Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales of new Ford trucks and all makes of used cars and trucks. In addition, this company offers parts, service, paint, fabrication, and body upfitting services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Northside Ford Truck Sales Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Northside Ford Truck Sales Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Northside Ford Truck Sales Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 21, 2004 Business started: 08/01/1971 in OR Business started locally: 08/01/1992 Business incorporated 08/07/1992 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim McDonough, President Mr. Adam J McDonough, Operations Manager Ms. Terri Schreiber, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim McDonough, President
Business Category

Truck Dealers Truck Equipment & Parts Auto Repair & Service Truck Repair & Service Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Products & Services

Northside Ford Truck Sales Inc sells the following brand(s): Ford, ProParts


Additional Locations

  • 6221 NE Columbia Blvd

    Portland, OR 97218 (503) 282-7777 (503) 282-7773

  • 6309 NE Columbia Blvd

    Portland, OR 97218

  • PO Box 55010

    Portland, OR 97238 (800) 622-6670

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/12/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Northside Ford has several vehicles advertised at prices that are several thousand dollars less than when you actually visit the dealership. I went in to purchase a vehicle priced at 34,000 and was told that the car is in fact 37,000 and there is nothing they would do about it. They are also using bait and switch tactics. The vehicle I was shown was a 2016 and had damage done to the rear bumper. I asked if they would fix it and they said they would only sell me a car that was 3,000 more but the same vehicle. The salesman and manager also state that the whole inventory is wrong online and the cars are all priced wrong. Seriously that is what they said! They are using bait and switch tactics and lying about prices to get clients into the dealership and then telling them the cars are thousands more than advertised online.

Desired Settlement: Stop lying to customers.

Business Response:

I called and left a voice message for Mr. *******.  I introduced myself, asked him to call me back, and that I take this very seriously.  Mr. ******* has not returned my call at the time of my response to BBB.  I have attached several documents for review.  First off I take this complaint very seriously.  Reading the compliant it states Northside Ford has several vehicles advertised at prices that are several thousand dollars less than when you actually visit the dealership.  We have reviewed all inventory pricing and the vehicle in question was the one and only vehicle that had incorrect pricing.  We absolutely do not use bait and switch tactics.  However, we are human and a mistake was made.  That is why disclaimers are made on each posted vehicle. 

To address the next part of the complaint about the salesman and manager also state that the whole inventory is wrong online and the cars are all priced wrong. Seriously that is what they said!  My salesperson was being upfront and honest with Mr. ******* with the knowledge he had at the time.  We in fact had an issue two weeks back with our third party provider when all inventory pricing was changed.  This error was caused overnight during a data exchange (which takes place every night) We discovered the issue, informed our third party provider, and they made corrections.  However, one vehicle was missed by my internet person.  We do not lie about prices to get clients into the dealership.  My business would be short lived if we treated customers this way.

The attached documents show we offered the vehicle in question to Mr. ******* at my cost once we discovered the pricing error. 

It is my hope that Mr. ******* will kindly return my call so I can talk to him personally.  It is my hope that he understands we made a human error and I will take responsibility for this.  Please don't trash me, my business, and my reputation.  If Mr. ******* is still interested in this vehicle, I will make good on the price.... 

Sincerely, Jim M******** President

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Northside Ford Truck Sales Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)