Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ever-Green Tree Care Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 684-8733 Fax: (866) 875-3569 View Additional Phone Numbers 9923 E Trent Ave, Spokane Valley, WA 99206 http://www.evergreentlc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers tree pruning and removal services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ever-Green Tree Care Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Ever-Green Tree Care Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on Ever-Green Tree Care Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 27, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1986 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1986 Business incorporated 03/09/1994 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW , Olympia WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
Phone Number: 800-647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kathy Kemink, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kathy Kemink, Office Manager
Business Category

Tree Service Tree Service - Pruning Weed Control Service Fertilizers Arborist Lawn & Tree Care Landscape Architects Landscape Contractors Landscape Maintenance Landscape Designers

Method(s) of Payment
All Major Credit Cards, Checks, Cash
Alternate Business Names
Evergreen TLC Evergreen Tree Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Ever-Green Tree Care Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 9923 E Trent Ave

    Spokane Valley, WA 99206 (800) 684-8733

  • PO Box 11155

    Spokane Valley, WA 99211

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/17/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We live in a private community with a 'no solicitation' policy. Employee came to the door alleging they had worked for a neighbor. I checked with the neighbor and they have denied using this company.

Desired Settlement: No solicitation in the Crystal Lake, Woodinville community

Business Response:

September 8, 2016

 

Better Business Bureau

***** ********
BBB Resolutions Consultant

 

RE: Complaint ID ********

 

Complaint Involves:
Advertising Issues

Customer’s Statement of the Problem:
We live in a private community with a 'no solicitation' policy. Employee came to the door alleging they had worked for a neighbor. I checked with the neighbor and they have denied using this company.

Complaint Background:
Product/Service: tree care
Purchase Date: 8/30/2016
Problem Occurred: 8/30/2016
Model: 
Account Number: 
Order Number: 
Talked to Company: 8/30/1982

Name of Salesperson:
 
Purchase Price: $0.00
Disputed Amount: $0.00

Desired Settlement:
No further contact by the business
No solicitation in the Crystal Lake, Woodinville community

 

Business Response:

 

Good afternoon:

 

We will put ***** **** ** **** ******* **** *****, Woodinville , WA 98077 on our “Do Not Approach List” and she will not be contacted again.    If she would like to give us her phone numbers that reach them, they will also be put on the “Do Not Call List”.

 

Our canvasser actually spoke to the husband about “meeting” with a neighbor named ***** (9-1-16 @ 4:00PM), and we have “worked" with one of her neighbors (***** on Crystal Lake Rd).

Our canvasser said that there was a no soliciting sign in the front of the development, but this house did not have a sign.

Our canvasser said that she spoke with the husband, who took extensive time discussing all the tree issues he had throughout his backyard. 

Apparently, the husband went in to see if his wife wanted to meet with us; she became angry because she had just said no to one of our telemarketers.  He came out and said no.

 

Thank you,

Kathy K*****

Office Manager

 

 

 

5/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company uses sales practices that are not only unethical, they are illegal. I have no prior relationship with this company, and my home phone number has been on the federal Do Not Call List for many years. However I have received 4 illegal telemarketing calls from them, which have continued although I told them not to call after the first time. The first call was on 8/23/13, when I was away from home but saw the number ###-###-#### and Ever-Green Tree on my caller ID when I returned. On 8/27/13, I called the number and told a woman named ******* that my number is on the DNC List, so please remove it from your database and don't ever call again. On 11/15/14, I got a call from ###-###-####/Ever-Green Tree, and when I picked up, the call dropped. On 12/20/14, my wife answered a call from ###-###-####/Ever-Green Tree. She told the woman who called that we don't need any tree services, then hung up. On 3/23/15, I got a call from ###-###-####/Ever-Green Tree that interrupted me while I was talking to a client on my work phone. I didn't answer the call, but called the number back a few minutes later to tell them to stop calling me. The phone rang 20+ times and nobody picked up. I tried again, same thing.

Desired Settlement: Written apology from a named individual with company management promising to never call me again and to remove my number from their database.

Business Response: April 24, 2015 ********* **** Resolution Moderator Phone: ###-###-#### ********************* Better Business Bureau Re: ID ********. Customer Information: ***** ****** **** **** **** ** ****** ****** * ** ***** Daytime Phone: ###-###-#### E-mail: ***********@******* Complaint Involves: Selling Practices Customer’s Statement: This company uses sales practices that are not only unethical, they are illegal. I have no prior relationship with this company, and my home phone number has been on the federal Do Not Call List for many years. However I have received 4 illegal telemarketing calls from them, which have continued although I told them not to call after the first time. The first call was on 8/23/13, when I was away from home but saw the number ###-###-#### and Ever-Green Tree on my caller ID when I returned. On 8/27/13, I called the number and told a woman named ******* that my number is on the DNC List, so please remove it from your database and don't ever call again. On 11/15/14, I got a call from ###-###-####/Ever-Green Tree, and when I picked up, the call dropped. On 12/20/14, my wife answered a call from ###-###-####/Ever-Green Tree. She told the woman who called that we don't need any tree services, then hung up. On 3/23/15, I got a call from ###-###-####/Ever-Green Tree that interrupted me while I was talking to a client on my work phone. I didn't answer the call, but called the number back a few minutes later to tell them to stop calling me. The phone rang 20+ times and nobody picked up. I tried again, same thing. Desired Settlement: Written apology from a named individual with company management promising to never call me again and to remove my number from their database. Business Response: “Ms. ******, we apologize for your negative experience with our Company. We have searched our CRM database and have been unable to locate the call records for the number you have listed with this compliant as ###-###-####. Please let us know if you had received these calls on another number and we will ensure this is also researched properly. The ###-###-#### number this is not in our CRM database. We use sophisticated software to track all calls in our CRM which is highly reliable. We adapted to this software CRM platform in late 2013. It is a possibility a former employee of ours named ******* * did contact you using our paper call lists at that time. ******* has not worked for the Company for quite some time now. Please provide any other numbers you would like to ensure are removed from our CRM database. Finally please note we our regulated by State Do Not Call regulations as we do all of our business and marketing within the state of WA. Again we do apologize for the intrusion to your time and person. Thank you ***** ******

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

There was an apology but not a promise to stop calling me. No explanation of how I was called 3 times since December 2014, and blaming *******, who hasn't worked there for some time, for those calls, doesn't make sense. If this company checked the Federal Do Not Call List as they are required to do, they would find my number on that list. If that number is not in their database, why have they been calling me? I want a specific promise to never call my number again. The next call I receive from this company will result in a complaint to the National DNC List, which could result in a fine of up to $11,000 per violation.

Regards,

Mr. ***** ******

Business Response: 5/1/2015 The number is not in our phone base and therefore will not be called. If she has any other numbers not on the DO NOT CALL LIST please supply us with that info and it will be stricken from our data base. ***** ******

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business' response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I look forward to never hearing from this company again. If they call me in the future I will file another complaint, as well as a complaint to the national Do Not Call List, which can impose penalties of up to $11,000 per violation.

Regards,


***** ******

8/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/19/13, *** ***********, an employee of Evergreen Tree Care, provided a bid for tree removal on our property. (contract #******). A 10% non-refundable deposit was paid in the amount of $175.00. The contract was noted to be schedule in October. Mr. ***********, as an arborist, made a verbal commitment to provide me with a letter that I could take to the City of Bellevue regarding dangerous trees in the right-of-way. He indicated that this was work that Evergreen could not do, since it was in the right of way. This commitment was integral to my agreement to do work with this company. Despite follow up phone call, and emails, and a letter dated 12/2/2013 to Evergreen, I have received neither the promised letter regarding dangerous trees, nor has the company contacted me to complete the tree work outlined in their proposal.

Desired Settlement: Provide an arborist letter regarding trees in the right of way. Refund the $175.00 deposit paid by credit card.

Business Response:

1/27/2014

The Better Business Bureau

********* ****
Resolution Moderator
Phone: ###-###-####
*********************

CUSTOMER EXPERIENCE INFORMATION


Customer Information:
******** ***** 
***** ** ****** *** *****
******** * ** *****
Daytime Phone: ###-###-####
E-mail: ********************


The details of this matter are as follows:
Complaint Involves:
Contract Disputes 

Customer’s Statement of the Problem:
On 7/19/13, *** ***********, an employee of Evergreen Tree Care, provided a bid for tree removal on our property. (contract #******). A 10% non-refundable deposit was paid in the amount of $175.00. The contract was noted to be schedule in October. Mr. ***********, as an arborist, made a verbal commitment to provide me with a letter that I could take to the City of Bellevue regarding dangerous trees in the right-of-way. He indicated that this was work that Evergreen could not do, since it was in the right of way. This commitment was integral to my agreement to do work with this company. Despite follow up phone call, and emails, and a letter dated 12/2/2013 to Evergreen, I have received neither the promised letter regarding dangerous trees, nor has the company contacted me to complete the tree work outlined in their proposal.
Complaint Background:
Product/Service: tree service
Problem Occurred: 7/30/2013
Model: 
Account Number: ******
Order Number: 
Talked to Company: 7/30/2013
Talked to Company (2nd): 11/10/2013
Talked to Company (3rd): 12/2/2013

Name of Salesperson:
*** *********** 
Purchase Price: $175.00
Disputed Amount: $175.00 

Desired Settlement: 
Provide an arborist letter regarding trees in the right of way. Refund the $175.00 deposit paid by credit card.

Business Response:

*** *********** is no longer in our employ.  He was not a certified arborist; he could not supply a letter to the City of Bellevue stating that there is a dangerous tree in the right of way.  The City requires a Certified Arborist to provide such a letter.   To have a letter from one of our Tree Risk Assessment Arborists comes with a fee that starts at $300.00 and goes higher with more detail i.e. use of a resistograph etc.  

 We cannot provide service on trees not on your property.  Entering into a contract to do that is not a viable contract.  As stated in the terms: you are responsible to define the property lines and that you must own the trees contracted for service. 

As you stated: “it is a non-refundable deposit”.   However since Mr. *********** agreed to something he could not provide; I will refund the deposit.  I can send out a check in that amount if that is acceptable.  Should you still require a letter, we can have one of our Tree Risk Assessment Arborists give you an estimate for that service.  The contract #****** is now void. 

 

***** ******
 

***** ******

Office Manager

Ever-Green Tree Care, Inc.

**********************

###-###-####

Fax ###-###-####

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Please let Evergreen know to send a check to me at my home address:  ***** ** ****** *** *****, ********, **  *****.
I will think about further steps on the trees in the right of way.
thank you.

Regards,


******** *****




1/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 9th, 2013,the arborist **** *****, took a $100.00 deposit from me agreeing to come to trim my trees before Thanksgiving. He said he would call the following week but he never did. I waited and waited and when I finally reached him, he told me: "You are just a little $500. dollar job and we will work you in between our big jobs." I reminded him that he agreed to get this done before Thanksgiving as I was going to be out of state. He said he wouldn't be able to squeeze me in until December. I was very upset because I would never have given him any money if I knew he wouldn't be able to get the work done in November. We made an appointment for December 3,at 0800. I took the day off from work to accommodate this agreement. They never showed up or called, so I called **** and asked where they were and he said: "I don't know." Four hours later his worker called to say they had a flat tire and would not be coming that day. Mr. ***** called to change the appointment again. He was VERY pushy and rude, saying that I was "difficult." I asked for my deposit back and he laughed at me. I told him I would file a complaint with the BBB and he laughed more saying: "that is fine with me, but nobody is going to give you $100.00 back." I told him he has stolen my money and has taken advantage of my situation. I told him I did not want him to do any of the work and left it at that. I called my credit card company for support. I never heard back from anyone at Evergreen Tree Care, Inc. I don't want anyone else to be lied to and taken advantage of or have their money stolen in this way.

Desired Settlement: I want this ding to go on their record. I would like my $100.00 back since they never did a lick of work for me in November as I had requested and we agreed on. I am a senior citizen on a budget and I feel ripped off by this person called **** ***** and Evergreen Tree Care, Inc.

Business Response:

January 14, 2014

The Better Business Bureau

********* ****
Resolution Moderator
Phone: ###-###-####
*********************

RE: Case ID *******

Customer Information:
******** ******
**** **** ** **
******* * ** *****
Daytime Phone: ###-###-####
Evening Phone: ###-###-####
E-mail:
*********************

Dear ********* ****,

This is the response from the salesman of record:

   I am responding to what ******** ****** stated below.  Most of what was stated is misconstrued or false. 

   The job was sold on Saturday, November 9th for $500.  I told ******** at the time that my back-log was about 30 days but being as this is a small job, I would try my best to fit it in sooner than that if I could.  I never said that I would get it done sooner and that was never even discussed.  ******** did tell me she wanted to be present when the work was done because she wanted to watch (and learn) how to prune her fruit trees.

   11-19-13 - ******** called on Tuesday, November 19th at 4:59pm to tell me she was going out of town and instructed me to not do the work until she got back in town which would be after December 1st.

   12-1-13 – I called ******** on Sunday, December 1st at 3:45pm to let her know I had her work scheduled for Monday, December 2nd as she had requested.

   12-2-13 – I never heard back from ******** after I had left a message the day before so I left a second message on Monday. December 2nd at 8:16am.  We were scheduled to do the work that afternoon.

   12-2-13 – ******** finally returned my calls at 11:42 am and left me a message saying that I could not do the work today because it did not fit into her schedule.  She asked me to schedule it for the following week.  I had to scramble to find work to fill the crew’s schedule for later that same day.

   12-2-13 – I called ******** back at 2:19pm to let her know I had received her message and that I would work on rescheduling the work for the following week, again, as she requested.

   12-8-13 – Sunday – I left ******** a message at 5:49pm to let her know that I rescheduled the work for Monday afternoon, the 9th, again, as she had requested the previous week.

   12-8-13 – Sunday – ******** called me back at 7:15pm and was very hostile and told me I could not do the work on either Monday or Tuesday (the 9th or 10th) as this did not fit into her schedule.  I was surprised and asked:  “Didn’t you tell me just last Sunday night that you wanted the work done on either Monday or Tuesday of this week?”  She angrily responded that her plans had changed and that would no longer work.  She threatened that I needed to get the work done on either Wednesday or Thursday of this week or she was thinking of cancelling.  I explained that I would try my best to schedule for one of those days but this was the third time I had tried to put the schedule together to fit her schedule.  She told me… “That’s not my problem and you need to figure it out.”  I again told her I would try my best but I didn’t want her to lose her deposit.  She asked what I meant by that.  I explained that the $100 deposit was non-refundable.  She got even more hostile and told me I had better not try to do that.  I told her it was not up to me… that it was up to the office.  She again told me/threatened me that I had better get the work done on either Wednesday or Thursday.

   12-10-13 – Tuesday, 6:12pm – I called ******** again and left a message to let her know that I had her trimming on the schedule for Wednesday, December 11th.

   12-11-13 – Wednesday 1:57am – ******** called in the middle of the night and left a message saying that after out last conversation she no longer wanted us to do the work and that she was going to cancel.

   Through all of this, I called the office and spoke with them to keep them informed of what was taking place. To my knowledge, ******** never contacted the office by phone and she never gave written notice to the office that she was cancelling.

   The next thing that happened notification came from ********’s credit card company as she had put a stop payment on the credit card.   The BBB complaint followed.

   I know the above dates, times, and calls are all correct because I checked my Verizon cell phone records.

**** *****

Ms. ****** feels we have taken advantage of her situation; we could say the same.  Multiple attempts to schedule her work were made.  We had to juggle work for the crews on more than one occasion when she did not want the work done on days she specified she wanted them there.

A lot of time and effort were expended to meet her needs.  We can still do her work but it is pretty obvious she does not want it done.  The non-refundable deposit is in place for people just like Ms. ****** – they try to take advantage of companies and they believe they have every right to.     


Ms. ******’s Desired Settlement:
I want this ding to go on their record. I would like my $100.00 back since they never did a lick of work for me in November as I had requested and we agreed on. I am a senior citizen on a budget and I feel ripped off by this person called **** ***** and Evergreen Tree Care, Inc.

Ever- Green’s Response:

Ms. ******’s job was scheduled as per her instructions; she cancelled each time.  We feel the $100.00 compensates for salesmen time, office staff as well.  It is expressly stated on the contract she signed that it is a non-refundable deposit.   We would still perform her services; and to the best of our ability should she want to use her $100.00 deposit toward that service.

***** ******

1/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with Evergreen to have my tree trimmed and the debris removed on September 4, 2013. I stressed that I wanted the work done before the leaves fell from the tree. A crew showed up finally in October but one of the crewmembers refused to do the job because of safety concerns. Evergreen arranged with ****** to do a trim of the limbs around the powerlines. Before ****** came out, at the end of October, a different crew from Evergreen showed up at my house (after all the trees leaves have fallen and I had paid somebody to come and rake the leaves) and they trimmed about half the tree skipping the area by the power lines. The first week of November ****** came out and trimmed the tree around the power lines and left all the big limbs in my front yard because Evergreen is supposed to clean that up.Before ****** came to trim around the power lines I received a bill for payment in full from Evergreen so I called them and told them the job was not done and the salesman **** called me back and assured me that they were going to clean up the limbs left by ****** and that they would finish the job after ****** did their part so I said I will pay you when the job is done. In mid November I called **** and told him I was waiting for them to come out and finish the job and clean up the mess and **** said yes they would and that they wouldn't be able to do it until just after Thanksgiving and I said okay but I sure want that cleaned up as soon as possible and long before Christmas and he assured me it would be done. That same day I received another bill from Evergreen this time adding finances charges. I called Evergreen and told them how disappointed I was and that the job is not done and that I was going to start deducting $25 a day beginning December 1 for the job that was supposed to be completed in September. They never called me back. They abandoned the job. I will hire someone else to remove the limbs. I owe them nothing.

Desired Settlement: I want an invoice showing no charge for this debacle. My neighbors have been complaining for two months about the eyesore my front yard is. I have to hire another company to clean the twenty five by twenty five by eight foot high piles of limbs left in my yard, and to complete the tree trimming not done by Evergreen. I have refrained from talking to my friends or talking about this on social media. They should really return my $90 deposit considering I had to pay a yard man that to rake.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

8 Customer Reviews on Ever-Green Tree Care Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart