Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

River City Group, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 723-2383 View Additional Phone Numbers 4886 SE Highway 101, Rose Lodge, OR 97367 View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Oregon Beach Vacations manages vacation rentals on the Oregon Coast.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for River City Group, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on River City Group, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 19, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1999 in OR Business started locally: 01/01/1999 Business incorporated 01/01/2001 in OR
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David McElveen, President Mr. Joe Murray, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David McElveen, President
Business Category

Vacation Rentals Property Management

Alternate Business Names
Oregon Beach Vacations

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

River City Group, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    201 S Holladay Dr

    Seaside, OR 97138

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4786 SE Highway 101

    Lincoln City, OR 97367

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4886 SE Highway 101

    Rose Lodge, OR 97367

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented an ocean front luxury home (***** ** *** ***) for the price of $1718.51 from ****** ***** ********** They took the money out of my account on March 25, 2016. Six days later, my family party of 6 arrived at the home and everything appeared as it should. At approx. 9:30 PM my daughter tried to take a shower and found there was no hot water. We discovered the entire house was without hot water. Since it was late and we were all going to bed soon, I waited to call in the morning to report it. I assumed someone would have to come light the pilot light on the water heater. I spoke with the Manager Katie and she said she would send a plumber out ASAP. She also asked why I did not call the evening before and I told her I did not think it was an emergency since it was already bed time. After some time passes, no plumber shows up. My husband calls back and speaks with Katie. She then informs him that the water heater was broken and that ***** Plumbing was supposed to have had it fixed but apparently that didn't happen and *** did not follow up on it. So essentially, *** rented out a luxury property without hot water. *** offered us other homes and there were none comparable to ***** ** *** *** available. We finally found one that we thought we could compromise on so we packed up and moved over to Beach Time!, This was after sitting around half the day to come up with a solution. It was 1/3 the size and we discovered the wifi did not work (which meant the TV's in the kids rooms did not work) and the hot tub was broken. This is NOT what I signed up for when I paid out $1700 for a luxury rental on the ocean. It appears *** knowingly let us come out and start our vacation in a home that was not functioning so they could offer us other rentals at a serious **wngrade for the same price. In fact, we were initially asked to pay more for the 2nd rental and had to demand that it was not fair to have to pay more for a **wngraded house.

Desired Settlement: 100% complete refund due to the fact that *** knowingly rented out a home that had no hot water. The time frame given for repair was unknown because Katie said resources were limited on the coast and she could not get a return call from ***** Plumbing (on a Friday). *** tried to blame the plumber for not letting them know that it was not fixed but *** are the Property Managers, not the plumbing company. My husband and I lost paid vacation time from work over this ruined trip. We drove over 6 hours total round trip. My daughter flew up from ********** to join us. We had to pack and unpack 3 times within less than 24 hours. It was awful. Our much anticipated vacation was ruined and we believe Ocean Beach Vacations should give us a complete refund and an apology.

Business Response: Guest has been provided with a full refund based on my review of this situation.  Thanks, David M*******

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******** **

1/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a gift certificate for OregonBeach Vacations from Half Price Portland for $500. When I called to reserve a property I ran into various problems. First I was told that the property I chose was not available for this promotion. I do not believe it was identified in the promotion that certain properties weren't participating. Then I was told the amount I would owe after the gift certificate would be over $600. I replied that the total on the web site said the total was $550. Then I was told there are other "fees" that the gift certificate wouldn't cover. Then they said no, the total being taken from the gift certificate was $360 and I would have to pay the rest from a credit card. When I asked about the remaining $140, they indicated that the left over funds would "go away" I asked if I could use them for a future booking and was told no.

Desired Settlement: I want the company to refund the $140 owed to me.

Business Response:

I have attached a copy of the certificate for review.  The certificate provides $500 toward a 2-night stay at select properties and it provides links to the properties that are allowed. The certificate also states that cleaning fee, reservation fee, damage waiver and taxes are not included in certificate value.  The certificate has no cash value it is only good toward a 2-night stay.  The value of the certificate has been used and we are not able to provide additional value.

 

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

 

6/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I booked a stay at one of their properties back in Feb. 2015. I had to cancel my vacation on May 22, 2015 due to personal reasons and they issued me a refund for $100 to be credited back to the bank card used for the down payment. As of today, June 9, 2015, still no refund. I have contacted them by email and phone, and now they are ignoring me all together. All I want is my $100 refund.

Desired Settlement: I want my $100 refund now. I need it to help pay for my dad's cremation.

Business Response: $100 refund was issued to the card on 6/8/2015.  I have attached the refund receipt.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ******

9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The website for ************************** property lists wifi and a washer in the amenities list. We arrived at the home on Wednesday, August 13th. The wifi didn't work. We called immediately and left our number for a call back as it was after 6pm. Our call was not returned. I called back again on the 14th and was promised that someone would look into the wifi issue - my call was never returned. Of my 8 calls - 5 were never returned. I was told that wifi was not guaranteed. And, to be fair, buried on page 2 of my confirmation letter it stated that wifi could not be guaranteed. Wifi NEVER worked during our 4 day stay and I rented the home because I work remotely and needed to work. I missed two days of work. They mentioned several times that the wifi is sketchy. This should be noted upfront in there website. If it had been I would've never rented the home. The second issue with the house was the washer NEVER worked. They did call a repair man, but he could not fix the issue and they let me know that the technician was out of town. They also let me know that a washer is considered an amenity and thus, not guaranteed. The work around was for them to bring us towels. Each day we had to call for the towels and they arrived after 11am each day. I left this "vacation home" with piles of dirty clothes. Not to mention we all had to wait to shower each day due to lack of clean towels. We had to use paper towels to dry the dishes, etc. During this ongoing ordeal, I was alternately met with politeness or rudeness. At one point in time I was asked why I didn't just leave the home if it was so bad. I said because I had already paid for it and I didn't want to pay for a place to stay twice! I was told I'd get my money back. I asked where this was stated and the reply was in their corporate policies....so it isn't stated anywhere a customer could find it, if at all. I was offered $50 for my inconvenience with the lack of wifi and nothing but lots of apologies for the washer not working. I never asked for monetary compensation, nor was I seeking an amount. I would have liked some courtesy, timely responses, towels at the home and not having to call each day and for a technician to fix the washer...it wasn't my problem that he was out of town. This complaint is NOT about the money - it is about the unfair advertising - they quoted no less than a dozen times that the amenities (refri, microwave, washer/dryer, wifi..) were NOT guaranteed and they adhered to that policy by not fixing the washer and wifi. This policy, which I experienced first hand, should be stated up front on their website. This is important information - very few people, if any would be willing to rent a home (we paid $1,800 for 4 days)if the refrig, stove, washer/dryer, etc were not guaranteed.

Desired Settlement: As I stated above this was never about the money, this was about the advertising and poor, poor customer service. I'd like them to list all of the amenities that they quoted to me as NOT GUARANTEED to be stated upfront on their website and any marketing materials. They were okay using that as an excuse with me and should be okay stating it publicly.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/30) */ Below is the information from our agreement regarding internet service & appliances. This information is provided to all of our guest in writing when the deposit is made, when final payment is made and when the welcome letter is sent. (11). INTERNET SERVICE has been installed by the owner in some of our homes and no additional charges are billed to guests who use this service. We cannot guarantee that the internet will be operating properly during guest stays; refunds and/or service calls are not offered should access or connections not be functioning. (20). ********************** makes no guarantee regarding hot tubs, Internet, or appliances. We will make reasonable effort to repair during your stay within normal business hours. We have the above policies because the Oregon Coast is rural and it is not possible to immediately fix things when they break. In addition, power, cable, internet & phone service are less reliable at the Oregon Coast than what is typical in the Portland metro area. During ****'s stay the internet provider was contacted and they did a test of the service and assured us that it was working properly. During ****'s stay we delivered extra towels since the washer was broken. I have reviewed the 21 calls to and from **** and I'm happy with the customer service that was provided to her. We did everything within our power to make her stay as good as possible. **** wants a full refund for her stay and we have offered her a $50 refund. We offered a refund for the balance of her stay if she wanted to depart early however she declined to depart early which means that she must have found value in the property. After reviewing this issue in full and given the amount of time, energy and effort we have put into this guest I find an offer of a $50 refund to be generous. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Items number 11 and 20 that are shown in the response are accurate. What is missing is the fact that a reasonable consumer assumes that a stove, oven, refrigerator or washer would indeed be guaranteed. What kind of vacation home would it be if the refrigerator didn't work? Well, if you were staying at this home you'd be out of luck because they would bring you a cooler to keep your food cold. Just as they brought us towels when the washer didn't work. They seem to forget that people who stay at a home that 'sleeps fourteen' most likely will have laundry and need a washer not just towels. What this company needs to do is state this upfront and not buried in the fine print. The response indicates 21 calls - the reason for 21 calls was - they never called back unless I reminded them that we needed towels or to see if they could get the internet working. Why would someone call 21 times unless there were issues. Towels were delivered on two of the days - one day around 3:30pm and the next day around 11:30am. Both times I needed to call and ask for the towels. We had to wait each day to take a shower. This is hardly "making my stay as good as possible". The comment "**** wants a full refund for her stay and we have offered her a $50 refund" is an out and out lie. I NEVER asked for a full refund. In fact, I never asked for the $50 refund. Additionally, the response states "We offered a refund for the balance of her stay if she wanted to depart early however she declined to depart early which means that she must have found value in the property." This NEVER happened during our stay!!! This comment was made to me when I was back in Portland and talking to one of the customer service representatives on the phone. My response to the after the fact offer was "Where was this information stated?" and the reply was in "..their corporate policies....". In fact, the website states the following: "********************** Terms And Conditions: Cancellations made 30 or more days prior to the arrival date will receive a full refund less a $50.00 cancellation fee. If you cancel your reservation 0-29 days prior to your arrival, there will be no refund issued." Once again this isn't about the money. I still don't want their offer of $50. This is just wrong. I would hate for another family to go through what we did....spending almost $2k to be ignored, lied to, pushed off and spend your vacation waiting to take a shower, drying dishes with paper towels and getting to come home with piles of dirty clothes. Their fine print is just a legal way to charge for a poor product with no ramifications. As of right now, the worse part about this experience are the two blatant lies about me asking for a full refund and the offer to refund the balance if we wanted to depart. However, this response shouldn't surprise me. It is clear how they conduct their business. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/09/11) */ Thousands of customers use ********************** each year to visit the Oregon coast. ********************** is not able to guarantee that nothing will break during your stay. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/09/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The issue is NOT about guaranteeing that nothing will break during a customers stay. The issue is how a company responds to something breaking. It their response or lack there of, that I have a problem with. ********************** uses the line in their t's and c's "appliances cannot be guaranteed" as an excuse to not fix problems. This one line covers the washer, dryer, stove, microwave, refrigerator and hot tub. My family's experience is an example of how they don't need to fix a problem. I was told numerous times that they didn't guarantee appliances. I understand the need for t's and c's, what I don't understand is that a customer has no way of knowing how reputable this business is or what kind of product they are paying for. In fact, ********************** has a tab for guest comments,which leads the customer to believe that they are getting valuable feedback to help make a purchase decision. However, what they are getting is a biased view of the product. It appears that they only post favorable comments. My comments about our stay were never posted. If they are so sure that their service is good then they'd have no reason to pick and choose what was posted. Basically, I don't like that this company can hide behind a few lines in the t's and c's. This is a one sided agreement and anyone entering into it would only find out how lopsided it is after there was problem and the company had all of their money. And, thus no leverage to get something fixed. This website should have a "Buyer Beware" warning and I thought that was one of the objectives of the Better Business Bureau.

3/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I booked a home through this company in September of 2013. 3 day later I had to cancel. I was told that my refund was not possible, that I could rebook within 1 year for an extra $50 dollars. I had already paid a $150.00 downpayment. My trip was more than 45 days out, so I asked for a full refund and was denied.

Desired Settlement: A full refund. They had plenty of time to rebook this home and I only had my reservation for 3 days. Is it not a law that companies must refund downpayments when ample notice of cancellation is given?

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********, President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@travelpdx.com ****** ******* filed a charge back with her credit card company which cost us money to dispute along with a charge back fee. Our refund policy was given to her via phone prior to booking and in writing after the booking. In addition, we offered travel insurance to protect her investment. OBV is not going to refund her deposit. ****** has a $150.00 credit on file with Oregon Beach Vacations that is good for one year from the date of the original reservation.

3/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went through their website and rented what was advertised to be an upscale beach home in Lincoln City. The pictures portrayed this as a beautifully furnished home. When we arrived we started to realize feature after feature was unusable. So many things to list: Fireplaces unusable, garbage disposal not working, pipes clogged and we had to purchase liquid plumber, no cord for the electric skillet, WI-FI not working, remotes for the TV in the main living room did not match the units, oven looked like it had been sprayed with cleaner but not washed out, carpets stained in every room, the mattress in the master bedroom smelled like urine, there was not enough blankets to use on the various beds and futons, as well as other miscellaneous inconveniences. For the $1400 dollars that I was charged for four nights (which was a discounted price) I am incredibly disappointed in the amenities that were described on the website for "deer haven". I did post a comment on the page for deer haven and it was deleted. It was an honest assessment of what was found but they apparently were not pleased with the truthful critique.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Not expecting anything since they have not even had to professionalism to respond to my posts. It would be nice if they offered some compensation since they did misrepresent the property. My sister wrote an email to them and there only response was that they hoped we would rent from them again, perhaps another property. NO apology or even a hint of one.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/01/19) */ I find no record of complaints or a request for maintenance or repairs while a guest at the property. If the guest had called to complain we would have either fixed the problem(s), moved the guest to an alternative property or offered a full refund if the guest wanted to leave. To utilize the property and then ask for an additional discount on top of the discount that was already provide is not reasonable. If you did in fact called to request maintenance or repairs while in residence as required by our terms and conditions please provide me with the phone number that you called from. If you provide that information I will review to determine if the proper policies were followed as provide to you in our terms and conditions. Given the current information available I an not able to provide an additional discount to you. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2014/01/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First and foremost I never asked for additional discount. I have copies of all of my emails and my sister sent an email to the business as well regarding the state of the property. According to the "contract" that was not emailed to me until the day before our trip (still have the email for time verification if needed) any repair that we called for would be an additional charge. Plus, it was a holiday weekend. So, I doubt there would have been anything repaired and I am sure the fee would have been even greater. I distinctly got the feeling that they knew that the wi-fi and the fireplaces were not working because of the wording of the response. We decided that although it was an inconvenience to us we would enjoy the weekend in the face of false advertising. I have not asked for anything. I was just very disappointed that even with the "free night" this was a over priced property especially when you consider the conditions and the amenities that were not in place or not working. I think if you looked at the pictures on the website and did a tour for yourself you would see why I am so disappointed. Look at the picture of the master bedroom... there was a nice headboard on the bed... not there. It was as if they staged the property and then took stuff away. This is the first time I have complained to the BBB. I guess the "buyer beware" statement fits here. You can't believe advertising and it is so easy for corporations to lie and mislead the public. I guess all I can say is that I will be using a different angency in the future with the hopes of a more truthful and accurate outcome. By the way... go to www.********************.com and read the comments they made on my review of the "Deer Haven" property. Thanks

12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We rented a condo from OBV. The condo had a soiled bed. Upon asking for a refund - the manager insisted that we had been responsible for the bed being soiled. Her tact and inference was extremely insulting.

Desired Settlement: Refund!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 20, 2013/12/03) */ This guest called at 9:31 pm on evening of arrival to report a urine soaked bed. The on call manager checked with the housekeeper as well as the housekeeping supervisor. Both reported that the urine was not on the bed when they left the property. In addition, the prior guest in this property did not have children. The ****** party had an infant and two toddlers in the family and we have to conclude that the pee was caused by one of them. The urine soaked through the comforter, sheets, mattress pad and onto a foam topper, but did not go into the mattress itself. When the guest called to complain about the urine we immediately dispatched housekeeping to take care of the situation. We also offered to move the guest and they refused to move. This guest utilized the property and caused us the expense of dealing with this urine problem. No refund is due as they utilized the property. Problems or questions please let me know. Thanks, ***** ******* *****@oregonbeachvacations.com XXX-XXX-XXXX


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on River City Group, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart