Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

PnD Logging & Tree Service

Phone: (425) 432-7636 Fax: (425) 413-7991 View Additional Phone Numbers 20311 SE 240th St, Maple Valley, WA 98038 http://www.panddtreeservice.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers tree topping, removal, trimming, stump grinding and timber value recovery. This company also sells firewood.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that PnD Logging & Tree Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for PnD Logging & Tree Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on PnD Logging & Tree Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1999 Business started: 01/25/1993 in WA Business started locally: 01/25/1993 Business incorporated 01/25/1993 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chris Powell, President/Secretary/Chair/Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Powell, President/Secretary/Chair/Treasurer
Business Category

Tree Service Logging Companies Firewood Logging (NAICS: 113310)

Service Area
This company serves all of Western WA.
Alternate Business Names
Combined Cutting Contractors Inc P and D Logging and Tree Service PnD Logging and Tree Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

PnD Logging & Tree Service has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 20311 SE 240th St

    Maple Valley, WA 98038 (425) 432-7636 (877) 766-4882

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with P&D to remove some trees and grind the remaining stumps down to 6" below grade. The work was done in November of 2012. This past week during a landscaping of our front yard the crew pulled back thick ivy and found the remains of the largest stump. The two other large stumps in the ivy were fully removed so it's a mystery why this one was left unfinished. Large sections had been left intact. The center had been ground but a lot of the perimeter had been left where it was covered by wood chips and ivy. One remaining section was nearly 12" above grade. I contacted P&D via phone but they had left for the evening. That night I emailed pictures and asked for help as the landscaping crew was to return to finish the job the following day. I called the next morning at 7am and spoke to Kelly. She offered to have the stump ground a few days later as their people were already committed for the day. I said I appreciated the offer but it wouldn't work as I was in the same predicament with the landscaping crew committed to finishing the job that day. It had taken several weeks to get this crew here and it would not work to push it out. I understand both J&D and I were in the same boat with scheduling issues but the bottom line is it was a problem they were responsible for. They were paid in good faith for work it turned out was not completed per the agreement. I had to rent a stump grinder. I requested a refund for the cost of the rental. They've been supplied a copy of the original agreement, the rental receipt, and photos of the yard before and after the hidden stump remains were discovered. It's taken a few emails and calls to get an answer but it came when I called today. There will be no refund of the rental fee. From my perspective P&D was paid for work not completed per agreement and could not offer a workable resolution to the issue in the time required. In turn I incurred additional costs that I feel they should cover.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the $268.27 cost of the stump grinder rental I had to get so the landscaping crew could complete their work.

Business Response: After receiving the complaint from Mr. *******, I Chris P***** the owner of P & D Tree Service called and spoke with Mr. ******* and I am more then happy to pay for the services he had to have done to complete the project he was working on. We would have been more then happy to have a employee go back to the property and grind the stump for him but I could not accommodate the same day request he was asking me to provide. I feel this complaint has since been resolved. 

9/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 24th 2014, Combined Cutting Contractors Inc cut one of my tree on my neighbor's behalf and without my consent. They were mislead by the neighbor that the tree was on his property in spite of a 6 feet fence, a locked gate and a sign saying "Beware of the Dog" and they cut the tree over the fence at 6 feet above ground, leaving the trunk below to die. This is an unacceptable way of cutting a tree. I submitted an insurance claim, but they deny any wrong doing. No self-respecting Arborist will ever cut a tree that way.

Desired Settlement: I want them to accept their responsibility and pay the claim/have their insurance pay the claim. Any refusal will be considered as irresponsible from their part and I will have to go to a civil court for getting compensation and get their license revoked.

Business Response: We here at Combined Cutting Contractors take all of our customers into consideration when we arrive on a job site. We meet with our client and did a walk thru of his job before we started doing any work. The homeowner was present the whole time directing our crew on where to cut the tree in question at. There are some issues with the compliant and there are some descriptencies between the two landowners and were the property bounderies are at. The vice president of our company tried to talk with Mr. ************ but he was not very understanding. All he wanted to do was threaten his Lawyer. When we talked with Mr. ************ we advised him that the best way to get this resolved would be to have a land survey done to determine the properties bounderies. At that time we would be more then happy to go back to the properties and meet with both parties involved to come to some kind of resolution to this situation.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The property boundary is the fence and I don't see what there is to argue about that. The presence of a fence and a lock door clearly signify that the property is not open to the public and that includes the persons who cut the tree. The neighbor have the right to cut branches but no right to cut the tree.
The neighbor can argue the property line, but until this is resolved the fence is still the legal property line. Passing over the fence is tresspassing, no matter how you look at it.

Business Response: While on the property of the neighbor and removing this tree in question we do not feel that we were trespassing due to the tree leaning on the fence and pushing the fence onto the neighbors property. We cut the tree back to the fence line and never went onto the homeowners property. As we stated previously we have tried to talk with Mr. ************ to resolve this matter with out any further delays but he does not seem like he wants this situation to be resolved. We do not feel that we were in the wrong in regards to the work we performed. If Mr. ************ would like to provide us with some suggestions on how to address this situation and get this resolved we would be more then happy to consider them however we do not feel we are responsible.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I might sound as a broken record, but when there are a 6 feet fence and a close gate, it is the clear indication of a private property. If the tree was leaning over the fence, the neighbor has the right to cut the branches that are encroching over the fence, but not the entire tree. The trunk of the tree in question was a good feet wide and entirely on my property. I have pictures to prove it. If you want to make it a legal issue, lets do it. But all I want is somebody to pay for (illegally) cutting a magnificent 40 feet tall Birch tree without my conscent.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on PnD Logging & Tree Service
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart