BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/11/2004

Express Air Conditioning & Heating, Inc.

Phone: (850) 396-4805Fax: (850) 471-1414

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
02/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
IMPROPER INSTALLATION which caused the Furnace and Air not to work properly.
Purchase Dates Begin: 08/10/2011
Models: Goodman Furnace GMSX XXXXAN 45,000 BTU
Goodman Air VSX XXXXXX X X/2 Ton 13 Seer AC
Goodman Upflow Coil CAPF 3030A

Total Payment Amount for Furnace & AC: $3500.00
Payment Method: Personal Check for that amount.

Sales Rep and Owner: ***** ******.



Installation Date: 09/13/2011
First Problem Date: 10/11/2011 Gas leak in piping to furnace. Repair same date.

Second Problem Date: 10/11/2013.
Air Conditioner not cooling Properly.
Tech came out and found system not cooling.
Changed out the thermostat.
Still having same problem. Tech came next day 10/14/2013 and ordered new Control Board.
Express Air then charged for labor of $115.00 and Diagnostic fee of $69.00 to replace Control Board. The Control Board was under warranty.

Next service call about Heater not working was 01/29/2014. Was told very busy and would put on the list. Weather was below freezing the next several days.
Tech called and said would be out 01/31/2014.

Last Service Date: 01/31/2014.
Furnace/Heater not working properly. Turning on & off constantly causing no heat for the residence.
The tech came and discovered after a lot of work trying to figure out problem that the Furnace was NOT GROUNDED PROPERLY from the installation date which is above; which included Air Conditioner too.
After making two calls to Manufacturer, it was decided the problem was "IMPROPER INSTALLATION" which was the grounding problem according to the Rep. @ Goodman Company.
Tech decided there was no good Ground Wire.
Tech called Express AC and talked to the owner.
He told her enough time was spent there and to leave but to Collect the $69 service call.
The owner said that was all my problem. So I was left with No Heat or AC if needed.
Keep in mind, the unit was installed from the beginning with no good Ground Wire. That should have been taken care of before unit was installed.










Desired Settlement
Refund of all my Labor costs and upcoming electrician's fee.
As this posted the costs of $253.00 plus cost of above fee when work is done. No figure available now.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** (owner)
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@bellsouth.net
It is unfortunate that Mr. ******** believes he is entitled to a refund. Based on the information as I understand it Express Air Conditioning is in no way obligated to reimburse Mr. ******** for previous repair charges.
Express Air Conditioning gives a 2 year warranty on all new installations and a 2 year repair warranty for both parts and labor on all service work, which by the way is 1 full year longer than obligated.

Express installed the ********'s a/c and gas furnace 9/13/11, one month later we sent a tech out to make a repair where a gas leak was found on the gas line going to the furnace, gas line replaced, no fees were charged, fast forward 2 full years later to 10/11/13 a tech was sent out for a no cool service call where a thermostat and furnace control board were replaced which solved the problem, at this date a service fee and labor charge only for installation of control board were charged as the control board itself is covered under a 10 year parts warranty, however, the thermostat is not, as it is not covered by the h.v.a.c manufacturer.
What Mr. ******** conveniently doesn't state in his complaint is that there is nothing wrong with his gas furnace or cooling system at this time, the reason the unit isn't working properly is because the receptacle on the circuit feeding his gas furnace has a bad earth ground connection. My technician spent hours at there house trying to resolve the issue, once it was determined that the furnace worked properly plugged into an extension cord going to a different receptacle on a different electrical circuit in the home my technician called Goodman tech support to confirm her diagnosis which is that there is nothing wrong with the furnace but with the power feeding the receptacle in the heater closet. A service fee of $69 was charged and the technician explained that an electrical contractor would be needed to repair the homes faulty wiring issue.

I am a little confused and frustrated that Mr. ******** feels that we are responsible for any of the repair cost incurred. First off, for two full years after installation the unit heated and cooled properly but some how the customer has drawn the conclusion that we didn't install the unit properly from the beginning, he states in his complaint that there was no good ground wire from the beginning and that we (Express) should have taken care of that on installation, this idea is completely absurd, I have issue with his idea that there was no good ground to begin with as the unit worked fine for two full years after installation, obviously there was a good ground or it never would have ran properly from the beginning but for argument sake, let's just say that there was a ground problem with the homes wiring circuit from the beginning which caused the repair fees above mentioned, Express would still not be liable for repairs as we didn't cause the problem to the homes faulty wiring and therefore are not obligated to refund any repair fees charged!

I don't know if Mr. ******** is intentionally trying to be misleading or if he just truly doesn't understand the situation but either way Express Air Conditioning will not be issuing any kind of reimbursement. I feel that we have been more then fair and professional.

Best Regards,
***** ******
Express Air Conditioning & Heating Inc.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I definitely do not agree with Mr. ***** on this matter. As for as the Disagreement with the installment he keeps repeating; His techs should have never installed the units without a good ground. I had at that time trust and faith they were doing the right job. After all I am not an electrician, so homeowners have to rely on the installer to do the job right. His tech used the same cord which was 35 years old to plug this furnace in. They never told me there was no good ground and to get it replaced and they could come back later to do the installation. As for as the unit running for 2 years; it just happened when not many other things were plugged into that circuit at one time and during the freeze the machine had to run more. The manufacture is the one that told his tech about the importance of a good ground.
I don't need his money in a refund but want this posted on the website as a legit Complaint. He has now directed his employees to be sure they have a good ground before installing anymore units.
No there is nothing wrong with the furnace in my first statement because I found another ground plug to use to get by until I could get an electrician out to redo the plug @ the furnace.
All this comes back to his employee doing the Improper installation with no good ground wire.
When my electrician came out this past Monday 02/03/2014, he noticed right away about the old plug-in wire that was used and no ground. He installed a new wire and plug so furnace is operating good now when it wasn't running at all when his tech came out 01/31/2014. Anyone else who reads this publicly can see my point from the get-go, even if the owner doesn't.
** ********
I have made another response to Mr. ***** @ Express Air.
I don't need another response from him.
Just would like to have the complaint posted so other people in this area can see it.
Thanks for the help; you have been great.
I will recommend others to use BBB website.



Business Response
This customer has done a fabulous job manipulating the facts of this situation. First, Express did an excellent job installing the ********'s heating and cooling system and it is a fact that the above mentioned repairs had absolutely nothing to do with an improper installation.

The problem which caused the furnace not to heat was faulty wiring running through the walls of the ********'s home, NOT our installation, my technician replaced the pig tail to the furnace with a new one but could not plug it into the receptacle because there was not a GROUND WIRE (only 2 slits in the wall receptacle, not 3) on that circuit and there never has been because the home was built back in the 1950's when it wasn't a code requirement. We are NOT electricians, by law, we are prohibited from running new wires, replacing electrical outlets or running ground wires! My technician plugged the newly installed pigtail into an extension cord and plugged it into the one and ONLY grounded receptacle in the home several feet away and the furnace worked properly! I do regret that I was not given the opportunity to go out to the customers home and personally explain the issue before a complaint was made to the BBB as I believe this could have been avoided.

The proof is in the pudding, Express Air Conditioning has been a BBB accredited business since 2004 and I am proud to say we have the best possible rating there is, A+. If we weren't doing things the correct way we wouldn't have such a great rating especially when you consider the volume of business we do in a typical year. We performed service work in over 8,000 homes just last year and have installed over a 1000 h.v.a.c. systems in just the last 3 years and with only this 1 very misleading complaint. We give the best warranties in the business, 2 full years for both parts and labor on all repairs and 2 year labor warranties for new installations where our competition only gives 1!


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This owner keeps repeating I have faulty wiring and No good ground was never there to plug in the unit, then Why did his tech go ahead and install the unit. The installer never come to me and told me I did not have a good ground from the get-go.
Mr. ***** (owner) says he regrets he didn't have the opportunity to come to my home. The truth is, his tech and I waited over 2 hours and he never showed up so the tech went on to another job.
No need to keep responding to this matter. I am through with it but I think new customers should be on notice about this company. Mr ***** (owner) is not in good faith and trust at all. He thinks he never makes a mistake.
J.********

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Appliances - Major - Service & Repair, Air Conditioning Repair, Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Contractors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.