BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Coastal Cooling & Heating, LLC

Phone: (850) 424-6339Fax: (850) 424-7229PO Box 5833, DestinFL 32540-5833http://www.coastalcooling1.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On 03/18/2015 this company's Accreditation in your BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to failure to respond to one or more complaints filed with your BBB.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Coastal Cooling & Heating, LLC's rating include:

  • 4 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.

Factors that raised Coastal Cooling & Heating, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Coastal Cooling & Heating, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
12/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
a/c unit was purchased in 2010 from coastal cooling & heating and under a maintenance contract. last services was 11/20/14 and was told
and was told we had a faulty thermostat by their technician and our thermostat was replaced by another that didn't belong to our unit. our thermostat was removed totally.they had to order the correct thermostat for our unit. after repeated phone calls and messages left with no response we had to call another company for repair because of the weather conditions that were coming. long story short was not the thermostat but a valve. had to purchase another thermostat (like the one that was removed) and valve replaced to the tune of $549.00

Desired Settlement
Just reimbursement for the cost of repair.

Business Response
I don't know what to say besides the fact I no longer have an office manager and I will be in control from here on out. I took my attention off of CCH as I was working on real estate and thought everything was under control but obviously there are some serious problems I need to address.

It's going to take me some time as financially there have been thousands of dollars that were put on my credit cards and for the first time in my life I have situations like this coming up.

I will work as hard as I can to make it right.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
the response is not acceptable because there was never an attempt to return a call pertaining to the many messages left. only way we would be satisfied is if restitution was made to us for what it cost us to have a properly operating unit.

01/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Coastal Cooling installed a new air conditioner incorrectly, requiring costly repairs and affecting the the occupant's health.

Coastal Cooling installed a new Carrier A/C system in April of 2012 . It has a thermostat which supposedly controls the humidity as well.
In June of 2014, we we felt the humidity was excessively high in the unit. They sent out a technician who measured the humidity at 56% and told us that was normal and reported that "A/C is cooling @ this time". He set the humidistat to 50%. We still felt that there was too much humidity in the condo.

When we came to Destin again on Oct 2, 2014, the humidity read 61%. We immediately noted a strong musty odor and the entire condo was full of mold and/or mildew. It was on the walls, the ceiling, the furniture, shoes and, most concerning, in all the ductwork. Again we called them Their technician reported October 2nd: "..found mildew all over vents, tables, but system is cooling great at this time"
We had to rent two hotel rooms for the night (we were traveling with company) because the condo was not safe to stay in. The next day we rented a different condo (unit 202) in the same building for a period of one week. We spent that week and the next week cleaning our unit and hiring experts to help us determine the cause. One mold removal contractor quoted us $22,000 to remediate the problem, including removing all the fiberglass ductwork and replacing it with metal ducts, as cleaning all the carpets, furniture, walls, ceilings e.g., to remove the mold.

We hired a different HVAC to check our system, but they saw no problem with it. They briefly checked the whole condo for water leaks but found none. They also installed a RGF Guardian REME UV light air purification system in the air handler to kill the mold spores present in the air. They cleaned all the ductwork and treated it for mold. We hired another firm to clean the furniture & carpets with HEPA vacuums. We purchased a de-humidifier on October 2 and borrowed another. For the next few days we extracted gallons of water. We bought a Taylor thermostat/humidistat in order to check the humidity which continued to stay high.

There had to be a reason for the high humidity and to make absolutely sure it wasn't due to a water leak, we hired a specialist to thoroughly look for water leaks. They could not find any. This could only mean that the AC unit was not doing its job.

When I spoke with *** at Coastal Cooling on October 7, explaining that the humidity was still 61%,he said that 60% RH is pretty normal in this area and that we should set the humidistat to 60%. I found that odd, because the EPA recommends keeping indoor humidity between 30 and 60 percent to prevent mold. 60% is therefore on the very high end of that range and the air conditioner was unable to keep it below 61%.

Since we still didn't know where all the moisture came from, but suspected the air conditioner was at fault, we hired yet another HVAC contractor to see why the air conditioner was not removing the moisture from the air. They measured everything very professionally and determined that the Carrier unit had been incorrectly charged. As a result the AC unit was cooling all right but was not removing the humidity adequately. I quote from their report:

"Upon inspection of the Carrier variable speed air handler, it was noted ..system was running a 0.8 sub-cool and calls for a 9 degree sub-cool. The refrigerant charge was adjusted to a 9 degree sub-cool and within minutes the difference in air quality was evident. Prior to our departure and approximately 30 minutes after adjusting the charge and fan speed, RH in the unit was 49% with a supply air temperature of 57F" Even though Coastal Cooling technicians twice missed the real cause, it was now clear that our problem originated with the installer in 2012. For several years the humidity was too high in the condo, saturating everything in there with moisture. This is why the mold problem developed.we have so far spent close to $6,000 to battle this condition.I wrote to Coastal Cooling on Dec. 8, 2014, but have no reply yet.

Desired Settlement
$6,000.00 in damages and out-of-pocket expenses

Business Response
We installed the system over 1.5 years ago in April of 2012, this system had a one year labor warranty and a ten year on manufacture parts. By reading the complaint there have been other companies working on this system and according to the last company the level of refrigerant was over charged, this could have been done by could have been filled by another company. I have attached the invoice for a service call in June of 2014 and the readings on the bottom left tell me that the system was running correctly when we left. There also was another company tell him the system was running correctly, my invoice indicates the we did not add any refrigerant and the tech that worked on this has over 25 years of experience and runs during peak times 4 to 7 calls per day with many satisfied customers. The discussion I had with Mr. ****** I was going off of invoice #6098 that was done in June. I have trust in my technicians because I am normally in the office running the business and I am not in the field. The indoor unit is one of Carriers top of the line air handlers and runs at different speeds for humidity control as well as other features. I give the one year labor warranty because if something goes wrong it is normally in the first 90 days, so CCH cannot offer extended labor on the hundreds of systems we have installed.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept the company's response because Coastal Cooling was the company which origionally installed the new unit and they did it wrong. We used Coastal for all subsequent service calls and again called them when this mold problem was discovered on Oct 2nd, 2014. At that time they had a perfect opportunity to diagnose and correct their mistake, but again claimed the unit was running correctly when obviously it wasn't. We then had no other choice but to employ another company to solve the problem. I believe Coastal caused the problem and is not standing behind their work.

I understand that Coastal only gave a 1-year warranty and therefore has no legal obligation to make good on their mistake. However, I would think that any compnay who wants to have a high BBB rating would make every effort to satisfy a customer who has been harmed because of Coastal's inept or poorly trained technicians. When I first wrote to Coastal about this problem I received no answer at all. They did not even bother to communicate with me. That is why I chose to contact the Better Business Bureau. According to the experts who discovered the cause of the problem, there is no doubt that the original installation was incorrectly performed. There is a huge difference between charging an A/C unit to 9 degrees (as recommended) versus 0.8 degrees as actually done. They were off by a factor of more than 10! I would prefer not to drag this dispute into court. Here is Coastal's chance to settle our differences in an amiable manner. Otherwise I can't see how the BBB can continue to recommend this supplier to other prospective buyers.

12/22/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Coastal placed HVAC at Walton Beach residence. Not installed correctly - never worked. VISA rescinded payment - defective. Acct sent to collections.
Coastal placed HVAC at Fort Walton Beach residence in July 2014. HVAC never worked. Disputed payment with VISA due to defective HVAC after in Sept 2014
VISA agreed with dispute and rescinded payment to Coastal in November 2014. Coastal resumed sending threatening and verbally abusive Emails on November 28, 2014. Coastal reports sending account to collections on December 1, 2014. I have asked Coastal to remove the non functioning HVAC. They have refused.

Desired Settlement
Remove defective HVAC from my residence.
Cease collections activity.
Cease transmission of verbally abusive communications.

Business Response
We installed identical equipment but brand new with warranties in this home and needed to fine tune it, we were not granted permission to access the home and thus for the customer became unreasonable and would not work with us. By all means we were ready willing and able to make the machine work perfect.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Coastal Cooling had two months in which to get their Carrier system installed and operational. During that period, Coastal repeatedly "no-call, no-showed" for appointments. When they did show up to work on the system, they would leave the work site without performing any work and without informing us. The Carrier HVAC system has never worked. After two months we embarked of a long course of documentation with VISA to assess why the system would not work and document Coastal's performance failure. Coastal Cooling is not a **** ***** certified HVAC installer. We had a certified tech from ****** *** *********** assess the Coastal system and provide written documentation describing the specifics of the installation failure. ****** *** is a **** ***** certified installer. After reviewing our documentation, VISA upheld our dispute claim and recouped the monies paid to Coastal Cooling. Before recoupment, VISA Disputes Department asked Coastal Cooling to respond to our dispute claim. Coastal Cooling never responded to VISA's request. The list of installation failures documented by ****** *** is extensive and clearly makes the case that Coast Cooling does not possess the technical skills to install ******* HVAC systems. I have asked Coastal Cooling to remove the ******* and other HVAC components they left at the worksite. They have refused to remove the equipment. I can provide documentation from VISA, ****** **** and several other witnesses to verify my claims. Coastal Cooling has however been successful in sending me Emails which contain slander. After they failed to respond to VISA's request for information, and VISA rescinded their payment, Coastal Cooling sent me an Email in which they refer to me as a "Deadbeat". Coastal Cooling may schedule a date and time for removal of their equipment. I will proceed with an installer who is certified by Gulf Power to perform HVAC installation.
Correction - Coastal Cooling did not refer to me as a "Deadbeat" they referred to me as a "Deadbeat and a thief". Please see attached. I will be happy to provide additional documentation if desired.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Coastal Cooling continues to allege that I took money from them which I did not. Chase/VISA recouped funds from Coastal after Coastal failed to respond to VISA's request for information concerning non performance. In the attached Email, Coastal admits that they wired the system incorrectly upon installation. Two independent contractors also attested that Coastal installed the blower backwards so that it was falling off the blower stand and they soldered the valve in the refrigerant line closed so that refrigerant was not able to flow between the evaporator coil and the condenser unit. The system was also wired so that the heating elements and the cooling elements of the system were running at the same time. The net effect was that the system would not provide cool air but consumed enormous amounts of electricity such that the electric bill was about $500.00 per month. Given the magnitude of the installation failure and the failure of the system to provide any cool air, Chase/VISA recouped what they considered to be appropriate funds from Coastal. If Coastal wishes to dispute the VISA recoupment, they need to do that with VISA. Attached is documentation from ****** *** describing the numerous installation failures and an Email form Coastal dated 12/17/2014 in which they admit the wiring failure. * * * ******* and ******* had to disassemble the entire system in order to find the refrigerant line valve which Coastal had soldered closed during their failed installation. All equipment used by Coastal during their failed installation has been returned to Coastal. The YELP website reports that Coastal has 2 other instances oof installation failure in 2014. Evidentiary documents are attached.

Final Business Response
When we became aware of the problems after the installation was complete and the unit ran most of the summer.the lead tech stated on his paperwork the system was running great.we consulted with Carrier tech for this reason and supplied him data he had requested.he agreed with our findings, After this the homeowner would not allow us back into the home to further review the equipment!. We picked the equipment up at the curb as another contractor pulled ours out and scratched and and dented the system out of my 25 years running this has never happened to us, so the money he stole from I need to recoup especially during the holidays.

12/22/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were unable to get service promised under a 1 year warranty and had to get repairs elsewhere and need to be reimbursed for the additional expense.
In April, 2014 we purchased a new AC unit from Coastal Cooling for $4300. It included a one year labor warranty and a 10 year product warranty. We placed a service call May 26 due to the unit not cooling. They came out that day and repaired it immediately by replacing some coolant that had leaked out, but apparently did not repair the leak. On October 12, we placed a call for service and left a message on the office answering machine. We received no response and called again October 14 and left another message. Still no response. We called repeatedly through October 17 and left messages. We also called a cell phone number and sent an email. On Oct. 17, we called another repair company who came and repaired the leak and filled the coolant.

Desired Settlement
$ 473.36 paid out for labor that should have been covered under warranty

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Repair, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/03/2009Business started: 04/01/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DBPR (Tallahassee)
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 2007, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Biel (Owner)
Business Category

Air Conditioning Repair, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

We service all residential and light commercial HVAC systems. At Coastal Cooling & Heating we specialize in new installs, air condition and heating repairs and also air purification for better home breathing.

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • PO Box 5833 

    Destin, FL 32540-5833(850) 424-6339
    Fax: (850) 424-7229

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest Florida. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Coastal Cooling & Heating, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 01/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Repair

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.