This business is not BBB accredited.

Northwest Window & Door Inc

Phone: (425) 415-6810 Fax: (425) 415-6820 View Additional Phone Numbers 6748 NE 181st St Ste B, Kenmore, WA 98028 http://www.northwestwindow.com ! There is an alert on Northwest Window & Door Inc !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and installation of windows, doors, siding, decks and sunrooms.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business is not currently rated. Business has filed for bankruptcy and is seeking to dissolve the business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Northwest Window & Door Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 15, 1995 Business started: 06/01/1989 Business started locally: 06/01/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Business Management
Mr. Robert Johnston, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Johnston, President
Business Category

Windows - Installation & Service Doors Windows Doors - Repair Patio & Deck Builders Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Siding Contractors


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6748 NE 181st St Ste B

    Kenmore, WA 98028 (425) 415-6810 (425) 881-2303 (206) 441-7978 (800) 426-1164 (425) 513-0878 (425) 481-5492 (425) 673-2703 (425) 252-5298

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Northwest Window and Door did defective work on installing replacement windows and siding on our home. They were repeatedly requested to correct the defects (defects were confirmed by an independent inspector). I finally sent them a demand letter insisting that they contact me within seven business days of receipt of the certified letter or the contract was terminated. They made no effort to contact me. They have since filed a lien against my home. These defects have resulted in water leaks and damage to the hardwood floors in my home. (the tyvek was placed behind the nailplate on the windows they installed resulting in water being funneled into the walls and under the hardwood floor)

Desired Settlement: 1. Removal of Lien. 2. Reimbursement for the cost to correct to the defective work and replacement of the hardwood floor.

3/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased 10 Milguard Fiberglass Windows. Windows were installed on 10/29. On the final installation day it was discovered that the handing on one of the windows, the direction the window is supposed to open, is in the opposite direction of what we ordered. The salesman and the installer confirmed this and provided a change order noting they would return in 3-4 weeks to install the correct window. Installer left behind a pile of scrap wood, trash and a vacuum at my home that still remains in my driveway currently. They also did not frame the outside of the window in question with the understanding they would return. We the customers have exchanged e-mails with ***** ****** and left voice mails with the Owner *** ********, that have been entirely ignored. I honestly can't believe the lack of professionalism this company has displayed. Contractually they have not fulfilled their obligations and it fathoms me that their stance is to ignore the customer.

Desired Settlement: I put in my last e-mail that I felt compensation is worthy of discussion at this point, but have not explicitly asked for any specific compensation. I just want the windows that we ordered. We have had to micro manage, repeatedly contact the company to fulfill their contractual obligation, and yet we have been completely ignored. This is a simple fix in our (customers) mind. We want the windows that we ordered. Please help us resolve.

3/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contracted NW Window and Door to install 2 windows, 1 glass pack, and 1 set of exterior doors. Installation was scheduled for 1 day, ended up taking 3. Installer broke window flashing and door was not properly installed. Installer indicated that they would be back to correct issues. I have called multiple times and left voice mail messages, none of which have been returned. I attempted to contact them via e-mail, which has not been returned either. The salesman who sold me the products has since retired.

Desired Settlement: I would like someone to call me back so I can arrange to get the damage fixed.

3/21/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 12/13 I ordered windows and doors and placed a down payment. In 2/14 I signed a change order and made an additional payment for the difference. Since then there has been no reply to e-mail and they do not answer the phone.

Desired Settlement: Full refund.

3/21/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July of 2011 we contracted Northwest Roofing Systems/Window & Door Company to do a new roof installation on our home. On April 15th we contacted the company to inform them that the roof started to leak. They told us that they would be out that weekend to fix it. The showed to tarp the roof but did not fix the leak. The tarp was on the roof the entire summer. We called but no one ever responded to us. On October 14th we were able to get in touch with the service department and ***** called us back. He said that they were unaware that the leak was never fixed. On October 20th the company sent their employee ***** ******* out to fix the problem. ***** commented that the workers that installed the roof did it incorrectly and used the wrong materials. He left and the roof continued to leak. In November the company send Derek back out and he said that the problem is the skylights. He convinced us that this was the problem and sold us on replacing both skylights for an additional $2000. He did that work around November 20th. In December of 2013 the roof was still leaking. It was leaking from the same spot as it was before the skylight work. The roof is still tarped and it is still leaking. There are now 4 buckets catching drips from the roof. On February 12th of 2014 we spoke to the ***** in the service department and he said that he needed to talk with the original roofer who put it on in 2011. We never heard back. On February 28th we called to notify them that the roof was still leaking and that the tarp was half blown off by the wind. On March 20th and 21st we have made several attempts to speak to someone from the company but no one has returned our call. On March 21st we called ***** ******* who was working for the company when he replaced the skylights and asked him for assistance. ***** stated that he no longer worked for the company. He said that the 2011 install was done incorrectly. The said that standard protocol is to use 2 layers of Ice and Water Guard and 1 layer of felt paper. He told us that they only used 1 layer of ice and water guard and no felt. He told us that Northwest Window and Door had subcontracted the original roof installation out to another company and that the subcontracted company is no longer in business. He feels that the only way to resolve the leak is to completely remove the 2011 install and start over using the correct materials and procedures.

Desired Settlement: The roof is completely under warranty. ***** **** (the customer) is disabled and uses an electric wheelchair or walker to move around the house. It is dangerous and inconvenient for him to have to maneuver around the buckets. We feel that we have been ignored and that the work that they have done does not live up to its warranty. We also feel that we were taken advantage of and "Up-Sold" on paying for new skylights when it appears that the skylights were not the issue. They did not mention the need to replace the skylights when the original work was done. We would like a full refund of the original amount paid for the new roof as well as the skylights so that we can have another company install the roof correctly. So far the product and services provided has not lived up to their promises.

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/21/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Extremely slow to respond to do the warranty work while the house being damaged by massive leaks from the installed leaky windows.

Desired Settlement: To honor their warranty on a timely manner to prevent additional damage.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2013/11/07) */ November 7, 2013 BBB of Washington and Oregon RE 22409507 *** ******* The service requested was performed prior to our receiving this complaint. We had performed a previous service for *** ******* but evidently there was confusion as to the location of the problem. This required a return visit to perform the service. *** ******* has a very challenging lot which is steep and narrow overlooking Lake Union. This required several techs to complete the service safely. This did delay our response time. We do apologize for any inconvenience. Sincerely, Northwest Window and Door

10/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had Northwest Window and Doors replace 2 sliding glass doors, 3 large windows and 2 smaller windows in December 2012. The installation team performed very poor service when replacing our windows. They failed to fill in the holes made by nailing the window trim to the house, which resulted in the nails rusting and possibly needing to be replaced. They inadequately repaired the damage they did to the siding on the house, so we may need to replace the siding boards that were damaged or at least have to undo and fix the repair they did. They used the wrong caulking to seal the windows and trim. The caulking was haphazardly spread on the trim, on the window frames, and used to 'repair' the damage done to the siding. This error was pointed out to us by several painters when they noticed the caulking around the windows was still tacky and un-paintable. It is August 2013 - 8 months later - and we are preparing to have our house painted, but now have additional work that needs to be done to repair the problems from the window replacement in December. The caulking needs to be removed by scraping it out of the crevices and reapplying the proper caulking before it can be painted. The final damage from the rusty nails also needs to be assessed.

Desired Settlement: We plan on having our house painted before the end of the season, and had planned for the expense of a typical paint job. However, after all of the painters pointed out the same issue with the installation of the windows, it will cost much more to repair the problems. The average cost to repair the damage is about $1,050 - or 5 hours of labor per window/door. We are seeking to have this cost $1,050 reimbursed by Northwest Window and Door. Our Installation Warranty agreement states that Caulking is warranted for one year from the original installment date (12/19/12).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/09/16) */ Case XXXXXXXX ****, ******** ******** **** Customer has been contacted. Per to the conversation there seem to be a lack of knowledge on the painters part and some miscommunications with the sealant manufacturers representative *** **** spoke with. *** **** does now acknowledge that the sealant is actually the correct product to use, it is a very high quality product. The sealant does have a slight tacky feel to it, however it is completely printable. *** **** states that there is some sealant out. The adjacent trim material that rolls off easily with thumb or finger pressure and rubbing. We have offered to remove this material left from tooling the sealant and reapply any new sealant of her choice, she has spoken with our sealant distributors VP and division manager, and she was to get back with us with her decision. Any other issues that need to be addressed we will gladly service. We have left messages on her phone message machine but have not received a phone back. Enclosed are the technical data sheets for the product used. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2013/10/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX RE: Complaint against Northwest Window and Door Northwest Window and Door contacted me shortly after receiving notice about the BBB complaint. This is the first contact with the company since we had the windows installed in December 2012. I had called them a few times in December, as did **** ******** while the windows were being installed without a return call to address our concerns about the installation. I did not know there was a problem with the caulking/sealant around the windows until August this year when 5 different painters from 5 different companies suggested there might be a problem with the tackiness of the caulking/sealant. The installers from Northwest Window and Door must have also felt there may be an issue with their caulking job because they left a few extra tubes of caulking/sealant with me for "touch-ups" (their words!). I called ******* the company that makes the caulking/sealant that Northwest Window and Doors used. The representative I spoke with on the phone told me about the product and that he would not suggest using the SoudaSeal 150LM on the part of the window exposed to dust, due to its tackiness. It is used mainly for sealing joints requiring a lot of movement, not to seal the gap between a window and the decorative trim. I spoke with ***** (owner) at Northwest Window and Door, I relayed to him what the ****** representative said. I also told him that I did not have an issue with the product itself, but that I do NOT believe it was the correct product to use for this application. Yes, the product specs say it can be painted, but it is also very tacky, collects dirt, and scrapes off very easily. Not a good product to use on the outside of a house next to the ground, as the ****** representative acknowledged. ***** was very belittling and suggested several times that I was lying, misunderstanding, and incorrectly remembering events or things said with regards to how many times I tried to contact Northwest Window and Doors in December, about what the ****** representative said, and what the painters said.. He also suggested that the painters (all of them) did not know what they were doing and were possibly trying to take advantage of me. His solution to my complaint is to recaulk the windows using a sealant of my choice, however, the windows had to be recalked before the house was painted, therefore the job is already done. I told him I wanted to find out what caulking/sealant my painter used, and that I would make a decision after I did a little research. We were out of town for about a week and returned to one message from ***** asking if we have made a decision how we would like to proceed. However, due to *****'s disparaging attitude and rude behavior during our phone conversation, which made me feel very uncomfortable, **** and I have decided that we do not want Northwest Window and Doors to return to our home. It is clear from his demeanor that he is better suited as a criminal defense lawyer than an owner of a service oriented company. It is not worth my time and energy to push forth with my complaint. Therefore, I would like to close the BBB complaint. I will use my voice to make it known to other potential clients of Northwest Window and Door that this is not a company worth using. Their service is terrible and their management is worse. This will be a bigger economic loss to Northwest Window and Door than the $1,050 I originally asked for. A quick search revealed that I am not the only former customer with the same service and quality issues.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Northwest Window & Door Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)