Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Morning Bear Investments LLC

View Additional Phone Numbers 273 SE 9th St, Bend, OR 97702 http://ninthstreetautorepair.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers transmissions, transfer cases, oil changes, general automotive repairs, fluid changes, cooling systems, air conditioning, brakes, engine repairs, timing belts and batteries.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Morning Bear Investments LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Morning Bear Investments LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 2001 Business started: 07/01/1999 in OR Business started locally: 07/01/1999 Business incorporated 08/10/2010 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Stephen Foster, Managing Member Mrs. Toni Foster, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen Foster, Managing Member
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Filters - Air & Gas Starters - Engine Steering Systems & Equipment Battery Repairing & Rebuilding Brake Fluids

Method(s) of Payment
cash, check, all major credit cards, third party financing available
Refund and Exchange Policy
National warranty on all work.
Alternate Business Names
AAMCO of Bend Aamco Transmissions Ninth Street Auto Repair & Transmissions

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Morning Bear Investments LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    273 SE 9th St

    Bend, OR 97702

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Business replaced a transmission with a rebuilt transmission. So far they have put in 3 torque converters and a solenoid and maybe it will be ready today, a week after they started working on it. My complaint, though, is that my dodge diesel PU ran smooth at idle and now it does not. Tuesday, July 28th, when I dropped my vehicle off at AAMCO of Bend my truck was running smoothly. The business said that the dodge dealership had to "flash" codes and updates before they could let me have my truck. AAMCO had problems with the torque converters and replaced the first 2. The 3rd was supposed to be good. When I started my truck up on Friday when they were finally able to finish the work it idled poorly. The vehicle has a shake now that it never has had. I drove the vehicle on the highway and it never shifted up out of 2nd gear. I returned the vehicle to *** ******* ***** *********** They said they would work on it Monday. It is Tuesday and I am supposed to be able to pick up my truck today with a normally functioning transmission. But it still has a rough engine idle. I paid AAMCO but maybe ******* ****** has some responsibility. I would like my truck back running normally

Desired Settlement: Please return my truck to its prior well running order.

Business Response: WE PURCHASED A REBUILT TRANSMISSION FROM **** ************ COMPANY DUE TO THE FACT THAT THEY HAD A UNIT IN STOCK AND THE CUSTOMER WANTED A QUICK TURN AROUND. WE INSTALLED THE TRANSMISSION AND FOUND THE TORQUE CONVERTER WAS TIGHT ON THE INPUT SHAFT SO WE REMOVED THE TRANSMISSION, INSTALLED A SECOND NEW TORQUE CONVERTER WITH THE SAME RESULTS. WE CONTACTED **** ************ COMPANY WHO MADE A CALL TO THE MANUFACTURER OF THE TORQUE CONVERTER. THEY DISCOVERED THEY HAD A BATCH OF CONVERTERS WITH THE WRONG HUB ON IT. WE PURCHASED A THIRD TORQUE CONVERTER AND INSTALLED THE TRANSMISSION. PERFORMED A FINAL TEST DRIVE AND CONFIRMED ALL OPERATIONS.

WHEN CUSTOMER PICKED UP THE VEHICLE HE INDICATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS RUNNING ROUGH AT IDLE. I WENT OUT AND STARTED THE VEHICLE AND TOOK THE CUSTOMER FOR A TEST DRIVE. AS DIESELS GO, THIS DID NOT RUN OR IDLE AS ROUGH AS MOST AND INDICATED THIS TO THE CUSTOMER. WE PERFORMED NO ENGINE WORK ON THIS VEHICLE. AS PART OF ALL TRANSMISSION INSTALLATIONS A COMPUTER REFLASH IS REQUIRED TO UPDATE THE VEHICLES COMPUTER WITH THE MOST ADVANCED SOFTWARE THAT THE FACTORY HAS WRITTEN FOR IT. THIS VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO ******* ***** FOR THIS REFLASH OF THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE PRIOR TO DELIVERY TO THE CUSTOMER. THEY ALSO PERFORMED NO ENGINE WORK ON THIS VEHICLE.

MR ******* CALLED US FRIDAY 7/31/15 LATE IN THE DAY AND SAID THE TRUCK WAS NOT SHIFTING OUT OF 2ND GEAR. WE ASKED HIM TO DROP IT OFF AT ******* ***** FOR THEM TO LOOK AT, BUT THE VEHICLE DID NOT ARRIVE UNTIL 20 MINUTES BEFORE 5PM AND THEY WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO LOOK AT IT UNTIL MONDAY MORNING. WE PUT MR MASCAL INTO A RENTAL CAR UNTIL WE COULD RETURN HIS TRUCK.

******* ***** REFLASHED THE TCM ON MONDAY MORNING AND ALSO HOOKED UP THE TRANSMISSION TO THEIR CHRYSLER SIMULATOR AND DETERMINED THAT THE TRANSMISSION PRESSURE WAS RUNNING AT 26.5 PSI AND THEIR RECOMMENDATION WAS TO REPLACE THE GOV PRESSURE SENSOR AND SOLENOID.




7/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I dropped my car off when my transmission started acting up on June 19th. After being assured my car was top priority because it was a warranty issue, I found out that no progress had been made at all 3 weeks later. I have missed 30+ hours of work due to a lack of transportation.

Desired Settlement: I want a rental car paid for until I get my car back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/07/16) */ The complexity of dealing with some warranties, especially an "intershop" where another shop is responsible can be hard for a customer to understand. Following is the timeline of events right up to the present regarding Mr. ******* vehicle: Friday 6/27/XX X:XXAM vehicle was checked in w/concerns Friday 6/27/XX XX:XXAM tech checked out vehicle. Unable to duplicate customer concern. Only codes present was P0132 bank 1, sensor 1, O2 sensor (EVAP code, not trans). Rec replacing pressure solenoid and trans pressure sensor a common repair in Dodge vehicles. This did change the vehicle performance. Rec taking to Dodge dealer for OEM reflash of computer. Appt made at ******* ***** for Monday 6/30/14 Monday 6/30/14 10AM Owner took Dodge to ******* ***** for reflash. Tuesday 7/1/14 11AM Owner picked up Dodge from ******* and paid the repair, all updates had been performed on vehicle. No noticeable change in performance. Wednesday 7/2/14 Talked to tech again to determine next move. He would do some research in Identifix to see if techs across the country had similar symptoms. Thursday 7/3/14 Tech Rec pulling the pan to see if there was metal in the pan. This was done and confirmed that the transmission was shedding metal and we needed to talk to the shop in Seattle who built it to determine next ****. Closed Fri/Sat/Sun for 4th of July weekend. Monday 7/7/14 Contacted ******* ***** that had built the transmission in 10/2013 and talked to ******** Discussed the fact that we are a GPS unit dealer and do not have an onsite builder. *** needed to discuss with the owner what to do. Thursday 7/10/14 Owner contacted ******* ***** to determine course of action. They had decided not to send a builder to us to repair the unit and they would order a GPS stock unit on Friday morning. Friday 7/11/14 Owner contacted ******* ***** for confirmation of GPS unit and ETA of arrival. *** indicated he forgot to order it and would do it right this instant. Friday 7/11/14 Mr ****** called and asked for a rental car for the weekend. Owner explained that neither towing or rental cars were included in the warranty. Owner did however agree to rent him a car JUST FOR THE WEEKEND at $19.99 per day because this was taking more time than normal. Owner explained that he would have to rent it and as owner I would give him a check for $40 on Monday. Monday 7/14/14 Owner called ******* ***** and asked for the confirmation number and *** said "GPS didn't call you with that?" I said no. Owner called GPS and the unit had not been ordered. At that time, owner ordered the unit, charged it to the Seattle store and had it shipped to our shop. Owner was told it was in stock in the west coast center and would be to us in 3 days. Owner received the confirmation for the transmission. Monday 7/14/14 Owner contacted Mr. ****** and told him what the status was. He said he had called earlier and spoke to my wife indicating that he was keeping the rental car because of undo hardship and we would pay for it. Owner indicated again that it is not included in the repair and that we had only agreed to pay for it during the weekend. Mr ****** was unhappy but said fine, he would take care of it but was unhappy. Monday 7/14/14 My ****** called about 4PM and was VERY hostile. He indicated he had contacted the BBB and the AAMCO home office. Owner was very upset and just listened. I told him we were a shop that cared not only about people's vehicles but our customers and this really bothered me after everything I had tried to do for him. He felt he had been lied to, that nothing had been done or accomplished and I could not tell him otherwise. Wednesday 7/16/16 Owner received notification that Mr. ******'s transmission left the Portland dock at 8:03AM this morning and is scheduled for delivery at 4PM today at the dock in Bend. Our shop has pulled the transmission awaiting arrival of the unit tomorrow morning from GPS. We should receive it tomorrow morning 7/17/14 and have the vehicle completed at the time I had given to Mr ****** on Monday. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/07/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would like to add a few items to this timeline and correct the way I was represented in AAMCO's response. Late (October or November) 2013: The transmission in my Dodge Durango gives out entirely. I pay ******* ***** over $3100.00 to replace my transmission. I sacrificed meals and visits to my family to be able to pay for this repair. Later 2013/Early 2014 I move to Bend to help take care of my sick mother. I bring my car in to have the transmission checked by the local AAMCO as instructed to make sure that my car is performing properly. No problems were found (and Bend AAMCO changed my oil as well). Wednesday 6/25/14: The transmission in my car started slipping while going uphill and died in the middle of an intersection. Thursday 6/26: My Durango was dropped off after hours (around 6pm) with all the required paperwork to prove my warranty claim (The date I originally reported was a mistake, and for that I apologize). I left a message on the AAMCO answering machine asking for a call back in the morning. Friday 6/27: I called at 9am asking when to expect my car to be returned to me. *********, the receptionist, said that their shop was waiting to hear back from the Seattle branch before they could touch my car. I asked her to call me with an update. Monday 6/30: Called again, ********* again told me she would call me right back with the info. Monday 6/30: Left a message on the answering machine after my call was not returned. Tuesday 7/1: Left another message after not receiving a call back. Wednesday 7/2: Called again, received no call back. Monday 7/7 Called again, was told the Bend office was still waiting to hear back from Seattle. Monday 7/7: After receiving no updates I called the Seattle office to try to get some concrete information on what was happening. ******* ******* ***** manager-said that he had not been contacted yet. I gave him the phone number for the Bend branch and let him call the Bend branch and figure out what was happening. Tuesday 7/8: Called Bend branch again, left a message. By now I am upset and want to have my car back, but have been patient and not said a bad word to anyone in all of my dealings with AAMCO even though ********* has spoken to me with a dismissive tone of voice and acted like I was wasting her time the few times I've been able to talk to them. At this point, I have called in sick to work 2 days, had to leave work early or come in late on 4 separate days due to a lack of transportation. I have missed ~30 hours of work at this point. I am starting to get frustrated with the lack of communication and apparent lack of progress. The last actual information that I had received was that Seattle was holding up Bend's progress and Seattle hadn't heard a word from them. Thursday 7/10: Called Bend branch again, left a message with ****, one of the owners, at 12:00. She says ***** will call me right back. At 4:00 I haven't received a call back so I call and ask for *****. I finally speak to *****, the owner of the Bend branch. ***** acknowledges that my messages have been ignored, which is apparently happening to other customers of his, presumably against his knowledge until today. ***** tells me that metal shavings were found somewhere in the transmission, and that he is waiting for Seattle to tell him how to proceed. He will call me back tomorrow morning. Friday 7/11: 2:00 rolls around, and I have still not received a call. I call Bend branch. I ask ***** what's happening. He says that he's sorry and that he is waiting for a go-ahead from the Seattle office. I try to bring him up to speed on my situation, saying that I've missed ~$500 worth of work due to a lack of transportation, have received no substantive updates, and that I need to be able to get around the coming weekend, and get to work until I get my car back. I have been getting rides from friends, family, and coworkers, and missing work when I can't. He offers to pay for a rental car at least through the weekend. I gratefully accept his offer. ***** explains that ********** won't allow him to pay directly, so I need to go in and show them my license and put my Credit Card on file to rent the vehicle. Saturday 7/12: I pick up the rental car from ********** in Bend. Monday 7/14: I call at 10. I ask to speak to *****. I hold for a few minutes until **** comes back on and says ***** will call me back. I ask her to have him call me back ASAP because I'm supposed to return the rental car by 11:30. I tell **** that I need to keep the car to be able to get to work. She said that she understood and I asked if they intended to continue to pay for the vehicle until the repair was complete. She said ***** would call me back. Monday 7/14: I call again at 10:30 and ***** answers. He informs me that Seattle had written my VIN down incorrectly and failed to order the replacement transmission, so he did that and would email me updates on the parts' progress every morning. I ask him if he is going to pay for the rental car until my vehicle is repaired and he said that he only paid for the weekend "out of the kindness of his heart", because I "caught him in a good mood." His flippant and condescending answer made me upset, but I understood that he was repairing another shop's poor workmanship. I felt because of the enormous delay in repairing my vehicle-which he admitted to in my talks with him on Thursday and Friday-that he should be held partially responsible for the rental car. He disagreed. Monday 7/14: I called the Seattle office asking for Son to reimburse me for the $19.99/day until the repair was complete. He said that the warranty didn't cover rentals and that for AAMCO to cover it, he would have to pay for it out of his pocket, "and that wasn't going to happen." I asked him if the cost for the rental, so I can get to work while the mistakes that his shop made, should come out of my pocket? Son said yes, yes it should. I hung up, now quite mad. Monday 7/14: I file complaints with the BBB against both companies, as well as contacting AAMCO corporate headquarters. Monday 7/14: I call *****, now quite angry. I inform him of my decision to involve both the BBB and AAMCO Corporate. I raised my voice to a volume slightly lower than yelling as I explained to him my frustrations. Never once did I threaten him or his shop. Never once did I curse at him. I said that the situation was screwed up and that I was ticked off, but I was never "hostile". Irritated, yes. Angry? Sure, but I was never once hostile in any definition of the word. In fact, after 10 minutes of our 15 minute phone call, I calmed down and apologized for yelling 2 or 3 times. In fact, it ended with him saying that I should keep the car and that he would take care of me. 7/15: I receive a call from the BBB to confirm some details regarding the complaints I filed. As of 3:30 pm on 7/16/2014, I have received 2 calls back from AAMCO Bend since this whole repair started, and no updates on the status of my replacement transmission, so I'm glad to hear that my car will be fixed tomorrow. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/07/17) */ Mr ****** picked up his vehicle this morning, several hours earlier than promised. We spoke about additional work needing to be done on his vehicle and how the process would work to determine the source of some of the problems and how they would be prioritized from safety related items first to cosmetic. I gave Mr ****** the check for $40 for the two days of rental car rental again as promised. In my opinion, Mr ****** left my shop satisfied. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2014/07/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) While I still think it is not right that I have to pay for the rental car to get to work while a faulty transmission was replaced, I do recognize that this shop is not responsible for the poor workmanship of another business, even if they are part of the same corporation. I do however feel quite dissatisfied with the way Seattle AAMCO has handled this whole situation. My problem with this shop was a lack of communication. I called repeatedly and received no response or information until weeks into the process, causing me to get quite frustrated by the time I started talking to the owner. All of this could have been avoided if someone would have taken 5 minutes to call me back and explain what was going on and/or given me a reasonable time-table for the repair. I hope the 9th Street AAMCO office team can use this experience to provide better customer service in the future. I don't allow my office to operate that way and I like to think ***** wouldn't either if he were aware of the situation from the beginning. I thank both ***** and the BBB for helping to clear all of this all up.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Morning Bear Investments LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart