Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Keiser Enterprises LLC

Phone: (253) 249-8977 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 3323, Lacey, WA 98509 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company is a General Contractor that offers services for commercial, private and insurance customers. This company specializes in all aspects of urban logging. Excavation and Hauling services: materials (dirt, rock, etc,), road building, lot clearing, etc. Residential Construction: remodels, additions, and new construction and commercial Construction: casework, mill work, scientific labs, metal lockers.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Keiser Enterprises LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Keiser Enterprises LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 25, 2010 Business started: 02/01/2009 in WA Business started locally: 02/17/2009 Business incorporated 07/28/2011 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Justin Matney, Owner Mrs. Connie E Matney, Co-owner/Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Connie E Matney, Co-owner/Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Justin Matney, Owner
Business Category

Tree Service Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Concrete Contractors Contractors - General Contractor - Remodel & Repair Drywall Contractors Excavating Contractors Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Patio & Deck Builders Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors Stump Removal & Grinding Stump Grinding Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Credit Cards, Insurance paid Checks.
Products & Services

Complete Tree Service
Excavation and Hauling Services
All Construction Services

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 3323

    Lacey, WA 98509 (253) 249-8977


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired this firm to remodel a garage. I paid them $18,000 to begin the job. I hired them to remodel a bathroom at the same time. I fired them in October 2013 due to non-code work and attitude and language problems on the job site. *** ****** refuses to produce an accounting of what he did while working for me or what it cost. It has been 5 months since I fired this firm, and they refuse to communicate, and still refuse to produce an accounting.

Desired Settlement: Based on the 2 job estimates and the work actually done and the amount I paid them, I estimate they owe me $9,000. I would like my $9,000 back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/04/09) */ The WA ATG has investigated this false complaint and closed the case after I sent the attorney general formal documents and invoices of the entire job and completed work. Thurston County Forensic inspector ***** ********* was the active inspector on this job site and passed all the work that was completed. **** **** refuses to recognize the additional work that was not in the original contract,which cost thousands of dollars. Excavation, property line clearing to establish proper building set backs, and a wetland set back that was changed since the original garage was built in 1984 (without a permit by others). I had to get permits for the original build plus a remodel permit. ** put this project on hold for four months after a few months into this project. **** **** asked me to remodel a bathroom in the house that her daughter was living in while we waited on ** and the permit process for the garage remodel.They all got impatient and blamed me for my vendors and subs delaying this bathroom remodel(in their minds), which was a complete gutting and custom rebuild. I will have my ******************** and ********** forward the invoices for this job. The same invoices that I sent the Attorney General, who closed this case, finding no wrong doing. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/04/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No, this business has not satisfactorily resolved my complaint. IF Mr. ****** has invoices proving costs related to this job, he could easily have sent me copies any time within the last SIX months. He has not. I terminated his contract on October 20, 2013. Mr. ****** claims he sent "invoices for the entire job and completed work" to the AG. Said invoices are not mentioned in the AG's response to me, nor were said invoices sent to me. (Nor are they mentioned by Mr. ****** in his response to the AG) My original request to Mr. ******, in October 2013, was for an accounting and a return of undisbursed funds. I have received neither. Since I have received NO invoices and NO accounting, therefore NO proof of any expenses for my projects, I have generously estimated what Mr. ****** might have earned based on his original estimates for both the garage and the bathroom remodels. Mr. ****** claims he "had to get permits for the original build plus a remodel permit" for the garage project. Again, I have seen NO permits, NO permit applications, NO receipts for fees paid to the permit office. Mr. ****** could easily produce copies of any invoices and permit applications, but again, he has not. The bathroom job was estimated at 2000.00 for labor. Since Mr. ****** did, at most, only half the job, I have estimated he earned, at most, one half of that amount. Again, he has produced NO invoice to prove he ever hired a plumbing contractor, so I have no idea who did the rough-in plumbing, but my new plumber notes that the rough-in for the lavatory must be redone. (Legitimately, I believe Mr. ****** should pay to redo that work, but I have not asked that he do so.) ***** ****** ********* whom we have hired to complete the bathroom project, notes the following: **PED LAV ROUGH IN IS LOW & GRADING THE WRONG DIRECTION WHICH WILL CAUSE DRAINAGE ISSUES** *** ****** claims that Thurston County Forensic inspector ***** ********* was the active inspector on this job site and passed *** the work that was completed. However, to quote *** ********** QUOTE "Although I did inspect the work present at the time I was there, I did not 'approve' anything. The work was in progress, and quite a bit was yet to be done before official approval could be made. I could not, and cannot, officially approve work in progress until there is a building permit for the project. I can, and did, advise the builder that I saw no obvious non­conforming work at that point, however that was verbal only. The concrete foundation addition will have to be investigated with a magnometer or pacometer for presence and location of the required reinforcing steel. I would have done that when I did the framing inspection before insulation." ENDQUOTE ALSO NOTE: I paid *** ********* for his work producing a survey of the property boundaries and the wetlands. *** ****** did not. The AG did NOT close the case finding no wrongdoing. The AG closed the case simply because they received a response from *** ****** to my complaint. The AG informed me on February 13, 2014: QUOTE from the AG The Consumer Resource Center of the Attorney General's Office has received the enclosed response from Keiser Enterprises LLC regarding the consumer complaint you filed with our office. We realize you may not consider this response a satisfactory resolution to your complaint; however, the Consumer Resource Center does not have authority to impose resolution of the dispute on either party. Your complaint has been closed accordingly. We regret that we are unable to provide further assistance to you regarding this complaint. If you would like to pursue the matter further, you may wish to contact the Small Claims Court in your county, or a private attorney for legal advice. ENDQUOTE Mr. ******'s February 3, 2014 response to the AG As you can see, it is February. He was asked in October to produce an accounting. It is February, four months after he was asked for an accounting, and he implies that his accountant, his vendors, his sub-contractors, and Thurston County building department are somehow responsible for his inability to do so. Also noteworthy, he does not mention in his response to the complaint that he has or will produce invoices showing legitimate costs for any work done. QUOTE : Mr. ******'s response to the AG. I received your email. I am currently working with my accountant, vendors, sub contractors, and the Thurston County building department to resolve this issue. There are two additional projects to the original scope of work. One was a land clearing and property line establishment (required for the permits for property line offsets and wet land set backs), which was completed and the other was a bathroom remodel, which was 50% completed in the main house (non related to the original garage remodel). While waiting for the permit process of the garage remodel, the land clearing project was completed and the main house bathroom remodel was 50% completed, including work done by my plumbing sub contractor. Due to these people's impatience (stemmed from their lack of experience or knowledge of what really goes into a construction project referring the time, vendors, and subs involved), who live there, they expressed the wish to work with another contractor to their mother ********* ****. So here we are. I will easily resolve this issue in a short matter of time, as soon as I complete my project package of information. There is much more involved than the complaint refers to. Please instruct me is there is more that I should do to help your office in a timely manner. ENDQUOTE Mr. ****** was not fired because of my impatience. Mr. ****** was fired due to his disrespect, his use of foul language to me and on the job site, and his chronic complaints that he was simply overbooked and could not work on the project I hired him to do. Mr. ****** claims I have "no experience or knowledge of what goes into a construction project." While it is somewhat immaterial, I have worked successfully for 15 years with a professional contractor remodeling and maintaining a 112 year old house. I have never had to ask twice for a project accounting, I have never had to tolerate foul language on the jobsite or in communications to me from my contractor, and I have never had to tolerate chronic excuses that my contractor is overbooked and cannot possibly complete the project he was paid to do. MY ORIGINAL EMAIL TERMINATING MR. ******'S EMPLOYMENT: October 20, 2013 QUOTE ******: I have instructed ****** and ******* to interview other contractors to take over both jobs at the property on Steamboat Island. I am certain that you will quickly produce an accounting of all funds disbursed and work done thus far, along with a check returning all un-disbursed funds. My records show that I have paid you 18,000 dollars to date. We take issue with your use of language such as "***" and "****" and other expletives and aggressive language with me in emails and in person at ****** and ********** property. Your comment regarding "putting up with someone's attitude and ***** was extremely unprofessional and disrespectful. This is not behavior we expect from a professional contractor. Your constant complaint that you are overbooked also serves only to indicate that my job is not your priority and we will be better served by another contractor. I realize that you cannot control suppliers or shippers, but you can control your reaction to delays, and you can control your communications with your clients. I look forward to receiving a full, itemized accounting and a check for un-disbursed funds within ten days. ********* **** ENDQUOTE It has been six months since I asked Mr. ****** for an accounting of my project. He has failed to produce one. He has failed to justify keeping my 18,000.00 Per my reading of his pre-job cost estimates, on both the garage and bathroom remodels, and my generous understanding of what work he might be considered legitimately to have done, I estimate he owes me 9,000.00. Since he refuses to produce any kind of accounting, I fail to see how he can pretend otherwise. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/06/02) */ Attached are enough documents to prove my case as no wrong doing, just as the WA Attorney General judged by, and closed this complaint with its false and slanderous accusations. I have been in this business for over 26 years as a professional contractor and with experience much longer, growing up doing this work in my father's businesses. I trust that this will dissolve this complaint and prove what is truth. Please let me know if I can be of anymore assistance. Thank you for your professional inquiry into this complaint. ****** ******, Owner Keiser Enterprises, LLC XXX-XXX-XXXX ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 19, 2014/06/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No, I am not satisfied with *** ******'s latest response. I hired *** ****** to do two jobs: to remodel a garage, and to remodel a bathroom in the main house. I had to fire him for his attitude, his foul language, his not-so-subtle threats of violence, and his chronic complaints that he simply did not have the time to do the work he was contracted to do. Every single bit of work Mr. ****** did on the garage remodel is non-code-compliant and cannot be made code-compliant. The only way forward on the project now is to completely demolish everything Mr. ****** did and start over. My new contractor has set the price to demolish the structure at $6,300.00. Mr. ****** legitimately ruined the original structure and made it un-salvageable. As his original Scope of Work for this project states, "all work is guaranteed for 12 months." His guarantee should mean that the work would be done properly in the first place, and it was not. His guarantee also should mean that he will correct any problems. Since his work in itself is the problem, his guarantee should mean that he will pay someone else to correct the problem. Since I fired Mr. ****** I have asked repeatedly that he produce an accounting of the work he actually did. (I note that even the Better Business Bureau had to ask Mr. ****** 4 times for a response.) Now, SEVEN MONTHS after the contract was terminated, he has produced a ludicrously inflated "invoice" which he has back-dated to before I even owned the property. I have tried to be fair to Mr. ****** and to recognize that he did make at least one trip to the dump and he did demolish the old bathroom in the house and partially replace the subfloor. At no point in our work with Mr. ****** was it ever implied or stated, either in writing or verbally, that "meeting time" was to be charged outside the agreed-on price listed in the "scope of work" document. The "scope of work" pricing was to be complete and all-inclusive. At no time was "meeting time" included in any "Scope of Work" document. His meetings with his accountant are not now, and never were, assumed to be my financial responsibility. Design was not done by Mr. ******; it was done by the owner. The design Mr. ****** has sent you with his latest response was the work of October Surprise, not Mr. ******. The page noted to be "page 27 of 30" is taken directly from the Thurston County Permitting and Land Use website. It is part of a septic permit application filed in 1978, and I am not sure what Mr. ****** intends to imply by its inclusion. Mr. ****** removed trees without permission, pushing downed trees and debris onto the neighbor's property. He moved a woodpile without permission. He was not asked to do either. He was asked to remove said debris from the neighbor's drainfield. In no way should I be responsible for paying Mr. ****** to correct his mistake. Mr. ****** consistently advised against applying for permits, and if he applied for any, Thurston County has no record of it. I have asked repeatedly that he produce a copy of any permit he received, or a copy of any application he filed to receive a permit. He has refused to do either. Mr. ****** estimated the labor for the bathroom job would be 2,000.00. His cost for labor cannot be more than one half of his original estimate as he actually did less than one half of the estimated necessary labor. He demolished the old walls and floor and removed the old fixtures. He replaced approximately half the subfloor. He did not replace any fixtures or plumbing, or lay the floor or sheet-rock the walls. Mr. ****** continues to insist that the WA AG found no wrong doing on his part. That is NOT what the AG ruled. They closed the complaint simply because Mr. ****** responded and for no other reason. Mr. ****** told the AG in February that he was "currently working with my accountant, vendors, sub contractors, and the Thurston County building department to resolve this issue." His response to the AG that after six months he is unable to produce a complete accounting does not imply or state that he has done nothing wrong. Arguing that you cannot produce an accounting of a project within six months of contract termination is in itself a statement that you have done something wrong in your record keeping. The AG closed the complaint without any ruling of any kind. Mr. ****** keeps referring to how many years he has done this kind of work. He may have done numerous jobs before this one, and he may do numerous jobs in the future. That does not change the fact that he did THIS job wrong.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Keiser Enterprises LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)