BBB Accredited Business since

Skagit Transmission Inc

Phone: (360) 757-6551 Fax: (360) 757-6559 View Additional Phone Numbers 303 Lila Ln, Burlington, WA 98233 http://www.skagittransmission.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers vehicle transmission, transfer case, differential, and clutch repair.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Skagit Transmission Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Skagit Transmission Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Skagit Transmission Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 30, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1970 Business started locally: 01/01/1970 Business incorporated 07/01/1991 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Glen Becker, President Mr. Steven Becker, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Glen Becker, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Steven Becker, Vice President
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile


Additional Locations

  • 303 Lila Ln

    Burlington, WA 98233 (360) 757-6551 (800) 430-2675

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Skagit Transmission gave me a $4850 quote (plus tax) for parts and labor to replace the transmission on my '06 Mercedes which included a rebuilt transmission (which they were to purchased from ********* ***** in Bellingham), a torque converter, and a CV axle. They said they could have the car done in two weeks. ***** called a week after I dropped it off and said that he was wrong and that the torque converter was not included after all. I reminded him that I had told him before I dropped off the vehicle that on the other bids I had received, the torque converter was not included, but he insisted that it was included. I did ok an additional $450 for the torque converter for a grand total of $5300. Another week went by and ***** called again saying that the transmission they bought from ********* ***** had a problem and that our vehicle was now at ********* ***** in Bellingham for them to evaluate. I did stop in at ********* ***** and the tech there reported that the transmission was installed wrong and that is why it wasn't running correctly. Skagit Transmission said that the transmission they bought from ********* ***** was bad and that is why it wasn't running correctly. After almost three months of being without our car, ******* ****** made a "deal" with Skagit Transmission that ********* would install a new transmission pump and pay for it and that Skagit Transmission would pay for a new torque converter that ********* would install. This "deal" was not anything that we had a say in or even knew about at the time... The final bill was $6231.94 plus tax and we'd been without our car for over three months.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a $931.94 (plus tax) reimbursement from Skagit Transmission which is the difference of what I paid to get my car back and the original quote.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 6, 2014/03/25) */ March 20, 2014 Better Business Bureau 1000 Station Drive, Ste. 222 DuPont, WA 98327 RE: Case# ******** Dear ******************: We are writing you in response to the complaint filed by ***************. He is lying and/or exaggerating all matters involved in his complaint. The following is a truthful explanation of the events involved in this matter. ********* called us explaining he had a 2006 ******** ML350 that would not move and was leaking out the front and wanted an estimate for transmission repair. He was given an oral estimate over the phone for the exact labor price and approximate price for parts in the amount of approximately $4500 plus tax. In his complaint, he states he was given a quote for $4850. This is untrue. We could only estimate at that time, as we did not have the vehicle to inspect. He agreed to bring in the vehicle to have us perform the repair. The vehicle was towed in and ***** left his contact information and also noted the left front CV axle was bad and asked if we could give him a price on that repair as well. He authorized removal of the transmission and was told we would contact him once we had it inspected and had a better idea on cost of repair once the parts were inspected. That was the last time we had any in-person contact with the ****** until later when the vehicle was finished. Upon inspection of the transmission, it was found that there was extensive damage, outside what was expected or is commonly found during a transmission rebuild. ***** called ************* and obtained prices for the parts required for repair. He then called *********** and informed him that the price for repair would exceed the estimate due to the additional parts required. ***** informed him that we would check into the price of a remanufactured exchange transmission and get back to him. ***** called ************* and received a price for a remanufactured transmission, then called ************ to inform him. As the price was much lower than the cost of repair, he elected to have us order the ******** rebuilt transmission for him. He inquired about the left front CV axle and was informed that it would be 2.5 hours of labor plus $180 for the axle for a total of $410, which he authorized as well. We ordered the parts that were authorized and then waited for arrival. Approximately a week later, the transmission arrived. Upon unboxing we realized the transmission did not arrive with a torque converter, which came as a surprise, as every other remanufactured exchange transmission we have purchased in the past have included the torque converter. We called ************* to inquire about the issue and they informed us that they do not include the torque converter with the transmission. It is unacceptable to replace a transmission without the torque converter, so we asked the price for one and was informed it would be $972.00. At that point ***** called *********** and explained the situation to him. He told him the price of the torque converter and stated that we would try to find a less costly option by getting one through our normal supplier ************************. ********* said he would appreciate anything we could do. ***** never insisted that the torque converter was included, as ********* is stating. ***** then called ************************ and priced out the torque converter. It was much less costly than the dealer, so he called ***** back to give him the good news. He told him the torque converter would be $400 and ********* authorized the ordering of the part. Once we had all the parts and completed the repair, we attempted to test drive the vehicle and verify proper operation, but the vehicle would not start. We called ************* and inquired about the issue and they informed us at that point that the vehicle would have to be reprogrammed because the replacement transmission requires it. ***** called around to the local shops that specialize ?n European cars and asked if it was something they were capable of. They informed us that no one around had the tools required and would have to go to the ******** **** dealer for them to perform the reprogram. ***** called ************* to inquire about reprogramming the computer for the replacement transmission, and was told by the service department that it should be no more than a couple hours to do so. He then called *********** and informed him the vehicle repair was complete but it would have to be reprogrammed by the dealer as they are the only ones with the electronic equipment required. We told him that he would only pay exactly what they charged us at wholesale and we would tow the vehicle to the dealer for him. Later, ************* called us to tell us the reprogramming had been performed and that there was a noise in the transmission that they suspected to be the torque converter. We then paid to have the vehicle towed back to our facility so we could inspect the issue, as we did not want to drive it if there was the possibility of causing damage. The vehicle was towed to our facility and we brought it in the shop to listen to the noise. Upon inspection, all of our technicians, **** the owner, and ***** all agreed that the noise was coming from the pump in the transmission and not the torque converter. At this point, our liability with the vehicle was done. In hindsight, we should have informed the customer there was a noise and to take it to *************, as we were done with our job. In the interest of excellent customer service, we decided to investigate into the noise further to save our customer from dealing with this issue with ******** ****, as ******** **** did not know what was wrong. We called ************* to inform them of the issue and they disagreed. As they did not feel the noise was in the transmission, we had the vehicle towed back up to them for a further inspection and **** went up there to listen to the noise with them. He explained to them how the problem could not be in the torque converter and has to be in the pump and requested that they remove the transmission and repair or replace it. ************* informed us that they would have to receive authorization from ******** **** before performing any repairs. After much discussion and communication between ************* and ******** ****, and ************* and ourselves, they finally agreed to remove the transmission. ********* states that ****** ****** told him that the transmission was installed wrong. This is entirely untrue. When **** spoke with *************, they informed him that the tech said they must have installed it wrong before they had done anything to the vehicle. After inspection of the vehicle, the tech recanted his statement and apologized to ****. Then he called the ****** and recanted his statement to them, informing them it had been installed correctly and they did not know what had been causing the noise. Once the transmission was removed, ************* informed us that they would have to wait for ******** **** to send a representative to inspect the parts. ************* informed us that due to email being their only means of communication with ******** ****, their responses can take quite a while. After a couple weeks of waiting due to the holiday and the delays communication, the ******** **** representative arrived at ************* and inspected the parts. We were informed the rep didn't see any issue with the pump. **** then drove to ************* again. He had to show the technicians and the factory representative where the fault in the pump was. The noise was caused by the pump drive gear touching the crescent, causing contamination and damage to our converter. After much additional discussion with ************* and ourselves, ************* agreed to replace the transmission pump. They refused, however, to replace the torque converter that was damaged by the faulty pump in the transmission they sold us. Feeling completely wronged, we were unfortunately left with no alternative but to have another remanufactured torque converter installed in the vehicle, as they would not budge on the issue. We informed them we would get another from our supplier and they told us there would be no warranty unless we had them install a ******** **** rebuilt torque converter. As we could not in good conscience allow the vehicle to be delivered to our customer without a warranty, we reluctantly agreed to have them put in the ******** **** torque converter. We sold him the torque converter at our wholesale cost, as the cost difference in the torque converter was within the 10% law, and we were left no alternatives. The vehicle repair was completed and **** went up to ************* to pick it up. It was brought back to our facility in good working order and the customer was contacted and informed the vehicle was ready to be picked up. At that time ***** told us that he would only pay $4500 and no more, based greatly on the fact that the vehicle was down for such a long period of time. We told him we understood his frustrations in regards to time, but this was completely out of our control when the vehicle was at *************, which was explained to him numerous times. He refused to accept the fact that we had tried over and over to speed up this repair process but due to delays caused by ****** ****** and ******** ****, we were unable to do so. ********* states that we had his vehicle for 3 months. This is untrue, we had it for approximately 2 weeks. ************* had it for the remainder of the time. After completion of his repair, ********* then let the vehicle sit at our facility for approximately one month, while refusing to pay the amount he had previously authorized. The ****** came in to our facility on Friday January 24th and discussed the matter further. ***** said he would only pay the $4500 he was "quoted" and claimed to have signed a written quote, which is entirely untrue. In his complaint he states that he asked for a copy of said "quote" and that we told him we had misplaced it. This is a complete lie. We do not give quotes, only estimates, as there are many unknown factors in the repair of a vehicle and did not do so in this case. He never asked for a written estimate, only an oral one. And nothing was ever signed. All discussion had been done over the telephone. ***** then informed us that he has been slandering our business and how we deal with our customers. Through this entire situation we have been completely honest and kind to the ******. They have been unreasonable, rude and abusive. After a lengthy discussion regarding the price and the repairs that he had previously authorized, ***** said he would pay $5800 tax included. This was completely unacceptable and we refused to accept such a low amount, but in the interest of settling this matter once and for all, **** agreed to accept $6500 cash tax included today only. ***** said that was not acceptable and threatened us with a lawsuit, stating we will be responsible for his attorney fees and all costs involved. On the following Tuesday we received a letter from ***********'s attorney stating that as of Monday February 3rd, he would be filing a lawsuit. **** called ***.******'s attorney, ****************, and tried to explain the matter to no avail. At that point we were left with no alternative other than to turn it over to our attorney, *************. Our attorney had numerous discussions with ************ and both attorneys agreed that everything had been done correctly. Leaving us with a cost of $550 to our attorney, after doing everything by the book and giving him a repair that would cost him over $9000 at the dealer. Numerous trips were made to Bellingham to confer with ************* to make sure his ******** rebuilt transmission was repaired properly. We also waived all towing fees and storage fees an effort to ensure customer satisfaction. On February 28th, ********* returned to our facility with a personal check to pay the balance in full, $6,761.65 including sales tax. **** then took the check to *********'s bank and had it transferred into a cashier's check, in fear that ********* would put a stop payment on it. This was not an irrational thought, as ********** had been extremely difficult to deal with in his repair. At that time **** informed him should he have any further concerns with his vehicle, to contact ************* directly, as we did not rebuild the transmission, we only installed his ******** product. Installing the ******** **** transmission for ********** has been a complete loss for our company. We have attorney's fees, towing bills, and costs incurred dealing with ************* on behalf of ********* to make sure his vehicle was repaired properly. In the end, we have lost approximately $2000; $300 in towing, $400 for a torque converter, $550 in attorney fees, $777 for the ******** torque converter, and countless hours of going above and beyond what was required of us. We were only paid $736 for the labor of installing his transmission. The remaining charges were all parts from ******** ****, which we had to pay for upfront. We are a family owned and operated business for over 55 years, that believe in going the extra mile to please the customer and do a job well done. We have a following of satisfied customers and take pride in our great reputation in our small town. Together our technicians have over 100 years of combined transmission and auto repair excellence. We have received numerous thank you cards, letters and even letters in our local newspaper from extremely satisfied customers. These unfortunate accusations from ********* are completely false and hurtful. Needless to say, this entire situation really brings to mind the old adage, "No good deed goes unpunished." Respectfully, **************** Owner Skagit Transmission


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Skagit Transmission Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)