection agency and off of my credit bureau report as well as my sisters. I think this is a deceptive practice and renters be warned.

Business Response
When the residents vacated the apartment, they were well aware of the balance that was owed and the extent of damages that were left behind. There was pet urine soaked carpet, that had to be replaced, and this was the greatest percentage of the balance. There were letters issued to each lease holder on the account with the final balance listed. The letters were issued to forwarding addressed that were provided from the resident. These letters where issued 6 months prior to sending the account to collections, giving the past residents plenty of time to make payments toward their balance.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I spoke with **** ******* and she stated "no we did not send all three lease holders a letter we only sent a letter by regular mail to Timbre" It is fairly obvious that we did not know that there was a balance due. **** even called and said that since she knew us personally that she would have called us, however her boss was leaving the position and just went ahead and sent it to collections without ever picking up the phone. They had ALL 3 phone numbers and addresses! I paid the bills NOT Timbre. My name was on every check/certified check.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Apartments

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/06/2006Business started: 01/01/1971
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DBPR (Tallahassee)
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr

BBB records show a license number of NAP2700384 for this company, issued by DBPR (Tallahassee). Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr. The expiration date of this license is 06/01/2016.

Type: Apartments

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1994, DE

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Mandy Volodymrenko (Property Manager) Willi Doyle (Dist. Manager/Florida)
Business Category

Apartments

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Jamestown Estates

3331 Summit Blvd

Pensacola, FL 32503-8300

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3331 Summit Blvd 

    Pensacola, FL 32503-8300(850) 432-7689
    Fax: (850) 432-4000

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Jamestown Estates is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 01/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Apartments

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.