BBB Accredited Business since

John's Waterproofing Company

Phone: (855) 532-7942 View Additional Phone Numbers 201 Airport Rd NE, Silverton, OR 97381 http://www.johnswaterproofing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers basement, crawl space mold proofing, air sanitizing and concrete waterproofing services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that John's Waterproofing Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for John's Waterproofing Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on John's Waterproofing Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1977 Business started: 01/01/1974 in OR Business started locally: 01/01/1974 Business incorporated 11/29/1989 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John H Lombardi, Owner Ms. Lin Adams, Office Manager Ms. Tamara Collins, Marketing Coordinator Mr. Robin Ekloff, GM Ms. Christina Gentges, Accounting
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Robin Ekloff, GM
Principal: Mr. John H Lombardi, Owner
Business Category

Waterproofing Contractors Painting and Wall Covering Contractors (NAICS: 238320)

Alternate Business Names
John's Waterproofing Co

Additional Locations

  • 201 Airport Rd NE

    Silverton, OR 97381 (503) 233-0825 (503) 873-5650 (541) 349-9339 (855) 532-7942

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I live at *** ******* **, NE, Silverton, Oregon. My father in law, ******* *****, owns the property. We had an issue with standing water under the house. (about 4” deep), so in July or August of 2010 he had John’s Waterproofing come out and quote putting in a Clean Dry Crawl Space. I heard the representative from John’s Waterproofing tell my ****, if you do this it is guaranteed for the life of the house, and if he did this, and he’d never have to worry about water under the house again. **** hired John’s Waterproofing in August of 2010 to put in the Clean Dry Crawl Space, for $7,400.00. In June of 2013 the alarm to warn us of water under the house went off, so I called John’s Waterproofing. When their man arrived he first told me he thought it was because the batteries in the alarm had gone dead, then he said it was that the pump was unplugged, and made a huge deal about the pump being unplugged, then he said it was because a new pump was needed, (which was purchased, at that time, from him, $230.00). Once he had taken the old pump out, cut the cords to it so no one would mistake it for a working pump, and installed the new pump, he found it wasn’t the batteries, it wasn’t the pump being unplugged, or the pump, but it was the breaker kicking off when the pump would kick on, (There is no way to know if a new pump was needed or if the pump he cut the cords on still worked). We were told the entire system had failed, because it was like a “waterbed” under the house, and their system is not designed to sit on water so the seams had separated on the thick plastic they had installed, etc. The solution was to redo the system, install some additional items, have electrical done so the pump had its own breaker…total cost to redo the Clean Dry Crawl Space, $6,942.00, which **** paid for and had done in July 2013. In either late December 2014 or early January 2015, (I can’t find the exact date, but believe it was early January 2015), the alarm went off again. The first thing I checked was to make sure the pumps were plugged in, and they were, (I knew to check, because the first time their system failed in 2013 they tried to tell me the pump was unplugged…until they later found the breaker issue). I called and set up for John’s Waterproofing to come see what was going on. I had to go to work, so my daughter was there to let him in. He reported to her that the issue was that the pump was unplugged. I called him and asked him how that could be, because checking that was the first thing I did when the alarm went off, and it WAS plugged in. He said he didn’t know, but when he pushed on the plug the pump started pumping. Let me make this perfectly clear, I do not, on any level, believe the pump was unplugged or that it started when he “pushed” on the plug in. Not feeling at all comfortable with John’s Waterproofing anymore, I called ***** ***** in and requested they check things out for me. Between the time the person from John’s Waterproofing came and ***** ***** could come, a man from John’s Waterproofing called me to set up the appointment for them to come out and do the cleanup from the failure, (which would have been an additional charge), and work up a quote for what needed done at this point. I explained that I wasn’t sure that we were comfortable with having them back, and I needed to see what was going on before I set up that appointment. The man from ***** ***** explained that what John’s Waterproofing installed, (not once, but twice), would not work for our situation…that we needed to have another product called drainage matting put on the ground below the thick white plastic, to protect it from any water that does get into the crawl space, he also showed me a double sealing system that should have been used in our crawl space, which further protects the plastic from separating in the event of exposure to water. He took pictures in the crawl space for me, and from those pictures I learned that the man from John’s Waterproofing had removed the lid from our, (I am sorry I can’t recall the name of it), unit that sounds the alarm should water get in the crawl space. ***** ***** wouldn’t go in a fix any of the stuff John’s Waterproofing had done, due to warrantee issues. On 3/18/2015 I filled out an online form for John’s Waterproofing to come out and tell me what needed done, (this generated an automatic email reply). Around 5/27/2015 I contacted them again, (when I received the notice that it was time for our annual inspection). On 7/14/2015 I filled out an online form request again, which again generated an automatic email reply. I have never heard back from them. In short, my father in law has paid John’s Waterproofing $14,602.00 to deal with the water under the house, and it’s still not corrected. In fact, I believe **** and this property are no better off now than when he hired John’s Waterproofing. And now we don’t even have a system that might possibly somewhat be working, because they won’t return my messages so I can have the alarm system put back together. I can provide additional information, copies of emails, etc., but wasn’t sure what all I should include here.

Business Response: we will call them this morning thank you for the heads uo. This is not what we like to hear we will satisfy them as soon as posible.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 

The above referenced complaint is a complaint I filed against John's Waterproofing.  Upon making contact today, they are proposing to fix the problem, free of charge, but will not be able to get started fixing the issues for at least a week, which is past the deadline for me to respond resolved or not resolved.  I do not want to mark it as resolved until I know it actually is, but at the same time I don't think I should mark it as unresolved.
 
Is it possible to have the deadline for me to reply extended, to allow John's Waterproofing time to come out and do the work they are currently saying they will do?
 
Please let me know the best way to handle this.
 
Thank you,
****** *******


Business Response:

We will look to see if we can get to this sooner, I will call the home owner on Monday 8/31/2015

Thank you
Robin E*****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on John's Waterproofing Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)