This business is not BBB accredited.

Austin's Landscape & Tree Service

Phone: (253) 224-9400 PO Box 208, South Prairie, WA 98385

! Austin's Landscape & Tree Service is Believed to Be Out of Business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers landscaping, pressure washing, gutter cleaning and tree services, including branch trimming, tree removal, hauling, chipping, storm debris removal, stump grinding, pruning, hedge trimming, lawn maintenance, fencing, moss treatments and retaining walls.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Austin's Landscape & Tree Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 21, 2011 Business started: 05/01/2011 Business started locally: 05/01/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982
On 8/21/2015 BBB confirmed that Washington Department of Labor & Industries suspended the license of Austin's Landscape & Tree Service.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Austin Leming, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Austin Leming, Owner
Business Category

Tree Service Gutter Cleaning Pressure Washing Landscape Maintenance

Hours of Operation
Monday - Saturday 8:00am - 7:00pm

Additional Locations


    PO Box 208

    South Prairie, WA 98385


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hired ****** to cut down tree, last 20ft still standing and waiting to finish job since January.

Desired Settlement: complete job

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 7, 2014/05/29) */ Case #XXXXXXXX Customer signed satisfactory completion of job 12-11-13 Customer helped herself and took copy of my personal sheet and started writing up additional job descriptions which we did not agree upon, that I had not verbally or even known about Customer used her rental house address on Invoice, to try and claim a loss of property- For this Invoice of rental property Client stated "I want to write off for my taxes", Client knew the agreements on Invoice and had never singed the original agreement or bid on actual job sight. Customer also would not pay for additional changes and charges of work order, which we verbally agreed on. The miscommunication had started with- Customer had me leave the remainder of 20ft of tree stump, due to use for future carving decor (12-11-13)-job was completed with customer needs/ customer had singed completion of job. Customer then had changed her mind after 4 months later, she wanted stump remover. I explained to customer I have no problem to come and remove tree stump. Additional fees and new Invoice would have to be created. Customer had felt as if tree service was incomplete and had order me to just finish job without any additional charges. I explained to costumer that, I would not charge her for my time of cutting down the rest or the 20ft tree trunk, but I would have to charge her for fuel and materials, I explained this is a new and additional service and that I would be doing her a favor at that point. Customer still insisted I did not do job to completion and demanded me to come and cut the rest down. I explained to customer I have done my job to completion of job to her needs that were agreed upon and kindly explained if customer did not take my new offer in cutting down tree stump then, 1 would not fell that my work would meet customers' needs and I do not want to continue any business with customer. Customer then processed to call and harass me, my family and other people. People, which had nothing to do with this job site. If you look on the bottom of invoice # 0129- you can see Customer had singed completion of job we originally agreed upon. So I strike to dismiss this case of complaint against my business. Customer took 5 months after job completed and decided to contact B.B.B. because, she changed her mind that she wanted to cut down the rest if the tree stump because, she didn't want to go ahead and do her carving decor on tree stump. Customer had made comments her brother would take it down in June for a table slab. Austin's Landscape and Tree Service ****** ****** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/06/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Attention : ****** ***** Case #XXXXXXXX I have reviewed ** ****** response and find it so appalling I'm almost speechless. The extent to which this young man will lie to get out of 4 hrs of work is unbelievable. I almost believe he just chooses to take advantage of woman customers as men would not allow such behavior. It has come to my attention how ** ****** appeared on my front porch to provide me a bid after I had had a bid from another company the day before and had called no other companys for bids. A young man from the other company a high school friend of ** ****** and provided him with my address so ** ****** could under bid the completion and the other man expected to be hired if ** ****** got the job. I found this out after the young man showed up at my home upset with ** ****** who did not hired the young man after he gave ** ****** the lead to me as a customer. Not only was this uncomfortable for me but it provides insight into the type of person ** ******* really is. His statement that I took a copy of his personnel sheet and started writing up additional job duties is a complete and horrific lie. When I did not respond to ** ****** first proposal he returned to offer a new lower discount price because as he said times were tight and he needed the work. His reference to a rental address is because he was bidding two other jobs for me, and he was told he had made a mistake on his invoice and to correct it. ** ****** Bid a two day job, on day 3 it was obvious that he would not complete the job. He was suffering from a shoulder injury and was sick with a respiratory infection and was stressed out as he was moving into a new home and the move was difficult. Because I though he was trustable I had no problem with him returning another day to complete job. I discussed with him my desire to get it carved and I would check into it if he assured me he would finish job if that wasn't possible. This was a very specific conversation and it was witnessed by his worker. He came over to my house and said he would finish job and that his mom was coming over, he has never returned a call since then and has left 3 sheets of 3/4 plywood sitting in my yard. If he would like to finish job all he has to do is call and arrange a time. He goes on to imply I signed a completion invoice which is a complete lie. In addition to the 20 feet of tree remaining, there was a 12 section left on the ground that I told *** ****** to leave even though he was paid to cut it up and the rounds that were under it. I paid to have it removed and cut for a table. This alone saved ** ****** 8 hrs of labor he would have had to pay his laborer @ 20.00 an hr=160.00 to complete, but he doesn't take that into account that I paid him for doing less work. In addition his inappropriate comments from the tree to my elderly neighbors' because they would not let him bring his equipment into their yard to assist him and make his job easier, was unacceptable and his own employees apologized for his behavior and I had to tell him to stop his behavior or leave. This was truly a unbelievable experience that this man can lie so easily and be ok with it, for only 4 hrs of work. He is unbelievably immature and I would never recommend him to anyone. ***** ****** Case #XXXXXXXX

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Austin's Landscape & Tree Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)