Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

R & R Tree Service

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 540-9038 Fax: (503) 540-9039 View Additional Phone Numbers 1710 Commercial St NE, Salem, OR 97301 http://www.rrtreeservice.com

! BBB Business Review on R & R Tree Service is being Updated by BBB !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers tree and hedge trimming and removal, stump grinding, brush chipping, fruit tree pruning and fence repair.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.




Additional Locations

  • 1710 Commercial St NE

    Salem, OR 97301 (503) 540-9038

  • 3310 S 250th Pl

    Kent, WA 98032 (206) 883-3856 (206) 504-8890 (206) 779-5405

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The owner, Richard, knocked on our door in the middle of the day indicating he was doing work at our neighbors and offered to look at our trees and take down the dead branches on several of our large trees. We agreed on $450 which included removal. We thought something was way off when his "crew" didn't use any ropes to secure the branches and almost fell off of our roof trying to catch the branches the other guy was cutting. They let them hit the roof and damage shrubs below. They left and didn't return to remove the branches/brush. We happened to be driving back to our house the next day and noticed their car. My husband stopped and spoke with Richard asking why they didn't return. He made up on excuse that he thought he told us this day. In the meantime, I was speaking with his wife who claimed to have lost the phone so that's why our calls weren't returned. My husband asked where his truck was and he said it was at the dump getting unloaded. He then said he'd stop by after he was done with that job.....they never came. Too bad we didn't read the other reviews before agreeing to his service. Now we have a botched job (many large branches cut half way back instead of all the way off and several dead ones still hanging in the trees) to fix and several dump runs to pay for.

Desired Settlement: We don't trust them or their work so the idea of them coming back is unsettling. It would be nice to have them at least remove the material and take it away.

10/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired A & R Tree Service on 8-11-15 to cut down 8 lg evergreen trees in my backyard. I paid $1400 of $1800 invoice. He said it had to be cash. While cutting the branches of the trees off, instead of tying ropes around the larger branches & lowering them down, the workers just threw the branches down anywhere. They landed on my deck, making holes in my deck. Rick P****** said he would come back & repair my deck. He never repaired my deck. The workers threw branches onto my old growth hydrangea & rhododendron's, completely crushing these large bushes under 5' of branches & logs. The workers threw logs up against my fence & now my fence has been dislodged & is falling over. The lattice around my deck has been dislodged & was pushed under my deck. These are all things I pointed out to Mr. P****** & he said he would take care of it ... "when he returned." He CUT DOWN 3 plum trees that I did not ask him too! I hate my backyard now. Then work I asked him to do, trim back my holly tree from the shed & branches from a tree in my front yard off my roof, he didn't do. He LEFT ALL THE CUT TREES, AND THESE WERE LARGE EVERGREENS, STANDING AS HIGH OR SLIGHTLY HIGHER THAN TELEPHONE POLES, (I'm not a good judge of feet and yards when it comes to trees) SO MY BACK YARD IS FULL OF BRANCHES & LOGS. If I could attach pictures of my back yard I would. They said they would be back to chip all the branches the following weekend & I was to pay the rem. bal. of $400. for that. This was over 6 WEEKS ago. I would call & text Sabrina P******, Rick's wife, & she would call & say, "It was my kids birthday so they can't come." They used that excuse 2x. Then they couldn't do the work because their daughter broke up with her boyfriend. I wish I would have logged onto BBB BEFORE I PAID them in CASH. They cut the tree's down, then left me with the biggest mess I've ever seen. They wanted more money then the invoice quoted to finish the job. That, my friends, is a SCAM.

Desired Settlement: I want them to chip the branches for the price they quoted on their invoice. I want them to fix all the holes they made in my deck and fix the lattice I had around the bottom of my deck. I want the holly tree trimmed from the shed and the front yard tree trimmed back from my roof, like I asked when I first hired A & R Tree Service. I want them to shore up my fence so it will not fall over. Right now my neighbor has propped my fence up. I actually don't want them cutting any more trees or branches. They'll not clean up their mess. I do want them to finish the job they started and chip the branches for the agreed upon amount. If they are allowed to stay in business, they need to take a couple college courses on Customer Service and Managerial Skills. If this is their m.o., what they are doing is a SCAM. Starting a job, getting paid, then never coming back to finish is a scam.

9/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A & R Tree services came door to our door and suggested some branches needed to come off a few of our trees. They did cut some branches and a few small trees. I made a mistake and paid them. They said they would return to clean up their mess and to cut the trunks into manageable sizes the next day. That was a month ago. They claim to have had a truck break down. It is now fixed because they did come and pick up SOME of the mess. They keep promising to return and they give me a time they will be here. I have stayed home many a day waiting for their arrival and they didn't come. The one time I was gone they did come and got some of the branches but didn't cut up the logs as they promised. I am still staying home waiting for them to finish. They were to be here at 11 today and it is now one. Their message box is full and I cannot leave a message. We, being trusting persons, paid the bill in full expecting service. Dumb mistake.

Desired Settlement: I would like the branches to be removed and the long logs cut into manageable sizes. We are older and do not have a chain saw to do this ourselves.

9/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A&R tree service came to me an with offer to do a service (cutting down 8 trees), after agreeing on a price, they started work and cut down only 5 trees citing they would return within two days to finish. The owner asked for a deposit in order to pay his employees, I paid 80% with a check, which was cashed that evening. As they left a 30 foot ladder and some rope on the job I felt that they would return. After contacting them on the expected day and then the second day, they had the excuse of we have another job going longer than expected, and now we have truck trouble, etc. More attempts to contact them resulted in voicemail only. At the time of this complaint, it has been 11 days since the original contact.

3/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* ******* OWNER OF A & R TREE SERVICES WAS GOING TO CUT DOWN A TREE IN MY BACKYARD AND LEAVE THE TREE TRUNK IN 18 INCH ROUNDS STACKED NEATLY IN MY YARD AND ALL OF THE BRANCHES WERE TO BE STACKED IN THE CORNER OF THE YARD FOR A FEE OF 1200.00 DOLLARD CASH ONLY NO CHECKS. HE DID COME ON SATURDAY AND CUTTHE TREE BUT DID NOT FINISHING CUTTING THE TREE ALL THE WAY TO THE GROUND OR STACK THE BRANCHES IN A PILE IN THE CORNER OF THE YARD OR CUT THE TRUNK IN 18 INCH ROUNDS AND STACK THEM IN A NEAT PILE SO HE SAID WE COULD SETTLE UP AND HE WOULD BE BACK ON SUNDAY THE 21TH TO FINISH HE JOB. I PAID HIM 800.00 DOLLARS AND SAID I WOULD PAYTHEREST WHEN THE JOB WAS DONE ON SUNDAY. I DID NOT HER FROM ******* AGAIN UNTIL TUESDAY MORNING WHEN HE CAME BANGING ON MY DOOR LOOKING FOR THE REST OF THE MONEY. I TOLD HIM HE DID NOT COMPLETE THE JOB SO I WAS NOT GOING TO PAY HIM THE REST OF THE MONEY. HE GOT VERY NASTY AND STARTED CALLING ME ALL KINDS OF NAMES AND SAID HE WAS GOING TO PUT A LEAN ON MY HOUSE, I TOLD HIM THAT WAS FINE BUT HE DID NOT DO WHAT HE SAID HE WAS GOING TO DO. I WAS VERY NERVOUS AND I CALLED THE POLICE BECAUSE I DID NOT LIKE HIS ACTIONS. I AM A 56 YEAR OLD WOMEN WHO LIVES WITH MY 82 YEAR OLD MOTHER AND I NEED TO FEEL SAFE IN MY OWN HOME. I HAD TO GET IN MY BACK YARD ON SUNDAY AND FINISH THE WORK THAT ******* ******* AND HIS COMPANY A & R TREE SERVICES SAID THEY WERE GOING TO DO. I OWN TWO GOLDEN RETRIEVERS AND I NEED A SAFE PLACE FOR THEM IN MY YARD AND HOW THEY LEFT MY YARD IT WAS NOT SAFE.ABOUT ONE HOUR LATER HIS WIFE KNOCKS ON MY DOOR I INFORMED HER I DID CALL THE POLICE ON HER HUSBAND AND THAT IF HE CAME ON MY PROPERTY HE WOULD BE ARRESTED. HE LIED AND TOLD ME THEY WER FINIDHON SAT AND MY BROTHER SIGNED OFF ON THE WORK. THEN SHE SAID THAT THEY CAME BYTHREE TIMES ON SUNDAY TO FINISH THE JOB UTIFTHE WERE FINISH ON SAT WHYWOULD THEY COME BY ON SUNDAY AND IMINFORMED HER IWAS HOME ALL DAY SUNDAY BECAUSE IHAD TO CLLEAN UP THEIR WORK THAT THEY DID NOT DO. Product_Or_Service: CUTTING DOWN A TREE

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I FEEL THAT I PAID HIM ENOUGH MONEY FOR THE WORK THAT HE DID DO AND I WILL NOT BE PAYING HIM ANY MORE I DO NOT WANT THAT MAN OR HIS COMPANY ON MY PROPERTY AGAIN

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My sister ****** contracted with R&R Tree Service to have them cut down some trees and remove branches from some trees at our family's house in Burien. They also contracted with the house across the street and after cutting down the trees from the neighbors they put those branches in our yard also. They promised to come back after the wood dry and bring a wood chipper to dispose of the HUGE pile of branches. We haven't seen nor heard from them even after leaving them a message at the number listed on the card they left as a receipt. This wood pile is a fire danger and my sister is on disability due to a stroke and a seizure disorder and is on a fixed income. Any help you can provide with this issue would be greatly appreciated.

Desired Settlement: We need them to come back and finish the job they were contracted to do.

5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mar 23, 2013 ******* ******** bidding agent for A&R Tree contacted me offering to cut down a 75 ft Alder in my front yard. he also looked over my back yard and included the top 25 ft of a Maple and cut down 2 other smaller trees, pile the branches for his removal for $720. After confirming via internet that he was licensed I agreed to the deal. They topped the Maple and cut down the 2 trees in back and then started on the Alder. They cut approximately 1/2 of the branches with the remainder to bee done the following day. However, due to his inability to make payroll the prev. Friday, I was talked in to paying for the whole job Sunday, as he also had to get a replacement chain which was beyond resharpening. They showed up late Monday afternoon and removed most of the remaining branches except the top 5 or so and said he had to get a larger saw for the lower part. Over the next 10 days excuses were made including his climber was ordered bed rest by his Dr for a Week for back strain, vehicle problems including a key broken in ignition switch. Tuesday Apr. 1 after being reminded it has already 10 days, they finally arrived late in the afternoon and topped the tree down to approx. 20 ft again saying they needed a larger saw for the remainder. In the meantime I hired another firm to remove and chop all the branches in 4 hrs for $280. Repeated calls were ignored until Fri Apr 4 when his wife promised they would finish April 5 or 6. On 5/5 at 1235 neither vehicle was at the house.On Sunday the 6th I drove by their house at 0630 and no vehicles were home. On 4/7 their car and another were in the driveway at 1100. Still no appearance at the job. At 1300 I called the other firm and they will finish the job today or tomorrow. Product_Or_Service: Tree removal and cleanup

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I recommend that this firm be black listed & recommended that no one use their services. Partial refund of at least half of what replacement firm was paid (i.e. $140) A written apology for delays and no more excuses. Though, as a retired police officer (which they were aware)I should have known better than to pay all at end of first day, I was pleased at the time of the initial progress and the ultimate cost of whole job if it had been completed. I had just gotten out of hospital 2 days prior.

3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We allowed their crew access to our yard in order to better reach a tree they were removing for our neighbor. They assured us that we would never know they had been there but in the process of removing the tree they damaged a small fruit tree in our yard. We called and asked if they could replace the tree and were assured that someone would come out to see it and then call us back. 2 weeks later we called again and were told that the entire staff had been out with the flu and, again, that someone would come out and have a look. We went over this again and again for over 2 months but they never came out or called us back. We should have never allowed them access to our property, they are not running an honest business.

Desired Settlement: We'd like to get the fruit tree replaced. It's a small thing - so small that it seems ridiculous for them to not to just take care of it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/02/18) */ We very much appreciate that you allowed our company access to your yard so that we could work on your neighbor's tree. A fruit tree was purchased and delivered to your home. Our staff left it on or near your front porch. Either our staff delivered to the wrong address or it disappeared. I was on the phone with them when they delivered it because they wanted to know if they should plant it too and I told them no, just leave it near the porch. Please remind me again the type of fruit tree and we will purchase and deliver another one to you.


Customer Review(s)