Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Seatac Transmission Service Inc

Phone: (253) 839-4862 2628 S 248th St, Kent, WA 98032 http://www.seatactransmissionservice.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers transmission repair.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Seatac Transmission Service Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Seatac Transmission Service Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Seatac Transmission Service Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1972 Business started: 01/01/1967 Business started locally: 01/01/1967 Business incorporated 01/10/2008 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Ott, Manager Mr. Dwane Ott, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Ott, Manager
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 7:30am - 5:30pm
Saturday 8:00am - 12:00pm

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Seatac Transmission Service Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2628 S 248th St

    Kent, WA 98032 (253) 839-4862

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used vehicle with no warranty and a week later the transmission dies. I work with the dealership and they agree to help with the costs of replacing the transmission that would also come with a 2 year warranty which I agreed. The transmission was purchased and installed by SeaTac Transmission in Kent, WA. Within minutes of getting the truck back I could already feel the transmission acting strangely; banging noise when shifting, noises when it starts up, clanking when it's given gas, jerking between gears. My boyfriend and I think maybe we just need to give it a moment to get in gear but after a month nothing seems to change so my boyfriend calls SeaTac Transmission and they tell him to bring it back. We take the truck back to SeaTac Transmission on 3/26/15 for repairs. My boyfriend and I explain the symptoms to ***** (manager/owner) who asks us a series of follow up questions and agrees to take a look and see what it could be. In the meanwhile We are also relocating to Corvallis, OR. My boyfriend receives a call the following Monday afternoon that the truck is done. ***** states that he was able to replicate our description of the issues but asked a mechanic to come check it out who could not replicate it. He explained to my boyfriend that it is too small of a problem to fix and that we have a 2 year warranty so wait for something to break so that they can fix it then. We pick up the truck on 4/4/15 and the problems are still there and it is as if nothing was done to the truck at all.

Desired Settlement: A 2 year warranty should cover the repairs to the transmission. I do not want to jeopardize my safety or the safety of my boyfriend when something really bad happens to the transmission. This should have been fixed regardless of how small ***** insisted it was. I do not want to continue driving a truck that feels unsafe and could be fixed if they would do their job and stand by their warranty. I want a new transmission

Business Response: This is a vehicle we did for ********* *********** in Puyallup, this consumer technically is not my customer. In regards to their complaint what they have said is mostly true. However, I am not convinced that the noise they are hearing is even coming directly from the transmission. If it is however, we are totally committed to fixing whatever is needed to satisfy them. My one concern is that if we replace the entire unit with a different one and it still has the same noise then we have gone through a lot of work for nothing. When the customer is able to get the vehicle up to us, and be able to leave it for a week, we will resolve this problem however necessary, **** *** owner.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I relocated to Oregon State for a career promotion after several attempts to correct the transmission issues. I even dropped the truck off and moved to Oregon and had to come back the following weekend to pick the truck back up to find that nothing had been done.  The truck was still not performing as it should and I was forced to trade it in not being able to afford to wait for it to break down or tow it to SeaTac Transmission.  I struck an agreement with ********* ***** ***** to enroll in a credit card to pay $1000 of the $2700 to SeaTac Transmission to replace the transmission under the impression that it would come with a 2 year warranty and if anything were to come up it would be fixed, replaced, etc. no questions asked. I am now paying for a poor performing transmission on a truck I no longer own. I would like my $1000 back to pay the credit card and void the warranty.  Had the transmission truly been fixed as promised I would still have the truck in my possession.

Sincerely,

********* ******

Business Response: If that was the customer's choice to trade his vehicle, that is on him. There was no need to panic and trade the vehicle just because of his issue he thought he was having with the transmission ( which was not actually verified). He had a 2 year warranty to cover him if anything actually happened. I will not pay the customer $1000.00 as a result of his actions.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I was left with no choice, you clearly were not willing to fix it the first two times it was brought to you so what would make a third time any different?  I think that anyone in my position would have done the same thing. You did not keep to your warranty and therefore I should not be liable for a piece of crap that you wouldn't even fix and you didn't verify because you refused to do anything. How businesses like yours are even in existence is a mystery.  Thank you for wasting my time and making this experience terrible and for washing your hands of it which you have done since day one.  Incompetence on your part should void payment on mine.

Sincerely,

********* ******

3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to sea tac transmission on pacific hwy. I had marked the distributor with a ink pen.They took the car had it for 4 days said they had not finished. I got home checked the ink markes on the distributor they where the same so it was NOT timed. I then took it to**************** They said the timming was off and I had a dead cylinder.So I call **** back and told him> he said he PERSONALLY watched it being timmed. The car runs great now it did not when I left se tac. So SOMEBODY is is not telling the truth. Then **** made the statement well he keeped my car safe inside for four days. WEll that's not my problem he didn't work on it. I asked for my $97.00 back and he simply said no way

Desired Settlement: I just want the money back for something I paid for and NEVER got. The $97.00. Its not just the money it is the principal of the thing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/07) */ In response to the customer's complaint, we did adjust the timing, in fact I called him on the phone & asked him what camshaft the vehicle had because there were 2 settings, one for stock & one for high performance. In regards to his claim about these ink marks not being moved I can't explain that. We did what he asked, when he came to pick up his car I had no notice that he was coming in, we were not finished with the vehicle but he wanted to take it away. The fee that we charged him was more than fair for what I had into this job. Multiple phone calls, storing his vehicle inside my shop the entire time it was here. I do not feel that I owe him his $97 in return. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2014/02/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Like I said in my complaint.I took the car in to have the timming checked and the transmission adjusted. The sat at SeaTac for FIVE days. They said the set the timing,but the marks I put on the distributor were not moved. The manager can't explain that well I can the distributor was nor moved. The transmission was not even looked at. So he is right I got the car and took it some where else. They fix BOTH problems in SIX hour.I am not to blame because they decided not to work on the car for FIVE days As far as him not being finshed with the car. He said he timed it.Why did he do nothing for the next FOUR days. I expected it done in a reasonable amount of time and if not a phone call. Like I said the other company did it in six hours. Thank you *** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Seatac Transmission Service Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart